DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected 1-9 there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/18/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the sintered blank" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the sintered blank comprises a top residue, a body structure, a boss structure, and a bottom residue which are integrated" in lines 1-3. The limitation is indefinite as it claim 11 and parent claim 10 do not disclose a sintered blank with respect to the ferrite molding mold, making unclear how a sintered blank is further limited to comprise the listed components.
Claims dependent upon claims rejected above, either directly or indirectly, are likewise rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du et al. (CN 115938774 A, original document and machine translation provided herein).
Du teaches a ferrite molding mold for molding a ferrite (title, n0002, n0004), comprising a main molding mold comprised of die 10, floating die 20, and lower die 30 (Fig. 4-6, [n0054]). Du teaches
wherein the main molding mold is provided with a molding cavity 60 for molding a blank (Fig. 4-6, [n0052-n0052]). Du teaches a notch 140 (i.e., a gap) is formed on the ferrite core due to a boss 23 (i.e., a gap forming structure for forming a gap of the ferrite) ([n0054]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, Lu (CN 113871155 A, original document supplied with IDS filed 05/29/2024, machine translation provided herein).
Lu teaches a ferrite molding mold for molding a ferrite (Title, [n0002-n0003, n0010]) comprising a main molding mold 2/3/4 (Fig. 4-6, [n0053]), wherein the main molding mold is provided with a molding cavity for molding a blank [n0015, n0053], and a gap forming structure 2 for forming a gap of the ferrite [n0053].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (CN 216902512 U, original document supplied with IDS filed 05/29/2024, machine translation provided herein).
Hao teaches a ferrite molding mold for molding a ferrite (Title, [n0003]) comprising a main molding mold 2/3 (Fig. 1, [n0025]), wherein the main molding mold 2/3 is provided with a molding cavity 22 for molding a blank (Fig. 6, [n0025]), where the walls of the mold comprise a gap forming structure for forming a gap of the ferrite (Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 and 15-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest identified prior art of record is Du et al. (CN 115938774 A), Lu (CN 113871155 A), and Hao et al. (CN 216902512 U).
Regarding claim 11, Du teaches a ferrite molding mold according to claim 10 above.
Du teaches the main molding mold to comprise a lower punch 30, a mold core 40, and an upper punch 50 (Fig. 4-6, [n0052]). Du teaches an end surface of one end 23 of the lower punch is provided with a first molding groove (Fig. 9, [n0054]). Du teaches the gap forming structure comprises a first protrusion 24 disposed on a groove sidewall of the first molding groove 23 (Fig. 9, [n0055])
The Examiner notes that as claim 11 is directed to an apparatus, and the limitations regarding a top residue, body structure, boss structure, and bottom residue which are integrated are drawn solely to a sintered blank (i.e. the material or article worked upon), and do not expressly or impliedly require any particular structure, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP § 2115.
Du does not teach wherein a groove bottom of the first molding groove is provided with a second molding groove, a groove bottom of the second molding groove is provided with a core bore, the mold core passes through the core bore, the first molding groove, and the second molding groove, wherein there is a second protrusion disposed on a groove bottom wall of the first molding groove, wherein a bottom end of the upper punch is provided with a third protrusion that is capable of extending into the first molding groove and disposing opposite to the first protrusion, wherein the molding cavity comprises a top molding cavity formed by the first protrusion, the second protrusion, the groove sidewall of the first molding groove and the mold core, or wherein a bottom molding cavity formed by a groove sidewall of the second molding groove and the mold core.
Lu teaches a ferrite molding mold according to claim 10 above. Lu teaches the main molding mold comprises a lower punch 4, a mold core 2, and an upper punch 3 [n0053].
The Examiner notes that as claim 11 is directed to an apparatus, and the limitations regarding a top residue, body structure, boss structure, and bottom residue which are integrated are drawn solely to a sintered blank (i.e. the material or article worked upon), and do not expressly or impliedly require any particular structure, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP § 2115.
Lu does not teach wherein an end surface of one end of the lower punch is provided with a first molding groove, a groove bottom of the first molding groove is provided with a second molding groove, a groove bottom of the second molding groove is provided with a core bore, and the mold core passes through the core bore, the first molding groove, and the second molding groove, wherein the gap forming structure comprises a first protrusion disposed on a groove sidewall of the first molding groove, and a second protrusion disposed on a groove bottom wall of the first molding groove, a bottom end of the upper punch is provided with a third protrusion that is capable of extending into the first molding groove and disposing opposite to the first protrusion, wherein the molding cavity comprises a top molding cavity formed by the first protrusion, the second protrusion, the groove sidewall of the first molding groove and the mold core and a bottom molding cavity formed by a groove sidewall of the second molding groove and the mold core, wherein the top molding cavity is used for molding the top residue and the body structure and the bottom molding cavity is used for molding the boss structure and the bottom residue.
