DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitations "the first offset value" and “the first candidate offset value” and “the second candidate offset value” in the claim language. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US# 2024/0372661 hereinafter referred to as Park) in view of Seok et al. (US# 2025/0168854 hereinafter referred to as Seok).
RE Claim 1, Park discloses a first node for wireless communications (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B), comprising:
a first receiver, receiving a target signaling (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B – receiving a target signaling), the target signaling indicating at least one symbol of first type (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0122], [0128], [0130] – WTRU receiving configuration information (i.e. RRC, DCI, etc…) indicating UL/DL RB configuration; symbol can be of a first type (i.e. Mn type)), the at least one symbol of the first type including a downlink symbol for uplink transmission in a first sub-band (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0128], [0130] – symbol of first type including a downlink symbol for uplink transmission in a first sub-band (i.e. symbol comprises both DL and UL RBs for a sub-band and wherein some RBs can be ‘F’ type – flexible)) that is indicated by TDD uplink-downlink (UL-DL) configuration (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0079], [0086], [0122], [0128], [0130] – i.e. TDD-UL-DL-config); and
a first transmitter, transmitting a first signal (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B – transmitting a first signal);
wherein the first signal comprises a first sub-signal and a second sub-signal (See Park FIGs 3-4,6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – signal comprises at least first and second (and third) set of RBs (FIG 6, [0136] - one or more sets of UL RBs)), the first sub-signal and the second sub-signal being two hops for the first signal (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – one or more sets (FIG 6, [0136] – one or more UL RBs “first set”) and third set (flex RBs which can be used for UL transmission) can occur in same symbol at respective frequency bands as part of SBFD), respectively;
the first signal occupies a target symbol set in time domain (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – first symbol at certain time as part of SBFD);
a starting RB occupied by the second sub-signal is a target RB (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – starting RB occupied by set of RBs (i.e. [0105])), where a frequency-domain location of the target RB depends on a first integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – frequency domain location of target RB can depend on Mn type (“n” integer)));
a number of RBs included in the first sub-band is equal to a first candidate integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – configuration indicating number of RBs included in each sub-band), and
a number of RBs included in an uplink BWP associated to the first signal is equal to a second candidate integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – configuration indicating number of RBs included for UL portion);
a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first integer and a second integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – different distribution of the symbols used to determine starting position (i.e. different Mn types = different starting position of UL and DL RB portions)).
Park does not specifically disclose the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer; and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer.
However, Seok teaches of the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer (See Seok [0010] – determining the starting position of target RB); and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer (See Seok [0010] – the second RB set is determined based on a value satisfying Equation 1 below. Equation 1: M mod N.sup.size.sub.UL+RB.sub.start, UL, wherein M represents a value obtained based on (RB.sub.start+RB.sub.offset), RB.sub.start represents a start RB index of the first RB set, RB.sub.offset represents an offset having a value of 0 to N.sup.size.sub.BWP−1, and N.sup.size.sub.BWP represents the number of RBs of the UL BWP, N.sup.size.sub.UL represents the number of RBs of the UL subband in the SBFD symbol set, and RB.sub.start, UL represents an index of the RB having the lowest index among the RBs of the UL subband within the UL BWP in the SBFD symbol set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Park, wherein the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer; and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer, as taught in Seok. One is motivated as such in order to help improve communication efficiency (See Seok [0001]-[0019]).
RE Claim 3, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, characterized in that the frequency-domain location of the target RB depends on a first offset value, the first offset value being either a first candidate offset value or a second candidate offset value (See Seok [0010] – frequency domain location of target RB depends on offset value (i.e. RBoffset));
the first candidate offset value is associated to the first sub-band, while the second candidate offset value is associated to the uplink BWP; the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first offset value from the first candidate offset value and the second candidate offset value (See Seok [0010]-[0017] – the second RB set is determined based on a value satisfying Equation 1. Equation 1: M mod NSizeUL+RBstart,UL, wherein M represents a value obtained based on (RBstart+RBoffset), RBstart represents a start RB index of the first RB set, RBoffset represents an offset having a value of 0 to NsizeBWP−1, and NsizeBWP represents the number of RBs of the UL BWP, NsizeUL represents the number of RBs of the UL subband in the SBFD symbol set, and RBstart,UL represents an index of the RB having the lowest index among the RBs of the UL subband within the UL BWP in the SBFD symbol set).
