DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 14-15, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as being anticipated by Lin et al (Pub. No.: U.S. 2023/0249076 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a method programmed in a non-transitory memory of a device comprising: storing vertex information in a data structure (see abstract, also page 2, paragraph, [0026] in addition, the server includes a processing engine configured to perform a storage or reading operation on a database. Specifically, the processing engine is configured to determine, according to a distance relation, whether the target collision body can be transformed into a regular geometry object, transform, when it is determined that the target collision body can be transformed into a regular geometry object, vertex data (information), of the target collision body according to a data format that matches the regular geometry object, and store same in the database. The processing engine is also configured to read the simply processed collision data from the database for collision calculation);
determining a distance between a current vertex and a second vertex (see abstract, data processing method and apparatus, a storage medium, a program product, and an electronic device are provided. The collision data processing method includes: determining a target collision body in a virtual scene, the target collision body being a convex polyhedron having vertices; obtaining “distance relations between the respective vertices” on the target collision body, the distance relations characterizing a shape feature of the target collision body; and transforming the target collision body into a regular geometry object according to the distance relations, wherein the regular geometry object is configured to obtain collision data of the target collision body when the target collision body collides with another virtual object in the virtual scene. This application solves a technical problem of relatively low processing efficiency caused by a high operation difficulty in processing collision data in a related technology);
indicating a match between the current vertex and the second vertex when the distance is less than a threshold (see page 3, paragraphs, [0035-0036] in one embodiment, distance relations between various vertices are used for characterizing comparison results of distances between the various vertices. The distance relation may reflect the shape feature of the target collision body. The various vertices on the target collision body are traversed, each of which is used as a current vertex. A plurality of distances between all the other vertices (namely, vertices other than the current vertex) and the current vertex are obtained separately. The above distance relations may be relations of the plurality of distances. The distance relation may be used for recognizing the target collision body as the regular geometry object with a similar structure to the target collision body. The regular geometry object may include, but is not limited to: a rectangular solid and a cylinder. Vertex data of the target collision body will be transformed according to a data format of a regular geometry object similar to the target collision body, namely, a format of the vertex data is transformed into the data format of the regular geometry object similar to the target collision body, so as to achieve an objective of simplifying collision data of a collision body. Transform, when transforming the target collision body into a regular geometry object according to the distance relations, vertex data of the target collision body according to a data format that matches the regular geometry object, the regular geometry object being configured to obtain collision data of the target collision body when the target collision body collides with another virtual object in the virtual scene. The data format of the collision data matches the data format of the regular geometry object. The collision data of the target collision body is used for characterizing a target collision body with a simplified structure.
Also, page 4, paragraphs, [0042-0046] by embodiments provided by this application, after the target collision body in the virtual scene is determined, the distance relations of the various vertex on the target collision body are obtained. Whether the target collision body can be transformed into the regular geometry object with a simplified structure is then determined according to the distance relations. When it is determined to transform the target collision body into the regular geometry object, the vertex data of the above target collision body is transformed according to the data format that matches the regular geometry object, to obtain the simplified collision data of the target collision body. Thus, the target collision body with the complicated structure can be transformed into the regular geometry object with the simplified structure, and the collision data of the collision body is stored in the data format that matches the regular geometry object. The collision operation is performed using the simplified collision data, so as to reduce calculation consumption on collision data and achieve an effect of improving the processing efficiency on collision data, thereby overcoming the problem of low processing efficiency of the electronic device on collision data in the related technology. As an exemplary scheme, obtaining distance relations between the respective vertices on a target collision body includes: separately obtaining, when a quantity of the vertices on the target collision body reaches a first threshold, the distance relations between a plurality of edges respectively connected to each vertex on the target collision body. That is, comparison results of lengths of the plurality of edges are determined. In one embodiment, the first threshold may be, but is not limited to, a quantity of vertices of a standard rectangular solid, and the first threshold may be, but is not limited to, eight. That is, when the quantity of the vertices on the target collision body reaches eight, distances between the various vertices are obtained, and whether the target collision body is a standard rectangular solid is recognized on the basis of the relations between the various distances);
and fusing matched borders based on the match between the current vertex and the second vertex (see above, also page 9, paragraphs, [0126-0130] as an exemplary scheme, after the transforming the target collision body to a regular geometry object according to the distance relations, the collision data processing method further includes: S2. Merge two adjacent regular sub-geometries when a difference value between the sizes of the two adjacent regular sub-geometries is less than a fifth threshold. When the regular geometry object includes a plurality of regular sub-geometries, further processing may be performed using, but is not limited to, a combinational merging algorithm and a small object culling algorithm. The combinational merging algorithm is to merge two connected rectangular solids with similar sizes or having an inclusion relation into one rectangular solid (namely, the difference value between the sizes of two adjacent regular sub-geometries is less than the fifth threshold). The above small object culling algorithm is to directly cull a certain bounding box that is far smaller than surrounding bounding boxes (namely, the difference value between the size of the first regular sub-geometry and the second regular sub-geometry is less than the sixth threshold) and is embedded in other bounding boxes.
