DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the Final Office Action from 7/2/2026, Applicant has filed a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) on 10/2/2026. In this reply, Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 9, and 14 to further specify that the generation of a response to the request is based on "dividing the modified request into a plurality of portions" and then sending the modified request to the machine learning model "using a plurality of internet protocol (IP) addresses."
Applicant has also argued that the limitations added via the instant amendment (Remarks, Pages 11-14). These arguments have been fully considered, however, are moot with respect to the new grounds of rejection further in view of Brown (WO 2022/072073 A1).
Response to Arguments
In response to the patent subject matter eligibility rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant argues under step 2A prong 1 of the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidelines (2019 PEG) that the amended features regarding dividing a modified request into a plurality of portions and then sending the plurality of portions of the modified request to the machine learning model using a plurality of internet protocol (IP) addresses "do not recite an abstract idea." Specifically, Applicant discuss how it is not possible for a human to mentally perform or use pen and paper to perform the highlighted limitations and concludes that claim 1 does not recite a mental process (Remarks, Pages 7-9).
In response, the examiner disagrees that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) a human cannot practically perform dividing the modified request into a plurality of portions. For example, a human can mentally analyze text by reading and understanding portions based upon classification, semantics, context, etc. as a mental process. The human can then render an evaluation of portions and perform the divisions in their mind or by annotations using pen and paper. As per the limitation regarding sending the modified request to the machine learning model "using a plurality of internet protocol (IP) addresses," it is agreed that this functionality cannot practically be performed by a human as a mental process or with simple tools though that does not necessarily mean that this particular limitation is directed towards an inventive concept that amounts to significantly more than an abstract idea, this limitation just requires consideration as an inventive concept under step 2A prong 2 and 2B.
Applicant next argues that under step 2A prong 2, that dividing portions of a request and then sending the portions of the modified request to a machine learning model as claimed leads to an improvement in machine learning technology. Applicant then cites numerous portions of the specification as showing that the Applicant's machine learning model functions where the citation particularly includes an instance at paragraph 0038 explaining the reason for chunking and different IP addresses to avoid exposure of sensitive data to a machine learning model in generating a response (Remarks, Pages 10-11).
Further consideration of the amended claims and specification citations reveals that such the added limitations of chunking and then sending the request chunks to the machine learning model via different IP addresses directs the claimed invention to a technical improvement in machine learning model inferencing over a network via a technical manner of data obfuscation under step 2A prong 2. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesarwani, et al. (U.S. PG Publication: 2025/0265420 A1) in view of Gomez (U.S. PG Publication: 2025/0165648 A1; cited in the PTO-892 from 1/27/2026) and further in view of Brown (WO 2022/072073 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Kesarwani discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving data indicative of a request, wherein the data comprises sensitive
information (receiving a conversational input from a user that can take the form of a query or request including PII, Paragraphs 0026, 0029-0030, and 0034);
transforming at least a portion of the data indicative of the request into a modified request based on replacing at least one portion of the sensitive information with generic information transforming at least a portion of the data indicative of the request into a modified request based on replacing at least one portion of the sensitive information with generic information (operations of a PII masking component that detects "any personally identifiable information (PII) contained within the received conversational user input...and replace[s] any PII terms...with generic nouns or other placeholders," Paragraph 0034; Fig. 2, Element 214);
storing the at least one portion of the sensitive information in a storage (storing/maintaining data or information identifying the PII terms that were removed or replaced from the conversational user input, Paragraph 0034); and
causing generation of a response to the request based on sending the modified request to the machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is configured to generate data indicative of the response to the request without accessing the at least one portion of the sensitive information in the storage (after PII is masked, the machine learning model (i.e., large language model (LLM)), generates a response used the masked conversational input that does not access the PII/sensitive information, Paragraphs 0034 and 0038; see also the processing flow shown in Fig. 2 where PII is masked prior to prompt generation to an LLM and the LLM generates a response prior to having PII terms re-inserted via augmentation at a response generator).
Kesarwani discloses that sensitive personally identifiable information (PII) contained within a conversational user input are removed/masked and maintained in a storage for later restoration after LLM response generation responsive to the PII-masked conversational input (Paragraph 0034 and 0046). While the aim of Kersawani is to mask or remove sensitive PII from exposure to an LLM-based chatbot, it would be implied that the LLM/machine learning model would not have access to the storage for the PII as that would defeat the purpose of going through the process of removing such information. While an implied disclosure may be relied upon to address a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 102, in the interest of compact prosecution and due to the lack of explicit disclosure of such inaccessible storage in Kesarwani, Gomez has been provided. Gomez discloses that the sensitive data is "exclusively retained" in a trusted "mapping storage" inaccessible by the machine learning model/LLM (see that the LLM is described as being in a user-untrusted domain and that "none of the sensitive data is leaked to the user-untrusted domain, Paragraphs 0047 and 0086-0087; Fig. 1, Elements 125, 130, and 160).
