Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II, Subspecies I, Figures 15-23 and 25-28 in the reply filed on 9/1/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no serious search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because Species II requires additional text searches such as “bulkhead connector” and searches in additional areas such as H02G3/22 that Species I does not require. Similarly, Subspecies I requires additional text searches such as “splitters” and searches in additional areas such as H01R24/547 that Subspecies II does not require. Therefore, there is a serious search burden. There is also a serious examination burden because the species and subspecies are independent and/or distinct, as indicated by the different searches that each species and subspecies requires.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “controller cable” as recited in at least claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Based on claim 1, “at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller” (lines 14-15), it’s the Examiner’s understanding that the controller cable is cable 59 in Figure 15. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1, line 20, the empty line should be removed.
Regarding Claim 9, lines 14-15, “connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies” should read “connecting the bulkhead connector to all of the actuators
Regarding Claim 9, line 21-22, “connecting the plurality of connectors to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies” should read “connecting the plurality of connectors to all of the actuators of the at least two damper assemblies” (emphasis added).
Regarding Claim 9, line 29, “the all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies” should read “s of the at least two damper assemblies” (emphasis added).
Regarding Claim 16, lines 2-3, “one of the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies” should read “one of the actuators of .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1, lines 13-14, recites “the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable”. However, this does not appear to be supported by the figures because Figure 15 of the as-filed specification only shows bulkhead connector 61 is connected to one cable 63. Cable 63 is connected to splitter 65 which in turn is connected to cables 67 and 69. Therefore, if cables 63, 67, and 69 are collectively considered a ‘controller cable’, the above limitation would be supported by the figures. Therefore, for the purposes of substantiative examination, the limitation “the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable” will be interpreted as being read on by a bulkhead connector configured to receive a single cable or a bulkhead connector configured to receive a cable comprised of multiple cables that are connected together.
Claim 1, lines 16-19, recites “the actuator cabling system includes a primary actuator cable having a primary actuator cable first end connected to the bulkhead connector, a secondary actuator cable having a secondary actuator cable first end connected to the actuator and a connector connecting a primary actuator cable second end and a secondary actuator cable second end”. Given connector assemblies 81 and 103 are the only element numbers in Figure 15 of the as-filed specification that are labeled with ‘connector’, it initially appears that this is the structure being referred to by the “connector” as recited in claim 1. However, connector assemblies 81 and 103 are not connected to a primary actuator cable whose first end is connected to the bulkhead connector. Instead, in Figure 15 of the as-filed specification, it appears the recited connector refers to a splitter, such as splitter assembly 65. To elaborate, cable 63 (i.e., primary actuator cable) has a first end connected to bulkhead connector 61 and cable 67 (i.e., secondary actuator cable) has a first end connected to actuator 68 and splitter 65 connects a second end of cable 63 to a second end of cable 67, which corresponds to the limitation recited in lines 16-19. This is supported by Par. 0088 of the PGPUB, which discloses “Splitter assembly 65 is a connector between (1) cable 63 and (2) cables 67 and 69”. Therefore, “a connector connecting a primary actuator cable second end and a secondary actuator cable second end” will be interpreted as any structure that connects two cables, such as a splitter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “the bulkhead connector is…configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller” (lines 14-15). The as-filed specification does not appear to provide support for this, but this is difficult to determine because no element number was provided for the controller cable, as noted in the Drawing Objection above. Therefore, based on the Examiner’s best understanding, it appears that the cable that corresponds to the claimed limitation is cable 59 in Figure 15. This is supported by Par. 0006 of the PGPUB which discloses the LDM module is often controlled by a central air handling unit or controller and Par. 0077 which discloses cable 59 is from the central air handling unit and is connectable to one end of bulkhead connector 61. However, the claim recites “at least one controller cable” while Figure 15 only shows one instance of cable 59.
In light of the discrepancy explained above, it is the examiner’s decision that the written description lacks sufficient support for the exterior wall is not adjacent to the trunking frame. In other words, at the time of filing, it appears that the Applicant’s invention only conceived of one controller cable for the embodiment shown in Figure 16, so the Applicant did not have possession of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1.
Claims 2-8 are rejected by virtue of their dependency from base claim 1.
The same rejection applies to claim 9 for reciting “the bulkhead connector is…configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller”.
Claims 10-18 are rejected by virtue of their dependency from base claim 9.
Regarding claim 6, the exterior wall is recited to be “not adjacent to the trunking frame”. However, the as-filed specification does not provide support for this. Figure 9 shows a cross-section of the trunking frame, including the inner and outer C channels that form the exterior wall of the trunking frame. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, adjacent means ‘not distant’. It is unclear how the exterior wall is not adjacent/is distant from the trunking frame when the trunking frame comprises the exterior wall. Furthermore, it’s the Examiner’s position that figures alone are usually not sufficient to provide sufficient written description for negative limitations.
In light of the discrepancy explained above, it is the examiner’s decision that the written description lacks sufficient support for the exterior wall is not adjacent to the trunking frame. In other words, at the time of filing, it appears that the applicant did not have possession of the claimed invention as recited in claim 6.
The same rejection applies to claim 15 for reciting “the exterior wall is not adjacent to the trunking frame”.