Finally, page 12, paragraph, [0199-0200] as an exemplary solution, the apparatus further includes: a fourth determining unit, configured to: after the target collision body is transformed into the regular geometry object according to the distance relations, determine, when the regular geometry object includes a plurality of regular sub-geometries, sizes of the regular sub-geometries; a second merging unit, configured to: merge two adjacent regular sub-geometries when a difference value between the sizes of the two adjacent regular sub-geometries is less than a fifth threshold; and a culling unit, configured to: when a difference value between a size of a first regular sub-geometry and a size of a second regular sub-geometry in the plurality of rule sub-geometries is less than a sixth threshold, and the first regular sub-geometry is located inside the second regular sub-geometry, cull the first regular sub-geometry).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 wherein when a match is indicated for the current vertex based on a previous vertex match, then the current vertex is skipped (see claim 1, also page 4, paragraphs, [0047-0054] in one embodiment, before the transforming vertex data of the target collision body according to a data format that matches the regular geometry object, the method further includes: determining a current vertex from the various vertices on the target collision body, and determining a first reference point and a second reference point which are closest to the current vertex; obtaining a first distance between the current vertex and the first reference point and a second distance between the current vertex and the second reference point; determining a third distance according to the first distance and the second distance, the third distance being a length of a hypotenuse of a right triangle, and the right triangle taking the first distance and the second distance as lengths of the right-angled edges; determining a third reference point from various vertices other than the current vertex, the first reference vertex and the second reference point on the target collision body according to the third distance, a distance between the current vertex and the third reference point being the third distance; determining a reference plane of the target collision body according to the first reference point, the second reference point, and the third reference point; determining a fourth reference point closest to the current vertex from various vertices other than the current vertex, the first reference vertex, the second reference point and the third reference point on the target collision body, a connecting line between the fourth reference point and the current vertex is perpendicular to the reference plane; and determining the current vertex as the target vertex, and determining, according to the first distance, the second distance, and a fourth distance between the current vertex and the fourth reference point, a convergence direction of an oriented bounding box that matches the standard rectangular solid, the vertex data including a direction vector of the convergence direction of the oriented bounding box).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the data structure comprises an array (data structure), (see page 3, paragraphs, [0034] and [0037], due to a relatively complex geometric structure of the collision body, a “large amount of vertex data” needs to be introduced, resulting in relatively high data calculation consumption during collision operation and artistic creation. In order to overcome the above problems, this embodiment provides a method for simplifying the structure of the target collision body on the basis of the distance relations between the respective vertices on the target collision body, transforming the target collision body to a regular geometry object with a simplified structure, and storing collision data in the regular geometry object, so as to improve the operation efficiency of the electronic device for processing collision data of a collision. In one embodiment, the data format that matches the regular geometry object may be, but is not limited to, a format corresponding to index parameters of the regular geometry object. For example, when the regular geometry object is a rectangular solid, the “index parameters” of the regular geometry object may include, but are not limited to, a center point coordinate and a convergence direction of an oriented bounding box. When the regular geometry object is a cylinder, the index parameters of the regular geometry object may include, but are not limited to, a center point coordinate and a radius.
