DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to application filed on 3-9-26. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 2010/0027305 to Oyobe et al. (“Oyobe”)
Regarding claim 1, Oyobe discloses an electrical power system (fig. 1, [0008]) comprising: storage battery (B) provided in a vehicle (fig. 1, [0024], [0039]); an electric motor (motor generators MG l and MG2) provided in the vehicle; a first power converter (inverters 10) electrically connected to both the storage battery and the electric motor in the vehicle, and configured to convert an output of the storage battery into an alternating current ([0053], [0059]) to drive the electric motor ([0051]); a first power line extending directly from a neutral point of an armature ([0008], power line pair that is provided between the plug and the neutral points of the multi-phase windings of the two AC electric rotating machines among the plurality of AC electric rotating machines) of the electric motor in the vehicle; a power supply system (90 serving as the power supply (e.g., a system power supply) outside the vehicle) provided in a house or a facility outside the vehicle ([0050], [0053], [0059]); and a power connection part (plug 70) configured to electrically connect the power supply system (fig. 1) and the first power line such that electrical power is exchangeable therebetween (fig. 1), wherein the storage battery is chargeable with the electric power supplied from the power supply system ([0059]) via a bidirectional power transfer path ([0059]) including the power connection part, the first power line, the neutral point, and the first power converter, and the electric power is dischargeable from the storage battery to the power supply system via bidirectional power transfer path ([0056]), thereby exchanging the electric power between the power supply system and the storage battery through the neutral point ([0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Oyobe discloses a power supply (90 serving as the power supply (e.g., a system power supply) outside the vehicle) apparatus provided in the power supply system and electrically connected to each of an electric load ([0008]) in the house or the facility ([0050]), the power connection part (plug 70), and a predetermined power source (90), wherein: the power supply apparatus supplies an alternating current ([0053], [0059]) of the predetermined power source to the first power line via the power connection part, and the first power converter converts the alternating current supplied to the neutral point via the first power line into a direct current ([0059]) and outputs, the direct current to the storage battery, thereby charging the storage battery with an electric power (AC port 60) of the predetermined power source, and the first power converter converts the output of the storage battery into an alternating current ([0053], [0059]) and supplies the alternating current to the power supply system via the neutral point, the first power line, and the power connection part, and the power supply apparatus supplies an electric power (AC port 60) to the electric load, thereby discharging the electric power of the storage battery to the electric load ([0074]).
Regarding claim 8, Oyobe discloses a filter capacitor (fig. 13, activate Y-capacitor 50 as a common mode voltage reduction filter) configured to eliminate a high-frequency component of an output current ([0048], Based on a signal PWM l provided from ECU 30, inverter 10 converts a DC voltage supplied from power storage device B into a three-phase AC voltage, and provides it to motor generator MG l) when the first power converter converts the output of the storage battery into the alternating current ([0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Oyobe discloses the filter capacitor (50) is provided in the power supply system (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 11, Oyobe discloses the power connection part includes a first power transmitting and receiving device (fig. 1, inverter 10) and a second power transmitting and receiving device (fig. 1, inverter 20) that are provided in the vehicle and the power supply system, respectively, and configured to transmit and receive an electric power (AC port 60) therebetween, and the first power transmitting and receiving device is electrically connected to a side of the first power line opposite from a side of the neutral point (fig. 13, inverters 10 and 20 are side by side connected to neutral point).
Regarding claim 20, Oyobe discloses a power converter (figs. 1, or 13, (inverters 10, 20)) provided in a vehicle (fig. 1, [0024], [0039]) including a storage battery (B), an electric motor (motor generators MG l and MG2), and a power line electrically connected to a neutral point of an armature of the electric motor ([0008], power line pair that is provided between the plug and the neutral points of the multi-phase windings of the two AC electric rotating machines among the plurality of AC electric rotating machines), the power converter being electrically connected to both the storage battery and the electric motor (fig. 1, B connected to 10 and 20) and converting a direct current of the storage battery into an alternating current ([0053], [0059]) to drive the electric motor, the power converter performing a process ([0052]) comprising: converting an alternating current ([0053], [0059]) supplied from a power source outside the vehicle ([0008], power supply outside the vehicle via the power line pair that is provided between the plug and the neutral points of the multi-phase windings of the two AC electric rotating machines) via a bidirectional power transfer path ([0059]) including a power connection part (plug 70), the power line, the neutral point into a direct current ([0059]) and outputting the direct current to the storage battery to charge the storage battery with an electric power (AC port 60) of the power source, wherein the power connection part is configured to electrically connect the power source and the power line such that electrical power is exchangeable therebetween, and the power line extends directly from the neutral point; and discharging an electric power of the storage battery to an electric load ([0008]) in a house or a facility outside the facility ([0050], [0053], [0059]), by converting an output of the storage battery (B) into an alternating current, and supplying the alternating current to the electric load ([0053], [0059]) via the bidirectional power transfer path, whereby the electric power is exchanged between the power source and the storage battery through the neutral point ([0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2010/0027305 to Oyobe et al. (“Oyobe”) in view of US 2023/0024900 to Ayoola et al. (“Ayoola”).
Regarding claim 3, Oyobe discloses the power supply system is electrically connected to an AC power (fig. 13, AC port 60 and a plug 70) to the house or the facility, and further comprising: a first switch (fig. 2, switching of the inverters 10 or 20, and [0025]) configured to electrically open and close between the AC power distribution system and the power supply system (fig. 1 or fig. 13).
