DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 8-17, 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: The instant claims do not define the various acronyms such as “RNTI”, “CORESET”, “RRC”, “HARQ”, “RV”, “PDCCH”, “TCI”, “QCL”, and “PCI”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 12, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US# 2024/0073887 hereinafter referred to as Bae) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0369300 hereinafter referred to as Zhang).
RE Claim 1, Bae discloses a first node for wireless communications, comprising:
a first receiver, receiving a first signaling, the first signaling indicating scheduling activation (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – receiving signaling indicating scheduling activation (e.g. DL SPS, UL grant type 2 activation)), the first signaling being identified by a first RNTI, the first RNTI being an RNTI of first type (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – i.e. scrambled with the CS-RNTI); and
receiving a first information block, the first information block being generated at a protocol layer below RRC layer (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – receiving DCI via PDCCH); and
a first transceiver, determining whether to perform the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in at least first time-frequency resource set according to at least the first information block (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – determining whether to perform scheduling activation utilizing prescheduled resources; resources scheduled via DCI); performing a first operation in the at least first time-frequency resource set according to indication of the first signaling upon determination of performing the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – i.e. the UE may determine that the corresponding UL CI MO satisfies the condition 1 when a resource region used in prescheduled specific UL transmission is included in a reference resource region of a UL CI to be received in a certain UL CI MO), or not performing the first operation in the at least first time-frequency resource set upon determination of not performing the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – i.e. the UE may determine that the corresponding UL CI MO does not satisfy the condition 1 when a resource region used in prescheduled specific UL transmission is included in a reference resource region of a UL CI to be received in a certain UL CI MO).
Bae does not specifically disclose
the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity; or
wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell.
However, Zhang teaches of
the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity (See Zhang [0256]-[0259] - Time-frequency resource for the DCI Configuration, Cell identifier of information of information of the second cell RNTI the CORESET); and
wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell (See Zhang [0176]-[0179] – obtaining cell identifier of one or more cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, comprising the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity; and wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to better perform data transmissions in different communication states (See Zhang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 7, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, characterized in that the first transceiver transmits a third signaling, the third signaling being used to determine the first information block, the first information block being used to determine a first effective time, a position of the first effective time in time domain relating to time-domain resources occupied by the third signaling (See Zhang [0077] - In a possible implementation, the first network device receives fifth configuration information, where the fifth configuration information is used to configure a timer corresponding to the third configuration information, so that the first network device may determine whether the third configuration information is valid. The fourth configuration information sent by the first network device to the terminal device may be further used to configure the timer corresponding to the third configuration information, so that the terminal device can determine whether the first configuration information is valid, thereby preventing the terminal device from performing invalid data transmission).
RE Claim 12, Bae discloses a second node for wireless communications, comprising:
a first transmitter, transmitting a first signaling, the first signaling indicating scheduling activation (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – transmitting signaling indicating scheduling activation (e.g. DL SPS, UL grant type 2 activation)), the first signaling being identified by a first RNTI, the first RNTI being an RNTI of first type (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – i.e. scrambled with the CS-RNTI); and
transmitting a first information block, the first information block being generated at a protocol layer below RRC layer (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – transmitting DCI via PDCCH); and
a second transceiver, determining whether to perform the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in at least first time-frequency resource set according to at least the first information block (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – determining whether to perform scheduling activation utilizing prescheduled resources; resources scheduled via DCI); performing a third operation in the at least first time-frequency resource set according to indication of the first signaling upon determination of performing the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – i.e. the UE may determine that the corresponding UL CI MO satisfies the condition 1 when a resource region used in prescheduled specific UL transmission is included in a reference resource region of a UL CI to be received in a certain UL CI MO), or not performing the third operation in the at least first time-frequency resource set upon determination of not performing the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – i.e. the UE may determine that the corresponding UL CI MO does not satisfy the condition 1 when a resource region used in prescheduled specific UL transmission is included in a reference resource region of a UL CI to be received in a certain UL CI MO).
Bae does not specifically disclose
the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity; or
wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell.
However, Zhang teaches of
the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity (See Zhang [0256]-[0259] - Time-frequency resource for the DCI Configuration, Cell identifier of information of information of the second cell RNTI the CORESET); and
wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell (See Zhang [0176]-[0179] – obtaining cell identifier of one or more cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, comprising the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity; and wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to better perform data transmissions in different communication states (See Zhang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 18, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 12 above, characterized in that the first transceiver transmits a third signaling, the third signaling being used to determine the first information block, the first information block being used to determine a first effective time, a position of the first effective time in time domain relating to time-domain resources occupied by the third signaling (See Zhang [0077] - In a possible implementation, the first network device receives fifth configuration information, where the fifth configuration information is used to configure a timer corresponding to the third configuration information, so that the first network device may determine whether the third configuration information is valid. The fourth configuration information sent by the first network device to the terminal device may be further used to configure the timer corresponding to the third configuration information, so that the terminal device can determine whether the first configuration information is valid, thereby preventing the terminal device from performing invalid data transmission).
