DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment received on August 10, 2026, has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Remarks
In response to the Remarks on page 7 & the amendments to the claims 1-20, the examiner modified the art rejection as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al. (US 2014/0029215 A1) in view of Chiu (US 2024/0235015 A1) and/or Wu et al. (US 12,218,41 B2).
Examiner notes that the Chiu reference describes & presents generally/typically/commonly well-known teachings of “dongle”, that plugs into connection ports of general computers, in the art of the claimed invention and the Cariou & Wu references. The examiner gives official notice on such well-known teachings of Chiu reference that apply to the same field of the claimed invention. The examiner further notes that the Cariou, Chiu & Wu references are directed to the same field of endeavor of wireless antenna communicating devices that use antennas for its communications.
The examiner relies on the entire teachings of the Cariou, Chiu & Wu references for this rejection. The applicant should carefully consider the entire teachings of the Cariou, Chiu & Wu references to better understand the examiner position & the interpretation apply to the claimed invention.
As for independent claims 1, 10 & 17, the Cariou and Wu reference teaches functionally equivalent limitations of the claimed invention, when the examiner applies Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, as follows:
Independent Claims 1, 10 & 17
Cariou Ref. Teachings
Chiu Ref. Teachings (well-known teachings in the art)
Wu Ref. Teachings
1.An information handling system comprising: a housing having a port; a processor coupled in the housing and operable to execute instructions that process information; a memory coupled in the housing and interfaced with the processor, the memory operable to store the instructions and information;
Par 20, inherent teachings of “device such as a personal computer or laptop computer…”
a peripheral external the housing and operable to communicate by wireless signals; and
Par 3, “Wireless USB may be used for wireless communication between computer and computer peripheral devices such as mice, keyboards, printers and scanners, as well as for communicating with game controllers, digital cameras, portable media players, hard disk drives and flash drives…”
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system”
a wireless dongle having a connector configured to insert into the port along an insertion axis, a circuit board coupled to the connector, a radio coupled to the circuit board,
Par 5, inherent teachings of “nano dongle” and/or “pico dongle”; see also par 20, “dongle 100”
an antenna encapsulated in flexible material to form a a flexible cap and a base cap, the base cap coupling the flexible cap around the circuit board with the antenna aligned to interface with the circuit board through a contact exposed at an outer surface of the flexible material
Fig 3D, teaches “end cap 110” teaches the functionally equivalent claimed limitations (e.g., consists of top & bottom portions of end cap 110) without expressly disclosing base & flexible caps; see also par 37, “There are two portions to the endcap; a thicker portion…a thinner portion…”
Well-known in the art. Fig 5, (1101a & 1101b), par 34, “the cover 1101b is connected to the bottom base 1101a” teaches the functionally equivalent teachings of the claimed invention
Col 1, line 63, “device may include an adjacent structure (e.g., an internal structure, a housing structure etc.) …dielectric cover may be conformal to the adjacent structure…the first surface of the dielectric cover may be conformal to the structure…”; col 12, line 10-35, “may be filled with a dielectric material such as plastic, foam, air, etc.…cover 122 may be formed from plastic, glass, ceramics, fiber composite, a combination of two or more of these materials, or any other suitable material…”; the examiner notes that the cosmetic layers & plastic also teaches the claimed flexible material
the radio communicating wireless signals through the contact and antenna to communicate information received from the part of the peripheral
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system”
10. A method for communicating between an information handling system and peripheral, the method comprising:
Par 20, inherent teachings of “device such as a personal computer or laptop computer…”
inserting a wireless dongle connector into a port of the information handling system along an insertion axis; coupling a circuit board to the wireless dongle connector;
Par 5, inherent teachings of “nano dongle” and/or “pico dongle”; see also par 20, “dongle 100”
communicating information from the information handling system through the port to the wireless dongle connector;
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system”
coupling a radio to the circuit board;
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
communicating the information through the circuit board to the radio and from radio as wireless signals;
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system”
over molding an antenna to encapsulate the antenna in a flexible material; and
Obvious variations of the commonly known USB dongle or plug-in fob type devices
Obvious variations of the commonly known USB dongle or plug-in fob type devices
Col 12, line 28, “cover 122 may completely encapsulate elements 110 and/or a top surface substrate 120…cover 122 and substrate 120 may form a closed cavity in which elements 110 are located”; col 6, lines 58, “device 10 such as thin cosmetic layers protective coatings…plastic, or other structures that form the exterior surfaces of device 10”; the examiner notes that the cosmetic layers & plastic also teaches the claimed flexible material
coupling the antenna to the circuit board to communicate wireless signals with the antenna through the flexible material and between the radio and a peripheral.
