DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Par. 59 the text "thermal barrier assembly 50" should be changed to "thermal barrier assembly 150" for accuracy
Par. 60 the text "thermal insulating layer 54" should be changed to "thermal insulating layer 154" for accuracy.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Claim 9 the text “first heat spreader extends” should be changed to “first heat spreader fin extends” for accuracy and consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. The text “further a thermal interface material” does not point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. For examination purposes claim 19 will be read as if the applicant meant “further comprising a thermal interface material.” It is recommended the applicant change the text to “further comprising a thermal interface material” to overcome the claim rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lahr (US2023141131A1), and further in view of Maguire et al. (US20240079711A1).
As to Claim 1, Lahr teaches a first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) and a second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) each configured to establish a path for directing thermal energy from the first battery cell (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102, Par. 44, Fig. 1A) or the second battery cell (see e.g. Lahr second battery cell 104, Par. 44, Fig. 1A) away from the thermal insulating layer (see e.g. Lahr insulating material 114, Par. 54, Fig. 1A and Par. 42 “the conductive sheets are made to conduct heat away”).
Lahr does not teach a battery pack with a thermal barrier assembly and thermal insulating layer, configured to reduce heat transfer between the batteries, positioned between a first battery cell and second battery cell.
Maguire et al. is directed to battery pack structural divider fins that can be configured to contain thermal energy. Maguire et al. teaches a battery pack, comprising (see e.g. Maguire et al. battery pack 18, Par. 43, Fig. 1): a thermal barrier assembly (see e.g. Maguire et al. thermal barrier assembly 72, Par. 17, "the divider fin includes a plastic panel and a thermal barrier assembly connected to the plastic panel") arranged between a first battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "divider fins arranged between adjacent battery cells of a cell stack," Par. 77, "first battery cell," Par. 4) and a second battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "second battery cell," Par. 4);
a thermal insulating layer (see e.g. Maguire et al. thermal insulating barrier 76, Par. 71, Fig. 11, "such as silicone foam," Par. 75) of the thermal barrier assembly (see e.g. Maguire et al. thermal barrier assembly 72, Par. 76) configured to reduce thermal energy transfer (see e.g. Maguire et al. "novel configuration for…containing thermal energy during battery thermal events," Par. 77) between the first battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "first battery cell" Par. 4) and the second battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "second battery cell" Par. 4).
Lahr and Maguire et al. are analogous in the art, so it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery heat transfer system comprising thermally conductive sheets and insulating material teachings of Lahr with the structural divider fins comprising a thermal barrier assembly teachings of Maguire et al. as the modification would provide the benefit of a thermal barrier assembly with an inner layer that minimizes the damage due to battery swelling as taught by Maguire et al.
As to Claim 2, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the thermal insulating layer is sandwiched between (see e.g. Lahr insulating material 114, Par. 54, Fig. 1A and Par. 54 "an insulating material can be disposed between the sheets" and Par. 48 "sheets 108 are stacked together and are disposed between the two adjacent cells") the first and second heat spreader fins (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1 and sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 1A).
As to Claim 3, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) interfaces with the first battery cell (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102, Par. 44, Fig. 1A) and the thermal insulating layer (see e.g. Lahr insulating material 114, Par. 54, Fig. 1A).
As to Claim 4, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein
the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) interfaces with the thermal insulating layer (see e.g. Lahr insulating material 114, Par. 54, Fig. 1A) and a second battery cell (see e.g. Lahr second battery cell 104, Par. 44, Fig. 1A).
As to Claim 5, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first and second heat spreader fins (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1 and sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) each include a body (see e.g. Lahr first portion 110, Par. 48, Fig. 1A) and at least one leg (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112 Par. 48, Fig. 1A) that extends transversely from the body (see e.g. Lahr Par. 48 "the second portion 112 of the sheets 108 extends beyond the first portion 110 and is folded at about right angle over the top of the cell 102 as shown at 111").
