DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 13-16 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardwell (US 2021/0020798) in view of one having ordinary skill in the art.
Cardwell et al. discloses:
Claim 1.
A substrate having upper and bottom surfaces:
E.G. substrate 101 supports semiconductor layers on one surface and backside contact structures on the opposite surface ([0008], [0035], [0068]).
An epitaxial stack on the upper surface comprising an active structure:
E.G. Expitaxially grown n-type layer 105, active absorber region 107, and p-type layer 111 ([0044]-[0047]).
A first interlayer at the bottom surface:
E.G. An optical diffusion barrier positioned between backside n-electrode 217 and mirror 114 [0073].
Note: Claim 1 recites the interlayer “at” the bottom surface, without expressly requiring direct contact. Provided this interpretation is consistent with the specification, Cardwell’s backside diffusion barrier meets this relationship despite intervening electrode 217.
Metal-nitride composition:
E.G. Cardwell identifies barrier composition MCxNyOz, where M is a metal and x, y, and z independently range from 0 to 3. Selecting x =z =0 yields MNy. The disclosed nitrogen-coefficient range includes 0<1y<1, corresponding to a metal-to-nitrogen ratio greater than 1 and thus the claimed x1>y1.
Although Cardwell does no identify a specific metal-rich nitride example, its disclosed composition range encompasses nitrogen-containing compositions having more metal than nitrogen. Absent evidence or critically or unexpected results associated with the claimed subrange, selecting such a composition for Cardwell’s expressly disclosed backside diffusion barrier would have been prima facie obvious as a selection with the disclosed range.
Claim 2.
A second interlayer:
E.G via the disclosed backside mirror layer 114 ([0068], [0073]).
The first interlayer positioned between the epitaxial stack and the second interlayer:
E.G. The diffusion barrier between backside n-electrode 217 and mirror 114 lies between the epitaxial stack and mirror 114 ([0044]-[0047], [0073]).
Note: Claim 2 does not specify the second interlayer’s composition or exclude a layer that also performs a reflective or electrical function. Provided this interpretation is consistent with the specification, mirror layer 114 corresponds to the second interlayer. The term “between” does not expressly require direct contact, therefore, the intervening substrate and electrode 217 do not defeat the recited relationship.
The composition selection and rationale stated for claim 1 are incorporated herein. Cardwell discloses the additional layer arrangement required by claim 1; selecting the metal-rich nitride composition for its diffusion barrier would retain the barrier’s position between the epitaxial stack and mirror layer 114. No additional rearrangement of Cardwell’s layers is required.
Claim 7.
Lower electrode with the first interlayer between it and the epitaxial stack
E.G. Cardwell discloses a reflective n-side electrical contact 114, which can serve as the n-side electrode [0068].
A diffusion barrier between backside electrode 217 and mirror 114
E.G. [0073].
Note: “Between” does not expressly require direct contact with the epitaxial stack.
Claim 8.
First interlayer wider than the lower electrode
E.G. Cardwell discloses the barrier/contact arrangement supporting claim 7 [0073]. Cheng describes reducing electrode bilayer 500’s surface area relative to bilayer 300.
Claim 9.
Rough bottom surface of the substrate.
E.G. Cardwell discloses a backside substrate processing by reactive-ion etching and cleaning to reduce contact resistance [0069].
Claim 10.
The metal constituent is titanium or aluminum:
E.G. Cardwell identifies titanium and aluminum among the available metallic constituents of the backside diffusion-barrier composition [0073].
The composition selection and rationale stated for claim 1 are incorporated herein. Selecting titanium as the metal constituent follows Cardwell’s express identification of titanium for the barrier. Selecting a nitrogen-containing composition within the disclosed range having more metal than nitrogen supplies the inherited composition limitation, subject to the qualifications discussed for claim 1.
Claim 13.
A substrate having upper and bottom surfaces:
E.G. Cadwell discloses a substrate 101 ([0008], [0035], [0068])
An epitaxial stack including an active structure:
E.G. via the disclosed semiconductor layers 105 and 111 with active region 107 ([0044]-[0047]).
A lower electrode structure on the bottom side:
E.G. via the disclosed reflective n0side electrical contact 114 [0068].
A first interlayer between the epitaxial stack and lower electrode:
E.G. via the disclosed diffusion barrier between electrode 217 and mirror/contact 114 [0073].
Note: Provided the specification supports this interpretation, “on” and “between” permit intervening layers.
Claim 14.
Cardwell discloses: Barrier compositions MCxNyOz, with independently selectable coefficients ranging from 0 to 3 [0073].
Selecting zero carbon and oxygen and a nitrogen coefficient between 0 and 1 yields the metal-rich nitride composition discussed for claim 1.
Cheng additionally discloses: MN1 compositions encompassing nitrogen-containing metal-to-nitrogen ratios greater than 1 [0023].
Claim 15.