Claims 1-8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 7-10, recites “a cabling assembly; wherein: the damper assembly includes (i) rotatable blades that are configured such that a position of the rotatable blades determines airflow through the louver and damper module and (ii) an actuator that rotates the rotatable blades based on a signal from a controller” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether or not the cabling assembly includes the damper assembly because the damper assembly has already been recited separately in claim 2. For the purposes of substantiative examination, this limitation will be read on by either independent damper and cabling assemblies or a damper assembly that is part of a cabling assembly.
Claims 2-8 are rejected by virtue of their dependency from base claim 1.
Claim 8, lines 2-3, recites “the series of cables” which lacks antecedent basis. For the purposes of substantiative examination, its presumed the series of cables are either the entirety or a subset of the cables in the cabling assembly.
The same rejection applies to claim 18 for reciting “the series of cables”.
Amendments to the claims are kindly requested for clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karamanos et al. (US20220107104A1, hereafter Karamanos) in view of Vogel (US20200064014A1), Martinson (WO 2024091649 A1), and Anina Bulkhead Connector sold on “Amazon.com" (see NPL in attached PTO-892, hereinafter Anina; note a publication date of at least May 14, 2024 on the bottom of page 8).
Regarding claim 1, Karamanos discloses a damper module (Fig. 13A, damper assembly 1300) comprising:
a damper assembly (Fig. 13D, blades 1314a-h, gears 1318a-h, and actuators 1320a-d) (i) supported by a main frame (Fig. 13A, 1302 frame) and (ii) arranged such that air passes through the damper assembly when the damper module is in use (Par. 0344, “Damper assembly 1300 is adapted to be positioned within a fluid flow pathway of a duct and functions as an orifice plate that defines a variable opening for receiving various types of fluid and control fluid flow there through”);
a frame (annotated Fig. A) (i) that is a part of the main frame and (ii) having an exterior wall (annotated Fig. A, at least the exterior surface of the frame);
a cabling assembly (Fig. 13C, cables connecting actuators 1320a-d to a connector and the cables leading to the connector from inside the frame 1302. See annotated Fig. B); wherein:
the damper assembly includes (i) rotatable blades (Fig. 13A, blades 1314a-h) that are configured such that a position of the rotatable blades determines airflow through the damper module (Par. 0349, “continually adjusts a blade or blades position(s) to control flowrate to maintain required flow”) and (ii) an actuator (Fig. 13C, actuators 1320a-d) that rotates the rotatable blades based on a signal from a controller (Par. 0349, “The output of flow and/or temperature etc. measurement is sent to controller 1200 in FIG. 12 that provides a signal to control actuators that, in turn, control the position of the blades in damper assembly.”);
the cabling assembly includes a first connector (annotated Fig. B, which shows a structure that allows the cable to pass through frame 1302 and connect with the connector and is therefore a ‘first connector’) and an actuator cabling system connecting the first connector to the actuator (Fig. 13C, one of the cables running from frame 1302 to the connector and the cable that connects the connector to the actuator 1320a);
the first connector is (i) supported by the frame (annotated Figs. A and B) and (ii) configured to (capable of) removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller (Par. 0349, “The output of flow and/or temperature etc. measurement is sent to controller 1200 in FIG. 12 that provides a signal to control actuators that, in turn, control the position of the blades in damper assembly.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the disclosed signal is capable of being received via a cable, such as the other cable running from frame 1302 to the connector. Note the cable is removable at least by virtue of destructible means);
the actuator cabling system includes a primary actuator cable having a primary actuator cable first end connected to the first connector (Fig. 13C, one of the cables running from frame 1302 to the connector, specifically the end that connects with the connector), a secondary actuator cable having a secondary actuator cable first end connected to the actuator (Fig. 13C, cable that connects the connector to the actuator 1320a, specifically the end that connects with actuator 1320a) and a connector connecting a primary actuator cable second end and a secondary actuator cable second end (annotated Fig. B).
[AltContent: textbox (Frame)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Fig. A: Annotated copy of Fig. 13A from Karamanos showing location of prior art elements labeled with applicant’s terminology.
[AltContent: textbox (Connector)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Connector)][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. B: Annotated copy of Fig. 13C from Karamanos showing location of prior art elements labeled with applicant’s terminology.
NOTE: A trunking frame is a frame that is used to house cables and/or wires. Therefore, it appears a horizontal portion of the frame of Karamanos is a trunking frame because a cable on the left side of the main frame appears to disappear into this horizontal portion. See annotated Fig. A, especially the image on the right.
However, Karamanos does not disclose a louver and damper module comprising:
a damper assembly and a louver assembly (i) supported by a main frame and (ii) arranged such that air passes sequentially through the louver assembly and the damper assembly when the louver and damper module is in use;
a trunking frame (i) that is (a) attached to the main frame or (b) a part of the main frame and (ii) having an exterior wall; and
the damper assembly includes (i) rotatable blades that are configured such that a position of the rotatable blades determines airflow through the louver and damper module
the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator;
the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller;
the actuator cabling system includes a primary actuator cable having a primary actuator cable first end connected to the bulkhead connector;
the primary actuator cable and the connector are encased in the trunking frame;
the secondary actuator cable passes through the exterior wall; and
the trunking frame, the actuator and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector.