Also, page 9, paragraphs, [0134-0135] In this embodiment, when the target collision body is transformed into the rectangular solid, the transformation and storage are performed according to the data format of geometric “indexes matching” the rectangular solid. For example, the coordinate of the center coordinate point and the direction vector of the convergence direction of the OBB are stored. When the target collision body is transformed into the cylinder, the transformation and “storage” are performed according to the data format of geometric indexes matching the cylinder. For example, the geometric center point, the radius and the like of the cylinder are stored. By the embodiments of this application, the vertex data of the target collision body is stored according to the data format of the geometric indexes matching the regular geometry object, which simplifies the storage manner of the collision data of the target collision body with a complex structure, thereby improving the processing efficiency for invoking the collision data to perform a collision operation).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 8 wherein when a match is indicated for the current vertex based on a previous vertex match, then the current vertex is skipped (see claim 1, also page 4, paragraphs, [0047-0054] in one embodiment, before the transforming vertex data of the target collision body according to a data format that matches the regular geometry object, the method further includes: determining a current vertex from the various vertices on the target collision body, and determining a first reference point and a second reference point which are closest to the current vertex; obtaining a first distance between the current vertex and the first reference point and a second distance between the current vertex and the second reference point; determining a third distance according to the first distance and the second distance, the third distance being a length of a hypotenuse of a right triangle, and the right triangle taking the first distance and the second distance as lengths of the right-angled edges; determining a third reference point from various vertices other than the current vertex, the first reference vertex and the second reference point on the target collision body according to the third distance, a distance between the current vertex and the third reference point being the third distance; determining a reference plane of the target collision body according to the first reference point, the second reference point, and the third reference point; determining a fourth reference point closest to the current vertex from various vertices other than the current vertex, the first reference vertex, the second reference point and the third reference point on the target collision body, a connecting line between the fourth reference point and the current vertex is perpendicular to the reference plane; and determining the current vertex as the target vertex, and determining, according to the first distance, the second distance, and a fourth distance between the current vertex and the fourth reference point, a convergence direction of an oriented bounding box that matches the standard rectangular solid, the vertex data
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 8 wherein the data structure comprises an array (data structure), (see page 3, paragraphs, [0034] and [0037], due to a relatively complex geometric structure of the collision body, a “large amount of vertex data” needs to be introduced, resulting in relatively high data calculation consumption during collision operation and artistic creation. In order to overcome the above problems, this embodiment provides a method for simplifying the structure of the target collision body on the basis of the distance relations between the respective vertices on the target collision body, transforming the target collision body to a regular geometry object with a simplified structure, and storing collision data in the regular geometry object, so as to improve the operation efficiency of the electronic device for processing collision data of a collision. In one embodiment, the data format that matches the regular geometry object may be, but is not limited to, a format corresponding to index parameters of the regular geometry object. For example, when the regular geometry object is a rectangular solid, the “index parameters” of the regular geometry object may include, but are not limited to, a center point coordinate and a convergence direction of an oriented bounding box. When the regular geometry object is a cylinder, the index parameters of the regular geometry object may include, but are not limited to, a center point coordinate and a radius.
Also, page 9, paragraphs, [0134-0135] in this embodiment, when the target collision body is transformed into the rectangular solid, the transformation and storage are performed according to the data format of geometric “indexes matching” the rectangular solid. For example, the coordinate of the center coordinate point and the direction vector of the convergence direction of the OBB are stored. When the target collision body is transformed into the cylinder, the transformation and “storage” are performed according to the data format of geometric indexes matching the cylinder. For example, the geometric center point, the radius and the like of the cylinder are stored. By the embodiments of this application, the vertex data of the target collision body is stored according to the data format of the geometric indexes matching the regular geometry object, which simplifies the storage manner of the collision data of the target collision body with a complex structure, thereby improving the processing efficiency for invoking the collision data to perform a collision operation).
With regard to claims 8, 15, 18 and 21, the arguments analogous to those presented above for claims 1, 4, 7, 11 and 14, are respectively applicable to claims 8, 15, 18 and 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9-10, 12-13, 16-17 and 19-20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
Status information about the PAIR system, see http:// pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SEYED H AZARIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667
May 26, 2026