DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first pressing mechanism having a pressing assembly” in claim 1. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure for performing the function is a roller and a bending member with a bending tip portion (i.e., a tip). It is noted that a roller and a bending member are also recited in claim 1, however, this is not considered sufficient structure to perform the claimed function as a bending tip portion (i.e., a tip) is required to perform the function. It is noted that additional structure such as a movable stage and its substructures can also be utilized (see claim 2 and 3) as well as minor-adjusting members (see claim 4). Claim 3 recites the structure of the bending tip portion.
“bending member” in claim 1. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure for performing the function is a bending tip portion (i.e., a tip).
“minor-adjusting member” in claim 4. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure for performing the function is item 3445, which is a block element that engages with biasing member and the threaded members. See paragraph 0034, disclosing “The pressing assembly 344 further includes two minor-adjusting members 3445 which are respectively and securely disposed on and moved with the two opposite ends of the bending member 3443, two biasing members 3448 (such as a coil spring) which are connected between the minor-adjusting members 3445 and the pivot portions 3444 to provide a torque to turn the bending member 3443 counterclockwise and downwards relative to the pivot portions 3444, and two threaded members 3449 (such as a threaded bolt) which are respectively extended through the through holes 3450 in the pivot portions 3444 and which are respectively and threadedly engaged with the minor-adjusting members 3445 to set the amount of angular displacement of the bending member 3443.”
“biasing member” in claim 4. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure for performing the function is a coil spring (see paragraph 0034).
“threaded member” in claim 4. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure for performing the function is a threaded bolt (see paragraph 0034).
“first carrying module” in claim 6. The specification and claim 7 discloses that the corresponding structure for performing the function includes an upright seat, a first transporting mechanism, a deflection correcting mechanism and a driving mechanism which are disposed on said upright seat, wherein said first transporting mechanism has a tape reel on which the tape assembly is disposed, a first reel for reeling the cover tape, a second reel for reeling the carrier tape, and a first guide reel for guiding the carrier tape toward said second carrying module, said deflection correcting mechanism is interposed between said tape reel and said second reel, and has an upper axle seat, a lower axle seat, an upright pivot axle pivotally connected between said upper and lower axle seats, said driving mechanism has two slide rails spaced apart from and extending parallel to each other, a threaded bolt interposed between said slide rails, and an X-axis driver for driving rotation of said threaded bolt, and said upright seat has a first opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said upper and lower axle seats, and a second opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said slide rails.
“driving module” in claim 6. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure for performing the function is as in paragraph 0029: The driving module 32 has an upright rail seat 321, a Z-axis sliding seat 323 which is located on the rail seat 321 and driven by a Z-axis driver 322 to move in the Z-axis direction, a projecting seat 324 which is disposed on the sliding seat 323, and a torque driver 325 such as a torque motor which is disposed on the projecting seat 324.
“second carrying module” in claim 6. The specification and claim 8 discloses that the corresponding structure for performing the function of the second carrying module includes having an upright plate and a second transporting mechanism disposed on said upright plate for transporting the carrier tape, wherein said second transporting mechanism has a pinwheel which is operated to transport the carrier tape along a tape reeling route, an abutting roller which is disposed opposite to said pinwheel to abut against an opposite side of the carrier tape, an input rolling pin assembly which is disposed at a side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, an output rolling pin assembly which is disposed at an opposite side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, a first coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said input rolling pin assembly are mounted, and a second coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said output rolling pin assembly and said pinwheel are mounted.
“a driving mechanism” in claim 8 only. Although claim 8 further recites that “which has two slide rails spaced apart from and extending parallel to each other”, this is not sufficient structure to perform the driving function. Claim 7 and the specification discloses that the corresponding structure, disclosing “said driving mechanism has two slide rails spaced apart from and extending parallel to each other, a threaded bolt interposed between said slide rails, and an X-axis driver for driving rotation of said threaded bolt, and said upright seat has a first opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said upper and lower axle seats, and a second opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said slide rails”.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step”, or a generic placeholder therefore, but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“second pressing mechanism having a pressing member” in claim 5. The claim later recites “which is in a form of a roller”. The roller is sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function of pressing.
“a first transporting mechanism”, “a deflection correcting mechanism” and “a driving mechanism”, each as recited in claim 7. However, claim 7 recites sufficient structure for each, reciting:
“wherein said first transporting mechanism has a tape reel on which the tape assembly is disposed, a first reel for reeling the cover tape, a second reel for reeling the carrier tape, and a first guide reel for guiding the carrier tape toward said second carrying module”
“said deflection correcting mechanism is interposed between said tape reel and said second reel, and has an upper axle seat, a lower axle seat, an upright pivot axle pivotally connected between said upper and lower axle seats”
“said driving mechanism has two slide rails spaced apart from and extending parallel to each other, a threaded bolt interposed between said slide rails, and an X-axis driver for driving rotation of said threaded bolt, and said upright seat has a first opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said upper and lower axle seats, and a second opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said slide rails.”
