Response to Amendment
The 3-16-2026 Amendment was entered. Applicant re-numbered the claims starting with 19. Claim 19 was amended. Claims 20-21 and 23 were cancelled. Claims 19, 22 and 24 are pending and examined in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In re Claim 19, “less than 53 A-weighted decibels” was interpreted as a range of 0 to 53 A weighted decibels.” Applicants six examples of 46.5, 47.4, 46.2, 46.7, 45.6, and 45.6 do not provide support for a range of 0-53A weighted decibels. See MPEP 2163.05, III. The claimed range includes decibels outside the disclosed embodiments, i.e. decibels below 45.5 weighed decibels and above 47.4 weighted decibels. As such, “less than 53 A-weighted decibels” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Dependent Claims 22 and 24 are not subject to this rejection because they claim narrower ranges that do have support in Applicant’s disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0257147 to Kanbar in view of US 2002 0158409 to Arakawa, and further in view of US 5,893,531 to Taylor or US 2007/0194166 to Reinsel et al.
If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432.
Here, the Claims are apparatus claims and not method claims. As best understood, the ability to achieve the decibels required by the claims, according to Applicant’s specification, is the material choice of the roller and the housing.
As best understood, according to Applicant’s specification, “wherein actuation of the motor results in a noise level, external to the housing, of less than 53 A-weighted decibels,” is the feed roller is made of molded plastic, synthetic or other composite material, wood, or metal (Applicant’s Para. 0035), and the housing is made of either stainless steel or plastic – see Applicant Table 1 at Para. 0058.
In re Claim 1, Kanbar teaches an electronic dispenser comprising:
a housing (see Kanbar, Fig. 3, #16);
a feed roller rotatably mounted within the housing (see Kanbar, Fig. 3/3A, #26);
a motor operable to drive rotation of the feed roller (see Kanbar, Fig. 3, #42), and wherein the motor is at least partially within the feed roller (see Kanbar, Fig. 3A/3, #42 is in #30/28);
a motor housing (see Fig. 3, #30) connected to the motor to support the motor within the feed roller (see Fig. 3), wherein the motor housing comprises a stepped portion with a surface (see Fig. 4, #46).
Kanbar teaches the tube #30 made of moldable plastic material (see Kanbar Para. 0017).
Kanbar is silent as to the material of the housing and
the electronic dispenser further comprises one or more bearings, wherein the one or more bearings contact the surface of the stepped portion and the housing.
However, Arakawa teaches that it is known in the art of rollers, to provide a bearing at an output shaft (see Fig. 3, #15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add a bearing to the output shaft of Kanbar. Doing so would reduce the friction created during rotation and would make the device “smoother” with less friction.
Further, Taylor teaches that it is known in the art to make the housing out of stainless steel or plastic (see Taylor, Col. 5, ll. 10-26). Additionally, Reinsel teaches that it is known in the art to provide a dispenser “of any suitable material, such as plastic and metals, in one embodiment steel or stainless steel are employed” (see Reinsel, Para. 0036).
In the same field of invention, roll dispensers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to make the housing out of plastic or stainless steel, as taught by Taylor or Reinsel. Doing so is the use of a known material to a known device (see MPEP 2143, I, D). Using stainless steel or plastic for the housing allows the designer to use “off the shelf” known items in the manufacture of the device thereby, not requiring the design of a new type of material for the housing. Additionally, both plastic and stainless steel do not corrode in an environment where moisture is present.
In re Claim 22, modified Kanbar, in re Claim 19, teaches the same material for the roll and housing as disclosed by Applicant’s specification to arrive at a structure wherein the noise level is between 45.6 and 53 A-weighted decibels.
In re Claim 24, modified Kanbar, in re Claim 19, teaches the same material for the roll and housing as disclosed by Applicant’s specification to arrive at a structure wherein the noise level is between 45.6 and 47.4 A-weighted decibels.
Claims 19, 22, and 24 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0257147 to Kanbar in view of US 2002 0158409 to Arakawa and US 5,965,851 to Herreman.
