DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1, 10, and 14 (and their respective deponent claims), have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Further, with respect to Muller reference Applicant argues that “the claims require a second trained machine learning model that takes as input data representative of the image feature vector and generates natural language text. Muller does not disclose such a model. Rather, Muller's downstream processing is a classifier, not a natural language generation model. There is no teaching or suggestion in Muller of: transforming a feature vector into natural language output, or employing a second model specifically configured for text generation” (please see Remarks, page 12, first paragraph).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Muller, Fig. 3B, Fig. 11, and paragraphs 50 and 70, discloses the feature vectors are input into a trained machine learning classifier, wherein they are classified as benign or as malignant, i.e., resulting class corresponds to the natural language text as claimed. Hence Muller machine learning classifier provide as an output a natural language text. Examiner suggests Applicant to further elaborate on how the text/natural language is generated in order to overcome the cited references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 14-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller (US PGPUB 2023/0041804 A1) and further in view of Zheng (CN 111681730 A, English Translation of the CN is being attached herewith and used for citation below).
As per claim 1, Muller discloses a computer-implemented method for generating natural language text describing a change between first medical imaging data and second medical imaging data (Muller, Fig. 3B, and paragraphs 38-40), the method comprising:
obtaining imaging data representative of the first medical imaging data and the second medical imaging data, or of a difference between the first medical imaging data and the second medical imaging data (Muller, Fig. 4, Fig. 5 and paragraphs 57 and 58);
inputting the imaging data into a (first trained machine learning) model to generate an image feature vector representative of the difference between the first medical imaging data and the second medical imaging data (Muller, Fig. 3B, and paragraphs 42, 49 and 58); and
inputting data representative of the image feature vector into a second trained machine learning model to generate the natural language text (Muller, Fig. 3B, Fig. 11, and paragraphs 50 and 70, discloses the feature vectors are input into a trained machine learning classifier, wherein they are classified as benign or as malignant; please note this resulting class corresponds to the natural language text as claimed).
Muller discloses generation of image feature vector utilizing a different mathematical model not generated by a first trained machine leaning model as claimed, further Muller also discloses inputting data representative of the image feature vector into a second trained machine learning model to generate the natural language text as explained above however, said difference is well known in the art for instance Zhang discloses inputting the imaging data into a first trained machine learning model to generate an image feature vector (Zheng, Fig. 6:11, and related text, specifically please see pages 6-7);
inputting data representative of the image feature vector into a second trained machine learning model to generate the natural language text including at least one sentence describing the change between the first medical imaging data and the second medical imaging data (Zhang, Fig. 6:13, and pages 7-8, discloses the analysis module 13 is specifically used for the sentence pair of the first mark sentence and the second mark sentence to match the character string, determining the second mark sentence corresponding to the difference character of the first mark sentence; and determining the second medical image report relative to the modified type of the first medical image report according to the semantic meaning of the difference character);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muller teachings by implementing a machine learning model to the system, as taught by Zheng.
The motivation would be to improve the accuracy of the subsequent comparison analysis result of the medical image report (page 5), as taught by Zheng.
As per claim 2, Muller in view of Zheng further discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: generating a second medical text report associated with the second medical imaging data based on a first medical text report associated with the first medical imaging data and the natural language text describing the change (Zheng, pages 6-7)
As per claim 3, Muller in view of Zheng further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first medical imaging data is for a patient and has been captured at a first time and the second medical imaging data is for the patient and has been captured at a second, later, time (Muller, paragraphs 58 and 70).
As per claim 4, Muller in view of Zheng further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the change represents occurrence, progression, regression, or disappearance of a medical abnormality (Muller, paragraphs 42, and 70).
As per claim 5, Muller in view of Zheng further discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: obtaining the first medical imaging data and the second medical imaging data, the first medical imaging data comprising a plurality of first intensity values and the second medical imaging data comprising a plurality of corresponding, second, intensity values (Muller, paragraph 41); and
for each of the plurality of first intensity values, comparing the first intensity value with the corresponding second intensity value, to obtain a differential intensity value, wherein the imaging data comprises the obtained differential intensity values (Muller, paragraph 41).