“second transporting mechanism” as used in claim 8. The claim later recites “has a pinwheel which is operated to transport the carrier tape along a tape reeling route, an abutting roller which is disposed opposite to said pinwheel to abut against an opposite side of the carrier tape, an input rolling pin assembly which is disposed at a side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, an output rolling pin assembly which is disposed at an opposite side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, a first coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said input rolling pin assembly are mounted, and a second coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said output rolling pin assembly and said pinwheel are mounted.” These structures are sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function of transporting and its subfunctions.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a roller" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 has already introduced the structure of a roller in line 4, and the language used in claim 5, line 3, does not sufficiently distinguish these two rollers. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite language such as “an additional roller” or “a second roller” to distinguish between the two rollers.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a carrier tape" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, which is a parent claim to claim 2 and thus to claim 6, has previously introduced a carrier tape in line 1. It should be noted Claim 6 recites “said bonding module as claimed in claim 2”, and thus claim 2 appears to provide antecedent basis for some structures referenced initially in claim 2 (such as by using “said bonding module”), but not others (such as by using “a carrier tape”). The examiner suggests either amending claim 6 to recite “the carrier tape”, or in the alternative, to strongly consider inserting the subject matter of claim 2 into claim 6.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 112110179 A), Miyamoto (US 20110048609 A1) and Yoshioka (US 20100096090 A1).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a bonding module (bonding device D) used with a carrier tape (second envelope 32) packaged with an adhering component (radiating rubber pad A3) for attaching the adhering component to a bonding area (visible in Figures 17 and 18) of a base component (base component A), comprising: a first pressing mechanism (bonding mechanism D1) having a pressing assembly, said pressing assembly including a roller (roller D15) on and through which the carrier tape is reeled and bent to be divided into an input section and an output section, wherein said roller is moved during rolling of said roller to be brought to indirectly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component. See the translation, disclosing:
Referring to FIG. 17, the sticking mechanism D1 of the sticking head D15 two sides are respectively provided with a fixed guide rod D24 which is located at the entering side fixing cannot be displaced according to the conveying direction, and the displacement guide rod D16 located on the output side and capable of moving up and down; the second envelope A32 lower surface of the radiating cushion A3 width is between the fixed guide rod D24 and the displacement guide rod D16, when executing the radiating cushion A3 is adhered to the object A, the displacement guide rod D16 is driven to fall to the fixed guide rod D24 the height of the horizontal height; the contact head D15 is slightly lower than the horizontal height; the radiating rubber cushion A3 against the object A, the contact head D15 is driven by the rod-shaped wheel rolling indirectly through the lower surface of the second envelope A32 of the radiating cushion A3 contact the radiating cushion A3, from the radiating cushion A3 opposite to the other side of the object A; by the fixed guide rod D24 to the displacement guide rod D16 direction moving roller displacement, the radiating cushion A3 is adhered to the object A.
Referring to FIG. 18, when the radiating pad A3 adhesion is finished, the sticking head D15 is driven by the displacement guide rod D16 returns to the fixed guide rod D24 direction, at this time, the second envelope A32 attached to the displacement guide rod D16 to make the displacement guide rod D16 is driven to move upwards; the second envelope A32 on one side of the radiating pad A3 on the side of the displacement guide rod D16 is firstly adhered to the surface of the radiating pad A3 on the object A to be peeled off, and when the bonding mechanism D1 is driven to move upwards; The second envelope A32 is completely separated from the heat dissipation pad A3 which has been adhered to the object A.
the bonding mechanism D1 of the bonding device D presses the load control of the object A, the bonding mechanism D1 is firstly to the load unit F, and the peeling adhesive of the radiating pad A3 of the second envelope A32; the attaching head D15 of the attaching mechanism D1 directly to the load unit F measuring the load value of the lower pressure, to control the weight of the pressing when bonding.
See also Figures 16, 17, and 18. (Note that the arrangement of the reels and direction of the tape in Figure 16 of Chen is a mirror image of the arrangement in the instant application Figure 5).
See also Figure 3, and compare with instant Figure 3.
Chen does not disclose a bending member on and through which the carrier tape is reeled and bent to be divided into an input section and an output section by said bending member , wherein said bending member being moved together with said roller during rolling of said roller to be brought to indirectly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component.
However, Miyamoto discloses and makes obvious a bending member (edge member 17) on and through which the carrier tape is reeled and bent to be divided into an input section and an output section by said bending member, wherein said bending member being moved together with said roller (best shown by first joining roller 15, but also alternatively or additionally read on by pressure roller 18, or second joining roller 19) during rolling of said roller to be brought to directly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component.
