DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 3, 8, 18, 20 and 21 have been amended. Claims 11, 13, and 19 have been cancelled and no claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 02/04/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior rejection are rendered moot as the rejection has been withdrawn, and new grounds of rejection have been presented below. As this withdrawal and new rejection was not based on amendment, this action is NOT final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, 15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saracen et al. (US8160205, referred to as Saracen) in view of Verard et al. (US8239001, referred to as Verard) and further in view of Coppens (US20080031414, referred to as Coppens).
Regarding claim 1: Saracen discloses: [A robotic catheter procedure system] comprising: an articulated robotic arm; a tracking system coupled to a controller coupled to the articulated robotic arm, ([col. 4, lines 2-6] The controller 101 of FIG. 1 is coupled to the robotic arm 102, sensor system 104, user interface 105, therapeutic radiation treatment system 106, and imaging system 107. The robotic arm 102 is coupled to the patient treatment couch 103.) the tracking system configured to measure a change in a position of a patient table positioned proximate to and separate from the articulated robotic arm; wherein the controller is configured to adjust the position of the articulated robotic arm based on the measured change in position of the patient table, wherein the tracking system includes a visual tracking system configured to detect a fiducial target located on the patient [table] and to measure a change in position of the detected fiducial target located on the patient [table], the change in position of the fiducial target being indicative of the change in position of the patient [table], and ([col. 27-28, lines 53-7] The operator then proceeds to the user interface screen 600, for automatic positioning of the patient. The next stage may be the initial image acquisition stage. During this stage, the operator may acquire images, using the ACQUIRE button on the patient alignment screen in the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6). If necessary, imaging parameters may need to be adjusted. Some examples of these parameters are: x-ray parameters; de-selection of fiducials that may have migrated or otherwise difficult to track; and adjustment of rigid body parameters. The next stage may be the one-time patient treatment couch alignment stage. The user selects the “AUTO COUCH” button on the patient alignment screen. This brings up a Couch Adjustment interface screen of user interface screen 600, which contains the initial corrections obtained from the TLS unit of the controller 101. The initial corrections from TLS may be editable. The “MOVE” button moves the patient treatment couch 103 by the amount of corrections indicated in the window. The option to disable rotation corrections may also be available. The “AUTO ALIGN” button may perform the first correction, and proceeds to complete the automatic alignment.) wherein the controller is configured to generate a control signal to lock movement of the patient table based on an error from the tracking system. ([col. 28-29, lines 52-14] Appropriate TLS errors, such as soft algorithm errors, and/or E-stop for hardware errors, are reported. Upon acknowledgement of the error, the controller 101 may return to the alignment or re-alignment state. The user may stop subsequent image acquisitions and motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100, if “auto alignment” is in progress. During the initial alignment, the “patient out of bounds” error may be disabled, but the “TREAT” button may be disabled until the patient is within bounds. In one embodiment, the error handling software includes functionality for handling table interface errors. Table interface errors such as communication errors are handled as soft errors, which require user acknowledgment, but do not engage an E-stop. In one embodiment, the error handling software may include functionality for handling E-stops. In this embodiment, an E-stop stops computer-controlled motion of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100, using a dual redundant mechanism. The controller software stops generating any further motion command signals. The patient treatment couch controller hardware may be disabled from patient treatment couch movement when an E-stop is engaged. Even when the E-stop is engaged, the patient treatment couch may be capable of moving using the handheld user interface unit 500. On resumption from pause or a recoverable E-stop, the E-stop may be cleared by system reset from the operator console, which then goes into a patient re-alignment state. At this stage, the user can use auto-align to refine the patient position. The “RESUME” button on the patient re-alignment screen enables resumption of treatment delivery.)
Saracen does not explicitly disclose the following limitations: a robotic catheter procedure system; table
Saracen does not disclose the following limitations, however Verard, from an analogous field of endeavor, further discloses: a robotic catheter procedure system ([col. 9, lines 6-11] With continuing reference to FIG. 1, the navigation system 10 further includes an electromagnetic navigation or tracking system 44 that includes a localizer, such as a transmitter coil array 46, the coil array controller 48, a navigation probe interface 50, an electromagnetic instrument, such as a stylet or catheter 52 and a dynamic reference frame 54.)