Kesarwani and Gomez are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in sensitive data removal for machine learning model processing. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to use the specific mapping data/storage taught by Gomez as a way of storing the removed/replaced in the PII removal process taught by Kesarwani to provide a predictable result of a specific solution for maintaining and retrieving PII in Kesarwani in a manner that does not leak sensitive data to an untrusted domain (Gomez, Paragraph 0087).
While Kersawani in view of Gomez teach anonymization of sensitive PII in an LLM/machine learning model request where the information sent to the LLM has PII partitions masked, the anonymization process of Kersawani does not involve sending the modified request to the machine learning model "using a plurality of internet protocol (IP) addresses." Brown, however, discloses anonymizes a user request by applying fragmentation and then routing the sub-requests through different routes having different IP addresses (Paragraphs 0006-0007, 0013, 0069, and 0139).
Kesarwani, Gomez, and Brown are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in sensitive data anonymization for information requests over a network. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to parse the request data not including PII and the data including the PII taught by Kersawani in view of Gomez with the concept of different IP addresses for different user data request fragments taught by Brown to provide a predictable result of better anonymizing user data content to fully conceal a user's personal information including their data sources (Brown, Paragraphs 0004-0005).
With respect to Claim 2, Kesarwani further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the data indicative of the request (Paragraph 0033- "input text data corresponding to a conversational input") and the data indicative of the response comprise text (Paragraph 0039- "textual content of the automated response"), and wherein the machine learning model comprises a large language model (LLM) (LLM, Paragraph 0033).
With respect to Claim 3, Kesarwani further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the machine learning model, the data indicative of the response to the request, wherein the data indicative of the response to the request comprises at least one portion of the generic information (receiving a "conversational response" from the LLM that includes generic structure, intent, etc. and does not include the PII that has been masked with “semantically consistent” placeholders, Paragraph 0034 and 0038); and
generating the response to the request based on replacing the at least one portion of the generic information with the at least one portion of the sensitive information (NLP techniques are used to augment the response to replacing the generic response with the PII information while maintaining similar syntax, intent, etc., Paragraph 0038; Fig. 2, Element 222).
With respect to Claim 4, Kesarwani further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
removing at least one other portion of the sensitive information from the data indicative of the request to generate the portion of the data indicative of the request (removal of more than one type of PII (i.e., see "replace any PII terms"), for example, a name of a person and address, Paragraph 0034).
With respect to Claim 9, Kesarwani discloses:
receiving text indicative of a first request, wherein the text comprises sensitive information (receiving a conversational input from a user that can take the form of a query or request that includes PII/sensitive information, Paragraphs 0026, 0029-0030, and 0034; see also Paragraph 0033- "input text data corresponding to a conversational input");
transforming at least a portion of the text indicative of the request into a second request based on replacing at least one portion of the sensitive information with generic information (operations of a PII masking component that detects "any personally identifiable information (PII) contained within the received conversational user input...and replace[s] any PII terms...with generic nouns or other placeholders," Paragraph 0034; Fig. 2, Element 214);
storing the at least one portion of the sensitive information in a storage (storing/maintaining data or information identifying the PII terms that were removed or replaced from the conversational user input, Paragraph 0034); and
causing generation of a response to the first request based on sending the second request to a large language model (LLM), wherein the LLM is configured to generate text indicative of the response to the first request without accessing the at least one portion of the sensitive information in the storage (after PII is masked a large language model (LLM)), generates a response used the masked conversational input that does not access the PII/sensitive information, Paragraphs 0034 and 0038; see also the processing flow shown in Fig. 2 where PII is masked prior to prompt generation to an LLM and the LLM generates a response prior to having PII terms re-inserted via augmentation at a response generator; see also Paragraph 0039- "textual content of the automated response").