RE Claim 5, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, characterized in that the first sub-signal occupies in time domain a first symbol subset in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; See also Seok [0010] – first sub-band (first hop)), while the second sub-signal occupies in time domain a second symbol subset in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; See also Seok [0010] – second sub-band (second hop)); a number of symbols occupied by the first symbol subset depends on the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; See also Seok [0010] – based on configuration).
RE Claim 6, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, characterized in comprising: the first receiver, receiving a first signaling; wherein the first signaling is used to indicate the target symbol set, and the first signaling is used to indicate a starting RB occupied by the first sub-signal (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0128], [0130] – receiving configuration indicating target symbols set (i.e. indicating number of RBs included in each sub-band) as well as starting RB).
RE Claim 7, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 6 above, characterized in that a first field included in the first signaling is used to indicate the first offset value (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130] – indicating RB configuration (i.e. region and/or bitmap)), and whether a padding bit is present in the first field included in the first signaling depends on the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130] – i.e. padding bit/s for bitmap depends on resource configuration).
RE Claim 8, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, characterized in that the first sub-signal occupies in time domain a first symbol subset in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130], [0136] – sub-band occupying first symbol in time domain), while the second sub-signal occupies in time domain a second symbol subset in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130], [0136] – sub-band occupying second symbol in time domain); each symbol included in the first symbol subset belongs to the symbols of the first type, and each symbol included in the second symbol subset belongs to symbols of a type other than the first type (See Park FIG 6; [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130], [0136] – sub-bands can be for UL, DL, or flexible type).
RE Claim 9, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, characterized in that the first sub-signal occupies in time domain a first symbol subset in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130], [0136] – sub-band occupying first symbol in time domain), while the second sub-signal occupies in time domain a second symbol subset in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130], [0136] – sub-band occupying second symbol in time domain); each symbol included in the first symbol subset belongs to symbols of a type other than the first type, and each symbol included in the second symbol subset belongs to the symbols of the first type (See Park FIG 6; [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130], [0136] – sub-bands can be for UL, DL, or flexible type; UL can be configured at front or rear of symbol).
RE Claim 10, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, characterized in that the meaning of the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set includes: whether the symbols of the first type are in a front part or a rear part of the target symbol set (See Seok [0010]-[0017] – based on location of where the symbols are (i.e. RB start)).
RE Claim 11, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, characterized in that the meaning of the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set includes: a number of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set (See Seok [0010]-[0017] – based on number of RBs in symbol of the first type).
RE Claim 13, Park discloses a second node for wireless communications (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B), comprising:
a second transmitter, transmitting a target signaling (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B – transmitting a target signaling), the target signaling indicating at least one symbol of first type (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0122], [0128], [0130] –configuration information (i.e. RRC, DCI, etc…) indicating UL/DL RB configuration; symbol can be of a first type (i.e. Mn type)), the at least one symbol of the first type including a downlink symbol for uplink transmission in a first sub-band (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0128], [0130] – symbol of first type including a downlink symbol for uplink transmission in a first sub-band (i.e. symbol comprises both DL and UL RBs for a sub-band and wherein some RBs can be ‘F’ type – flexible)) that is indicated by TDD uplink-downlink (UL-DL) configuration (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0079], [0086], [0122], [0128], [0130] – i.e. TDD-UL-DL-config); and
a second receiver, receiving a first signal (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B – receiving a first signal);
wherein the first signal comprises a first sub-signal and a second sub-signal (See Park FIGs 3-4,6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – signal comprises at least first and second (and third) set of RBs (FIG 6, [0136] - one or more sets of UL RBs)), the first sub-signal and the second sub-signal being two hops for the first signal (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – one or more sets (FIG 6, [0136] – one or more UL RBs “first set”) and third set (flex RBs which can be used for UL transmission) can occur in same symbol at respective frequency bands as part of SBFD), respectively;
the first signal occupies a target symbol set in time domain (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – first symbol at certain time as part of SBFD);
a starting RB occupied by the second sub-signal is a target RB (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – starting RB occupied by set of RBs (i.e. [0105])), where a frequency-domain location of the target RB depends on a first integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – frequency domain location of target RB can depend on Mn type (“n” integer)));
a number of RBs included in the first sub-band is equal to a first candidate integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – configuration indicating number of RBs included in each sub-band), and
a number of RBs included in an uplink BWP associated to the first signal is equal to a second candidate integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – configuration indicating number of RBs included for UL portion);
a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first integer and a second integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – different distribution of the symbols used to determine starting position (i.e. different Mn types = different starting position of UL and DL RB portions)).
