DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 07/22/2024.
Claims 1-7, 10-17 amended by the applicants.
Claim 8 cancelled by the applicants.
Claims 19-21 added by the applicants.
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
Please note that Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirely as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-12 and 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 20210112059 to Heldman et al. in view of USPN 20140136712 to Kim et al.
Per claim 1:
Heldman discloses:
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising:
receiving (Paragraph [0031] “request and obtain data from DB system 16”), by a cloud management platform (Paragraph [0020] “system 16 (also referred to herein as a “cloud-based system,” “database system,” “cloud computing service,” or the like)”) and from a tenant (Paragraph [0039] “individual tenant process spaces 104 and a tenant management process space 110”), a graphics program online development (Paragraph [0044] “application platform 18 may be, or may include, a development environment, programming language(s), and/or tools (collectively referred to as a “development environment”, “dev-environment” and the like) that allows app developers to create/edit applications”) request (Paragraph [0038] “requests received from the user systems 12”);
selecting or creating, in response to the graphics program online development request (Paragraph [0044] “dev-environment may be or include a software development environment (SDE), an integrated development environment (IDE)… that may assist an app developer in building applications”), a cloud instance for image rendering in a cloud instance resource pool (note here that the rendering occurs on a browser thus images are included as well, Paragraph [0031] “render graphical user interfaces (GUIs) in an application container or browser”).
Heldman does not explicitly disclose setting a connection between the cloud instance and a client of the tenant; receiving, by the cloud instance and from the client, graphics program code of the tenant; compiling the graphics program code to generate a graphics program; running, by the cloud instance, the graphics program to render a graphic; sending the graphic to the client for display.
However, Kim discloses in an analogous computer system setting a connection between the cloud instance and a client of the tenant (Paragraph [0064] “computing nodes 10 and cloud computing environment 50 can communicate with any type of computerized device over any type of network and/or network addressable connection (e.g., using a web browser)”); receiving, by the cloud instance and from the client, graphics program code of the tenant (Paragraph [0073] “edit the graphical user interface using the tenant device to create a desired graphical user interface; generate an application based on the desired graphical user interface”); compiling the graphics program code to generate a graphics program (note here that the compiling must be done in order to generate application, see Paragraph [0073] “generate an application based on the desired graphical user interface”); running, by the cloud instance, the graphics program to render a graphic (Paragraph [0079] “dynamic UI renderer 16 is used to render a graphical user interface based on the application data. The UI composer 11 may be used to edit the graphical user interface to create a desired graphical user interface”); and sending the graphic to the client for display (Paragraph [0079] “dynamic UI renderer 16 is used to render a graphical user interface based on the application data.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the method of setting a connection between the cloud instance and a client of the tenant; receiving, by the cloud instance and from the client, graphics program code of the tenant; compiling the graphics program code to generate a graphics program; running, by the cloud instance, the graphics program to render a graphic; sending the graphic to the client for display as taught by Kim into the method of developing cloud-based software services as taught by Heldman. The modification would be obvious because of one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add/incorporate the features of setting a connection between the cloud instance and a client of the tenant; receiving, by the cloud instance and from the client, graphics program code of the tenant; compiling the graphics program code to generate a graphics program; running, by the cloud instance, the graphics program to render a graphic; sending the graphic to the client for display to provide an efficient technique of generating the graphics program in a cloud environment with multi-tenant connected and rendering to a desired graphical user interface so as to have multi-tenant data model functionality in a cloud computing environment as suggested by Kim (paragraph [0006-0008]).
Per claim 2:
Heldman discloses:
2. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the graphics program online development request comprises display configuration information (Paragraph [0018] “software instance typically including one or more of tenant specific data, user management, tenant-specific functionality, configuration, customizations, non-functional properties, associated applications, etc.”), and wherein selecting or creating the cloud instance comprises selecting or creating, in the cloud instance resource pool, the cloud instance based on the cloud instance matching the display configuration information (Paragraph [0031] “a selection of data or data type to display from one or more datasets; a particular graph, chart, or map in which to view the selected data; color schemes for the graphs/charts/maps; a position or orientation of the graphs/charts/maps within a particular GUI, etc.”).
Per claim 3:
Heldman discloses:
3. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 2, wherein the display configuration information comprises cloud instance specification information, a rendering mode, and a rendering parameter, wherein the rendering mode comprises software rendering, local hardware rendering, or remote hardware rendering (Since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, Heldman teaches Paragraph [0030,0031] “a particular (hardware and/or software) configuration… the user systems 12 may implement web, user, or third-party applications 12 y to request and obtain data from DB system 16, and render graphical user interfaces (GUIs) in an application container or browser”), and wherein different rendering modes correspond to different rendering parameters (Paragraph [0031] “visualization parameters may include, for example, a selection of data or data type to display from one or more datasets; a particular graph, chart, or map in which to view the selected data; color schemes for the graphs/charts/maps; a position or orientation of the graphs/charts/maps within a particular GUI, etc.”).