Kesarwani discloses that sensitive personally identifiable information (PII) contained within a conversational user input are removed/masked and maintained in a storage for later restoration after LLM response generation responsive to the PII-masked conversational input (Paragraph 0034 and 0046). While the aim of Kersawani is to mask or remove sensitive PII from exposure to an LLM-based chatbot, it would be implied that the LLM/machine learning model would not have access to the storage for the PII as that would defeat the purpose of going through the process of removing such information. While an implied disclosure may be relied upon to address a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 102, in the interest of compact prosecution and due to the lack of explicit disclosure of such inaccessible storage in Kesarwani, Gomez has been provided. Gomez discloses that the sensitive data is "exclusively retained" in a trusted "mapping storage" inaccessible by the machine learning model/LLM (see that the LLM is described as being in a user-untrusted domain and that "none of the sensitive data is leaked to the user-untrusted domain, Paragraphs 0047 and 0086-0087; Fig. 1, Elements 125, 130, and 160).
Kesarwani and Gomez are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in sensitive data removal for machine learning model processing. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to use the specific mapping data/storage taught by Gomez as a way of storing the removed/replaced in the PII removal process taught by Kesarwani to provide a predictable result of a specific solution for maintaining and retrieving PII in Kesarwani in a manner that does not leak sensitive data to an untrusted domain (Gomez, Paragraph 0087).
While Kersawani in view of Gomez teach anonymization of sensitive PII in an LLM/machine learning model request where the information sent to the LLM has PII partitions masked, the anonymization process of Kersawani does sending the divided second request to the machine learning model "using a plurality of internet protocol (IP) addresses." Brown, however, discloses anonymizes a user request by applying fragmentation and then routing the sub-requests through different routes having different IP addresses (Paragraphs 0006-0007, 0013, 0069, and 0139).
Kesarwani, Gomez, and Brown are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in sensitive data anonymization for information requests over a network. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to parse the request data not including PII and the data including the PII taught by Kersawani in view of Gomez with the concept of different IP addresses for different user data request fragments taught by Brown to provide a predictable result of better anonymizing user data content to fully conceal a user's personal information including their data sources (Brown, Paragraphs 0004-0005).
With respect to Claim 14, Kesarwani further discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving data indicative of a first request, wherein the data comprises sensitive information (receiving a conversational input from a user that can take the form of a query or request including PII/sensitive information, Paragraphs 0026, 0029-0030, and 0034);
transforming at least a portion of the data indicative of the first request into a second request based on replacing at least one portion of the sensitive information with generic information (operations of a PII masking component that detects "any personally identifiable information (PII) contained within the received conversational user input...and replace[s] any PII terms...with generic nouns or other placeholders," Paragraph 0034; Fig. 2, Element 214);
storing the at least one portion of the sensitive information in a storage (storing/maintaining data or information identifying the PII terms that were removed or replaced from the conversational user input, Paragraph 0034); and
based on sending the second request to a machine learning model, receiving data indicative of a response to the first request, wherein the data indicative of the response to the first request comprises at least one portion of the generic information (after PII is masked, the machine learning model (i.e., large language model (LLM)), generates a response used the masked conversational input that does not access the PII/sensitive information, Paragraphs 0034 and 0038; see also the processing flow shown in Fig. 2 where PII is masked prior to prompt generation to an LLM and the LLM generates a response prior to having PII terms re-inserted via augmentation at a response generator; receiving a "conversational response" from the LLM that includes generic structure, intent, etc. and does not include the PII that has been masked with “semantically consistent” placeholders, Paragraph 0034 and 0038); and
generating the response to the first request based on replacing the at least one portion of the generic information with the at least one portion of the sensitive information in the storage (NLP techniques are used to augment the response to replacing the generic response with the PII information while maintaining similar syntax, intent, etc., Paragraph 0038; Fig. 2, Element 222).
Kesarwani discloses that sensitive personally identifiable information (PII) contained within a conversational user input are removed/masked and maintained in a storage for later restoration after LLM response generation responsive to the PII-masked conversational input (Paragraph 0034 and 0046). While the aim of Kersawani is to mask or remove sensitive PII from exposure to an LLM-based chatbot, it would be implied that the LLM/machine learning model would not have access to the storage for the PII as that would defeat the purpose of going through the process of removing such information. While an implied disclosure may be relied upon to address a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 102, in the interest of compact prosecution and due to the lack of explicit disclosure of such inaccessible storage in Kesarwani, Gomez has been provided. Gomez discloses that the sensitive data is "exclusively retained" in a trusted "mapping storage" inaccessible by the machine learning model/LLM and later used for deanonymization by replacing generic information with the sensitive information (see that the LLM is described as being in a user-untrusted domain and that "none of the sensitive data is leaked to the user-untrusted domain, Paragraphs 0047 and 0086-0087; Fig. 1, Elements 125, 130, and 160).