Vogel discloses a louver and damper assembly (Abstract, “air distribution system includes a damper assembly, a louver assembly”) similar to the present invention and Vogel further discloses it is known to have a damper assembly (Abstract, damper assembly and Fig. 2, damper 154, which comprises structures such damper blades 166. See Par. 0026) and a louver assembly (Abstract, louver assembly and Fig. 2, louver 152, which comprises structures such as louver blades 162. See Par. 0026) (i) supported by a main frame (Fig. 2, damper frame 164 and louver frame 160) and (ii) arranged such that air passes sequentially through the louver assembly and the damper assembly when the louver and damper module is in use (Fig. 2, direction 158, which shows air flows sequentially through louver 152 and damper 154 when the louver and damper module is in use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the damper assembly of Karamanos to include the louver assembly as taught by Vogel in order to have a damper assembly and a louver assembly (i) supported by a main frame and (ii) arranged such that air passes sequentially through the louver assembly and the damper assembly when the louver and damper module is in use and thereby better protect the damper assembly (As suggested by Par. 0028 of Vogel: “the louver blades 162 may block certain objects, such as debris and/or moisture, from entering a remainder of the frame assembly”). This beneficially increases reliability and/or decreases maintenance costs.
NOTE: The limitation “the damper assembly includes (i) rotatable blades that are configured such that a position of the rotatable blades determines airflow through the louver and damper module” (emphasis added) is necessarily met by modified Karamanos. To elaborate, Karamanos teaches the limitation besides the louver and damper module so adding the louver as disclosed by Vogel necessarily means modified Karamanos reads on the limitation.
However, Karamanos, as modified above, does not disclose a trunking frame (i) that is (a) attached to the main frame or (b) a part of the main frame and (ii) having an exterior wall; and
the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator;
the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller;
the actuator cabling system includes a primary actuator cable having a primary actuator cable first end connected to the bulkhead connector;
the primary actuator cable and the connector are encased in the trunking frame;
the secondary actuator cable passes through the exterior wall; and
the trunking frame, the actuator and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector.
Martinson is in the same field of endeavor of cable routing (Par. 0006) as the present invention and Martinson further discloses a solution to the problems of how to reduce the cost of manufacturing and installing cables and reduce commissioning time, efforts, and costs (Par. 0045), similar to the problems of reducing the use of cabling and other materials (Par. 0011 of the PGPUB) and costly and time-consuming installation (Pars. 0001-0010) in the present invention. Martinson further discloses it is known to have a trunking frame (Par. 0046, “For example, an assembly in a stick build configuration…The IGU cables may pass through structural members of the assembly from the IGUs to a standardized location to electrically connect to components of the building at installation. “A trunking frame is a frame that is used to house cables and/or wires, therefore the “structural members” comprise a ‘trunking frame’ because they house cabling) (i) that is a part of the main frame (Par. 0045, assembly in a stick build configuration) and (ii) having an exterior wall (Fig. 12 and Par. 0086, “Assembly 1200 may be… an assembly in a stick build configuration.” The wall forming the structural members such as the wall forming horizontal member 1214, which is an ‘exterior wall’ because it is a wall that forms the exterior bounds of horizontal member 1214); and
a primary actuator cable (Fig. 12, IGU cable 1218A and Par. 0103, “Such a cable or cables could also be related to…actuators”) and a connector (Per Par. 0110, IGU cable 1218A may include cable C11572 and connector C11582 as shown in Fig. 15) are encased in the trunking frame (Fig. 12, IGU cable 1218A is encased in horizontal member 1214. Per Par. 0110, IGU cable 1218A may include one or more of components described with reference to Figure 15, which includes cable C11572 and connector C11582. Therefore, connector C11582 must necessarily be encased in horizontal member 1214);
a secondary cable passes through the exterior wall (Fig. 12, cable 1218B passes through the wall forming the exterior of horizontal member 1214 and Par. 0103, “Such a cable or cables could also be related to…actuators”),
the trunking frame, an actuator (Par. 0103, “Such a cable or cables could also be related to…actuators”) and cabling (Fig. 4, cables 1218A, 1218B) are configured (capable of) such that an entirety of the assembly can be solely connected electrically to a controller (Fig. 12, controller 1248) by connecting at least one controller cable to the first connector (Fig. 12, IGU cable 1218A, which is a controller cable because it connects to controller 1248. Per Par. 0110, IGU cable 1218A may include one or more of components described with reference to Figure 15, which includes connector 1584 and the cable 1574 that indirectly connects to controller 1548 (i.e., controller cable). Reference Par. 0091, “In some embodiments, the controller may be connected to the assembly at a later stage of fabrication. For example, assembly 200 of Figure 2 may be manufactured and/or assembled at one location or stages, then at a later stage or at a different location, the controller may be connected to the IGU cables of the assembly”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have suitably modified the device of Karamanos to have the trunking frame as taught by Martinson in order to have a trunking frame (i) that is a part of the main frame and (ii) having an exterior wall; the primary actuator cable and the connector are encased in the trunking frame; and the secondary actuator cable passes through the exterior wall and thereby reduce damage to components, delays, and needs for repairs (As suggested by at least Par. 0046 of Martinson: “Using an assembly in a stick build configuration in a single unit provide benefits such as more uniform, robust, and reliable construction of the building while reducing damage to the components, delays, needs for repairs, and costs of manufacturing and installation. Further, such an assembly can be commissioned and readied for integration with the building before installation, thereby reducing commissioning time, efforts, and cost”).
