DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greene (US 2016/0173172).
Regarding claim 1, Greene teaches that a method for performing antenna control with aid of joint decision of antenna selection and tuning for antenna performance optimization (abstract, Fig. 1, 2, and pages 2, paragraphs 25 – 32). Greene teaches that during a runtime stage among multiple stages, dynamically determining, by a communication control circuit within the wireless transceiver device (Fig. 1, 2 and pages 3, paragraphs 40 – pages 4, paragraphs 43, where teaches any stage among multiple stage determining by controller of wireless communication device), any action of a state change among multiple actions according to a set of runtime measurements and a pre-defined database in a storage device within the wireless transceiver device (Fig. 1, 2 and pages 3, paragraphs 40 – pages 4, paragraphs 50, where teaches parameters of the communication device for reflection measurements for one, some or all of the antennas can be monitored, detected or otherwise determined in order to identify a change in impedance, the impedance change can result from a change in use case (e.g., switching from left hand to right hand to hold phone), and the identification of the impedance change can trigger a change in the antenna system configuration via the RF switch controlled by controller, and the controller can be configured to execute one or more tuning algorithms to determine desired tuning states of the tunable circuit based on the foregoing measurements, and the controller can also switch the primary and diversity antennas via RF switch based on data obtained from the tuning sensors, including based on measurements), and during the runtime stage, performing, by the communication control circuit (Fig. 1), the any action to selectively adjust a hybrid state of the wireless transceiver device (pages 2, paragraphs 30 – pages 3, paragraphs 39 and Fig. 1, 2, where teaches the controller adjusts the tunable reactive element according to the first reflection measurements to provide impedance tuning, and where the controller adjusts the RF switch to select between the first and second positions according to the first reflection measurements, therefore, shapes and/or positions can be adjusted to achieve other desired performance characteristic), the hybrid state being a combination of a switch state of a switch circuit for antenna selection within the communication control circuit and at least one tuner state of at least one antenna tuner for antenna tuning within the communication control circuit (page 1, paragraphs 19 – pages 2, paragraphs 32 and Fig. 1, 2, where teaches selectively switch antennas operating as primary and diversity antennas, the antenna selection can be based on various factors including measuring operating parameters (e.g., reflection measurements), and selective antenna switching can be utilized in conjunction with impedance tuning for one or both of the primary and diversity antenna, and the same measured parameter(s) can be used for both the selective antenna switching and the impedance tuning, such as reflection measurements, and an antenna selection switch to perform reflection measurements for tuning algorithm), for performing at least one adjustment among a switch state adjustment and a tuner state adjustment (pages 2, paragraphs 30 – pages 3, paragraphs 39, Fig. 1, 2, and pages 3, paragraphs 42 and pages 7, paragraphs 84, where teaches the controller adjusts the tunable reactive element according to the first reflection measurements to provide impedance tuning, and where the controller adjusts the RF switch to select between the first and second positions according to the first reflection measurements, therefore, shapes and/or positions can be adjusted to achieve other desired performance characteristic, and the controller can be configured to execute one or more tuning algorithms to determine desired tuning states of the tunable circuit based on the foregoing measurements, and the controller can also switch the primary and diversity antennas via RF switch based on data obtained from the tuning sensors, including based on reflection measurements).
Regarding claim 2, Greene teaches that the set of runtime measurements comprise one or a combination of a throughput (T-put), a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a resource block (RB), a block error rate (BLER), a reference signal received power (RSRP), a transmission power (TxP), a power headroom report (PHR), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and an impedance regarding any antenna among multiple antennas of the wireless transceiver device (Fig. 1, 2 and pages 3, paragraphs 40 – pages 4, paragraphs 50).
Regarding claim 8, Greene teaches all the limitation as discussed in claim 1. Furthermore, Greene further teaches that wireless transceiver device (Fig. 1, 27), for performing antenna control of the wireless transceiver device in a wireless communication system with aid of joint decision of antenna selection and tuning for antenna performance optimization (pages 2, paragraphs 25 – pages 3, paragraphs 39 and Fig. 1, 2), the wireless transceiver device being one of multiple devices within the wireless communication system, the wireless transceiver device (Fig. 27, 28, pages 9, paragraphs 103-104, and pages 10, paragraphs 122 – pages 11, paragraphs 126). Greene further teaches that a processing circuit (Fig. 1), arranged to control operations of the wireless transceiver device (Fig. 1), and at least one communication control circuit (Fig. 1), coupled to the processing circuit (Fig. 1), arranged to perform communication control, wherein the at least one communication control circuit is arranged to perform wireless communication operations with a network within the wireless communication system for the wireless transceiver device (Fig. 1, 2 and pages 3, paragraphs 33 – pages 4, paragraphs 49).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 3 – 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose the limitation “the pre-defined database comprises characterization data that is obtained during an offline stage among the multiple stages, and during the runtime stage, the communication control circuit is arranged to dynamically determine the any action according to the set of runtime measurements and the characterization data” as specified the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Efland et al. (US 2005/0215287) discloses Shared Antenna Control.
Chen et al. (US 2019/0181550) discloses Wireless Communication Device.
Wu et al. (US 2020/0321990) discloses Antenna Switching Circuit, Antenna Switching Method and Electronic Device.
Information regarding...Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system... at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)."
Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
J.L
May 30, 2026
John J Lee
/JOHN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649