Figs 5 & 8, par 35, “3D wire antenna mounted on a PCB” & par 33, “radiation pattern of the 3D antenna (505)”
Fig 3-5 with accompanying description
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
17. A wireless dongle comprising:
Par 5, inherent teachings of “nano dongle” and/or “pico dongle”; see also par 20, “dongle 100”
a connector configured to insert into an information handling system port along an insertion axis to receive information to transmit by wireless signals;
Par 20, “Plug 120 may plug directly into a device such as a personal computer or laptop computer…”
a circuit board coupled to the connector and configured to receive the information; a radio coupled to the circuit board, the radio operable to communicate the information with wireless signals to a peripheral of the information handling system; and
Par 5 & 8, inherent teachings of “nano dongle” and/or “pico dongle”; see also par 20, “dongle 100”; and par 35, “3D wire antenna mounted on a PCB” & par 33, “radiation pattern of the 3D antenna (505)”
an antenna over molded to be encapsulated in a flexible material and coupled to cover the circuit board,
Well-known in the art. Fig 5, (1101a & 1101b), par 34, “the cover 1101b is connected to the bottom base 1101a” teaches the functionally equivalent teachings of the claimed invention
Col 1, line 63, “device may include an adjacent structure (e.g., an internal structure, a housing structure etc.) …dielectric cover may be conformal to the adjacent structure…the first surface of the dielectric cover may be conformal to the structure…”; col 12, line 10-35, “may be filled with a dielectric material such as plastic, foam, air, etc.…cover 122 may be formed from plastic, glass, ceramics, fiber composite, a combination of two or more of these materials, or any other suitable; the examiner notes that the cosmetic layers & plastic also teaches the claimed flexible material
The antenna receiving the wireless signals from the radio to transmit trough the flexible material to the peripheral
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system”
As discussed above for the independent claims 1, 10 & 17, the Cariou reference does not expressly disclose limitations regarding embedding/molding an antenna in a flexible cap/material; however, such not expressly disclosed limitations are well-known & commonly practiced types of assembling options/variations that can be easily utilized by one of ordinary skill in the art of wireless communication devices, such as the claimed invention, the Cariou, Chiu & Wu references. As evidence, the Wu reference teaches & motives the functionally equivalent limitations of the above not expressly disclosed limitations regarding the embedding/molding an antenna in a flexible cap/material, as can be seen from the above detailed teachings. Therefore, since the Cariou & Wu references are directed to the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be easily motivated to apply/utilize the well-known teachings of Wu reference (i.e., the well-known technique of embedding/molding an antenna in a flexible cap/material) in the Cariou reference system teachings (i.e., the well-known wireless communication device/dongle) for the reasons & the detailed teachings discussed above.
As for further added limitations of the dependent claims 2-9, 11-16 & 18-20, similar to the discussions of the above independent claims, the Chiu and Wu references teach functionally equivalent limitations of the further added claimed invention, when the examiner applies Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, as follows:
Dependent Claims 2-9, 11-16 & 18-20
Cariou Ref. Teachings
Chiu Ref. Teachings
Wu Ref. Teachings
2. The information handling system of Claim 1 further comprising: a pogo pin coupled to the antenna and embedded in the flexible cap to have a spring biased end exposed; and a contact pad exposed at the circuit board and interfaced with the radio, the pogo pin spring biased end aligned with the contact pad when the base cap engages the flexible cap around the circuit board.