NOTE: The size of the trunking frame of Matinson may have to be adjusted to fit the connector of Karamanos, but the court has held that limitations relating to size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art and mere scaling up of prior art capable of being scaled up does not establish patentability. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. Therefore, changing the size of the trunking frame is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over Karamanos as modified by Martinson.
However, Karamanos, as modified above, does not disclose the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator;
the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller;
the actuator cabling system includes a primary actuator cable having a primary actuator cable first end connected to the bulkhead connector;
the trunking frame, the actuator and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector.
Anina is in the same field of endeavor of cable routing as the present invention and Anina discloses a bulkhead connector (Pg. 1, ‘About this item’, “well made bulkhead connector”) is a known connector (Pg. 1, ‘About this item’, “connector is made of copper and nickel plated, durable and wear-resistant”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Karamanos, as modified above, to have a bulkhead connector as taught by Anina in order to have the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator; the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller; the actuator cabling system includes a primary actuator cable having a primary actuator cable first end connected to the bulkhead connector; the trunking frame, the actuator and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector and thereby provide a low loss resistance connection that is durable and wear-resistant (As suggested by Pg. 1, ‘About this item’ of Anina: “firmly mate to each counterpart which provide the low loss resistance connection” and “connector is durable and wear-resistant”).
Regarding claim 2, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 1, wherein the trunking frame (Martinson: Par. 0046, structural members, as explained in claim 1) is positioned on the main frame (Karamanos: Fig. 13A, 1302) in a direction of the airflow through the louver and damper module (Karamanos: Fig. 13C, airflow is flowing to the left side of frame 1302, which is also where the trunking frame of modified Karamanos is positioned. Reference annotated Fig. A).
Regarding claim 4, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 1, wherein the actuator (Karamanos: Fig. 13C, actuator 1320a) is attached to the main frame (Karamanos: Fig. 13A, 1302 frame).
Regarding claim 5, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 1, wherein the bulkhead connector (Anina: Pg. 1, ‘About this item’, “well made bulkhead connector”) passes through the exterior wall (Martinson: Fig. 13, wall forming the structural members, such as the wall forming horizontal member 1214. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the nuts shown on Pg. 5 of Anina are for securing the bulkhead connector to a wall or panel, therefore the bulkhead connector must necessarily pass through the wall or panel. Given the bulkhead connector connects the controller outside the exterior wall to the connector inside the exterior wall, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the bulkhead must necessarily be installed to the exterior wall and pass through the exterior wall to connect the controller to the connector).
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for the bulkhead connector to pass through the exterior wall since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed bulkhead connector was significant. MPEP 2144.04 VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (i.e., bulkhead connector passes through the exterior wall). One could have expected the bulkhead connector to perform substantially equally well, whether or not it was in its original position.
Regarding claim 6, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 2, wherein the exterior wall (Martinson: Fig. 13, wall forming the structural members, such as the wall forming horizontal member 1214) is not adjacent to the trunking frame (Martinson: Par. 0046, structural members. Note the wall forming the structural member (i.e., exterior wall) is part of the structural member (i.e., trunking frame), therefore the wall forming the structural member is not adjacent to the structural member, it is part of it).
Regarding claim 7, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 1, wherein the trunking frame (Martinson: Par. 0046, structural members) is comprised of two channels connected and configured to provide an internal passageway for the cabling assembly (Karamanos: the cables connecting actuators 1320a-d to the connector and the cables leading to the connector from inside the frame 1302 in view of Martinson: Fig. 13, which shows a channel in one of the structural members, horizontal member 1214, connects to a second channel in one of the other structural members, vertical member 1206. As shown by the routing of cables 1218A and 1218B, these channels provide an internal passageway for the cables connecting actuators 1320a-d to the connector and the cables leading to the connector from inside the frame 1302 of Karamanos (i.e., cabling assembly) in modified Karamanos).
Regarding claim 8, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 1, further comprising cable clips (Martinson: Par. 0089, “One example is shown in Figures 12 and 13. Here, the intermediate horizontal member is configured to receive and route both cables, e.g., by using clips or other retention features, to one of the vertical members” See Fig. 3, cable retention features 32A-C for examples) attached to the trunking frame (Martinson: Par. 0046, structural members, such as horizontal member 314) and configured to receive and retain the series of cables (Karamanos: Fig. 13C, cables connecting actuators 1320a-d to a connector and the cables leading to the connector from inside the frame 1302 in view of Martinson: Par. 0089, “receive and route both cables, e.g., by using clips or other retention features”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karamanos et al. (US20220107104A1, hereafter Karamanos) in view of Vogel (US20200064014A1), Martinson (WO 2024091649 A1), and Anina Bulkhead Connector sold on “Amazon.com" (see NPL in attached PTO-892, hereinafter Anina; note a publication date of at least May 14, 2024 on the bottom of page 8) and in further view of Ma et al. (CN 212846077 U, hereafter Ma).