As to Claim 6, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 5, wherein the leg of (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112 Par. 48, Fig. 1A) the first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) extends beneath a bottom side of the first battery cell (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102, Par. 44, Fig. 1A) such that the first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1,Par. 46, Fig. 1A) includes an L-shaped cross-section. (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1 and second portion 112 in the shape of an L, Fig. 1A)
Lahr in view of Maguire et al. does not teach the heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112) extends below the bottom side of the first battery cell (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102). However, rotating Fig. 1A, 180 ° clockwise, produces the configuration described in claim 6 of the instant application (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the second portion [112] extend beneath the bottom of the first battery cell [102]. It has been held that the rearrangement of parts in a machine that does not alter the function of the machine is unpatentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Figure 1: Lahr, Fig. 1A, Rotated 180° and Annotated
As to Claim 7, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 5, wherein the leg of (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112, Par. 56, Fig. 1A) the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) extends beneath a bottom side of the second battery cell such that (see e.g. Lahr second battery cell 104, Par. 44, Fig. 1A) the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) includes an L-shaped cross-section (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4 and second portion 112 in the shape of an L, Fig. 1A).
Lahr in view of Maguire et al. does not teach the heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112) extends below the bottom side of the second battery cell (see e.g. Lahr second battery cell 104). However, rotating Fig. 1A, 180° clockwise and swapping the location of the batteries, produces the configuration described in Claim 7 of the instant application (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the second portion [112] extend beneath the bottom of the second battery cell [104]. It has been held that the rearrangement of parts in a machine that does not alter the function of the machine is unpatentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Figure 2: Lahr, Fig. 1A, Rotated 180° and Annotated
As to Claim 8, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 5, wherein the leg of (see e.g. Lahr third portion 132, Par. 56, Fig. 2) the first and second heat spreader fins (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1 and sheet 108-4, Par. 56, Fig. 2) is a lower leg and (see e.g. Lahr third portion 132 Par. 56, Fig. 2) each of the first and second heat spreader fins (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1 and sheet 108-4, Par. 56, Fig. 2) include an upper leg (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112, Par. 56, Fig. 2) that extends transversely (see e.g. Lahr Par. 48 "folded at about right angle over the top of the cell 102 as shown at 111," Fig. 2) from the body (see e.g. Lahr first portion 110, Par. 56, Fig. 2).
As to Claim 9, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 8, wherein the upper leg of (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112, Par. 56, Fig. 2 ) the first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, Par. 56, Fig. 2) extends over a top side of the first battery cell and (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102, Fig. 2, and Par. 48 "the second portion 112 of the sheets 108 extends beyond the first portion 110 and is folded at about right angle over the top of the cell 102 as shown at 111") the lower leg of (see e.g. Lahr third portion 132, Par. 56, Fig. 2) the first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, Par. 56, Fig. 2) extends beneath a bottom side of the first battery cell (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102, Par. 56, Fig. 2, and Par. 25, " the stack of the sheets further comprises a third portion that is disposed between the second heat sink and at least one of the first and second battery cells") such that the first heat spreader fin includes a C-shaped cross-section (see e.g. Lahr shape of sheet 108 in Fig 2, Par. 56).
As to Claim 10, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 8, wherein the upper leg of the (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112, Par. 56, Fig. 2) second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 56, Fig. 2) extends over a top side of the second battery cell and the lower leg of the (see e.g. Lahr third portion 132, Par. 56, Fig. 2) second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 56, Fig. 2) extends beneath a bottom side of the second battery cell (see e.g. Lahr second battery cell 104, Par. 56, Fig. 2, and Par. 25, " the stack of the sheets further comprises a third portion that is disposed between the second heat sink and at least one of the first and second battery cells") such that the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 56, Fig. 2) includes a C-shaped cross-section (see e.g. Lahr shape of sheet 108 in Fig 2, Par. 56).
Lahr in view of Maguire et al. does not teach that the lower leg (see e.g. Lahr third portion 132) and upper leg (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112) of the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4) extends below and above the second battery cell (see e.g. Lahr secondary battery cell 104), respectively. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to flip the sheet [108-4] horizontally to use the third portion [132] and second portion [112] to transfer the heat from the bottom and top of the second battery cell [104] to a heat sink. It has been held that the rearrangement of parts in a machine that does not alter the function of the machine is unpatentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
As to Claim 11, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 5, wherein the body of the first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, first portion 110, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) is sandwiched between the first battery cell (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102, Par. 44, Fig. 1A) and the thermal insulating layer (see e.g. Lahr insulating material 114, Fig. 1A, Par. 54 "an insulating material can be disposed between the sheets" and Par. 48 sheets "are stacked together and are disposed between the two adjacent cells"), and the body of the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, first portion 110, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) is sandwiched between the thermal insulating layer (see e.g. Lahr insulating material 114, Par. 54, Fig. 1A) and the second battery cell (see e.g. Lahr second battery cell 104, Par. 44, Fig. 1A, and Par. 54 "an insulating material can be disposed between the sheets" and Par. 48 sheets "are stacked together and are disposed between the two adjacent cells").