Saracen and Verard are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of tracking medical articulated arm position with fiducials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the medical tracking system of Saracen to enable the use of the system during catheter procedures as taught in Verard.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the robotic arm tracking method disclosed in Saracen with the method applied to a common medical procedure, as shown in the tracking performed in Verard throughout the catheter alignment procedure.
Saracen does not disclose the following limitations, however Coppens, from an analogous field of endeavor, further discloses: table ([col. 9, lines 6-11] With continuing reference to FIG. 1, the navigation system 10 further includes an electromagnetic navigation or tracking system 44 that includes a localizer, such as a transmitter coil array 46, the coil array controller 48, a navigation probe interface 50, an electromagnetic instrument, such as a stylet or catheter 52 and a dynamic reference frame 54.)
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 1,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the tracking system generates a control signal in response to the measured change in position of the patient table and transmits the control signal to the controller. ([col. 26-27, lines 52-3] The operator then exits the treatment room and using the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6) on the workstation or dedicated control panel, may command the system to align the patient to within desired tolerances. The user interface screen 600 may allow the user to enter parameters such as the maximum number of real time or near real time images to take during the alignment process, and the desired tolerances for position and orientation. The user interface Screen 600 also may allow the errors associated with each image to be displayed. After obtaining a satisfactory alignment, the therapeutic radiation treatment system 106 may be commanded to begin treatment. As part of the treatment, real time or near real time images may be obtained periodically by the imaging system 107, to check whether the patient moves during the treatment. If the patient does move, the treatment delivery can be paused US 8,160,205 B2 27 automatically or manually by the operator, and the patient can be realigned, by effecting appropriate corrective motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100. [col. 27, lines 55-62] The next stage may be the initial image acquisition stage. During this stage, the operator may acquire images, using the ACQUIRE button on the patient alignment screen in the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6). If necessary, imaging parameters may need to be adjusted. Some examples of these parameters are: X-ray parameters; de-selection of fiducials that may have migrated or otherwise difficult to track; and adjustment of rigid body parameters.
Regarding claim 3: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 1,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the controller generates a control signal based on the measured change of position of the patient table. ([col. 26-27, lines 52-3] The operator then exits the treatment room and using the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6) on the workstation or dedicated control panel, may command the system to align the patient to within desired tolerances. The user inter face screen 600 may allow the user to enter parameters such as the maximum number of real time or near real time images to take during the alignment process, and the desired tolerances for position and orientation. The user interface Screen 600 also may allow the errors associated with each image to be displayed. After obtaining a satisfactory alignment, the therapeutic radiation treatment system 106 may be commanded to begin treatment. As part of the treatment, real time or near real time images may be obtained periodically by the imaging system 107, to check whether the patient moves during the treatment. If the patient does move, the treatment delivery can be paused US 8,160,205 B2 27 automatically or manually by the operator, and the patient can be realigned, by effecting appropriate corrective motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100. [col. 27, lines 55-62] The next stage may be the initial image acquisition stage. During this stage, the operator may acquire images, using the ACQUIRE button on the patient alignment screen in the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6). If necessary, imaging parameters may need to be adjusted. Some examples of these parameters are: X-ray parameters; de-selection of fiducials that may have migrated or otherwise difficult to track; and adjustment of rigid body parameters.)
Saracen, Verard, and Coppens are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of tracking medical systems with fiducials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the medical tracking system of Saracen to enable the use of the error locking system disclosed in Saracen with the system locking based on fiducials located in the patient table as taught in Coppens.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the robotic arm tracking method disclosed in Saracen with the method applied to a known tracking method, as shown in the patient table tracking performed in Coppens.
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 1,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the tracking system comprises at least one encoder. ([col. 5, lines 4-12] other sensor systems known by those skilled in the art may be used, such as an inertial sensor attached to the patient treatment couch 103 for sensing the motions of the patient treatment couch 103, or an infrared triangulation system, or a laser scanning system or an optical tracking system disposed within the treatment room for detecting the position of the patient treatment couch 103 relative to the treatment room or other treatment coordinate system, or an optical encoder.)