See paragraph 0041, below:
[0041] The tape joining mechanism 5 has a first joining roller 15, an edge member 17, a pressure roller 18, and a second joining roller 19. The first joining roller 15 is pivotally supported at a forward end of a bracket 14 so as to freely rotate. The bracket 14 is pivotally supported by the bracket 11 and pivotable about an axis X2. The edge member 17 folds back and reverses the separator S arranged upstream of the first joining roller 15, and guides the separator S to the separator collecting section 6 via a hold roller. The pressure roller 18 holds the adhesive tape T with the edge member 17. The second joining roller 19 is pivotally supported at a lower end of the bracket 11 so as to freely rotate.
See Figure 1, below:
Yoshioka teaches an arrangement similar to that in Miyamoto which also peels wherein said roller (sticking roll 61) during rolling of said roller to be brought to indirectly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component. See paragraph 0076, disclosing:
…the adhesive sheet S1 is stuck onto the rear surface of the wafer W from the end in the feed-out direction in order under the rotation and pressing force by the sticking roll 61.
See also Figures 6(A) to 6(D), below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a bending member on and through which the carrier tape is reeled and bent to be divided into an input section and an output section by said bending member , wherein said bending member being moved together with said roller during rolling of said roller to be brought to indirectly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component as suggested by Miyamoto and Yoshioka in order to folds back and reverses the separator or carrier tape in order to ensure proper separation.
As to claim 2, Chen discloses wherein said first pressing mechanism has a movable stage, said pressing assembly further including a mounting seat which is securely disposed on said movable stage. See the translation, disclosing “the lower part of the carrying seat D11 is provided with a lifting seat D14 capable of moving up and down in the Z-axis direction”
However, Chen does not disclose that said roller and said bending member being pivotably and coaxially mounted on said mounting seat so as to be swingable relative to said mounting seat.
However, Miyamoto discloses that said roller and said bending member being pivotably and coaxially mounted on said mounting seat so as to be swingable relative to said mounting seat. See paragraph 0041, below:
[0041] The tape joining mechanism 5 has a first joining roller 15, an edge member 17, a pressure roller 18, and a second joining roller 19. The first joining roller 15 is pivotally supported at a forward end of a bracket 14 so as to freely rotate. The bracket 14 is pivotally supported by the bracket 11 and pivotable about an axis X2. The edge member 17 folds back and reverses the separator S arranged upstream of the first joining roller 15, and guides the separator S to the separator collecting section 6 via a hold roller. The pressure roller 18 holds the adhesive tape T with the edge member 17. The second joining roller 19 is pivotally supported at a lower end of the bracket 11 so as to freely rotate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that said roller and said bending member being pivotably and coaxially mounted on said mounting seat so as to be swingable relative to said mounting seat as suggested by Miyamoto in order to fold back and reverses the separator or carrier tape in order to ensure proper separation.
As to claim 3, Chen, however, does discloses two arms which define a mounting space therebetween for receiving said roller. See Figure 13, below.
However, Chen does not disclose the full limitation of wherein said mounting seat has two pivot portions at two opposite ends thereof on which two ends of said roller is pivotably mounted, said bending member having two pivot arms which are aligned with said pivot portions, respectively, to define a mounting space therebetween for receiving said roller, said bending member further having a bending tip portion which is opposite to said pivot arms and which is tapered such that said bending member and said roller are coaxial with each other and pivotably mounted between said pivot portions.
However, Miyamoto makes obvious discloses wherein said mounting seat has two pivot portions at two opposite ends thereof on which two ends of said roller is pivotably mounted, said bending member having two pivot arms which are aligned with said pivot portions, respectively, to define a mounting space therebetween for receiving said roller, said bending member further having a bending tip portion (the edge of edge member 17) which is opposite to said pivot arms and which is tapered such that said bending member and said roller are coaxial with each other and pivotably mounted between said pivot portions. See paragraph 0041, below:
[0041] The tape joining mechanism 5 has a first joining roller 15, an edge member 17, a pressure roller 18, and a second joining roller 19. The first joining roller 15 is pivotally supported at a forward end of a bracket 14 so as to freely rotate. The bracket 14 is pivotally supported by the bracket 11 and pivotable about an axis X2. The edge member 17 folds back and reverses the separator S arranged upstream of the first joining roller 15, and guides the separator S to the separator collecting section 6 via a hold roller. The pressure roller 18 holds the adhesive tape T with the edge member 17. The second joining roller 19 is pivotally supported at a lower end of the bracket 11 so as to freely rotate.
Although Miyamoto does not explicitly state two pivot arms, in combination with Chen, two pivot arms would have been obvious as Chen discloses two arms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein said mounting seat has two pivot portions at two opposite ends thereof on which two ends of said roller is pivotably mounted, said bending member having two pivot arms which are aligned with said pivot portions, respectively, to define a mounting space therebetween for receiving said roller, said bending member further having a bending tip portion which is opposite to said pivot arms and which is tapered such that said bending member and said roller are coaxial with each other and pivotably mounted between said pivot portions as suggested by Miyamoto in order to fold back and reverses the separator or carrier tape in order to ensure proper separation.