RE Claim 19, Bae discloses a method in a first node for wireless communications, comprising:
receiving a first signaling, the first signaling indicating scheduling activation (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – receiving signaling indicating scheduling activation (e.g. DL SPS, UL grant type 2 activation)), the first signaling being identified by a first RNTI, the first RNTI being an RNTI of first type (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – i.e. scrambled with the CS-RNTI); and
receiving a first information block, the first information block being generated at a protocol layer below RRC layer (See Bae [0170]-[0171] – receiving DCI via PDCCH); and
determining whether to perform the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in at least first time-frequency resource set according to at least the first information block (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – determining whether to perform scheduling activation utilizing prescheduled resources; resources scheduled via DCI); performing a first operation in the at least first time-frequency resource set according to indication of the first signaling upon determination of performing the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – i.e. the UE may determine that the corresponding UL CI MO satisfies the condition 1 when a resource region used in prescheduled specific UL transmission is included in a reference resource region of a UL CI to be received in a certain UL CI MO), or not performing the first operation in the at least first time-frequency resource set upon determination of not performing the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Bae [0254]-[0256] – i.e. the UE may determine that the corresponding UL CI MO does not satisfy the condition 1 when a resource region used in prescheduled specific UL transmission is included in a reference resource region of a UL CI to be received in a certain UL CI MO).
Bae does not specifically disclose
the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity; or
wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell.
However, Zhang teaches of
the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity (See Zhang [0256]-[0259] - Time-frequency resource for the DCI Configuration, Cell identifier of information of information of the second cell RNTI the CORESET); and
wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell (See Zhang [0176]-[0179] – obtaining cell identifier of one or more cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, comprising the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity; and wherein each of the first identity and the second identity identifies one cell, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to better perform data transmissions in different communication states (See Zhang Background; Summary).
Claims 4, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US# 2024/0073887 hereinafter referred to as Bae) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0369300 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Ren et al. (US# 2023/0124056 hereinafter referred to as Ren).
RE Claim 4, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above. Bae, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose characterized in that when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set; when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the second identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is not performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set.
However, Ren teaches of characterized in that when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Ren [0094]-[0095] – UE determines to use first cell resource/s based on CORESET being associated with first); when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the second identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is not performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Ren [0094]-[0095] – UE determines not to use first cell resource/s based on CORESET being associated with second cell (not first cell)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, modified by Zhang, characterized in that when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set; when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the second identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is not performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set, as taught in Ren. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication performance and reduce interference (See Ren Background; Summary).
RE Claim 15, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 12 above. Bae, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose characterized in that when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set; when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the second identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is not performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set.
However, Ren teaches of characterized in that when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Ren [0094]-[0095] – UE determines to use first cell resource/s based on CORESET being associated with first); when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the second identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is not performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set (See Ren [0094]-[0095] – UE determines not to use first cell resource/s based on CORESET being associated with second cell (not first cell)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, modified by Zhang, characterized in that when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set; when the first information block is used to determine that the at least one CORESET is associated with the second identity, it is determined that the scheduling activation indicated by the first signaling is not performed in the at least first time-frequency resource set, as taught in Ren. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication performance and reduce interference (See Ren Background; Summary).
Claims 6, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US# 2024/0073887 hereinafter referred to as Bae) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0369300 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Ying et al. (US# 12,135,235 hereinafter referred to as Ying).
RE Claim 6, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above. Bae, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose characterized in that a second signaling comprises the first information block, and the second signaling also comprises a first field; the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate a HARQ process number used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling, or the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate an RV used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling; and the first field is not used to suspend or deactivate a PDCCH Validation.
However, Ying teaches of characterized in that a second signaling comprises the first information block, and the second signaling also comprises a first field (See Ying Claim 1 – i.e. the second DCI and the second information); the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate a HARQ process number used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling, or the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate an RV used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling (See Ying Claim 1 - the second DCI and the second information, indices of the released CG PUSCH configuration(s) in the list being given by the second DCI, the third information comprises Redundancy Version field set to all “0” and HARQ process number field); and the first field is not used to suspend or deactivate a PDCCH Validation (See Ying Claim 1 - the second DCI and the second information, not used to suspend or deactivate a PDCCH Validation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, modified by Zhang, characterized in that a second signaling comprises the first information block, and the second signaling also comprises a first field; the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate a HARQ process number used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling, or the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate an RV used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling; and the first field is not used to suspend or deactivate a PDCCH Validation, as taught in Ying. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication efficiency and flexibility (See Ying Background; Summary).
RE Claim 17, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 12 above. Bae, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose characterized in that a second signaling comprises the first information block, and the second signaling also comprises a first field; the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate a HARQ process number used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling, or the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate an RV used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling; and the first field is not used to suspend or deactivate a PDCCH Validation.