Park does not specifically disclose the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer; and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer.
However, Seok teaches of the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer (See Seok [0010] – determining the starting position of target RB); and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer (See Seok [0010] – the second RB set is determined based on a value satisfying Equation 1 below. Equation 1: M mod N.sup.size.sub.UL+RB.sub.start, UL, wherein M represents a value obtained based on (RB.sub.start+RB.sub.offset), RB.sub.start represents a start RB index of the first RB set, RB.sub.offset represents an offset having a value of 0 to N.sup.size.sub.BWP−1, and N.sup.size.sub.BWP represents the number of RBs of the UL BWP, N.sup.size.sub.UL represents the number of RBs of the UL subband in the SBFD symbol set, and RB.sub.start, UL represents an index of the RB having the lowest index among the RBs of the UL subband within the UL BWP in the SBFD symbol set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Park, wherein the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer; and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer, as taught in Seok. One is motivated as such in order to help improve communication efficiency (See Seok [0001]-[0019]).
RE Claim 15, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 13 above, characterized in that the frequency-domain location of the target RB depends on a first offset value, the first offset value being either a first candidate offset value or a second candidate offset value (See Seok [0010] – frequency domain location of target RB depends on offset value (i.e. RBoffset));
the first candidate offset value is associated to the first sub-band, while the second candidate offset value is associated to the uplink BWP; the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first offset value from the first candidate offset value and the second candidate offset value (See Seok [0010]-[0017] – the second RB set is determined based on a value satisfying Equation 1. Equation 1: M mod NSizeUL+RBstart,UL, wherein M represents a value obtained based on (RBstart+RBoffset), RBstart represents a start RB index of the first RB set, RBoffset represents an offset having a value of 0 to NsizeBWP−1, and NsizeBWP represents the number of RBs of the UL BWP, NsizeUL represents the number of RBs of the UL subband in the SBFD symbol set, and RBstart,UL represents an index of the RB having the lowest index among the RBs of the UL subband within the UL BWP in the SBFD symbol set).
RE Claim 17, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 13 above, characterized in that the first sub-signal occupies in time domain a first symbol subset in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; See also Seok [0010] – first sub-band (first hop)), while the second sub-signal occupies in time domain a second symbol subset in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; See also Seok [0010] – second sub-band (second hop)); a number of symbols occupied by the first symbol subset depends on the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set (See Park FIG 6; See also Seok [0010] – based on configuration).
RE Claim 18, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 13 above, characterized in comprising: the second transmitter, transmitting a first signaling; wherein the first signaling is used to indicate the target symbol set, and the first signaling is used to indicate a starting RB occupied by the first sub-signal (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0128], [0130] – receiving configuration indicating target symbols set (i.e. indicating number of RBs included in each sub-band) as well as starting RB).
RE Claim 19, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 18 above, characterized in that a first field included in the first signaling is used to indicate the first offset value (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130] – indicating RB configuration (i.e. region and/or bitmap)), and whether a padding bit is present in the first field included in the first signaling depends on the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0125], [0128], [0130] – i.e. padding bit/s for bitmap depends on resource configuration).