As to claim 4, Chen does not disclose wherein said pressing assembly further includes two minor-adjusting members which are respectively and securely disposed on and moved with two opposite ends of said bending member, two biasing members which are connected between said minor-adjusting members and said pivot portions to provide a torque to turn said bending member downwards relative to said pivot portions, and two threaded members which are respectively extend through said pivot portions and which are respectively and threadedly engaged with said minor-adjusting members to set an amount of angular displacement of said bending member
Miyamoto as incorporated above discloses and is capable of providing a set an amount of angular displacement of said bending member, via positioning of the pivot point.
Additionally, making parts adjustable is often obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 V. D. Making Adjustable
In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) (Claims were directed to a handle for a fishing rod wherein the handle has a longitudinally adjustable finger hook, and the hand grip of the handle connects with the body portion by means of a universal joint. The court held that adjustability, where needed, is not a patentable advance, and because there was an art-recognized need for adjustment in a fishing rod, the substitution of a universal joint for the single pivot of the prior art would have been obvious.).
In this case, the arrangement wherein said pressing assembly further includes two minor-adjusting members which are respectively and securely disposed on and moved with two opposite ends of said bending member, two biasing members which are connected between said minor-adjusting members and said pivot portions to provide a torque to turn said bending member downwards relative to said pivot portions, and two threaded members which are respectively extend through said pivot portions and which are respectively and threadedly engaged with said minor-adjusting members to set an amount of angular displacement of said bending member is obvious as the arrangement adds the features of two blocks, two springs, and two bolts (or screws) to provide adjustment capabilities to bending member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized an arrangement wherein said pressing assembly further includes two minor-adjusting members which are respectively and securely disposed on and moved with two opposite ends of said bending member, two biasing members which are connected between said minor-adjusting members and said pivot portions to provide a torque to turn said bending member downwards relative to said pivot portions, and two threaded members which are respectively extend through said pivot portions and which are respectively and threadedly engaged with said minor-adjusting members to set an amount of angular displacement of said bending member as an obvious application of making parts adjustable as the arrangement adds the features of two blocks, two springs, and two bolts (or screws) to provide adjustment capabilities to a bending member such as that in Miyamoto.
As to claim 5, Chen does not disclose further comprising a second pressing mechanism, said second pressing mechanism having a pressing member which is operated to be movable relative to the base component and which is in form of a roller to directly roll over and press the adhering component onto the base component.
However, Miyamoto discloses and makes obvious further comprising a second pressing mechanism (best applied by either pressure roller 18 or second joining roller 19), said second pressing mechanism having a pressing member which is operated to be movable relative to the base component and which is in form of a roller (best applied by either pressure roller 18 or second joining roller 19) to directly roll over and press the adhering component onto the base component. See paragraph 0041 and 0056, below:
[0041] The tape joining mechanism 5 has a first joining roller 15, an edge member 17, a pressure roller 18, and a second joining roller 19. The first joining roller 15 is pivotally supported at a forward end of a bracket 14 so as to freely rotate. The bracket 14 is pivotally supported by the bracket 11 and pivotable about an axis X2. The edge member 17 folds back and reverses the separator S arranged upstream of the first joining roller 15, and guides the separator S to the separator collecting section 6 via a hold roller. The pressure roller 18 holds the adhesive tape T with the edge member 17. The second joining roller 19 is pivotally supported at a lower end of the bracket 11 so as to freely rotate.
…
[0056] When reaching to a terminal position of the joining portion, the first joining roller 15 stops transportation of the building panel W. With stopping of the transportation, the bracket 14 swings upward into a predetermined level thereof to release pressing of the first joining roller 15 against the adhesive tape T. Simultaneously, the bracket 11 swings downward such that the second joining roller 19 presses against the joining portion of the adhesive tape T.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising a second pressing mechanism, said second pressing mechanism having a pressing member which is operated to be movable relative to the base component and which is in form of a roller to directly roll over and press the adhering component onto the base component as taught by Miyamoto in order to press against the joining portion of the adhering component.
As to claim 6, Chen (as modified by Miyamoto and Yoshioka) also discloses a bonding device (laminating device D) used with a transmitting mechanism (see Figure 5), comprising:
said bonding module;
a first carrying module (fixing plate D2, see Figure 7) for a tape assembly to be disposed thereon and reeling (via wheel D6) a carrier tape (second envelope and a cover tape (first envelope A31);
a driving module (see Figure 8) disposed on the transmitting mechanism to drive an up-down movement and a rotation of said first carrying module; and
a second carrying module (D151) disposed on said first carrying module and movable relative to said first carrying module, wherein said bonding module is disposed on said second carrying module.
Chen does not disclose the full limitation that bonding module is said bonding module as claimed in claim 2 (which is dependent from claim 1).