But, Oyobe does not discloses distribution system that distributes an AC power of a power grid,
However, Ayoola discloses distribution system that distributes an AC power of a power grid (fig. 1, AC grid 102),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oyobe by adding AC grid as part of its configuration as taught by Ayoola, in order to the output power of the grid system to provide power to charging station.
Regarding claim 7, Oyobe discloses a tip end of the first power line (top line of MG1 or MG2) in the vehicle, and a charging and discharging cable provided to extend from the power supply system and having a tip end (bottom line of MG1 or MG2) thereof electrically connectable to the charge and discharge port (fig. 1 or fig. 13).
But, Oyobe does not discloses the power connection part includes a charge and discharge port,
However, Ayoola discloses the power connection part includes a charge and discharge port (Fig. 1, bi-directional power flow 103),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oyobe by adding bi-directional power flow as part of its configuration as taught by Ayoola, in order to facilitating bi-directional flow of energy to enable grid services such as frequency regulation and demand response and to use the AC grid power for charging the high-voltage battery pack.
Regarding claim 12, Oyobe discloses the power supply system is electrically connected to an AC power (fig. 13, AC port 60 and a plug 70) distribution system that distributes an AC power (fig. 13, AC port 60 and a plug 70) to the house or the facility, the power supply system is provided with a second power converter ([0118], Common mode choke coil 40 is provided between power lines AC L1 and ACL2 and power lines ACL3 and ACL4 connected to AC port 60, that choke" high-frequency alternating current (AC) in an electrical circuit while allowing lower-frequency AC) that converts an alternating current into an alternating current between the second power transmitting and receiving device and the AC power distribution system (fig. 13), and the second power converter satisfies interconnection requirements with respect to the power grid (# 40 synchronization with the electric power transmitted and received between the vehicle and load 90).
But, Oyobe does not disclose a power grid,
However, Ayoola discloses a power grid (fig. 1, AC grid 102),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oyobe by adding AC grid as part of its configuration as taught by Ayoola, in order to the output power of the grid system to provide power to charging station.
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2010/0027305 to Oyobe et al. (“Oyobe”) in view of US 2022/0247175 to Ganger et al.. (“Ganger”).
Regarding claim 4, Oyobe discloses supply an electric power (AC port 60) to an electric load ([0008]) in the house or the facility ([0050]),
But, Oyobe does not discloses explicitly the power supply system includes a plurality of load systems configured of the plurality of load systems is provided with a second switch configured to switch between a state where the one or more load systems is electrically connected to only one of the power connection part and the predetermined power source and a state where the at least one or more load systems is electrically connected to only the other of the power connection part and the predetermined power source and at least one or more load systems.
However, Ganger discloses the power supply system includes a plurality of load systems (see 4 of Fig. 4, load devices 10) configured of the plurality of load systems (22) is provided with a second switch configured to switch between a state where the one or more load systems is electrically connected to only one of the power connection part (port A, port B) and the predetermined power source (8) and a state where the at least one or more load systems is electrically connected ((see 4 of Fig.4 and breakers within the main panel) to only the other of the power connection part and the predetermined power source and at least one or more load systems (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oyobe by adding load devices as part of its configuration as taught by Ganger, in order to supply power to
number of ports including 120V load devices and 240V load devices.
Regarding claim 18, Oyobe discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Oyobe does not discloses the power supply system includes a renewable energy derived power source.
However, Ganger discloses the power supply system includes a renewable energy derived power source ([0002], Solar energy, or photovoltaic (PV) systems).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oyobe by adding renewable energy as part of its configuration as taught by Ganger, in order to supply uninterrupted power and to meet the power requirement of the load devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 10, 13-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
58. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 5, especially a DC blocking capacitor configured to eliminate a DC component from the alternating current at the neutral point.
Claim 6 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 6, especially a second power line having one end thereof electrically connected to an intermediate point between two mutually adjacent smoothing capacitors among the plurality of smoothing capacitors and the other end thereof electrically connected to the power connection part.
Claim 10 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 10, especially DC blocking capacitor provided in the power supply system and configured to eliminate a DC component from the alternating current at the neutral point.
Claim 13 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 13, especially a DC blocking capacitor, provided between the other end of the first power transmitting and receiving device opposite to one end of the first power transmitting and receiving device connected to the first power line and a negative line of a DC link of the first power converter, and configured to eliminate a DC component from the alternating current at the neutral point.
Claim 14 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 14, especially wherein the first power transmitting and receiving device and the second power transmitting and receiving device correspond to a transformer in which a primary winding on a power transmission side and a secondary winding on a power reception side are isolated.
Claim 15 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 15, especially wherein the first power transmitting and receiving device and the second power transmitting and receiving device transmit an electric power from a power transmission side to a power reception side by magnetic resonance.
Claim 16 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 16, especially a first protective part and a second protective part that cover the first power transmitting and receiving device and the second power transmitting and receiving device, respectively, wherein the first protective part and the second protective part respectively expose the first power transmitting and receiving device and the second power transmitting and receiving device, respectively, when the vehicle is parked in a predetermined range defined by a positional relationship between the vehicle and the second power transmitting and receiving device.
Claim 19 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 19, especially wherein: the power supply system is electrically connected to a power grid, and the storage battery is charged with an electric power supplied from the power grid via the power supply system when a power rate of the power grid is relatively low, and discharges the electric power to the power supply system when the power rate of the power grid is relatively high.
Response to argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 3-9-26 with respect to claims 1-20 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849