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 1,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the articulated robotic arm is mounted to a surface above the patient table. ([col. 3, lines 23-32] The robotic patient positioning assembly includes an articulated robotic arm that includes a track mount assembly to facilitate movement of a patient on a patient treatment couch (e.g., table or chair) in a three-dimensional (3D) space, as well raising and lowering the patient to high and low positions without compromising the flexibility or positioning in translational and rotational movements. The track mount assembly may be vertically mounted, for example, to a vertical side of a column.)
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 1,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the articulated robotic arm is mounted to the patient table. ([col. 4, lines 2-6] The controller 101 of FIG. 1 is coupled to the robotic arm 102, sensor system 104, user interface 105, therapeutic radiation treatment system 106, and imaging system 107. The robotic arm 102 is coupled to the patient treatment couch 103.)
Regarding claim 8: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 8,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the tracking system generates a control signal in response to the measured change in position of the fiducial target and transmits the control signal to the controller. ([col. 26-27, lines 52-3] The operator then exits the treatment room and using the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6) on the workstation or dedicated control panel, may command the system to align the patient to within desired tolerances. The user inter face screen 600 may allow the user to enter parameters such as the maximum number of real time or near real time images to take during the alignment process, and the desired tolerances for position and orientation. The user interface Screen 600 also may allow the errors associated with each image to be displayed. After obtaining a satisfactory alignment, the therapeutic radiation treatment system 106 may be commanded to begin treatment. As part of the treatment, real time or near real time images may be obtained periodically by the imaging system 107, to check whether the patient moves during the treatment. If the patient does move, the treatment delivery can be paused US 8,160,205 B2 27 automatically or manually by the operator, and the patient can be realigned, by effecting appropriate corrective motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100. [col. 27, lines 55-62] The next stage may be the initial image acquisition stage. During this stage, the operator may acquire images, using the ACQUIRE button on the patient alignment screen in the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6). If necessary, imaging parameters may need to be adjusted. Some examples of these parameters are: X-ray parameters; de-selection of fiducials that may have migrated or otherwise difficult to track; and adjustment of rigid body parameters.)
Regarding claim 10: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 8,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the controller generates a control signal based on the measured change in position of the fiducial target. ([col. 26-27, lines 52-3] The operator then exits the treatment room and using the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6) on the workstation or dedicated control panel, may command the system to align the patient to within desired tolerances. The user inter face screen 600 may allow the user to enter parameters such as the maximum number of real time or near real time images to take during the alignment process, and the desired tolerances for position and orientation. The user interface Screen 600 also may allow the errors associated with each image to be displayed. After obtaining a satisfactory alignment, the therapeutic radiation treatment system 106 may be commanded to begin treatment. As part of the treatment, real time or near real time images may be obtained periodically by the imaging system 107, to check whether the patient moves during the treatment. If the patient does move, the treatment delivery can be paused US 8,160,205 B2 27 automatically or manually by the operator, and the patient can be realigned, by effecting appropriate corrective motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100. [col. 27, lines 55-62] The next stage may be the initial image acquisition stage. During this stage, the operator may acquire images, using the ACQUIRE button on the patient alignment screen in the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6). If necessary, imaging parameters may need to be adjusted. Some examples of these parameters are: X-ray parameters; de-selection of fiducials that may have migrated or otherwise difficult to track; and adjustment of rigid body parameters.)
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 8,
Saracen further discloses: further comprising a visual tracking device coupled to the tracking system and configured to track the fiducial target. ([col. 26-27, lines 52-3] The operator then exits the treatment room and using the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6) on the worksta tion or dedicated control panel, may command the system to align the patient to within desired tolerances. The user inter face screen 600 may allow the user to enter parameters such as the maximum number of real time or near real time images to take during the alignment process, and the desired tolerances for position and orientation. The user interface Screen 600 also may allow the errors associated with each image to be displayed. After obtaining a satisfactory alignment, the therapeutic radiation treatment system 106 may be commanded to begin treatment. As part of the treatment, real time or near real time images may be obtained periodically by the imaging system 107, to check whether the patient moves during the treatment. If the patient does move, the treatment delivery can be paused US 8,160,205 B2 27 automatically or manually by the operator, and the patient can be realigned, by effecting appropriate corrective motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100. [col. 27, lines 55-62] The next stage may be the initial image acquisition stage. During this stage, the operator may acquire images, using the ACQUIRE button on the patient alignment screen in the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6). If necessary, imaging parameters may need to be adjusted. Some examples of these parameters are: X-ray parameters; de-selection of fiducials that may have migrated or otherwise difficult to track; and adjustment of rigid body parameters.)
