DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of riser segments (claims 2-3), first and second tankless gravity flush toilets and first and second water laterals (claim 4), third tankless gravity flush toilet, internal P-trap (claim 7), sewer system and waste collection container (claim 8), building construction site, water riser extension segment, waste riser stack extension segment (claim 9), third waste lateral (claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: toilet drain 213 (spec. pg. 2, line 30).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 246 (figure 3).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the limitation, “a water lateral” is unclear as to how it is connected to both the supply riser and the sanitary riser. Clarification is requested.
In claim 5, line 1, “wherein a in elevation” is unclear. Furthermore, the recitation, “the first waste lateral to the sanitary riser stack and a connection of the second waste lateral” is unclear since an additional waste lateral has not been positively claimed (see (6a) and drawing objection above).
In claims 8-11. “A method of providing for sanitary waste removal, the method comprising” should read -- A method of providing for sanitary waste removal, the method comprising the steps of: --. Since claims 2-4, 6-7 are in the chain of dependency to claim 1 and 8, they too are subjected to the same objection.
Appropriate correction is required for all objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 2,552,546 to Fergusson in view of US Patent 9,027,584 B2 to Wilson.
Re. claim 1, Fergusson discloses a temporary sanitary waste removal system, comprising a flush toilet (Fig. 1) including a toilet drain (28); a water supply riser (22a) with a water lateral (toilet/riser connector) in fluid connection with both the water supply riser and the gravity flush toilet; and a sanitary riser stack (19) with a waste lateral (33, 33a, 34) in fluid connection at an inlet end with the toilet drain and at an outlet end with the sanitary riser stack. Fergusson is silent regarding a tankless gravity flush toilet. However, Wilson teaches a tankless gravity flush toilet (Fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flush toilet of Fergusson to include the tankless flush valve system of Wilson, in order to eliminate a storage tank and reduce the spatial footprint.
FERGUSSON/WILSON:
Re. claim 2, Fergusson further discloses the water supply riser comprises a plurality of riser segments (21-22; fig. 6) in fluid connection.
Re. claim 3, Fergusson further discloses the sanitary riser stack comprises a plurality of riser segments (33a, 33,33b,34; fig 4) in fluid connection.
Re. claim 7, Fergusson discloses a temporary sanitary waste removal system, comprising a flush toilet (Fig. 1) including a toilet drain (28). Fergusson is silent regarding a tankless gravity flush toilet without an internal P-trap. However, Wilson teaches a tankless gravity flush toilet (Fig. 1-2) without an internal P-trap. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flush toilet of Fergusson to include the tankless gravity flush system without an internal P-trap of Wilson, in order to enhance fluid flow, reduce clogging and reduced maintenance.
Re. claim 8, Fergusson discloses providing a temporary sanitary waste removal system, obtaining a flush toilet (Fig. 1) including a toilet drain (28); providing a water supply riser (22a) with a water lateral (toilet/riser connector) in fluid connection with both the water supply riser and the gravity flush toilet; and providing a sanitary riser stack (19) with a waste lateral (33, 33a, 34) in fluid connection at an inlet end with the toilet drain and at an outlet end with the sanitary riser stack connected to a sewer.
Fergusson is silent regarding a tankless gravity flush toilet. However, Wilson teaches a tankless gravity flush toilet (Fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tank flush toilet of Fergusson to include the tankless flush valve system of Wilson, in order to eliminate a storage tank and reduce the spatial footprint.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see USPTO Form 892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LORI BAKER whose telephone number is (571)272-4971. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday: 9 am - 6 pm. Upon filing an amendment, please notify the Examiner to ensure timely processing for review. Providing representative information in an Application Data Sheet (ADS) does not constitute a power of attorney. See 37 CFR 1.76(b)(4) and MPEP § 408. For information on appointing a power of attorney, see MPEP § 402.02 et seq. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/LORI L BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754