However, Ying teaches of characterized in that a second signaling comprises the first information block, and the second signaling also comprises a first field (See Ying Claim 1 – i.e. the second DCI and the second information); the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate a HARQ process number used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling, or the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate an RV used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling (See Ying Claim 1 - the second DCI and the second information, indices of the released CG PUSCH configuration(s) in the list being given by the second DCI, the third information comprises Redundancy Version field set to all “0” and HARQ process number field); and the first field is not used to suspend or deactivate a PDCCH Validation (See Ying Claim 1 - the second DCI and the second information, not used to suspend or deactivate a PDCCH Validation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, modified by Zhang, characterized in that a second signaling comprises the first information block, and the second signaling also comprises a first field; the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate a HARQ process number used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling, or the first field of the second signaling is used to indicate an RV used by a radio signal scheduled by the second signaling; and the first field is not used to suspend or deactivate a PDCCH Validation, as taught in Ying. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication efficiency and flexibility (See Ying Background; Summary).
Claims 8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US# 2024/0073887 hereinafter referred to as Bae) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0369300 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Yang et al. (US# 2023/0189099 hereinafter referred to as Yang).
RE Claim 8, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above. Bae, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose characterized in that the first information block is used to indicate a TCI.
However, Yang teaches of characterized in that the first information block is used to indicate a TCI (See Yang [0033], [0044] – DCI indicates TCI monitored by CORESET).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, modified by Zhang, characterized in that the first information block is used to indicate a TCI, as taught in Yang. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce latency and improve flexibility (See Yang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 11, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above. Bae, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose characterized in that the first identity is a PCI of Serving Cell, and the second identity is a PCI other than the PCI of the serving cell.
However, Yang teaches of characterized in that the first identity is a PCI of Serving Cell, and the second identity is a PCI other than the PCI of the serving cell (See Yang [0027] – A serving cell and the target cell may be distinguished according to identifier information such as a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, modified by Zhang, characterized in that the first identity is a PCI of Serving Cell, and the second identity is a PCI other than the PCI of the serving cell, as taught in Yang. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce latency and improve flexibility (See Yang Background; Summary).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US# 2024/0073887 hereinafter referred to as Bae) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0369300 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Kim et al. (US# 2026/0163689 hereinafter referred to as Kim).
RE Claim 9, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above. Bae, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose characterized in that the meaning of the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity includes at least one of:
- the first information block being used to indicate a first identifier, a reference signal associated with the first identifier and a demodulation reference signal in the CORESET being QCL, and the reference signal associated with the first identifier being associated with the first identity or the second identity; or
- the first information block being used to indicate a first identifier, a reference signal associated with the first identifier and a PDCCH in the CORESET using identical QCL parameters, and the reference signal associated with the first identifier being associated with the first identity or the second identity.
However, Kim teaches of characterized in that the meaning of the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity includes at least one of:
- the first information block being used to indicate a first identifier, a reference signal associated with the first identifier and a demodulation reference signal in the CORESET being QCL, and the reference signal associated with the first identifier being associated with the first identity or the second identity (See Kim [0134] - when a time offset between reception of DL DCI and a corresponding PDSCH is less than a predetermined threshold (e.g., timeDurationForQCL), UE may assume that a DMRS port of a PDSCH of a serving cell is quasi-colocated with RS(s) for QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH QCL indication of a CORESET associated with a monitored search space having the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot where one or more CORESETs in an activated BWP of a serving cell is monitored by UE); or
- the first information block being used to indicate a first identifier, a reference signal associated with the first identifier and a PDCCH in the CORESET using identical QCL parameters, and the reference signal associated with the first identifier being associated with the first identity or the second identity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, modified by Zhang, characterized in that the meaning of the first information block being used to determine whether at least one CORESET is associated with a first identity or a second identity includes at least one of:
- the first information block being used to indicate a first identifier, a reference signal associated with the first identifier and a demodulation reference signal in the CORESET being QCL, and the reference signal associated with the first identifier being associated with the first identity or the second identity; or
- the first information block being used to indicate a first identifier, a reference signal associated with the first identifier and a PDCCH in the CORESET using identical QCL parameters, and the reference signal associated with the first identifier being associated with the first identity or the second identity, as taught in Kim. One is motivated as such in order to improve transmission and reception reliability (See Kim Background; Summary).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US# 2024/0073887 hereinafter referred to as Bae) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0369300 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Rastegardoost et al. (US# 2020/0296635 hereinafter referred to as Rastegardoost).
RE Claim 10, Bae, modified by Zhang, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above. Bae, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose characterized in that the first information block is used to determine whether the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity or the second identity after first effective time.
However, Rastegardoost teaches of characterized in that the first information block is used to determine whether the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity or the second identity after first effective time (See Rastegardoost [0416] - For example, a first time offset “k” may be indicated by the handover command (or RRC reconfiguration message) to determine the earliest CORESET/search space set of the target cell. For example, a wireless device capability (e.g., DL/UL switching time, BWP switching time, DL preparation time, and/or measurement gap) may indicate a second time offset “1” to determine the earliest CORESET/search space set, and/or the semi-statically configured CORESET/search space set of the target cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Bae, modified by Zhang, characterized in that the first information block is used to determine whether the at least one CORESET is associated with the first identity or the second identity after first effective time, as taught in Rastegardoost. One is motivated as such in order to better synchronize to network device communication timing as well as accounting for device capabilities (See Rastegardoost [0416]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 13-14, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477