Reference is made to the attached Chinese to English machine translation of Ma ‘077.
Regarding claim 3, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 1, wherein:
the exterior wall (Martinson: Fig. 13, wall forming the structural members, such as the wall forming horizontal member 1214) has an opening (Martinson: Fig. 13, opening in the top of the wall forming horizontal member 1214) and
a removable cover plate covers the opening (Martinson: “Assembly 1200 also includes a horizontal member 1214 with its removable cover being transparent or its cover removed”. Reference removable cover 430 shown in Figs. 4-5 to better understand the removable cover referenced in Figure 12).
NOTE: Martinson discloses in Par. 0065, “removable cover that covers the recess and that can be non-destructively removed to allow for maintenance and servicing of internal components within the structural member”. Per Par. 0110, IGU cable 1218A may include cable C11572 and connector C11582 as shown in Fig. 15. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to place connector C11582 in the opening so it can be maintained and serviced as disclosed.
However, Karamanos, as modified above, does not explicitly disclose the connector is positioned in the opening.
Ma is in the same field of endeavor of cable routing (Pg. 1, last Par.) as the present invention and Ma further discloses it is known for a connector (Figs. 2-3, splitter 13, which connects the top, middle, and bottom instances of couplers 12 and is therefore a ‘connector’) to be positioned in an opening (Pg. 5, Par. 3, “splitter 13 comprises an optical fiber 131 and splitter interface 132” and Fig. 2, which shows splitter interface 132 of splitter 13 is positioned in opening 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Karamanos, as modified above, with the connector as taught by Ma in order to have the connector is positioned in the opening and thereby reduce the wiring difficulty (As suggested by Pg. 2, Par. 4 of Ma: “reduce the wiring difficulty of the optical fiber distribution box”) and/or allow for easier maintenance and servicing (As suggested by Par. 0065 of Martinson, as quoted above).
Claims 9-10, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karamanos et al. (US20220107104A1, hereafter Karamanos) in view of Vogel (US20200064014A1), Richards et al. (US 20170163771 A1, Richards), Martinson (WO 2024091649 A1), and Anina Bulkhead Connector sold on “Amazon.com" (see NPL in attached PTO-892, hereinafter Anina; note a publication date of at least May 14, 2024 on the bottom of page 8).
Regarding claim 9, Karamanos discloses a damper module (Fig. 13A, damper assembly 1300) comprising:
at least two damper assemblies (First damper assembly: Fig. 13D, blades 1314a-d, gears 1318a-d, and actuators 1320a-b + Second damper assembly: Fig. 13D, blades 1314e-h, shafts 1316a-h, gears 1318e-h, and actuators 1320c-d. See Par. 0344) (i) supported by a main frame (Fig. 13A, 1302 frame);
a cabling assembly (Fig. 13C, cables connecting actuators 1320a-d to a connector and the cables leading to the connector from inside the frame 1302. See annotated Fig. B); wherein:
each of the at least two damper assemblies includes (i) rotatable blades (Fig. 13A, blades 1314a-h) that are configured such that a position of the rotatable blades determines airflow through the damper module (Par. 0349, “continually adjusts a blade or blades position(s) to control flowrate to maintain required flow”) and (ii) an actuator (Fig. 13C, actuators 1320a-d) that rotates the rotatable blades based on a signal from a controller (Par. 0349, “The output of flow and/or temperature etc. measurement is sent to controller 1200 in FIG. 12 that provides a signal to control actuators that, in turn, control the position of the blades in damper assembly.”);
the cabling assembly includes a first connector (annotated Fig. B, which shows a structure that allows the cable to pass through frame 1302 and connect with the connector and is therefore a ‘first connector’) and an actuator cabling system connecting the first connector to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies (Fig. 13C, one of the cables running from frame 1302 to the connector and the cable that connects the connector to the actuator 1320a);
the first connector is (i) supported by the frame (annotated Figs. A and B) and (ii) configured to (capable of) removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller (Par. 0349, “The output of flow and/or temperature etc. measurement is sent to controller 1200 in FIG. 12 that provides a signal to control actuators that, in turn, control the position of the blades in damper assembly.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the disclosed signal is capable of being received via a cable, such as the other cable running from frame 1302 to the connector. Note the cable is removable at least by virtue of destructible means);
the actuator cabling system includes at least one primary actuator cable having a first end connected to the first connector (Fig. 13C, one of the cables running from frame 1302 to the connector, specifically the end that connects with the connector), a connector (annotated Fig. B), and a plurality of cables connecting the connector to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies (Fig. 13C, cables that connect the connector to the actuators 1320a-d), and
the at least one primary actuator cable has a second end connected to the connector (annotated Fig. B).
NOTE: A trunking frame is a frame that is used to house cables and/or wires. Therefore, it appears a horizontal portion of the frame of Karamanos is a trunking frame because a cable on the left side of the main frame appears to disappear into this horizontal portion. See annotated Fig. A, especially the image on the right.