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 8,
Saracen further discloses: further comprising an imaging system coupled to the tracking system and configured to track the fiducial target. ([col. 26-27, lines 52-3] The operator then exits the treatment room and using the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6) on the workstation or dedicated control panel, may command the system to align the patient to within desired tolerances. The user inter face screen 600 may allow the user to enter parameters such as the maximum number of real time or near real time images to take during the alignment process, and the desired tolerances for position and orientation. The user interface Screen 600 also may allow the errors associated with each image to be displayed. After obtaining a satisfactory alignment, the therapeutic radiation treatment system 106 may be commanded to begin treatment. As part of the treatment, real time or near real time images may be obtained periodically by the imaging system 107, to check whether the patient moves during the treatment. If the patient does move, the treatment delivery can be paused US 8,160,205 B2 27 automatically or manually by the operator, and the patient can be realigned, by effecting appropriate corrective motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100. [col. 27, lines 55-62] The next stage may be the initial image acquisition stage. During this stage, the operator may acquire images, using the ACQUIRE button on the patient alignment screen in the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6). If necessary, imaging parameters may need to be adjusted. Some examples of these parameters are: X-ray parameters; de-selection of fiducials that may have migrated or otherwise difficult to track; and adjustment of rigid body parameters.)
Regarding claim 15: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 5
Regarding claim 17: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 7
Regarding claim 18: Rejected using the same rationale as claims 1 and 8
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 8,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the tracking system generates the tracking signal in response to a measured change in a position of a fiducial target and transmits the tracking signal to the controller. ([col. 26-27, lines 52-3] The operator then exits the treatment room and using the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6) on the workstation or dedicated control panel, may command the system to align the patient to within desired tolerances. The user inter face screen 600 may allow the user to enter parameters such as the maximum number of real time or near real time images to take during the alignment process, and the desired tolerances for position and orientation. The user interface Screen 600 also may allow the errors associated with each image to be displayed. After obtaining a satisfactory alignment, the therapeutic radiation treatment system 106 may be commanded to begin treatment. As part of the treatment, real time or near real time images may be obtained periodically by the imaging system 107, to check whether the patient moves during the treatment. If the patient does move, the treatment delivery can be paused US 8,160,205 B2 27 automatically or manually by the operator, and the patient can be realigned, by effecting appropriate corrective motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100. [col. 27, lines 55-62] The next stage may be the initial image acquisition stage. During this stage, the operator may acquire images, using the ACQUIRE button on the patient alignment screen in the user interface screen 600 (shown in FIG. 6). If necessary, imaging parameters may need to be adjusted. Some examples of these parameters are: X-ray parameters; de-selection of fiducials that may have migrated or otherwise difficult to track; and adjustment of rigid body parameters.)
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 19,
Saracen further discloses: wherein the controller generates the lock signal to lock movement of the patient table if the tracking signal indicates an error. ([col. 28-29, lines 52-14] Appropriate TLS errors, such as soft algorithm errors, and/or E-stop for hardware errors, are reported. Upon acknowledgement of the error, the controller 101 may return to the alignment or re-alignment state. The user may stop subsequent image acquisitions and motions of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100, if “auto alignment” is in progress. During the initial alignment, the “patient out of bounds” error may be disabled, but the “TREAT” button may be disabled until the patient is within bounds. In one embodiment, the error handling software includes functionality for handling table interface errors. Table interface errors such as communication errors are handled as soft errors, which require user acknowledgment, but do not engage an E-stop. In one embodiment, the error handling software may include functionality for handling E-stops. In this embodiment, an E-stop stops computer-controlled motion of the robotic patient positioning assembly 100, using a dual redundant mechanism. The controller software stops generating any further motion command signals. The patient treatment couch controller hardware may be disabled from patient treatment couch movement when an E-stop is engaged. Even when the E-stop is engaged, the patient treatment couch may be capable of moving using the handheld user interface unit 500. On resumption from pause or a recoverable E-stop, the E-stop may be cleared by system reset from the operator console, which then goes into a patient re-alignment state. At this stage, the user can use auto-align to refine the patient position. The “RESUME” button on the patient re-alignment screen enables resumption of treatment delivery.)