An upper electrode structure:
E.G. Cardwell discloses a reflective p-side contact 113, [0070].
An opposing lower electrode structure:
E.G. Cardwell discloses a reflective n-side contact 114 ([0068], [0073]).
Claim 16.
The bottom of the substrate does not contact the first interlayer.
E.G. Cardwell discloses the electrode 217 between the substrate and the selected diffusion barrier [0073].
Note: At substrate regions occupied by intervening electrode 217, the substrate does not directly contact the barrier. The claim does not expressly require that the noncontact region be an exposed peripheral margin.
Claim 20.
Cardwell discloses:
Patterned backside contacts and contact-spacing arrangements [0073].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recess Cardwell’s first interlayer from the substrate’s first side and select a separation within 10-20 µm. Cardwell teaches that the design of the contact, i.e. the n-electrode 217 and reflective mirror layer 114, based in the thickness optimizes transparency [0073]. A skilled artisan would have selected the claimed separation through routine adjustment of that recognized parameter to obtain said optimized transparency based on thickness, with reasonable expectation of success because the claimed separation dimensions are workable. Accordingly, the claimed separation would have constituted optimization of a result-effective variable.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardwell (US 2021/0020798), as applied to claims 1-2, 7-10, 13-16 & 20, further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0367606).
Cardwell et al. discloses;
The semiconductor device discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
A backside diffusion barrier between n-electrode 217 and mirror 114 [0073].
Cardwell does not expressly disclose:
A second interlayer comprising the same metal as the first interlayer but having a different metal-to-nitrogen ratio.
Cheng et al. discloses;
First and second metal-nitride layers MN1/310 and MN2/ ([0022]-[0023]).
A common metal in both layers, including titanium or tantalum [0022].
Different metal-to-nitrogen ratios in the two layers ([0022]-[0023]).
A composition range for MN1 encompassing nitrogen-containing composition with a metal-to-nitrogen ratio greater than 1 [0023].
Note: Provided the application’s specification supports this construction, separately identifiable constituent layers of a multilayer barrier may correspond to the claimed interlayers. In the proposed modification, MN1/310 corresponds to the first interlayer and MN2/320 corresponds to the second. Calling Cheng’s structure an “electrode bilayer” doe not itself exclude its constituent layers from the term “interlayer.”
Cheng et al. teaches using different nitrogen concentrations to balance electrical resistance and protection, including reducing resistance through the lower-nitrogen layer. This provides a potential reason to consider its bilayer for Cardwell’s electrically conductive backside structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the bilayer to provide Cardwell’s diffusion-barrier function while obtaining the resistance benefit, in which the combination between Cardwell and Cheng provide the motivation of lowering resistance plus providing effective diffusion protection in the same conductive stack.
Claim 4.
Cardwell and Cheng disclose:
The device and proposed two-interlayer structure disclosed in claim 3.
Cheng further discloses:
The metal-to-nitrogen ratio of MN1 is greater than the metal-to-nitrogen ratio MN2 [0022]. Mapping MN1/310 to the first interlayer and MN2/320 to the second supplies:
x1/y1 > x2/y2
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6, 11-12 & 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims: The following reasons address the claimed combinations as a whole, rather than suggesting that the individual thickness, mesa, or contact features are unknown.
Claim 5: Although the cited art describes thin barriers beneath thicker conductive layers, it does not establish a sufficient basis for incorporating that arrangement into the claimed backside structure using the required metal-rich nitride composition.
Claims 6, 11-12: The references disclosed raised semiconductor regions and associated contact arrangements separately from the claimed backside architecture. However, the record does not establish a supported reason to combine those teachings into the claimed device. For claims 11-12, the raised regions additionally supports the layered electrical connection whose contact placement avoids the region’s lateral boundary.
Claims 17-19: The cited art does not establish the claimed coordination of lateral dimensions and edge profiles within the backside electrode assembly. In particular, the record does not support the relative edge inclinations of claim 17, the successive lateral offsets introduced by claim 18, or the matching interlayer inclinations retained with those offsets in claim 19.
Accordingly, claims 5-6, 11-12 and 17-19 are considered to contain allowable subject matter, based on the claimed combinations and the prior art presently of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Asai et al. (CN 101154647), particularly the fourth embodiment and Fig. 9, discloses a backside metallization structure having a relatively thin diffusion barrier beneath a thicker conductive electrode. This teaching is pertinent to the relative layer dimensions addressed in claim 5, but does not establish the complete claimed combination.
Kim et al. (KR 2019/0133382), particularly Fig. 6A and paragraphs [0103]-[0109], discloses a mesa-type semiconductor structure with contact and pad electrodes, including a contact positioned inward from the mesa sidewall.
These teachings are pertinent to claims 6 and 11-12, but the record does not establish a sufficient basis for incorporating that arrangement into the claimed backside architecture.
/NICOLE F JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796