As to the features of parent claim 1, Chen discloses a bonding module (bonding device D) used with a carrier tape (second envelope 32) packaged with an adhering component (radiating rubber pad A3) for attaching the adhering component to a bonding area (visible in Figures 17 and 18) of a base component (base component A), comprising: a first pressing mechanism (bonding mechanism D1) having a pressing assembly, said pressing assembly including a roller (roller D15) on and through which the carrier tape is reeled and bent to be divided into an input section and an output section, wherein said roller is moved during rolling of said roller to be brought to indirectly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component. See the translation, disclosing:
Referring to FIG. 17, the sticking mechanism D1 of the sticking head D15 two sides are respectively provided with a fixed guide rod D24 which is located at the entering side fixing cannot be displaced according to the conveying direction, and the displacement guide rod D16 located on the output side and capable of moving up and down; the second envelope A32 lower surface of the radiating cushion A3 width is between the fixed guide rod D24 and the displacement guide rod D16, when executing the radiating cushion A3 is adhered to the object A, the displacement guide rod D16 is driven to fall to the fixed guide rod D24 the height of the horizontal height; the contact head D15 is slightly lower than the horizontal height; the radiating rubber cushion A3 against the object A, the contact head D15 is driven by the rod-shaped wheel rolling indirectly through the lower surface of the second envelope A32 of the radiating cushion A3 contact the radiating cushion A3, from the radiating cushion A3 opposite to the other side of the object A; by the fixed guide rod D24 to the displacement guide rod D16 direction moving roller displacement, the radiating cushion A3 is adhered to the object A.
Referring to FIG. 18, when the radiating pad A3 adhesion is finished, the sticking head D15 is driven by the displacement guide rod D16 returns to the fixed guide rod D24 direction, at this time, the second envelope A32 attached to the displacement guide rod D16 to make the displacement guide rod D16 is driven to move upwards; the second envelope A32 on one side of the radiating pad A3 on the side of the displacement guide rod D16 is firstly adhered to the surface of the radiating pad A3 on the object A to be peeled off, and when the bonding mechanism D1 is driven to move upwards; The second envelope A32 is completely separated from the heat dissipation pad A3 which has been adhered to the object A.
the bonding mechanism D1 of the bonding device D presses the load control of the object A, the bonding mechanism D1 is firstly to the load unit F, and the peeling adhesive of the radiating pad A3 of the second envelope A32; the attaching head D15 of the attaching mechanism D1 directly to the load unit F measuring the load value of the lower pressure, to control the weight of the pressing when bonding.
See also Figures 16, 17, and 18. (Note that the arrangement of the reels and direction of the tape in Figure 16 of Chen is a mirror image of the arrangement in the instant application Figure 5).
See also Figure 3, and compare with instant Figure 3.
Chen does not disclose a bending member on and through which the carrier tape is reeled and bent to be divided into an input section and an output section by said bending member , wherein said bending member being moved together with said roller during rolling of said roller to be brought to indirectly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component.
However, Miyamoto discloses and makes obvious a bending member (edge member 17) on and through which the carrier tape is reeled and bent to be divided into an input section and an output section by said bending member, wherein said bending member being moved together with said roller (best shown by first joining roller 15, but also alternatively or additionally read on by pressure roller 18, or second joining roller 19) during rolling of said roller to be brought to directly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component.
See paragraph 0041, below:
[0041] The tape joining mechanism 5 has a first joining roller 15, an edge member 17, a pressure roller 18, and a second joining roller 19. The first joining roller 15 is pivotally supported at a forward end of a bracket 14 so as to freely rotate. The bracket 14 is pivotally supported by the bracket 11 and pivotable about an axis X2. The edge member 17 folds back and reverses the separator S arranged upstream of the first joining roller 15, and guides the separator S to the separator collecting section 6 via a hold roller. The pressure roller 18 holds the adhesive tape T with the edge member 17. The second joining roller 19 is pivotally supported at a lower end of the bracket 11 so as to freely rotate.
See Figure 1, below:
Yoshioka teaches an arrangement similar to that in Miyamoto which also peels wherein said roller (sticking roll 61) during rolling of said roller to be brought to indirectly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component. See paragraph 0076, disclosing:
…the adhesive sheet S1 is stuck onto the rear surface of the wafer W from the end in the feed-out direction in order under the rotation and pressing force by the sticking roll 61.
See also Figures 6(A) to 6(D), below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a bending member on and through which the carrier tape is reeled and bent to be divided into an input section and an output section by said bending member , wherein said bending member being moved together with said roller during rolling of said roller to be brought to indirectly scrape the adhering component from the carrier tape through the carrier tape so as to facilitate attachment of the adhering component to the bonding area of the base component as suggested by Miyamoto and Yoshioka in order to folds back and reverses the separator or carrier tape in order to ensure proper separation.