Hao teaches a ferrite molding mold according to claim 10 above. Hao teaches the main molding mold comprises a lower punch 3 and an upper punch 2 (Fig. 3, [n0025]).
The Examiner notes that as claim 11 is directed to an apparatus, and the limitations regarding a top residue, body structure, boss structure, and bottom residue which are integrated are drawn solely to a sintered blank (i.e. the material or article worked upon), and do not expressly or impliedly require any particular structure, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP § 2115.
Hao does not teach a mold core, wherein an end surface of one end of the lower punch is provided with a first molding groove, a groove bottom of the first molding groove is provided with a second molding groove, a groove bottom of the second molding groove is provided with a core bore, wherein the gap forming structure comprises a first protrusion disposed on a groove sidewall of the first molding groove, wherein a second protrusion disposed on a groove bottom wall of the first molding groove, wherein a bottom end of the upper punch is provided with a third protrusion that is capable of extending into the first molding groove and disposing opposite to the first protrusion, wherein the molding cavity comprises a top molding cavity formed by the first protrusion, the second protrusion, the groove sidewall of the first molding groove and the mold core, wherein a bottom molding cavity formed by a groove sidewall of the second molding groove and the mold core, or wherein the top molding cavity is used for molding the top residue and the body structure and the bottom molding cavity is used for molding the boss structure and the bottom residue.
Regarding claim 13, Du teaches a ferrite molding mold according to claim 10 above. Du teaches wherein the main molding mold comprises a body mold 40/50 (Fig. 4, [n0052) and a boss mold 20 (Fig. 4, 9, [n0055]). Du teaches the body mold comprises a core rod 40 (i.e., a first mold core) [n0052]. Du teaches the gap forming structure 23 to be a protruding block (Fig. 9, [n0054]).
Du does not teach wherein the body mold comprises a first lower stamping and a first upper stamping, wherein the first mold core is inserted through a first through hole, a first groove, and a second groove, or wherein the gap forming structure is a protruding block disposed in the second molding cavity.
Lu teaches a ferrite molding mold according to claim 10 above. Lu teaches wherein the main molding mold comprises a body mold 4, and a boss mold 3 ([n0053]). Lu teaches wherein the body mold comprises a first mold core 41 [n0053]. Lu teaches wherein the gap forming structure is a protruding block 33 disposed in a molding cavity (Fig. 5, [n0053]).
Lu does not teach wherein the body mold comprises a first lower stamping and a first upper stamping, wherein the first mold core is inserted through a first through hole, a first groove, and a second groove, wherein the first mold core and a groove sidewall of the first groove form a first molding cavity for molding a first residue, or wherein the first mold core and a groove sidewall of the second groove form a second molding cavity for molding the body structure,
Hao teaches a ferrite molding mold according to claim 10 above. Hao teaches wherein the main molding mold comprises a body mold 2 and a boss mold 3 (Fig. 1, [n0025-n0026, n0029]).
Hao does not teach wherein the body mold comprises a first lower stamping, a first mold core, and a first upper stamping, wherein an end surface of one end of the first lower stamping is provided with a first groove, a groove bottom of the first groove is provided with a second groove, and a groove bottom of the second groove is provided with a first through hole extending to an end surface of the other end of the first lower stamping, wherein the first mold core is inserted through the first through hole, the first groove, and the second groove ,the first mold core and a groove sidewall of the first groove form a first molding cavity for molding a first residue, wherein the first mold core and a groove sidewall of the second groove form a second molding cavity for molding the body structure, wherein the gap forming structure is a protruding block disposed in the second molding cavity, wherein the first upper stamping is used for applying pressure to a powder in the first molding cavity and a powder in the second molding cavity to mold a body blank by compressing
Based on the above discussion, the closest prior art, taken singularly or in combination, does not fairly suggest or render obvious a ferrite molding mold according to claims 11 or 13. As the claim(s) is/are free from the art, claims 15-19, and 14 and 20 respectively are also free from the art due at least to their dependency from claim(s) 11 and 13 respectively.
Conclusion
/NIKOLAS TAKUYA PULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/CORIS FUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732