As to Claim 12, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 1, where the thermal barrier layer (see e.g. Maguire et al. inner layer 62, Par.68 "inner layer 62 may include an insulating material(s) for slowing or even preventing thermal propagation within the traction battery pack 18") is configured to mitigate volume expansion (see e.g. Maguire et al. Par. 69 "inner layer 62 may alternatively or additionally include a compliant material(s) for accommodating battery cell swelling" and Par. 59 “the divider fan 34 can be sandwiched between foam pads 97. The foam pads 97 may be configured to accommodate battery cell expansion forces due to swelling”) of the first battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "first battery cell" Par. 4) and the second battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "second battery cell" Par. 4).
As to Claim 15, Lahr teaches a first heat spreader fin, (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, Par. 46, Fig. 1A) a second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 1A), and a thermal insulating layer (see e.g. Lahr insulating material 114, Par. 54, Fig. 1a) sandwiched between the first and second heat spreader fins (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1 and sheet 108-4, Par. 56, Fig. 2, Par. 54 " an insulating material can be disposed between the sheets" and Par. 48 sheets "108 are stacked together and are disposed between the two adjacent cells").
Lahr does not teach an enclosure that houses a battery pack with a thermal barrier assembly and thermal insulating layer, configured to reduce heat transfer between the batteries, positioned between a first battery cell and second battery cell.
Maguire et al. is directed to battery pack structural divider fins that can be configured to contain thermal energy. Maguire et al. teaches a battery pack, comprising: a first battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "first battery cell" Par. 4) and a second battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "second battery cell" Par. 4) housed within an interior area of an enclosure assembly (see e.g. Maguire et al., interior area 30, enclosure assembly 24, Par. 45, Fig. 2); and a thermal barrier assembly (see e.g. Maquire et al. thermal barrier assembly 72, Par. 76) arranged between the first battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "divider fins arranged between adjacent battery cells of a cell stack," Par. 77, "first battery cell," Par. 4) and the second battery cell (see e.g. Maguire et al. "second battery cell" Par. 4), wherein the thermal barrier assembly includes (see e.g. Maquire et al. "thermal barrier assembly" Par. 17) an inner layer for battery swelling (see e.g. Maguire et al. inner layer 62, Fig. 10, Par. 69, “for accommodating battery swelling”)
Lahr and Maguire et al. are analogous in the art, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery heat transfer system comprising thermally conductive sheets and insulating material teachings of Lahr with the structural enclosure, battery, and thermal barrier assembly and insulating layer teachings of Maguire et al. as the modification would provide the benefit of a protective battery enclosure for a battery pack and the thermal barrier assembly’s inner layer would minimize damage due to battery swelling as taught by Maguire et al.
As to Claim 16, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 15, wherein the first and second heat spreader fins (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1 and sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 2) each include a body (see e.g. Lahr first portion 110, Par. 48, Fig. 2) and a lower leg that (see e.g. Lahr third portion 132, Par. 56, Fig. 2) extends transversely from the body (see e.g. Lahr second battery cell 104, Par. 56, Fig. 2, and Par. 25, "the stack of the sheets further comprises a third portion that is disposed between the second heat sink and at least one of the first and second battery cells"), the lower leg (see e.g. Lahr third portion 132 Par. 56, Fig. 2) of the first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, Par. 56, Fig. 2) extends beneath a bottom side of the first battery cell (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102, Par. 56, Fig. 2, and Par. 25, "the stack of the sheets further comprises a third portion that is disposed between the second heat sink and at least one of the first and second battery cells"), and the lower leg (see e.g. Lahr third portion 132 Par. 56, Fig. 2) of the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 56, Fig. 2)extends beneath a bottom side of the second battery cell.
Lahr in view of Maguire et al. does not teach that the lower leg (third portion 132) of the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 1080-4, Fig. 2) extends below the second battery cell (see e.g. Lahr secondary battery cell 104, Fig. 2). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to flip the sheet [108-4] horizontally to use the third portion [132] to transfer the heat from the bottom of the second battery cell [104] to the heat sink [130]. It has been held that the rearrangement of parts in a machine that does not alter the function of the machine is unpatentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
As to Claim 17, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 16, further comprising a thermal interface material (see e.g. Maguire et al. intermediate structure 99B, Par. 57 “the intermediate structures 99A, 99B may be heat exchanger plates,” Fig. 13) interfaced between the thermal barrier assembly (see e.g. Maquire et al. thermal barrier assembly 72, Par. 76, Fig. 11) and a lower enclosure structure (see e.g. Maguire et al. enclosure tray 28, Par. 57, Fig. 13) of the enclosure assembly (see e.g. Maguire et al. enclosure assembly 24, Par. 45, Fig. 1).