However, Karamanos does not disclose A louver and damper module comprising:
at least two damper assemblies and at least two louver assemblies (i) supported by a main frame and (ii) arranged such that air passes sequentially through the at least two louver assemblies and the at least two damper assemblies when the louver and damper module is in use;
a trunking frame (i) that is (a) attached to the main frame or (b) a part of the main frame and (ii) having an exterior wall; and
each of the at least two damper assemblies includes (i) rotatable blades that are configured such that a position of the rotatable blades determines airflow through the louver and damper module;
the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies;
the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller;
the actuator cabling system includes at least one primary actuator cable having a first end connected to the bulkhead connector, a plurality of connectors and a plurality of cables connecting the plurality of connectors to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies;
the at least one primary actuator cable has a second end connected to a connector of the plurality of connectors;
the primary actuator cable and all of the plurality of connectors are in the trunking frame;
the plurality of cables (i) connect the plurality of connectors to all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and (ii) pass through the exterior wall; and
the trunking frame, the all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector.
Vogel discloses a louver and damper assembly (Abstract, “air distribution system includes a damper assembly, a louver assembly”) similar to the present invention and Vogel further discloses it is known to have at least two damper assemblies (First damper assembly: Fig. 2, top pair of damper blades 166 and second damper assembly: Fig. 2, bottom pair of damper blades 166) and at least two louver assemblies (First louver assembly: Fig. 2, top three instances of louver blades 162 and second louver assembly: Fig. 2, bottom two instances of louver blades 162) (i) supported by a main frame (Fig. 2, damper frame 164 and louver frame 160) and (ii) arranged such that air passes sequentially through the louver assembly and the damper assembly when the louver and damper module is in use (Fig. 2, direction 158, which shows air flows sequentially through louver 152 and damper 154 when the louver and damper module is in use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the damper assembly of Karamanos to include the louver assembly as taught by Vogel in order to have a louver and damper module comprising: at least two damper assemblies and at least two louver assemblies (i) supported by a main frame and (ii) arranged such that air passes sequentially through the at least two louver assemblies and the at least two damper assemblies when the louver and damper module is in use and thereby better protect the damper assembly (As suggested by Par. 0028 of Vogel: “the louver blades 162 may block certain objects, such as debris and/or moisture, from entering a remainder of the frame assembly”). This beneficially increases reliability and/or decreases maintenance costs.
NOTE: The limitation “each of the at least two damper assemblies includes (i) rotatable blades that are configured such that a position of the rotatable blades determines airflow through the louver and damper module” (emphasis added) is necessarily met by modified Karamanos. To elaborate, Karamanos teaches the limitation besides the louver and damper module so adding the louver as disclosed by Vogel necessarily means modified Karamanos reads on the limitation.
However, Karamanos, as modified above, does not disclose a trunking frame (i) that is (a) attached to the main frame or (b) a part of the main frame and (ii) having an exterior wall; and
the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies;
the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller;
the actuator cabling system includes at least one primary actuator cable having a first end connected to the bulkhead connector, a plurality of connectors and a plurality of cables connecting the plurality of connectors to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies;
the at least one primary actuator cable has a second end connected to a connector of the plurality of connectors;
the primary actuator cable and all of the plurality of connectors are in the trunking frame;
the plurality of cables (i) connect the plurality of connectors to all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and (ii) pass through the exterior wall; and
the trunking frame, the all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector.
Richards is in the same field of endeavor of cable routing (Abstract) as the present invention and Richards further discloses a solution to the problem of how to reduce the number of physical wires for communication between a main device and accessory devices (Par. 0024), similar to the problem of reducing the use of cabling and other materials (Par. 0011 of the PGPUB) in the present invention. Richards further discloses it is known to have a cabling assembly that includes a first connector (Fig. 1, 106A and Par. 0014, “For example, the interface 106A can be a 7 pin, universal serial bus (USB) power and data interface for external power (input)”) and an actuator cabling system (Fig. 1, splitter cables 104A-C and interfaces 108A1-A3, 108B1-B3, 108C1-C3, and interface units 110A-C, which connect device 102A to devices 102B-D. Per. Par. 0014, “devices 102B-D are accessory device. Exemplary accessory devices include a…actuator…a motor controller”, therefore the aforementioned cabling system is an ‘actuator cabling system’ because it can be used with actuators) connecting the first connector to the actuator of each of the accessory devices (Fig. 1, devices 102B-D, which can be actuators, as disclosed in Par. 0014);
the actuator cabling system includes at least one primary actuator cable having a first end connected to the first connector (Fig. 1, cable connecting interface 106A to splitter cable 104A, specifically the end that connects to interface 106A), a plurality of connectors (Fig. 1, splitter cables 104A-C) and a plurality of cables connecting the plurality of connectors to the actuator of each of the accessory devices (cables connecting each splitter cable to the corresponding interfaces 106B-D of the corresponding accessory device 102B-D);
the at least one primary actuator cable has a second end connected to a connector of the plurality of connectors (Fig. 1, cable connecting interface 106A to splitter cable 104A, specifically the end that connects to splitter cable 104A);
the plurality of cables (i) connect the plurality of connectors to all of the actuator of the accessory devices (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Karamanos, as modified above, to include the plurality of connectors as taught by Richards in order to have a cabling assembly that includes a first connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the first connector to the actuator of each of the accessory devices; the actuator cabling system includes at least one primary actuator cable having a first end connected to the first connector, a plurality of connectors and a plurality of cables connecting the plurality of connectors to the actuator of each of the accessory devices; the at least one primary actuator cable has a second end connected to a connector of the plurality of connectors; the plurality of cables (i) connect the plurality of connectors to all of the actuator of the accessory devices and thereby decrease the amount of space the actuator cabling system occupies, making it possible to scale down the louver and damper assembly to fit a wider variety of installations.
