DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-17, is/are filed on 10/2/2026 are currently pending. Claim(s) 8-17 is/are withdrawn, 1-7 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Stuth (US 20070007202 A1) or rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Stuth (US 20070007202 A1) in view of Pehrson (US 20060124543 A1).
Claim interpretation: The “bioremediation chamber” is read as the media-containing treatment zone, consistent with [0083] of the instant specification. Claim 1 does not require the “air pulses” to occur at any particular frequency or to be of any particular bubble size. Any discrete release of air from a mixing device that removes biomass meets the limitation.
Regarding claim 1, Stuth discloses a wastewater treatment system (reactor unit 1 installed in septic tank 2; Figs. 1-3; [0009], [0020]) comprising: a. A bioremediation chamber (cylindrical pod 19 containing aerobic microbial media; [0009], [0020]) including a substrate (buoyant media 37; [0023]) configured to form at least one vertical path (media 37 surrounds centrally located draft tube 29, leaving an open vertical passage through the center of the media; [0021]; claim 19); b. An aerator (blower 36 and air pressure conduit 33; [0021]) positioned below said bioremediation chamber (conduit 33 connects to the lower half portion of draft tube 29 at the bottom end of pod 19, beneath the media bed; [0022]; claim 19), said aerator emitting bubbles that enter at least one of said vertical paths (air is introduced into draft tube 29 and drives liquor vertically upward through the tube; [0021]-[0022]). Stuth does not use the word “bubbles.” However, pressurized air released into the submerged draft tube necessarily forms gas bubbles that rise through the tube. This is what produces the pumping action described in [0021] (see MPEP 2112); c. Colonies of microbes supported by said substrate (aerobic bacterial growth on the surfaces of media 37; [0023]; claim 18), said colonies forming a plurality of biomasses (organic buildup on media 37; [0024]); and d. a mixer (back-flush manifold 38 with diffuser 44 and orifices 46, supplied by a separate blower 41 through conduit 39; [0024]; Figs. 3A and 4) positioned below said substrate (manifold 38 is supported adjacent the bottom end of pod 19; claim 21), said mixer emitting air pulses that dislodge some of said biomasses (manifold 38 releases jets of air upward through media 37 when clogging or organic buildup occurs, clearing the growth medium; [0007], [0010], [0024]; claim 21). Each back-flush is a discrete release of air, which meets “air pulses” under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The manifold 38 and blower 41 are separate from the aeration conduit 33 and blower 36 ([0024]). Stuth further discloses wherein said system is less than 24″ wide (pod 19 has a diameter of approximately 18 inches and is inserted through a standard 24-inch tank access opening; [0020], [0026]).
In the event the “bioremediation chamber” is read as the entire pod 19, Stuth discloses all elements of claim 1 as set forth above, except that Stuth releases the aeration air inside the pod at its bottom end ([0022]; claim 19). Stuth does not disclose the aerator positioned below said bioremediation chamber. Pehrson teaches a wastewater treatment module containing fixed-film media (controlled-reaction-volume module 12, media 14) having an open bottom ([0074]). Pehrson places air-driven mixing and aeration devices below the media (mixing devices 16, which may include a bubble generator and are powered by gas supply 26; [0031], [0076]-[0077]), so that flow is channeled vertically through the module ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the air outlet of Stuth below the open bottom of pod 19, as taught by Pehrson. Releasing the air below the module draws wastewater up into the module from underneath and induces flow through the media (Pehrson, paras. [0019], [0087]). Stuth’s pod is already open at the bottom ([0020]), so moving the air outlet from just inside the bottom end to just below it is a rearrangement of a known component that yields a predictable result. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019 (CCPA 1950); MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, Stuth discloses the wastewater treatment system of claim 1, wherein at least one of said vertical paths is substantially unimpeded for its entire length (draft tube 29 is open at its upper end, extends from above the water line to the bottom end of pod 19, is surrounded by but not filled with media 37, and provides a clear, unobstructed air stream through the tube; [0022]; claim 19).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Stuth (US 20070007202 A1) in view of Pehrson and Danner (US 11254593 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Stuth discloses the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 as set forth above. Stuth does not disclose wherein said substrate includes a first substrate surface connected to an opposing second substrate surface, said first surface and said second substrate surface substantially identical. Stuth uses buoyant plastic spheres as the substrate ([0023]).
Danner teaches a wastewater treatment system (treatment system 10) wherein said substrate (substrate 21 formed into sheets 20) includes a first substrate surface (outer surface 22) connected to an opposing second substrate surface (opposite outer surface 22), said first surface and said second substrate surface substantially identical (both outer surfaces 22 have the same diamond weave pattern; Figs. 6-7 and accompanying description) (C4/30-C5/45). Danner identifies the substrate as a 3-D spacer fabric (C5/10-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the buoyant spheres of Stuth with the spacer-fabric substrate of Danner. Danner teaches that conventional planar media do not provide a sustained oxygen gradient, and that its substrate creates both aerobic and anoxic zones that allow simultaneous nitrification and denitrification (Danner, C5/30-45). Nitrogen removal is a known goal in septic wastewater treatment. Replacing one known biofilm carrier with another to obtain predictable results is obvious. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007); MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 3, Stuth in view of Danner teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 2. Danner further teaches wherein said first substrate surface and said second substrate surface are connected one to the other by a plurality of interconnecting fibers (fibers 24 joining the two outer surfaces 22; C4/55-65). The same reasoning for combining applies as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Stuth in view of Danner teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 3. Danner further teaches wherein said substrate forms an oxygen concentration gradient with the highest concentration of oxygen adjacent said first substrate surface and said second substrate surface, and the lowest concentration of oxygen adjacent said interconnecting fibers. In Danner, the open weave of outer surfaces 22 allows oxygen to diffuse into the substrate, while the deep recesses formed by interconnecting fibers 24 limit diffusion. This produces aerobic zones 54 at the open surface areas and anoxic zones 56 within the recessed areas (Fig. 8 and accompanying description, C5/20-45). The same reasoning for combining applies as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Stuth discloses the wastewater treatment system of claim 1. Stuth does not disclose wherein said substrate includes aerobic zones and anoxic zones. Danner teaches wherein said substrate includes aerobic zones and anoxic zones (aerobic zones 54 and anoxic zones 56; Fig. 8 and accompanying description; Danner claims 7(D)-(E), which recite colonies of both aerobic and anaerobic bacteria embedded in the sheets, C5/20-45). The same reasoning for combining applies as set forth for claim 2.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Stuth (US 20070007202 A1) in view of Pehrson and Jons (US 20170225987 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Stuth does not disclose wherein said substrate is configured into an orientation selected from the group consisting of spiral, serpentine, and combinations thereof.
Jons teaches a biological treatment unit (bioreactor 38) wherein the substrate (flat sheet 40 having opposing bio-growth surfaces 50, 50′) is configured into a spiral orientation. Sheet 40 and feed spacer 42 are spirally wound about hollow conduit 44, forming flow channels 43 that extend from inlet 46 to outlet 48 ([0013], [0026], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the substrate of Stuth in a spiral orientation as taught by Jons. Jons teaches that the spiral arrangement provides a large bio-growth surface in contact with the flow channels while keeping flow resistance low ([0027]). Stuth’s pod 19 is a narrow cylinder with a central draft tube 29, the same geometry as Jons’s sheet wound about central conduit 44. Winding the substrate around draft tube 29 would increase the available growth surface within the 18-inch pod while keeping open vertical flow channels. This is a known technique applied to a similar device to yield predictable results. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417; MPEP 2143(I)(C).
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777