As to Claim 18, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 16, wherein the first heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1, Par. 56, Fig. 2) includes an upper leg (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112 Par. 56, Fig. 2) that extends over a top side of the first battery cell, (see e.g. Lahr first battery cell 102, Fig. 2, and Par. 48 "The second portion 112 of the sheets 108 extends beyond the first portion 110 and is folded at about right angle over the top of the cell 102 as shown at 111") and the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-4, Par. 46, Fig. 2) includes an upper leg that extends over (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112 Par. 56, Fig. 2) a top side of the second battery cell.
Lahr in view of Maguire et al. does not teach that the upper leg (see e.g. Lahr second portion 112, Fig. 2) of the second heat spreader fin (see e.g. Lahr sheet 1080-4, Fig. 2) extends over a top side the second battery cell (see e.g. Lahr secondary battery cell 104, Fig. 2). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to flip the sheet [108-4] horizontally to use the second portion [112] to transfer the heat from the top of the second battery cell [104]. It has been held that the rearrangement of parts in a machine that does not alter the function of the machine is unpatentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
As to Claim 19, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 18, further comprising a thermal interface material (see e.g. Maguire et al. intermediate structure 99A, Par. 57 “the intermediate structures 99A, 99B may be heat exchanger plates,” Fig. 13) interfaced between an upper enclosure structure (see e.g. Maguire et al. enclosure cover 26, Par. 57, Fig. 13) of the enclosure assembly (see e.g. Maguire et al. enclosure assembly 24, Par. 45, Fig. 1) and the thermal barrier assembly (see e.g. Maquire et al. thermal barrier assembly 72, Par. 76, Fig. 11), and another thermal interface material (see e.g. Maguire et al. intermediate structure 99B, Par. 57 “the intermediate structures 99A, 99B may be heat exchanger plates,” Fig. 13) interfaced between the thermal barrier assembly (see e.g. Maquire et al. thermal barrier assembly 72, Par. 76, Fig. 11) and a lower enclosure structure (see e.g. Maguire et al. enclosure tray 28, Par. 57, Fig. 13) of the enclosure assembly (see e.g. Maguire et al. enclosure assembly 24, Par. 45, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 13, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lahr (US2023141131A1), in view of Maguire et al. (US20240079711A1) as applied to claims 1-12 and 15-19, and further in view of Wang (US2020036065A1).
As to Claim 13, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first and second heat spreader fins (see e.g. Lahr sheet 108-1 and sheet 108-4, Par. 56, Fig. 2) made of highly thermally conductive material (see e.g. Lahr Par. 40 “non-limiting examples of the conductive material include metals, alloys, composites, and any combination thereof” and Par. 46). Lahr in view of Maguire et al. does not teach that the heat spreader fins are made of graphite material.
Wang is directed to heat dissipation in batteries (abstract). Wang teaches a thermally conductive anisotropic graphite material between two battery cells used to transfer heat away from the neighboring battery and out towards the battery case (see e.g. Wang Par. 13, "thermally-conductive graphite material 2 is bonded in the middle of two cells" and Par. 15 “excellent electrical and thermal properties that are possessed by an anisotropic graphite material,” Fig. 2).
Lahr in view of Maguire et al. and Wang are analogous, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the first and second heat spreader fins as taught by Lahr in view of Maguire et al. with the anisotropic graphite material teachings of Wang as the modification would provide the benefits of light weight heat spreader fins and uniform heat dissipation away from the neighboring battery cell and out towards the battery case as taught by Wang.
As to Claim 14, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. and Wang teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 13, wherein the graphite material is anisotropic in thermal conductivity (see claim 13 discussion).
As to Claim 20, Lahr in view of Maguire et al. and Wang teaches the battery pack as recited in claim 15, wherein the first and the second heat spreader fins each include a graphite material that is anisotropic in thermal conductivity (see claim 13 discussion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Nguyen et al. (US20150037648A1) teaches a C shaped cooling fin for an electric vehicle battery, however it is missing many elements from the instant application.
Chorian et al. (US20160064783A1) teaches a and L shaped graphite cooling fin for an electric vehicle battery, however the graphite is not anisotropic.
/FAUSTO I MARES DAVILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722