As to the features of parent claim 2, Chen discloses wherein said first pressing mechanism has a movable stage, said pressing assembly further including a mounting seat which is securely disposed on said movable stage. See the translation, disclosing “the lower part of the carrying seat D11 is provided with a lifting seat D14 capable of moving up and down in the Z-axis direction”
However, Chen does not disclose that said roller and said bending member being pivotably and coaxially mounted on said mounting seat so as to be swingable relative to said mounting seat.
However, Miyamoto discloses that said roller and said bending member being pivotably and coaxially mounted on said mounting seat so as to be swingable relative to said mounting seat. See paragraph 0041, below:
[0041] The tape joining mechanism 5 has a first joining roller 15, an edge member 17, a pressure roller 18, and a second joining roller 19. The first joining roller 15 is pivotally supported at a forward end of a bracket 14 so as to freely rotate. The bracket 14 is pivotally supported by the bracket 11 and pivotable about an axis X2. The edge member 17 folds back and reverses the separator S arranged upstream of the first joining roller 15, and guides the separator S to the separator collecting section 6 via a hold roller. The pressure roller 18 holds the adhesive tape T with the edge member 17. The second joining roller 19 is pivotally supported at a lower end of the bracket 11 so as to freely rotate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that said roller and said bending member being pivotably and coaxially mounted on said mounting seat so as to be swingable relative to said mounting seat as suggested by Miyamoto in order to fold back and reverses the separator or carrier tape in order to ensure proper separation.
As to claim 8, Chen discloses wherein said first carrying module (fixing plate D2) includes a driving mechanism which has two slide rails (D152, see Figure 13, cited above) spaced apart from and extending parallel to each other, said second carrying module (wheel seat D151) being slidably disposed on said slide rails to make a reciprocating horizontal movement relative to said first carrying module (see Figure 13), as well as features as a pinwheel (“pin wheel D54”)
See the translation, disclosing:
Referring to FIG. 13, the abutting head D15 by a wheel base D151 is set on the X axial slide rail D152 at intervals on the bottom of the lifting seat D14; the wheel seat D151 front side is fixedly set with a rack D153 in the Y axial direction; a motor driving piece D154 is fixed on the front side of the lifting seat D14 by a fixing frame 155, the driving piece D154 with a gear D156 engaged with the rack D153, so as to drive the rack D153 linkage the wheel seat D151 and the contact head D15 as Y axial left and right displacement.
Referring to FIG. 14; 15, the driving mechanism D5 is provided with a two-pin wheel D54 of a driving shaft D53 with the same shaft sleeve embedded in the X axial direction, the driving shaft D53 is provided with a radial convex key D531, the axial length of the convex key D531 exceeds the distance between the two needle wheel D54; the two needle wheel is embedded by the convex key D531 and is limited in the radial direction and the driving shaft D53 rotate relatively; the two-needle wheel D54 can be moved in parallel or far away from the axial direction of the drive shaft D53 in X axial direction; the drive shaft D53 can be driven to rotate and continuously rotate the two needle wheel D54, each of the outer circumference of the needle wheel D54 is provided with a V-shaped groove D541 of the ring and the equidistant ring arranged with a plurality of convex embedded body D542, wherein the concave groove D54 on the two-needle wheel D5 is oppositely located at the opposite inner side; the embedded body D542 of the two-ring arrangement is opposite to the outer side; the drive shaft D53; the lower two sides are parallel to each other respectively provided with a shaft rod D55, each shaft rod D55 are respectively provided with two embedded propping piece D56 with the same shaft sleeve, the embedded propping piece D56 is a disc-shaped wheel body, the circular periphery forms inverted V-shaped matched with the shape of the needle wheel D54 of the groove D541; wherein the shaft rod D55 on one side below the drive shaft D53 is pivoted with a spacer D57 between the two embedded pieces D56 and then locked and located; and the shaft rod D55 on the other side above the drive shaft D53 on the two embedded pieces D56 can be freely X axial displacement on the shaft rod D55 ; each shaft rod D55 on the embedded part D56 respectively embedded into the drive shaft D53 on the outer circumference of the needle wheel D54 corresponding to the corresponding concave groove D541; a connecting piece D551 is set between the front end parts of the two shaft levers D55; the spacer D57 can be changed according to the width specification of the material belt A5 in FIG. 1; when changing the width specification of the material belt A5, it only needs to change the spacer D57 and change the drive shaft D53 under the shaft rod D55 on the two embedded piece D56 distance; when adjusting the two embedded piece D56; the two-pin wheel D54 on the driving shaft D53 and the two embedding-resisting pieces D56 on the shaft rod D55 above the driving shaft D53 will be linked to be adjusted; one side of the two needle wheel D54 on the driving shaft D53 is provided with a belt pressing mechanism D58, which is provided with a driving piece D581 driven by the pneumatic cylinder as the pressing piece D582 of the Y axial direction towards the two needle wheel D54 of the driving shaft D53 close to or far away from the displacement; the pressing piece D582 and the driving shaft D53 are spaced and parallel to each other; the pressing piece D582 is a rectangular frame and is provided with a hollow section D583, the hollow section D583; lower part are respectively rod-shaped shaft wheel D584, the pressing piece D582 can be driven close to the driving shaft D53 on the two needle wheel D54, the two needle wheel D54 can be partially close to the hollow section D583, the two needle wheel D54 traction a belt-shaped object; one side of the two-pin wheel D54 on the driving shaft D53 provides a force for pressing the belt-shaped object against the needle wheel D54;
the fixing plate D2 above the two-pin wheel D54 on the driving shaft D53 is provided with a hole position detecting unit D59, the hole position detecting unit D59 is provided with two rows of the two rows of the needle holes A321 of the material belt A5 of the X axial direction in FIG. 3 is located on a adjusting rod D591 on the second detector D592; the detector D592 is used for detecting the position of the needle hole A321 of the material belt A5, so as to confirm whether the material belt A5 between the two needle wheel D54 on the driving shaft D53 and the pressing member D582 of the belt pressing mechanism D58 is corresponding to the embedded body D542 on the needle wheel D54; The pressing member D582 of the belt pressing mechanism D58 is controlled to be driven to move against the two-needle wheel D54 on the driving shaft D53 by the transmission information.
