DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on May 29,2024. Claims 1-5 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 29, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0078300A1).
Regarding claim 1, He et al. discloses a communication setting method (See, Abstract, Figs. 8 and 10) of enabling a first communication device (See, e.g., Fig. 4, #102B(4), a ‘keyboard’) and a second communication device (See, Fig. 4, #102A(1), a ‘Tablet’) that are shipped together as a set (See, ¶[0036], “peripheral devices and the host device could be sold together as a set that can be packaged together.”) and are compliant with common wireless communication to be connected to each other by wireless communication See, e.g., ¶[0008], “Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)”), the communication setting method comprising:
a step in which a storage controller in the first communication device (See, Fig. 3, #324 and ¶s[0014]-[0018]) causes a storage in the first communication device (Figs. 1 and 8, #322(1), “NV MEM”) to store, at a predetermined stage before the shipping (See, e.g., ¶[0051] describing the storage of the “BLE OOB keys 805 being stored prior to the end user unpacking the devices), communication connection information (See, Fig. 8, #806, and ¶[0048], the “BLE OOB key 805”) that is issued for the first communication device (Fig. 8, #802 and ¶[0048]) and includes predetermined identification information used for the connection (See, ¶[0048], the “BLE OOB key 805 can be “an example type of the passcode and/or device ID”); and
a step in which a storage controller in the second communication device (Fig. 7, #324 and ¶s [0015] and [0043]) causes a storage in the second communication device (Fig. 7, # 322(1), “NV MEM”) to store, at a predetermined stage before the shipping (See, e.g., ¶[0051] as discussed above), a same communication connection information as stored in the storage in the first communication device (See, Fig. 8, #814 and ¶[0049].
Regarding claim 2, He et al. further discloses the recited step in which a communication connection information issuance in the first communication device generates the communication connection information (See, Fig. 8, #802 and ¶[0048].
Regarding claim 3, He et al. further discloses the storage in the first communication device being a non-volatile memory (See, Fig. 3, #322(1), Fig. 8, #806 and ¶[[0048]).
Regarding claim 4, He et al. further discloses the recited step in which, after the shipping, a communicator in the first communication device executes advertising for pairing with the second communication device within an allowable range of a number of startups (See, ¶s[0028] and [0039], the peripheral device 102(B) enters the advertising mode upon removal from the packaging or upon power up).
Regarding claim 5, He et al. further discloses that the second communication device is an information processing device (See, e.g., , Figs. 3-7, #102A(1) and ¶s[0014] and [0034]) and the first communication device is a peripheral device of the information processing device (See, e.g., Figs. 3-7, #102B(4), ‘keyboard’ and ¶s[0014] and [0036]).
Conclusion
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 February 17, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418