Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority; however, a copy of the foreign priority document was not received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0033438 to Lan et al. (cited by applicant) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0120250 to Crooks et al.
Lan et al. teaches an analysis device that comprises a porous (paper) substrate that has a channel defined by a printed wax pattern as shown in Figs. 1a-1d. As shown in Figs. 1c and 1d the analysis device has an upper first region and lower second region that are separated by the channel.
Electrodes are formed so as to straddle the first region, the channel wall, and the second region,
wherein a straight line passing through the electrodes always intersects the channel wall when the analysis device is viewed from above.
Lan et al. does not teach that the porous substrate is impregnated with a hydrophobic material to form the channel and first and second regions.
Crooks et al. teaches an analysis device in which a porous substrate has a channel defined therein by a hydrophobic material that permeates the porous substrate and defines a boundary for fluid flow, thereby directing fluid flow along the channel. [0085]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lan et al. and impregnate the porous substrate with a hydrophobic in a pattern that defines the channel and first and second regions in view of Crooks et al.’s teaching impregnating a porous substrate with a hydrophobic material to form boundaries to contain fluids.
Forming the electrodes by printing as taught by Lan et al. would result in the electrodes having at least a part formed inside the porous substrate in the second region in the same manner as applicant forms a portion of the electrodes inside the porous substrate in the second region.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above Lan et al. in view of Crooks et al. renders all the limitations of claim 1 obvious.
Therefore, Lan et al. in view of Crooks et al. renders claim 1 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Lan et al. in view of Crooks et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites that the first region comprises a region that is permeated by a specimen.
Lan et al. teaches that the upper region is permeated by a sample during use. [0018]
Therefore, Lan et al. in view of Crooks et al. renders claim 2 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above Lan et al. in view of Crooks et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 recites that the second region comprises a region for connection, and wherein the analysis device is connected to an external measuring instrument through a portion of the electrode that is present in the second region.
Lan et al. teaches that a potentiometer can be used to measure the potential difference (EMF) between the two paper electrodes for aqueous KCl samples with different concentrations of Cl-.
Therefore, Lan et al. in view of Crooks et al. renders claim 3 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, as noted above Lan et al. in view of Crooks et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 4 depends.
Claim 4 recites that the electrode comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a reference electrode, and wherein the second electrode comprises a working electrode.
Lan et al. teaches the use of both a reference and a working electrode. [0062]
Therefore, Lan et al. in view of Crooks et al. renders claim 4 obvious.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL STANLEY GZYBOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 1798