RE Claim 20, Park discloses a method in a first node for wireless communications (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B), comprising:
receiving a target signaling (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B – receiving a target signaling), the target signaling indicating at least one symbol of first type (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0122], [0128], [0130] – WTRU receiving configuration information (i.e. RRC, DCI, etc…) indicating UL/DL RB configuration; symbol can be of a first type (i.e. Mn type)), the at least one symbol of the first type including a downlink symbol for uplink transmission in a first sub-band (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0086], [0110], [0122], [0128], [0130] – symbol of first type including a downlink symbol for uplink transmission in a first sub-band (i.e. symbol comprises both DL and UL RBs for a sub-band and wherein some RBs can be ‘F’ type – flexible)) that is indicated by TDD uplink-downlink (UL-DL) configuration (See Park [0009]-[0012], [0079], [0086], [0122], [0128], [0130] – i.e. TDD-UL-DL-config); and
transmitting a first signal (See Park FIGs 1A, 1B – transmitting a first signal);
wherein the first signal comprises a first sub-signal and a second sub-signal (See Park FIGs 3-4,6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – signal comprises at least first and second (and third) set of RBs (FIG 6, [0136] - one or more sets of UL RBs)), the first sub-signal and the second sub-signal being two hops for the first signal (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – one or more sets (FIG 6, [0136] – one or more UL RBs “first set”) and third set (flex RBs which can be used for UL transmission) can occur in same symbol at respective frequency bands as part of SBFD), respectively;
the first signal occupies a target symbol set in time domain (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – first symbol at certain time as part of SBFD);
a starting RB occupied by the second sub-signal is a target RB (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – starting RB occupied by set of RBs (i.e. [0105])), where a frequency-domain location of the target RB depends on a first integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – frequency domain location of target RB can depend on Mn type (“n” integer)));
a number of RBs included in the first sub-band is equal to a first candidate integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – configuration indicating number of RBs included in each sub-band), and
a number of RBs included in an uplink BWP associated to the first signal is equal to a second candidate integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – configuration indicating number of RBs included for UL portion);
a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first integer and a second integer (See Park FIGs 3-4, 6; [0105]-[0106], [0122], [0125], [0136] – different distribution of the symbols used to determine starting position (i.e. different Mn types = different starting position of UL and DL RB portions)).
Park does not specifically disclose the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer; and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer.
However, Seok teaches of the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer (See Seok [0010] – determining the starting position of target RB); and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer (See Seok [0010] – the second RB set is determined based on a value satisfying Equation 1 below. Equation 1: M mod N.sup.size.sub.UL+RB.sub.start, UL, wherein M represents a value obtained based on (RB.sub.start+RB.sub.offset), RB.sub.start represents a start RB index of the first RB set, RB.sub.offset represents an offset having a value of 0 to N.sup.size.sub.BWP−1, and N.sup.size.sub.BWP represents the number of RBs of the UL BWP, N.sup.size.sub.UL represents the number of RBs of the UL subband in the SBFD symbol set, and RB.sub.start, UL represents an index of the RB having the lowest index among the RBs of the UL subband within the UL BWP in the SBFD symbol set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Park, wherein the first integer being either the first candidate integer or the second candidate integer; and a distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set is used to determine the first integer from a first candidate integer and a second candidate integer, as taught in Seok. One is motivated as such in order to help improve communication efficiency (See Seok [0001]-[0019]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US# 2024/0372661 hereinafter referred to as Park) in view of Seok et al. (US# 2025/0168854 hereinafter referred to as Seok) and Yi et al. (US# 2024/0284418 hereinafter referred to as Yi).
RE Claim 12, Park, modified by Seok, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above. Park, modified by Seok, does not specifically disclose characterized in that the meaning of the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set includes: a proportion of a number of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set to all symbols included in the target symbol set.
However, Yi teaches of characterized in that the meaning of the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set includes: a proportion of a number of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set to all symbols included in the target symbol set (See Yi [0180], [0191]-[0193] - resources may be flexibly allocated for each symbol or slot 1802, according to traffic proportions of UL and DL; When UL-DL of the time domain and frequency domain are configured, the base station may indicate, to the terminal, a UL-DL configuration in the frequency domain by dividing the entire frequency into n frequency domains. In each of the patterns, the UL-DL configuration information may include UL-DL pattern information and subcarrier information which serves as a reference therefor. In the UL-DL pattern information, the number of slot(s)/symbol(s) of the time domain having the same pattern, the number of consecutive DL RBS from the starting point of the entire frequency domain, the number of DL RBs of a next RBS, the number of consecutive UL RBS from the end of the entire frequency domain, and the number of UL RBs of the next RBS may be indicated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Park, modified by Seok, characterized in that the meaning of the distribution of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set includes: a proportion of a number of the symbols of the first type in the target symbol set to all symbols included in the target symbol set, as taught in Yi. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication resource utilization (See Yi [0001]-[0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The Examiner notes that claim 16 would also be objected to if not for the 112 2nd rejection (See 112 section above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi et al .(US# 2026/0136358 – which teaches of scheduling and configuration for SBFD communication).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477