As per claim 6, Muller in view of Zheng further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein comparing the first intensity value with the second intensity value comprises performing a subtraction operation using the first intensity value and the second intensity value (Muller, paragraph 41, discloses a difference in pixel intensity).
As per claim 10, Muller, discloses a computer implemented training method of training a machine learning model for generating natural language text describing a change between first medical imaging data and second medical imaging data (Muller, Fig. 3B, Fig. 5, Fig. 11, and paragraphs 50 and 70), the method comprising:
providing the machine learning model, the machine learning model comprising:
(a) a first (machine learning) model configured to generate, based on an input of given imaging data representative of given first medical imaging data and given second medical imaging data, or of a difference between the given first medical imaging data and the given second medical imaging data, an image feature vector (Muller, Fig. 4, Fig. 5 and paragraphs 50, 57 and 58), and
(b) a second machine learning model configured to generate, based on an input of data representative of the image feature vector, natural language text (Muller, Fig. 3B, Fig. 11, and paragraphs 50 and 70, discloses the feature vectors are input into a trained machine learning classifier, wherein they are classified as benign or as malignant; please note this resulting class corresponds to the natural language text describing the change as claimed);
providing training data comprising a plurality of sets of training imaging data, each set of training imaging data representative of first training medical imaging data and second training medical imaging data, or of a difference between the first training medical imaging data and the second training medical imaging data (Muller, Fig. 3B, Fig. 11, and paragraphs 50 and 70), the training data further comprising, for each set of training imaging data, ground truth natural language text describing a change between the first training medical imaging data and the second training medical imaging data (Muller, paragraphs 32, 40 and 43-45); and
training the machine learning model based on the training data so as to minimize a loss function between the natural language text generated for the sets of training imaging data by the machine learning model and the corresponding ground truth natural language text for the sets of training imaging data (Muller, paragraphs 65 and 74).
Muller discloses generation of image feature vector utilizing a different mathematical model not generated by a first trained machine leaning model as claimed, Further Muller also discloses (b) a second machine learning model configured to generate, based on an input of data representative of the image feature vector, natural language text as being explained above, however, Muller does not explicitly disclose inputting the imaging data into a (first trained machine learning) model to generate an image feature vector; (b) a second machine learning model configured to generate, based on an input of data representative of the image feature vector, natural language text describing a change between the given first medical imaging data and the given second medical imaging data; Zheng discloses inputting the imaging data into a first trained machine learning model to generate an image feature vector (Zheng, Fig. 6:11, and related text, specifically please see pages 6-7);
(b) a second machine learning model configured to generate, based on an input of data representative of the image feature vector, natural language text describing a change between the given first medical imaging data and the given second medical imaging data (Zhang, Fig. 6:13, and pages 7-8, discloses the analysis module 13 is specifically used for the sentence pair of the first mark sentence and the second mark sentence to match the character string, determining the second mark sentence corresponding to the difference character of the first mark sentence; and determining the second medical image report relative to the modified type of the first medical image report according to the semantic meaning of the difference character);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muller teachings by implementing a machine learning model to the system, as taught by Zheng.
The motivation would be to improve the accuracy of the subsequent comparison analysis result of the medical image report (page 5), as taught by Zheng.
As per claim 14, Muller discloses a system for generating natural language text describing a change between first medical imaging data and second medical imaging data (Muller, Fig. 3B, Fig. 5, Fig. 11, and paragraphs 50 and 70):
a non-transitory memory device for storing computer readable program code (Muller, Fig. 1:28, and paragraph 28); and
a processor in communication with the non-transitory memory device (Muller, Fig. 1:22:28), the processor being operative with the computer readable program code to perform steps (Muller, paragraph 28)
For rest of claim limitations please see the analysis of claim 1.
As per claim 15, please see the analysis of claim 2.
As per claim 16, please see the analysis of claim 3.
As per claim 17, please see the analysis of claim 4.
As per claim 18, please see the analysis of claim 5.
As per claim 19, please see the analysis of claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 11-13, and 20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633