DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed on 07/10/2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezeault et al. (WO2014122401) and Fritz et al. (DE 102016006195 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 13-15, Bezeault discloses a vehicle sill plate comprising: a plate body (20) having a first face (right face of 20, fig 4a) and a second face (left face of 20, fig 4a) that is opposite the first face (figs1-4), the plate body sized to be received within a recess (recess of 10 containing 20, figs 4a-d , figs 1-3) that is elongated in a vehicle longitudinal direction of an inner door frame sill member (1, 10) configured to form part of a door sill frame of a vehicle (figs 1-4); and a plurality of tabs (22) that extend outward from the plate body (figs 1-4), each tab comprising a base (lower end of 22, figs 1-4) that is connected to the plate body and a head (upper end of 22, figs 1-4) that extends outward from the base in a widthwise direction of the tab thereby extending over the plate body (figs 1-4), each tab being shaped and configured to be received within a slot (slot containing 22, figs 4a-e) formed in the door frame sill member to connect the plate body to the door frame sill member (figs 4a-f), wherein each tab of the plurality of tabs extends outward from a flange (20 ) formed by the plate body and being formed from the flange such that each tab includes a plate-like tab body (body of base of 22) forming the base (figs 4a-e)
Bezeault is silent regarding the fact that the head is a monolithic part of the plate body.
Fritz teaches that two components can be manufacture separately or in one piece (page 3).
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Bezeault and Fritz before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Bezeault to include manufacturing pieces separately or together as taught by Fritz in order to provide an improved vehicle body (page 2)
Furthermore, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893)
Regarding claims 2, 8 , 16, Bezeault further discloses that the head of each tab tapers in the widthwise direction of the tab from the base to an apex (annotated fig 4).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 17 Bezeault further discloses that the head of each tab extends outward from the base (figs 4a-e) at an overhang portion that overhangs the second face to a curve (annotated fig 4) and then to a taper portion that tapers from the curve to the apex (figs 4a-e), the curve having a first radius of curvature that is less than a second radius of curvature of the apex (fig 4).
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 19 Bezeault further discloses that the material is aluminum (page 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that Bezault and Fritz fail to disclose or fairly suggest each and every limitation of claims 1, 7, and 13. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In fact, Bezeault discloses the apparatus claimed by the applicant except the fact that In Bezeault reference the body and tab are two separate components. However, Fritz teaches that these components can be made separately or in one piece. Furthermore, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
09/23/2026