Chen does not disclose the full limitation said second carrying module having an upright plate and a second transporting mechanism disposed on said upright plate for transporting the carrier tape, wherein said second transporting mechanism has a pinwheel which is operated to transport the carrier tape along a tape reeling route, an abutting roller which is disposed opposite to said pinwheel to abut against an opposite side of the carrier tape, an input rolling pin assembly which is disposed at a side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, an output rolling pin assembly which is disposed at an opposite side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, a first coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said input rolling pin assembly are mounted, and a second coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said output rolling pin assembly and said pinwheel are mounted.
Additionally, changes in size and proportion and changes in shape are often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV. A and B. Rearrangement of parts is also obvious. MPEP 2144.04 V. C. In this case, modifying the structure of the second carrying module to one having an upright plate and a second transporting mechanism disposed on said upright plate for transporting the carrier tape, wherein said second transporting mechanism has a pinwheel which is operated to transport the carrier tape along a tape reeling route, an abutting roller which is disposed opposite to said pinwheel to abut against an opposite side of the carrier tape, an input rolling pin assembly which is disposed at a side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, an output rolling pin assembly which is disposed at an opposite side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, a first coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said input rolling pin assembly are mounted, and a second coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said output rolling pin assembly and said pinwheel are mounted would have been an obvious changes in size and proportion and changes in shape as well as rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation said second carrying module having an upright plate and a second transporting mechanism disposed on said upright plate for transporting the carrier tape, wherein said second transporting mechanism has a pinwheel which is operated to transport the carrier tape along a tape reeling route, an abutting roller which is disposed opposite to said pinwheel to abut against an opposite side of the carrier tape, an input rolling pin assembly which is disposed at a side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, an output rolling pin assembly which is disposed at an opposite side of said pinwheel and which includes a plurality of rolling shafts, a first coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said input rolling pin assembly are mounted, and a second coupling bracket which is disposed opposite to said upright plate and on which ends of said rolling shafts of said output rolling pin assembly and said pinwheel are mounted as obvious changes in size and proportion and changes in shape and rearrangement of parts of the second carry module in order to perform the same function in the same manner to achieve the same result.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 112110179 A), Yoshioka (US 20100096090 A1) and Miyamoto (US 20110048609 A1) as applied to claims 1-6 and 8 above, and further in view of Kawatani (JP H066019 A)
As to claim 7, Chen makes obvious wherein said first carrying module includes an upright seat, a first transporting mechanism, a deflection correcting mechanism and a driving mechanism which are disposed on said upright seat,
wherein said first transporting mechanism has a tape reel on which the tape assembly is disposed (“the material belt wheel D6”), a first reel for reeling the cover tape (“roller D7”), a second reel for reeling the carrier tape (“second reel D8”) (see the translation, disclosing:
a material belt wheel D6, which is set on the upper part of the joint mechanism D1, and is driven by a belt D62 to rotate by a driving piece D61 at the back side of the fixing plate D2, the material belt wheel D6 is used for sleeving the material roll A6 in FIG. 3, the front side surface of the fixing plate D2 is provided with a distance sensor D61; for detecting and the distance change of the circumference of the material roll A6, to calculate and detect whether the material roll A6 is to be used up and should be replaced;
a first rolling wheel D7, which is set on the other side of the attaching mechanism D1 opposite to the alignment inspection unit D4, and located above the driving mechanism D5, which is driven by a driving piece D71 at the back side of the fixing plate D2 to rotate; for rolling the first envelope A31 of the material belt A5 in FIG. 3;
a second reel D8, set on the other side of the joint mechanism D1 opposite to the alignment inspection unit D4, and located between the upper part of the driving mechanism D5 and the lower part of the first rolling wheel D7; the belt D72 driven by the driving member D71 at the back side of the fixing plate D2 and the first rolling wheel D7 are synchronously connected with the action to rotate; for rolling the second envelope A32 of the material belt A5 in FIG. 3.
