Detail Action
This office action is in response to the application filed on 5/29/2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 7/8/2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Afrooze et al. (US 2023/0415348 Al).
Per claim 1,
Afrooze discloses
A method for version management for Distributed Control Systems (DCSs), comprising: retrieving, by a processor, one or more source files related to one or more objects corresponding to a function of a device of a DCS from a data repository associated with the DCS, based on receiving a request from one or more users associated with the DCS; (Fig. 1or Fig. 3, [0070], discloses access the configuration files and assets…of the vision processors…execute vision pipelines by the vision processors. The executed pipeline corresponds to a function. [0065], see robot controller and camera are couples to vision processor 108a. [0023], discloses a configuration of a vision pipeline is stored in a configuration file. [0105-0106], discloses users deploy assets and batch configuration modification. [0086], discloses a vision pipeline causing cameras to send images.)
retrieving, by the processor, one or more versions of the one or more source files, from one or more model services corresponding to the one or more source files;([0096], discloses different configurations stored in different versions of the version control system….git…or AWS CodeCommit…configuration repository)
executing, by the processor, one or more operations for the device of the DCS based on one or more user inputs, wherein the one or more operations are executed based on the one or more source files from the data repository and the one or more versions from the one or more model services; ([0105-0106] discloses users deploy configuration modification) and
managing, by the processor, the one or more versions of the one or more source files based on execution of the one or more operations. ([0096], see different configurations stored in different versions in version control system…. for example, git manage different versions of configuration file. Also see user interface provides, for example, commit operation.)
Per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Afrooze discloses
wherein the one or more operations comprise at least one of: a change history operation, a roll-back/revert operation, a difference presentation operation, a concurrent multi-user operation, a merge operation, and a conflict resolution operation, wherein the change history operation comprises changing at least one portion in a historical version of the one or more versions, wherein the difference presentation operation comprises presenting differences between two or more versions, and wherein the concurrent multi-user operation comprises providing the one or more versions simultaneously to the one or more users. ([0026], discloses reverting to past system configuration)
Per claims 8-9, see rejections of claims 1-2.
Per claim 14, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated.
Afrooze discloses
wherein the DCS is implemented in a micro-service based architecture. ([0099], discloses version control system …to track different versions of the configuration file. It appears to correspond to Specification, [0086], discloses track of changes made to one ore more source file over time. In one interpretation, each version is a mico-service.)
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Afrooze et al. (US 2023/0415348 Al) in view of Arkhipova et al. (US 20170277742 A1)
Per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Afrooze does not, however, Arkhipova discloses
wherein the merge operation comprises determining, by the processor, a first set of one or more differences amongst each of the one or more versions of the one or more source files and determining a second set of one or more differences between each of the one or more versions and the one or more source files simultaneously; and integrating, by the processor, the one or more versions in the one or more source files, based on the first and second set of one or more differences. ([0077] In further embodiments, when it is determined that both versions of the same source code file have been modified since a prior file synchronization between computing device 1 and computing device 2, the user may be given other options, such as an option to merge the different versions of the source code file, to obtain a representation of the differences between the different versions of the source code file, or the like. Where first set of differences corresponds to source code modified on device 1 and second set of differences corresponds to source code modified on device 2 and then combined based the above two sets.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Arkhipova into the teachings of Afrooze to include the limitation disclosed by Arkhipova. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to merging changes of the same source file copied on different devices as suggested by Arkhipova ([0076])
Per claim 10, see rejection of claim 10.
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Afrooze et al. (US 2023/0415348 Al) in view of Polisetty (US 20210240730 A1).
Per claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Afrooze discloses
wherein the roll-back/revert operation comprises rolling back to a previous version of the one or more source files maintained at the one or more model services, wherein rolling back is performed by at least one of:
resetting to a previous version of the one or more source files;( [0026] The method may further comprise: retrieving a version of the configuration file representing a past system
configuration; and reverting to the past system configuration.)
Afrooze does not, however, Polisetty discloses
restoring one or more changes selected by the user from a previous version of the one or more source files. ([0088], see version Management system. [0028], manage version of database object, similar to managing codebase in software domain. [0160], see revert or UNDO operation performed selectively only selected object records.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Polisetty into the teachings of Afrooze to include the limitation disclosed by Polisetty. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to revert only the portion that is erroneously deployed as suggested by Polisetty ([0160])
Per claim 11, see rejection of claim 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Afrooze et al. (US 2023/0415348 Al) in view of Michaely et al. (US 2012/0284684 Al)
Per claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Afrooze does not, however, Michaely discloses
wherein the conflict resolution operation comprises: determining, by the processor, one or more conflicts amongst each of the one or more versions of the one or more source files and between each of the one or more versions and the one or more source files; and resolving, by the processor, the one or more conflicts by modifying the one or more versions of the one or more source files, based on user inputs. (Fig. 4 [0027], discloses user/developer of proposed changes to resolve conflict.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Michaely into the teachings of Afrooze to include the limitation disclosed by Michaely. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to revert only the portion that is erroneously deployed as suggested by Michaely ([0027], allow user to initiate resolution to resolve conflict.)
Per claim 12, see rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Afrooze et al. (US 2023/0415348 Al) in view of Koshelev (10,956,309 B2)
Per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Afrooze does not, however, Koshelev discloses
further comprising displaying, by the processor, at least one of the one or more versions of the one or more source files and differences between the one or more versions of the one or more source files, in one of a graphical representation, a non-graphical representation. (C13: 23-50, discloses display showing changes/revisions of source code)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Koshelev into the teachings of Afrooze to include the limitation disclosed by Koshelev. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to discern if lines of source code is new as suggested by Kochelev (C13: 23-50, discloses display showing changes/revisions of source code)
Per claim 13, see rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Afrooze et al. (US 2023/0415348 Al) in view of Gross et al. (US 20220413844 A1)
Per claim 7, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Afrooze does not, however, Gross discloses
wherein the one or more operations are executed stage-wise for each of a plurality of stages in the DCS. ([0003]-[0006] discloses different stages of software Lifecyle, coding, testing, build, deploy and release with various tools corresponding to various operations)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Koshelev into the teachings of Afrooze to include the limitation disclosed by Gross. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to overcoming challenges getting application from code into a deployment platform as suggested by Gross ([0007], overcoming challenges getting application from code into a deployment platform.)
Per claim 15, see rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PHILIP WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199