Well-known in the art. Figs 3-5, (1101a & 1101b), par 27, “pogo pins may be disposed on the surface 120a of the circuit board 120 to be in contact with the connection portion 134 of the antenna 130” teaches the functionally equivalent function of the claimed invention
3. The information handling system of Claim 2 wherein the flexible cap comprises an over mold of the antenna and pogo pin of rubberized material.
Obvious variations of the commonly known USB dongle or plug-in fob type devices
Obvious variations of the commonly known USB dongle or plug-in fob type devices
Col 12, line 28, “cover 122 may completely encapsulate elements 110 and/or a top surface substrate 120…cover 1222 and substrate 120 may form a closed cavity in which elements 110 are located”; col 1, line 63, “device may include an adjacent structure (e.g., an internal structure, a housing structure etc.) …dielectric cover may be conformal to the adjacent structure…the first surface of the dielectric cover may be conformal to the structure…”; col 12, line 10-35, “may be filled with a dielectric material such as plastic, foam, air, etc.…cover 122 may be formed from plastic, glass, ceramics, fiber composite, a combination of two or more of these materials, or any other suitable; the examiner notes that the cosmetic layers & plastic also teaches the claimed flexible material
4. The information handling system of Claim 3 wherein the antenna comprises a three-dimensional form having a planar member held in a spaced parallel relationship to the circuit board by the flexible cap.
Par 29, Fig 8A-D, “the antenna may be three dimensional…”
Par 26, Figs 3-5, the antenna 130…is a three-dimensional antenna…”
See figures 2-4 with accompanying description
5. The information handling system of Claim 4 further comprising first and second antenna elements orthogonal to the circuit board and planar member, the first and second antenna elements embedded in the flexible cap and interfaced with the radio through the circuit board.
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
6. The information handling system of Claim 3 wherein the antenna comprises a phased array antenna having adjacent antenna elements, the radio directing wireless signal transmissions in a directed beam from the phased array by adjusting the phase of the wireless signal.
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
7. The information handling system of Claim 6 wherein the peripheral comprises a mouse, the mouse reporting angle of arrival of wireless communications from the phased array antenna to the radio, the radio adjusting the directed beam responsive to the angle or arrival.
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system”
8. The information handling system of Claim 7 wherein the peripheral comprises a keyboard.
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system”
9. The information handling system of Claim 8 wherein the peripheral comprises a speaker, the wireless dongle further comprising: a first antenna embedded in a first flexible cap and removably coupled to the circuit board to communicate with the mouse and the keyboard; and a second antenna embedded in a second flexible cap and removably coupled to the circuit board to communicate with the speaker.
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system” & col 9, line 26 multiple [phased] antennas 40…control circuitry 70 is adjusted to produce a first set of phase on transmitted millimeter wave signals…transmits…beam 66 of FIG 4 that is oriented in the direction of point A…to produce second set of phase…oriented in the direction of point B…”
Removably coupled to the circuit board
Fig 3 & 5, par 16, “not required to extend a hook structure to be engaged with the antenna from the circuit board”
11. The method of Claim 10 further comprising: interfacing the antenna to the circuit board with a pogo pin embedded in the flexible material and having a spring biased end exposed to align with a contact pad of the circuit board; and
Well-known in the art. Figs 3-5, (1101a & 1101b), par 27, “pogo pins may be disposed on the surface 120a of the circuit board 120 to be in contact with the connection portion 134 of the antenna 130” teaches the functionally equivalent function of the claimed invention
orientating the antenna orthogonal the insertion axis.
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
12. The method of Claim 11 further comprising orienting the circuit board orthogonal the insertion axis.
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
13. The method of Claim 10 further comprising: embedding a phased array antenna in the flexible material having first and second antenna elements; and directing wireless signals from the first and second antenna elements to focus along a desired transmission axis.