However, Karamanos, as modified above, does not disclose a trunking frame (i) that is (a) attached to the main frame or (b) a part of the main frame and (ii) having an exterior wall; and
the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies;
the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller;
the actuator cabling system includes at least one primary actuator cable having a first end connected to the bulkhead connector;
the primary actuator cable and all of the plurality of connectors are in the trunking frame;
the plurality of cables (i) connect the plurality of connectors to all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and (ii) pass through the exterior wall; and
the trunking frame, the all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector.
Martinson is in the same field of endeavor of cable routing (Par. 0006) as the present invention and Martinson further discloses a solution to the problems of how to reduce the cost of manufacturing and installing cables and reduce commissioning time, efforts, and costs (Par. 0045), similar to the problems of reducing the use of cabling and other materials (Par. 0011 of the PGPUB) and costly and time-consuming installation (Pars. 0001-0010) in the present invention. Martinson further discloses it is known to have a trunking frame (Par. 0046, “For example, an assembly in a stick build configuration…The IGU cables may pass through structural members of the assembly from the IGUs to a standardized location to electrically connect to components of the building at installation. “A trunking frame is a frame that is used to house cables and/or wires, therefore the “structural members” comprise a ‘trunking frame’ because they house cabling) (i) that is a part of the main frame (Par. 0045, assembly in a stick build configuration) and (ii) having an exterior wall (Fig. 12 and Par. 0086, “Assembly 1200 may be… an assembly in a stick build configuration.” The wall forming the structural members such as the wall forming horizontal member 1214, which is an ‘exterior wall’ because it is a wall that forms the exterior bounds of horizontal member 1214); and
a primary actuator cable (Fig. 12, IGU cable 1218A and Par. 0103, “Such a cable or cables could also be related to…actuators”) and a connector (Per Par. 0110, IGU cable 1218A may include cable C11572 and connector C11582 as shown in Fig. 15) are encased in the trunking frame (Fig. 12, IGU cable 1218A is encased in horizontal member 1214. Per Par. 0110, IGU cable 1218A may include one or more of components described with reference to Figure 15, which includes cable C11572 and connector C11582. Therefore, connector C11582 must necessarily be encased in horizontal member 1214);
a plurality of cables passes through the exterior wall (Fig. 12, cables 1218A and 1218B pass through the wall forming the exterior of horizontal member 1214),
the trunking frame, actuators (Par. 0103, “Such a cable or cables could also be related to…actuators”) and cabling (Fig. 4, cables 1218A, 1218B) are configured (capable of) such that an entirety of the assembly can be solely connected electrically to a controller (Fig. 12, controller 1248) by connecting at least one controller cable to a connector (Fig. 12, IGU cable 1218A, which is a controller cable because it connects to controller 1248. Per Par. 0110, IGU cable 1218A may include one or more of components described with reference to Figure 15, which includes connector 1584 and the cable 1574 that indirectly connects to controller 1548 (i.e., controller cable). Reference Par. 0091, “In some embodiments, the controller may be connected to the assembly at a later stage of fabrication. For example, assembly 200 of Figure 2 may be manufactured and/or assembled at one location or stages, then at a later stage or at a different location, the controller may be connected to the IGU cables of the assembly”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have suitably modified the device of Karamanos to have the trunking frame as taught by Martinson in order to have a trunking frame (i) that is a part of the main frame and (ii) having an exterior wall; the primary actuator cable and all of the plurality of connectors are in the trunking frame; the plurality of cables (i) connect the plurality of connectors to all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and (ii) pass through the exterior wall; and the trunking frame, the all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to a connector and thereby reduce damage to components, delays, and needs for repairs (As suggested by at least Par. 0046 of Martinson: “Using an assembly in a stick build configuration in a single unit provide benefits such as more uniform, robust, and reliable construction of the building while reducing damage to the components, delays, needs for repairs, and costs of manufacturing and installation. Further, such an assembly can be commissioned and readied for integration with the building before installation, thereby reducing commissioning time, efforts, and cost”).
NOTE: The size of the trunking frame of Matinson may have to be adjusted to fit the connectors of Richards, but the court has held that limitations relating to size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art and mere scaling up of prior art capable of being scaled up does not establish patentability. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. Therefore, changing the size of the trunking frame is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over modified Karamanos.
However, Karamanos, as modified above, does not disclose the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies;
the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller;
the actuator cabling system includes a primary actuator cable having a primary actuator cable first end connected to the bulkhead connector;
the trunking frame, the all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector.