Kesarwani and Gomez are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in sensitive data removal for machine learning model processing. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to use the specific mapping data/storage taught by Gomez as a way of storing the removed/replaced in the PII removal process taught by Kesarwani to provide a predictable result of a specific solution for maintaining and retrieving PII in Kesarwani in a manner that does not leak sensitive data to an untrusted domain (Gomez, Paragraph 0087).
While Kersawani in view of Gomez teach anonymization of sensitive PII in an LLM/machine learning model request where the information sent to the LLM has PII partitions masked, the anonymization process of Kersawani does sending the divided second request to the machine learning model "using a plurality of internet protocol (IP) addresses." Brown, however, discloses anonymizes a user request by applying fragmentation and then routing the sub-requests through different routes having different IP addresses (Paragraphs 0006-0007, 0013, 0069, and 0139).
Kesarwani, Gomez, and Brown are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in sensitive data anonymization for information requests over a network. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to parse the request data not including PII and the data including the PII taught by Kersawani in view of Gomez with the concept of different IP addresses for different user data request fragments taught by Brown to provide a predictable result of better anonymizing user data content to fully conceal a user's personal information including their data sources (Brown, Paragraphs 0004-0005).
With respect to Claim 15, Kesarwani further discloses:
The method of claim 14, wherein the machine learning model is configured to
generate the data indicative of the response to the first request without accessing the at least one portion of the sensitive information in the storage (after PII is masked, the machine learning model (i.e., large language model (LLM)), generates a response used the masked conversational input that does not access the PII/sensitive information, Paragraphs 0034 and 0038; see also the processing flow shown in Fig. 2 where PII is masked prior to prompt generation to an LLM and the LLM generates a response prior to having PII terms re-inserted via augmentation at a response generator; note that Gomez provides the inaccessible storage as per the claim 14 rejection).
With respect to Claim 16, Kesarwani further discloses:
The method of claim 14, wherein the data indicative of the first request (Paragraph 0033- "input text data corresponding to a conversational input") and the data indicative of the response to the first request comprise text (Paragraph 0039- "textual content of the automated response"), and wherein the machine learning model comprises a large language model (LLM) (LLM, Paragraph 0033).
Claims 6-8, 11-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesarwani, et al. in view of Gomez in view of Brown and further in view of Summers, et al. (U.S. PG Publication: 2021/0004485 A1).
With respect to Claim 6, Kesarwani in view of Gomez in view of Brown discloses the conversational system utilizing an LLM that stores and replaces sensitive PII with a semantically consistent placeholder, as applied to Claim 1. Kesarwani in view of Gomez in view of Brown, however, does not explicitly teach the determination of a score of a modified request indicating an amount of the sensitive information. Summers, however, discloses a confidence score indicative the amount of unmasked PII in a particular data instance that can be used identify/recover an original entity (Paragraph 0019-0020).
Kesarwani, Gomez, Brown and Summers are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in protection of sensitive user data. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to utilize the confidence scoring or PII/sensitive data taught by Summers in the PII removal process taught by Kesarwani in view of Gomez in view of Brown to provide a predictable result of better ensuring that enough data has been removed to prevent recovery of a target entity (Summers, Paragraph 0019).
With respect to Claim 7, Summers further discloses:
The method of claim 6, further comprising adding obfuscation information into the modified request based on determining that the score associated with the modified request does not satisfy a threshold, wherein the score does not satisfy the threshold if the amount of the sensitive information associated with the modified request is greater than a target level of sensitive information (masking/redactions/obfuscations are added in an iterative process when a confidence score threshold related to excessive sensitive data is exceeded, Paragraphs 0019-0020 and 0030; note that input in the form of the request is taught by Kesarwani).
With respect to Claim 8, Summers further discloses:
The method of claim 6, dividing the modified request into the plurality of portions and sending the plurality of portions of the is based on determining that the score associated with the modified request satisfies a threshold, wherein the score satisfies the threshold if the amount of the sensitive information associated with the modified request is less than or equal to a target level of sensitive information (threshold for the confidence value is satisfied when the score "falls below the confidence threshold," Paragraph 0019 and 0030; note that input in the form of the request is taught by Kesarwani once masking processing is complete and anonymization via parsing and sending is taught by Brown).
Claims 11-13 contains subject matter respectively similar to Claim 6-8, and thus, are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 18-20 contains subject matter respectively similar to Claim 6-8, and thus, are rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Qian, et al. (U.S. PG Publication: 2021/0374605 A1)- discloses partitioning sensitive data and then assigning separate IP addresses to the partitions over a network to a server from a client (Paragraphs 0004 and 0059-0060).
JAMES S. WOZNIAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2655
/JAMES S WOZNIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655