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system” & col 9, line 26 multiple [phased] antennas 40…control circuitry 70 is adjusted to produce a first set of phase on transmitted millimeter wave signals…transmits…beam 66 of FIG 4 that is oriented in the direction of point A…to produce second set of phase…oriented in the direction of point B…”
14. The method of Claim 10 further comprising: aligning the antenna on a first end with a first side of the wireless dongle connector; and extending the antenna on a second end past a second side of the wireless dongle connector.
Fig 3D & 8 C & D with accompanying description
Figs 1-5 with accompanying description
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
15. The method of Claim 10 further comprising: coupling a first antenna embedded in a first flexible material having a first form to the circuit board when the peripheral is a mouse; and coupling a second antenna embedded in second flexible material having a second form to the circuit board when the peripheral is a speaker.
Obvious from fig 1-4, col 3, line 61, “Input-output devices 18 may be used to allow data to be supplied to device 10 and to allow data to be provided from device 10 to external devices…user interface devices, data port devices, and other input-output components…wireless communications circuitry for communicating wirelessly with extern equipment…”, col 4, line 65, “circuitry 28 may be formed from one or more integrated circuits…on a common printed circuit in a system” & col 9, line 26 multiple [phased] antennas 40…control circuitry 70 is adjusted to produce a first set of phase on transmitted millimeter wave signals…transmits…beam 66 of FIG 4 that is oriented in the direction of point A…to produce second set of phase…oriented in the direction of point B…”
16. The method of Claim 10 further comprising: embedding a first antenna in the flexible material to have an orthogonal orientation relative to the insertion axis; and embedding a second antenna in the flexible material to have a parallel orientation relative to the insertion axis, the second antenna positioned between the circuit board and the first antenna.
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
18. The wireless dongle of Claim 17 wherein the circuit board couples to the connector orthogonal the insertion axis and the antenna comprises a three dimensional metal piece having a planar portion held in a parallel spaced relationship with the circuit board.
Fig 3 & 8, par 35, “3D wire antenna mounted on a PCB…antenna is compressed laterally to line up with the notches in the end of the PCB”; par 39, “PCB is assumed to be oriented in a horizontal position and the antenna oriented in a vertical position, …may be used in other orientations”
Fig 3-5 with accompanying description
Obvious from figures 1-4 with accompanying description & par 8, line 36, “locations 50 at which antennas 40 (e.g., single antenna and/or phased antenna arrays for use with wireless circuitry 34…may include rear house wall…”
19. The wireless dongle of Claim 18 further comprising a cap of hard plastic coupled to the connector and the antenna flexible material to enclose the circuit board.
Fig 3 & 8 with accompanying description
Fig 3-5 with accompanying description
20. The wireless dongle of Claim 18 further comprising: a pogo pin coupled to the antenna and embedded in the flexible material; and a contact pad exposed on the circuit board and aligned with the pogo pin to communicate between the radio and the antenna.
Well-known in the art. Figs 3-5, (1101a & 1101b), par 27, “pogo pins may be disposed on the surface 120a of the circuit board 120 to be in contact with the connection portion 134 of the antenna 130” teaches the functionally equivalent function of the claimed invention
As can been from the above detailed teachings of the dependent claims 2-9, 11-16 & 18-20, similar to the discussions of the independent claims, the Cariou reference does not expressly disclose the further added limitations discussed in detailed above; however, such not expressly disclosed limitations are well-known & commonly practiced types of assembling options/variations & applied technologies that can be easily utilized by one of ordinary skill in the art of wireless communication devices, such as, as also evidenced by, the claimed invention, the Cariou, Chiu & Wu references. Therefore, since the Cariou, Chiu & Wu references are directed to the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to easily motivated to utilize/combine the well-known teachings of Wu and/or Chiu references in/with the Cariou reference system (i.e., the well-known wireless communication device/dongle) for the reasons & the detailed teachings discussed above.
/CHRISTOPHER B SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181