DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20050013494 A1 (hereinafter Srinivasan)
US 20130003865 A1 (hereinafter Norkin)
US 20130101024 A1 (hereinafter Van)
US 20080117980 A1 (hereinafter Hung)
US 20050276505 A1 (threshold based on boundary strength {para 34}:using two threshold in filtering decision {para 45} )
ENJAMIN BROSS et al, "WD4: Working Draft 4 of High-Efficiency Video Coding", JCTVC-F803_d6, Joint 21 collaborative Team on Video Coding (JCTVC) of ITU-T SG16 WP3 and ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11, July 14-22, 011, Torino, Italy, 229 pages.: (hereinafter HEVCWD4, see analysis in earlier office action)
US 20130266061 A1(para 11-26: adaptive deblocking filtering at the common edge)
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Claim objection has been withdrawn in view of amendments to the claim.
Double patenting rejection has been withdrawn in view of approved terminal disclaimer.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for following reason.
Re: Prior art rejection of independent claims
Applicant argued in substance that Srinivasan does not teaches computing measure of deviation at two sets of samples and argues that Srinivasan event teaches away.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and argues that, Srinivasan explicitly teaches this. Srinivasan teaches different alternatives and these alternatives are based on different weighting factors, which is a common-sense decision-making technique. As can be seen from para 103, 105, 107, when deciding purely on computation amount or speed, one location is the best, but the decision involves computation, quality and other factors and can test at two locations (up to three locations) . Therefore Srinivasan teaches the argued limitation and does not teach away from it.
[0103] The video encoder 200/decoder 300 then performs the edge strength test at a subset of locations (e.g., one location) along each segment. As previously remarked, a deblocking filter conventionally would test each row of pixels straddling the block edge for the presence of an artifact by means of a nonlinear edge strength measure, which is computationally expensive. For example, one embodiment of the video encoder 200/decoder 300 with segment size of 4 pixels performs the edge strength test at only one row of pixels in every four rows making up the segment (shown in the diagram as the pixels marked by an `x`). Likewise, for horizontal block edges, the video encoder/decoder checks only one column of pixels in every four. Alternative embodiments of the video encoder/decoder can perform the edge strength test at other numbers of the locations per block edge segment fewer than all locations, although one location per segment has proven sufficiently effective at identifying blockiness. Further, alternative embodiments of the video encoder/decoder can use different locations or patterns of locations within a segment, e.g., the first, second or fourth row in lieu of the third row location illustrated in FIG. 8.
[0105] The edge strength test function in this embodiment also is based on the quantization parameter-QP, which is a value that controls the amount of quantization by the quantizer 270 (FIG. 2). In this embodiment, the quantization parameter is generally related to the video quality resulting from compression (e.g., at higher quantization, the video quality decreases). In the edge strength test function, the quantization parameter is used as the basis to ease the threshold for applying the deblocking filter, such that the blockiness threshold for applying deblocking filtering is eased as the video quality decreases. In alternative embodiments, the edge strength test function can be based on other quality measurements, and can use other weightings of the pixels values as a measure of blockiness of the block edge segment.
[0107] In general, various alternative embodiments of the video encoder/decoder with deblocking filter described here may be used with longer or shorter definitions of the segment, and with differently located samples for the edge strength measure.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive
Re: Prior art rejection of dependent claims
Applicant has presented no additional argument, other than arguments already presented with respect to independent claims. Therefore, the arguments are similarly not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Srinivasan in view of further embodiment of Srinivasan
Regarding Claims 1. Srinivasan teaches 1. a system comprising: a processor configurable: compute a first measure of deviation at a first four-sample boundary segment based on a first set of samples in an image [(Fig.9; computing edge strength {para 104} Fig.9 shows four-sample boundary. a deviation based on sample set P1-P8 on row 3rd {Fig.9 and Fig. 10} )] ,
: compute a second measure of deviation at the first four-sample boundary segment based on a second set of samples in the image, [(while Fig.9 shows that edge strength test is perform only on one line; the deviation/edge strength can be determined at a second row {i.e. second set of samples} . See para 103 “can perform the edge strength test at other numbers of the locations per block edge segment fewer than all locations” )]
and make a filter on/off decision jointly for all rows of the first four-sample boundary segment using the first and second measures of deviation [(based on edge checks above filtering or not decision is made {para 100})] : and a display coupled to the processor and configured to display the image [(para 27 performed in TV)] .
While Srinivasan’s same embodiment does not teach wherein the first set of samples is offset from the second set of samples by three samples, however this is taught by further embodiment of Srinivasan:[(“ Further, alternative embodiments of the video encoder/decoder can use different locations or patterns of locations within a segment, e.g., the first, second or fourth row in lieu of the third row location”, para 103; therefore the combination teaches than for each four sample segment the deviation can be calculated at row 1 and row 4)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was made, to combine the teaching of the prior art embodiments because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Additional limitations of the following claims are taught by Srinivasan as follows:
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to apply a deblocking filter to the first four-sample boundary segment in response to making a filter on decision for the first four-sample boundary segment. [(para 100 & 103)]
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: compute a third measure of deviation at a second four-sample boundary segment based on a third set of samples in the image, wherein the third set of samples is offset from the second set of samples by one sample: [(see analysis of claim 1; when deviation calculation is done on row 1and 4 of each four sample segments {as analyzed in claim 1}, for a two segments, as shown in {Fig.8}, the 4th row of top segment is one sample above the 1st row of bottom segment )] compute a fourth measure of deviation at the second four-sample boundary segment based on a fourth set of samples in the image:[(row 4 of bottom segment)] and make a filter on/off decision jointly for all rows or columns of the second our-sample boundary segment using the third and fourth measures of deviation: [(based on edge checks above filtering or not decision is made {para 100})] : and
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the fourth set of samples is offset from the third set of samples by three samples. :[(row 1 and 4 of bottom segment)]
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the first four-sample boundary segment is a vertical boundary segment. [(Fig.9)]
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the first set of samples includes a row of eight samples, and wherein the second set of samples includes a row of eight samples. [(Fig.9, P1-P8)]
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the display includes a light emitting diode display configured to display the image. [(Examiner takes official notice that this is well known TV/display)]
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the display includes a liquid crystal display configured to display the image. [(Examiner takes official notice that this is well known TV/display)]
Regarding Claims 9-16: See analyses of claims 1-8
Regarding Claims 17-20: See analyses of claims 1-8 and note for edges running horizontally (Fig.7) the samples are column samples.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426