In re Claim 19, Kanbar teaches an electronic dispenser comprising:
a housing (see Kanbar, Fig. 3, #16);
a feed roller rotatably mounted within the housing (see Kanbar, Fig. 3/3A, #30/20/26);
a motor operable to drive rotation of the feed roller (see Kanbar, Fig. 3, #42), and wherein the motor is at least partially within the feed roller (see Kanbar, Fig. 3A/3, #42 is in #30/28);
a motor housing (see Fig. 3, #30) connected to the motor to support the motor within the feed roller (see Fig. 3), wherein the motor housing comprises a stepped portion with a surface (see Fig. 4, #46).
Kanbar is silent as to wherein actuation of the motor results in a noise level, external to the hosing, of less than 53 A-weighted decibels and the electronic dispenser further comprises one or more bearings, wherein the one or more bearings contact the surface of the stepped portion and the housing.
In this interpretation, the claims were not interpreted as requiring a particular housing material or roller material only that the device is capable of operating the claimed range.
However, Arakawa teaches that it is known in the art of rollers, to provide a bearing at an output shaft (see Fig. 3, #15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add a bearing to the output shaft of Kanbar. Doing so would reduce the friction created during rotation and would make the device “smoother” with less friction.
Additionally, Herreman teaches that it is known in the art to provide devices with electric motors with insulation in order to reduce the level of sound emitting from the machines (see Herreman, Col. 1, ll. 22-33). Herreman teaches the STC for the acoustical insulation system of the invention is preferably within the range of from about 10 to about 50 decibels, and more preferably within the range of from about 20 to about 40 decibels (see Herreman, Col. 3, ll. 34-47).
In the same field of invention, devices with motors that create noise, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to insulate the structures surrounding the motor, so that the decibels produced range between 10-50 or preverbally between 20-40 decibels. Doing so reduces the excessive noise which can be annoying to the users of the device (see Herreman, Col. 1, ll. 22-33).
In re Claim 22, modified Kanbar in re Claim 19, teaches adding insulation such that the noise level is between 45.6 and 53 A-weighted decibels (see Herreman, Col. 3, ll. 34-47).
In re Claim 24, modified Kanbar in re Claim 19, teaches adding insulation such that the noise level is between 45.6 and 47.4 A-weighted decibels (see Herreman, Col. 3, ll. 34-47).
Double Patenting
Claims 19, 22 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
In re Claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 12,029,355 Claim 1 claims an electronic dispenser comprising: a housing; a feed roller rotatably mounted within the housing; a motor operable to drive rotation of the feed roller, and wherein the motor is at least partially within the feed roller (see Col. 18, ll. 5-27); a motor housing connected to the motor to support the motor within the feed roller, wherein the motor housing comprises a stepped portion with a surface, and the electronic dispenser further comprises one or more bearings, wherein the one or more bearings contact the surface of the stepped portion and the housing (see Col. 18, ll. 15-33); and wherein actuation of the motor results in a noise level, external to the housing, of less than 53 A-weighted decibels (see Col. 18, ll. 32-37).
In re Claim 22, U.S. Patent No. 12,029,355 claims wherein the noise level is between 45.6 and 53 A-weighted decibels s – see Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,355.
In re Claim 24, U.S. Patent No. 12,029,355 claims wherein the noise level is between 45.6 and 47.4 A-weighted decibels – see Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,355.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19, 22 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Table 1 in Applicant’s specification provides support for the claimed ranges. The Examiner agrees that Table 1 provides two embodiments with three measurements each. The Examiner disagrees that measurements of between 45.6db to 47.4 db provides support for a range of 0-53 dbs.
In re the 35 USC 103 rejections, Applicant argues that Kanbar does not teach “the motor housing comprising a stepped portion with a surface, and the electronic dispenser further comprising one or more bearings, wherein the one or more bearings contact the surface of the stepped portion and the dispenser housing.” The Examiner agrees Kanbar does not teach a bearing, but Kanbar does teach a step surface (see Kanbar, Fig. 4). Additionally, Arakawa teaches that it is known to provide a bearing on an output shaft – see discussion above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724