Regarding claim 21: Rejected using the same rationale as claims 1, 8, and 18
Claims 6, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saracen et al. (US8160205, referred to as Saracen) in view of Verard et al. (US8239001, referred to as Verard), further in view of Coppens (US20080031414, referred to as Coppens) and even further in view of Quaid et al. (US20060142657, referred to as Quaid)
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 1,
Saracen does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however Quaid, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: wherein the articulated robotic arm is mounted to a cart. ([0112] The base 32 provides a foundation for the haptic device 30. As shown in FIG. 2, the base 32 supports the arm 33 and may also house and/or support other components of the haptic device 30, such as, for example, controllers, amplifiers, actuators, motors, transmission components, clutches, brakes, power supplies, sensors, computer hardware, and/or any other well-known robotic component. The base 32 may be made of any suitable metallic and/or synthetic material, such as, for example, aluminum or plastic, and preferably includes removable panels to provide access to components housed within the base 32. [0113] The arm 33 is disposed on the base 32 and is adapted to enable the haptic device 30 to be manipulated by the user.)
Saracen, Verard, and Quaid are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of tracking medical articulated arm position with fiducials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the medical tracking system of Saracen to enable the use of the system during mobile cart procedures as taught in Quaid.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the robotic arm tracking method disclosed in Saracen with the method applied to a common medical procedure, as shown in the tracking performed in Quaid throughout the mobile alignment procedure.
Regarding claim 12: The combination of Saracen and Verard teaches: The system according to claim 8,
Saracen does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however Quaid further teaches: wherein the fiducial target comprises at least one light emitting diode. ([0130] The markers may be located using any suitable detection method, such as, for example, optical, electromagnetic, radio, or acoustic methods as are well known. For example, an optical tracking system having a stationary stereo camera pair sensitive to infrared radiation may be used to track markers that emit infrared radiation either actively (such as a light emitting diode or LED) or passively (such as a spherical marker with a surface that reflects infrared radiation). Similarly, a magnetic tracking system may include a stationary field generator that emits a spatially varying magnetic field sensed by small coils integrated into the tracked object.)
Saracen, Verard, and Quaid are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of tracking medical articulated arm position with fiducials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the medical tracking system of Saracen to enable the use of the LED fiducials as taught in Quaid.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the robotic arm tracking method disclosed in Saracen with the method applied to a common fiducial tracker, as shown in the tracking performed in Quaid.
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Saracen, Verard, and Coppens teaches: The system according to claim 8,
Saracen does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however Quaid further teaches: wherein the fiducial target comprises at least one field coil. ([0130] The markers may be located using any suitable detection method, such as, for example, optical, electromagnetic, radio, or acoustic methods as are well known. For example, an optical tracking system having a stationary stereo camera pair sensitive to infrared radiation may be used to track markers that emit infrared radiation either actively (such as a light emitting diode or LED) or passively (such as a spherical marker with a surface that reflects infrared radiation). Similarly, a magnetic tracking system may include a stationary field generator that emits a spatially varying magnetic field sensed by small coils integrated into the tracked object.)
As previously stated, Saracen, Verard, Coppens, and Quaid are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of tracking medical articulated arm position with fiducials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the medical tracking system of Saracen to enable the use of the coil fiducials as taught in Quaid.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the robotic arm tracking method disclosed in Saracen with the method applied to a common fiducial tracker, as shown in the tracking performed in Quaid.
Regarding claim 16: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 6
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A