Anina is in the same field of endeavor of cable routing as the present invention and Anina discloses a bulkhead connector (Pg. 1, ‘About this item’, “well made bulkhead connector”) is a known connector (Pg. 1, ‘About this item’, “connector is made of copper and nickel plated, durable and wear-resistant”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Karamanos, as modified above, to have a bulkhead connector as taught by Anina in order to have the cabling assembly includes a bulkhead connector and an actuator cabling system connecting the bulkhead connector to the actuator of the each of the at least two damper assemblies; the bulkhead connector is (i) supported by the trunking frame and (ii) configured to removably receive at least one controller cable through which the signal is transmitted from the controller; the actuator cabling system includes a primary actuator cable having a primary actuator cable first end connected to the bulkhead connector; the trunking frame, the all of the actuator of the at least two damper assemblies and the cabling assembly are configured such that an entirety of the louver and damper module can be solely connected electrically to the controller by connecting the at least one controller cable to the bulkhead connector and thereby provide a low loss resistance connection that is durable and wear-resistant (As suggested by Pg. 1, ‘About this item’ of Anina: “firmly mate to each counterpart which provide the low loss resistance connection” and “connector is durable and wear-resistant”).
Regarding claim 10, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 2 above. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 13, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 4 above. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 14, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 5 above. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 15, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 6 above. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 17, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 7 above. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 18, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 8 above. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 8 above.
Claims 11-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karamanos et al. (US20220107104A1, hereafter Karamanos) in view of Vogel (US20200064014A1), Richards et al. (US 20170163771 A1, Richards), Martinson (WO 2024091649 A1), and Anina Bulkhead Connector sold on “Amazon.com" (see NPL in attached PTO-892, hereinafter Anina; note a publication date of at least May 14, 2024 on the bottom of page 8) and further in view of Ma et al. (CN 212846077 U, hereafter Ma).
Regarding claim 11, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 9, wherein:
the exterior wall (Martinson: Fig. 13, wall forming the structural members, such as the wall forming horizontal member 1214) has openings (Martinson: Fig. 13, opening in the top of the wall forming horizontal member 1214);
the plurality of connectors is a series of splitters (Richards: Fig. 1, splitter cables 104A-C); and
removable cover plates cover the openings (Martinson: “Assembly 1200 also includes a horizontal member 1214 with its removable cover being transparent or its cover removed” and Par. 0089, “The vertical member 1206 may also have a removable cover, such as at the location where the cables are routed”. Reference removable cover 430 shown in Figs. 4-5 to better understand the removable covers referenced in Figure 12).
NOTE: Martinson: Par. 0065, “removable cover that covers the recess and that can be non-destructively removed to allow for maintenance and servicing of internal components within the structural member”. Per Par. 0110, IGU cable 1218A may include cable C11572 and connector C11582 as shown in Fig. 15. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand connector C11582 must necessarily be positioned in the opening so it can be maintained and serviced as disclosed. Therefore, when modifying Karamanos in view of Martinson, the connector of Karamanos would also be positioned in the opening.
However, Karamanos, as modified above, does not explicitly disclose the series of splitters are positioned in the openings.
Ma is in the same field of endeavor of cable routing (Pg. 1, last Par.) as the present invention and Ma further discloses it is known for multiple splitters (Figs. 2-3, splitters 13, which connect the top, middle, and bottom instances of couplers 12 and is therefore a ‘connector’) to be positioned in the openings (Pg. 5, Par. 3, “splitter 13 comprises an optical fiber 131 and splitter interface 132” and Fig. 2, which shows splitter interfaces 132 of splitters 13 are positioned in openings 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Karamanos, as modified above, with the connector as taught by Ma in order to have the series of splitters are positioned in the openings and thereby reduce the wiring difficulty (As suggested by Pg. 2, Par. 4 of Ma: “reduce the wiring difficulty of the optical fiber distribution box”) and/or allow for easier maintenance and servicing (As suggested by Par. 0065 of Martinson, as quoted above).
Regarding claim 12, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 11, wherein one of the series of splitters (Richards: Fig. 1, splitter cables 104A-C) is positioned in a separate one of the openings (Ma: openings 112).
Regarding claim 16, Karamanos, as modified above, discloses the louver and damper module according to claim 11, wherein some of the series of splitters (Richards: Fig. 1, splitter cables 104A-C) are connected at one end to (i) another of the series of splitters (Richards: Fig. 1, splitter cable 104A is connected to splitter cable 104B and splitter cable 104B is connected to splitter cable 104C. See Par. 0017, “the interface 108A3 is connected to the interface 108B1 of the splitter cable 104B… the interface 108B3 of the splitter cable 10413 is connected to the interface 108C1 of the splitter cable 104C”) and (ii) one of the actuator (Karamanos: Fig. 13D, actuators 1320c-d in view of Richards: Fig. 1, splitter cable 104A is also connected to device 102B and splitter cable 104B is also connected to device 102C. Per. Par. 0014, “devices 102B-D are accessory device. Exemplary accessory devices include a…actuator…a motor controller”) of the each of the at least two damper assemblies (Karamanos: First damper assembly: Fig. 13D, blades 1314a-d, gears 1318a-d, and actuators 1320a-b + Second damper assembly: Fig. 13D, blades 1314e-h, shafts 1316a-h, gears 1318e-h, and actuators 1320c-d. See Par. 0344).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sterett (US 4345510 A) discloses a louver and damper module.
Cardiff (GB 2083206 A) discloses a damper module with at least two damper assemblies.
Nealis (US 5769661 A) discloses an electrical connector assembly that passes through an exterior wall.
Gabriele (CA 2270638 C) discloses a frame with an inner and outer C channel.
/E.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762