Per claim 7:
Heldman discloses:
7. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the client is associated with a browser of a terminal device of the tenant and is based on a web page development technology (Paragraph [0030] “each user system 12 typically executes an HTTP client, for example, a web browsing (or simply “browsing”) program, such as a web browser based on the WebKit platform, Microsoft's Internet Explorer browser, Apple's Safari, Google's Chrome, Opera's browser, or Mozilla's Firefox browser, and/or the like, to execute and render web applications allowing a user”), and wherein the web page development technology comprises one or more of a Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), JavaScript, or Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) (Paragraph [0028] “a “web browser” or simply a “browser… includes various operating parameters and the body of the such messages may include code or source code documents (e.g., HTML, XML, JSON, Apex®, CSS, JSP, MessagePack™, Apache® Thrift™, ASN.1, Google® Protocol Buffers (protobuf), DBOs, or some other like object(s)/document(s)).”).
Per claim 9:
Heldman discloses:
9. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the cloud instance comprises a virtual machine, a container, or a bare metal server (Since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, Heldman teaches Paragraph [0018] “resources include… operating systems, virtual machines (VMs), software/applications, computer files… access with specific privileges to a software instance”).
Per claim 17:
Heldman discloses:
17. (Currently Amended) The computing device according to claim 16, wherein the terminal device comprises a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a personal computer, a smart television, or a game console (Since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, Heldman teaches Paragraph [0029] “user systems 12 can be a desktop computer, a work station, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a handheld computing device (e.g., Personal Data Assistants (PDAs), pagers, portable media player, etc.), a mobile cellular phone (e.g., a “smartphone”), or any other WiFi-enabled device, WAP-enabled device, or other computing device capable of interfacing directly or indirectly to the Internet or other network (e.g., network 14)”) .
Per claim 19:
Heldman discloses:
19. (New) The computing device according to claim 12, wherein the rendering mode comprises software rendering, local hardware rendering, or remote hardware rendering (Since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, Heldman teaches Paragraph [0030,0031] “a particular (hardware and/or software) configuration… the user systems 12 may implement web, user, or third-party applications 12 y to request and obtain data from DB system 16, and render graphical user interfaces (GUIs) in an application container or browser”), and wherein different rendering modes correspond to different rendering parameters (Paragraph [0031] “visualization parameters may include, for example, a selection of data or data type to display from one or more datasets; a particular graph, chart, or map in which to view the selected data; color schemes for the graphs/charts/maps; a position or orientation of the graphs/charts/maps within a particular GUI, etc.”).
Claims 10-12, 16 and 18 is/are the apparatus/system claim corresponding to method claims 1-3, 7 and 9 respectively, and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 1-3, 7 and 9 respectively, as noted above.
Claims 20-21 is/are the medium/product claim corresponding to method claims 1-2 respectively, and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 1-2 respectively, as noted above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-6 and 13-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Please note that if any of the claims are rejected under any other statues above, applicants must overcome the rejections in order for these claims to be allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Related cited arts:
Vecchiola, Christian, Xingchen Chu, and Rajkumar Buyya. "Aneka: a software platform for .NET-based cloud computing." High speed and large scale scientific computing 18.07 (2009). pp. 1-30.
Huang, Chun-Ying, et al. "GamingAnywhere: The first open source cloud gaming system." ACM Transactions on Multimedia Computing, Communications, and Applications (TOMM) 10.1s (2014): 1-25.
Meiländer, Dominik, et al. "Using mobile cloud computing for real-time online applications." 2014 2nd IEEE International Conference on Mobile Cloud Computing, Services, and Engineering. IEEE, 2014. pp.48-56.
US20170083292 - Techniques for developing software applications that call a virtualized computing environment are described. A graphical user interface is rendered that is operable to graphically depict a representation of an input, output, and operation based on user input data. Graphical depictions of the representation of the input, output, and operation are rendered. The rendered graphical depictions are associated with related executable code operable to execute functionality implementing the input, output, and operation and call services in the virtualized computing environment.
US10693883 - Systems, methods, and computer-readable media for integrating web resources are provided. A Resource Provider Proxy Service (RPPS) may download and cache whitelisted resources from a third party service (3PS). Once whitelisted resources are downloaded to the RPPS from the 3PS, a secure endpoint service may expose the resources to applications running on user systems. The resources served to the user system applications may be virtually isolated from one another in separate domains using a sandboxing framework. Other embodiments may be described and/or claimed.
/Satish Rampuria/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193
*****