Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 18 September 2026 is acknowledged. Upon allowance of the apparatus claims, rejoinder of the method claims will be considered.
Relevant MPEP Sections
MPEP 2114 relating to Apparatus and Article claims – Functional Language: While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
MPEP 2115: "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996<, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Xing et al. (“Time-Varying Model Predictive Control of a Reversible-SOC Energy-Storage Plant Based on the Linear Parameter-Varying Method” cited in IDS).
In regard to claim 1, Xing et al. teach an electrolyzer system comprising: a stack of electrolyzer modules (reversible solid oxide cells - rSOCs stack, figure 1 below) for producing hydrogen gas from water, each module comprising a pair of electrodes sandwiching a membrane therebetween (The SOC stack splits H2O using electricity (electrolysis mode) or oxidizes H2 to generate power (fuel cell mode) – page 1949 I. Introduction);
an inverter system (“Converter” in figure 1 below) that is electrically connected to the stack of electrolyzer modules and electrically connected to an electrical power grid (Pgrid in figure 1 below);
a control system (time varying Model predictive control (MPC)) that is functionally connected to the inverter system for controlling the inverter system (“A time-varying MPC formulation is proposed to optimize the coordination of BoP components during the transient process (such as mode switching) to ensure security and to improve the full-time performance of the plant for energy storage dispatch” page 1590, second column)
wherein the electrolyzer system is configured for electrically supporting stability of the power grid by three different support modes during power deviations from a predetermined operation state of the power grid for counteracting the power deviations (“Balance of Plant (BoP) Submodel: As shown in Fig. 1, the BoP components make up an energy-flow interface between the SOC stack and the power grid and serve as necessary actuators to control the stack operation”); wherein the electrolyzer system in a first support mode A is configured for varying import of electrical energy from the power grid in response to the power deviations (BoP operation);
wherein the electrolyzer system in a second support mode B is configured for capacitor function (“The DC-side capacitor Cdc is used to attenuate the voltage ripple on the stack of the electrolyzer modules in the stack” page 1950), wherein the electrolyzer modules switch from an electrically charged operational state to a discharged state, wherein the electrical power from discharging is exported through the inverter into the power grid for stabilizing unwanted short-term variations of the power in the power grid (“C. Long-Term Optimization: Scenarios B and C A steady OP is never reached in Scenario A because 4s is far too small for T to stabilize. Therefore, we simulated 1200 s after the rSOC plant steps to a new power load in Scenarios B and C to observe the long-term transient process to the new OP. The process is depicted in Fig. 7 and Fig. 9.” – long term power stabilization described on page 1596); and
wherein the electrolyzer system in a third support mode C is configured for switching instantly from a hydrogen production mode into a fuel cell mode, wherein gas (N2, H2 and O2) at the electrodes of the electrolyzer module is combined through the membrane and converted back into water inside the module (Short-Term Tracking and Switching: Scenario A “In Scenario A, we simulated five AGC periods (20s in total) to observe the short-term transient process when the rSOC plant is tracking the desired Pgrid,ref and occasionally switching between the electrolysis mode and the fuel cell mode.” Page 1595). See figure 1 annotated below, pages 1591-1598 which show predictive MPC control of the system depending on many conditions and results shown in Figure 12.
The prior art teaches all of the claimed operational characteristics, however in any event, the Examiner notes that the operational characteristics of the system and materials worked upon (i.e. hydrogen, oxygen, electricity) relate to functional limitations and materials worked upon by the system which do not structurally distinguish the claims from the prior art (see MPEP 2114 and 2115 above).
In regard to claim 2, Xing et al. teach the electrolyzer system according to claim 1, wherein the three different support modes are carried out one after the other with the first support mode A reducing the power import to zero (I(A) = 0 in figure 12), then reversing power back into the power grid within tens of milliseconds in the second support mode B (“Because the time constant of a built-in current controller is typically tens of milliseconds…” Page 1591, second column), then continuing reverse flow of electricity into the power grid by fuel cell action in the third support mode C, and then, after recovery of the power grid, returning to consumption for the hydrogen gas production (power is being produced again after switching back to electrolysis mode, see conditions shown in Figure 12).
In regard to claim 3, Xing et al. teach the electrolyzer system according to claim 1, wherein the electrolyzer system is programmed to trigger a recovery mode for power support of the power grid in dependence of measured parameters, the parameters including frequency of the power grid (“For example, the plant provides frequency regulation service by tracking the automatic generation control (AGC) signal in Scenario A.” page 1595).
In regard to claim 4, Xing et al. teach the electrolyzer system according to claim 1, wherein the electrolyzer system is programmed to trigger a recovery mode for power support of the power grid in dependence of measured parameters, the parameters including voltage of the power grid (see Figure 12, note “P,I,U Power, current, voltage or overvoltage” in Nomenclature section, first page).
In regard to claim 5, Xing et al. teach the electrolyzer system according to claim 1, wherein the control system (predictive MPC) of the electrolyzer system comprises a data interface (current, voltage and temperature sensors) for receiving external data, the external data comprising information about at least one of an actual state of the power grid and an expected future state of the power grid (see page 1595, predictive modeling described throughout IV.MODEL PREDICTIVE CONTROL FORMULATION, such as predictive model below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uechi et al. (US Pub 20210143645 newly cited) teaches a similar SOFC/Electrolyzer connected to the power grid and electricity generation control.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723