),
said deflection correcting mechanism (“deflection mechanism D13”) is interposed between said tape reel and said second reel, and has an upper axle seat (upper swing seat D121), a lower axle seat (“lower swing seat D122”), an upright pivot axle (“pivot shaft D131” and “two pivoting part D132”) pivotally connected between said upper and lower axle seats (see the translation, disclosing:
Referring to FIG. 10, the attaching mechanism D1 of the carrying seat D11 and the swing seat D12 is provided with a deflection mechanism D13, the deflection mechanism D13 is on the seat D11 and the swing seat D12 of the upper swing seat D121; the two sides of the upper swing seat D121 of the swing seat D12 on two sides of the pivot shaft D131 are respectively provided with two convex pivot parts D132; a motor driving piece D133 is fixed on the carrier seat D11 front side by a fixing piece D134; the output shaft D135 and a swinging arm D136 centre is fixed; the swinging arm D136 two sides are respectively connected with a connecting piece D137 and the two pivoting part D132; making the swing arm D136 and the two connecting pieces D137; two pivot parts D132 together form a four-connecting rod mechanism; when the driving piece D133 drives the output shaft D135 to rotate, the swing arm D136 fixed with the output shaft D135 will be horizontally swing; the two connecting pieces D137 of the two sides are formed a front; after one, the two pivot part D132 drives the swing seat D12 of the upper swing seat D121, the upper swing seat D121, the lower swing seat D122 is fixed on the fixed plate D2 with the pivot shaft D131 as axes to move the each component on the deflection; the lower part of the carrying seat D11 is provided with a lifting seat D14 capable of moving up and down in the Z-axis direction, the lower part of the lifting seat D14 is provided with a sticking head D15, the sticking head D15 is composed of a rod-shaped wheel body arranged in X axial direction by the central shaft; the fixing plate D2 on one side of the sticking head D15 is provided with a displacement guide rod D16 parallel to the sticking head D15 in X axial direction, the displacement guide rod D15 is driven by a driving piece D161 composed of the back steam pressure cylinder of the fixing plate D2 shown in FIG. 8, and can be used on a Z-axial slide rail D162 and the lower displacement.
),
said driving mechanism has two slide rails spaced apart from and extending parallel to each other, a gear interposed between said slide rails (X axial slide rail D152), and an X-axis driver (driving piece D154) for driving rotation of said gear, and said upright seat (lifting seat D14) (see the translation, disclosing:
Referring to FIG. 13, the abutting head D15 by a wheel base D151 is set on the X axial slide rail D152 at intervals on the bottom of the lifting seat D14; the wheel seat D151 front side is fixedly set with a rack D153 in the Y axial direction; a motor driving piece D154 is fixed on the front side of the lifting seat D14 by a fixing frame 155, the driving piece D154 with a gear D156 engaged with the rack D153, so as to drive the rack D153 linkage the wheel seat D151 and the contact head D15 as Y axial left and right displacement.
).
Chen does not disclose in the first transporting mechanism the additional feature of a first guide reel for guiding the carrier tape toward said second carrying module. Chen discloses that it drives rotation of a gear D156 and thus does not disclose in the driving mechanism utilizing a threaded bolt, and thus does not disclose that said upright seat has a first opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said upper and lower axle seats, and a second opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said slide rails.
Kawatani discloses additional feature of a first guide reel for guiding the carrier tape toward said second carrying module. Kawatani teaches an adhering component in the form of an ACF film sandwiched between two cover films. The translation teaches that “The ACF tape 30 having the three-layer structure described above is wound around the ACF supply reel 8 and It is sent out from the supply reel 8.” The translation teaches that “Here, the cover film 5 is peeled off and wound on the cover film take-up reel 10.” The translation also teaches that “the base film 7 is reeled up on a take-up reel 9.” See Figure 1-3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a first guide reel for guiding the carrier tape toward said second carrying module as taught by Kawatani in order to remove a top and bottom layer covering the adhering component.
Additionally, changes in size and proportion and changes in shape are often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV. A and B. In this case, modifying the gear to a threaded bolt wherein said upright seat has a first opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said upper and lower axle seats, and a second opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said slide rails would have been and obvious changes in size and proportion and changes in shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a threaded bolt wherein said upright seat has a first opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said upper and lower axle seats, and a second opening which extends therethrough and is formed between said slide rails would have been and obvious changes in size and proportion and changes in shape of the gear structure in order to perform the same function in the same manner to achieve the same result.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK