DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶ 0035 is unclear because it states that the sleeve has a “constant internal pressure,” but also states that the sleeve acts as a spring “with the variation in the internal pressure.” Applicant is required to clarify whether the internal pressure is constant or caries during operation.
¶ 0041 does not conform to claim 12. Claim 12 recites that the sleeve configured to encompass the area where the lobe is formed has higher rigidity than the remaining sleeve. However, ¶ 0041 states that the sleeve not encompassing the area where the rolling lobe is formed may have higher rigidity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the top mount and piston portion recited in claims 1 and 15, and the outwardly-extending flange joints recited in claims 5 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Particularly, claim 10 recites “wherein the sleeve, which are arranged outwardly in the first region and the second region, is made of a laser-energy transmissible material.” This language is indefinite because the claim uses the singular phrase “the sleeve,” the plural phrase “which are arranged,” and the singular phrase “is made.” It is unclear whether one sleeve or multiple sleeves are arranged outwardly in the first and second regions and made of the laser-energy transmissible material.
Double Patenting
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,654,503. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because issued claim 7, which depends from issued claim 1, recites an upper/lower sleeve air-spring structure coupled to a top mount and piston portion, with one sleeve having different thicknesses for each section along a longitudinal direction, including different-thickness relationships in the rolling-lobe region. Instant claim 13 likewise recites the lobe-encompassing sleeve having sections of different thickness along a longitudinal direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thurow et al. ( US 5975506 A) (Applicant cited).
Regarding claim 1, Thurow discloses a sleeve (4) for an air spring (2) for a vehicle (see Figs. 1-3), comprising:
at least an upper sleeve (12a) and a lower sleeve (12b),
wherein an upper circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (first end portion of first flexible member component 12a) is coupled to a top mount (first holding/end part 6a, by attachment element/clamping ring 8a; see Fig. 2), and a lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower/interface end of 12a) is coupled to an upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper/interface end of second flexible member components 12b, at overlap/interface region 18 where 12a and 12b overlap/connect)(see Figs. 1 and 3),
wherein a lower circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (second end portion of second flexible member component 12b) is coupled to a piston portion (second holding/end part 6b including piston 10 by attachment element/clamping ring 8b; see Fig. 2), and
wherein one of the upper sleeve (12a) and the lower sleeve (12b) is configured to encompass an area where a lobe is formed (12b forms the lower roll-off/cylindrical portion and rolls back and forth over piston 10 during operation of the air spring; see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 15, Thurow discloses an air spring (2) for a vehicle comprising: the sleeve of claim 1;
a top mount (first holding/end part 6a) mounted on the upper circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (first end portion of first flexible member component 12a; by attachment element/clamping ring 8a; see Fig. 2); and
a piston portion (second holding/end part 6b including piston 10) mounted on the lower circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (second end portion of 12b; by attachment element/clamping ring 8b; see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurow et al. (US 5,975,506 A) (Applicant cited) in view of Leonard et al. (EP 2,351,946 A2) (Applicant cited).
Regarding claim 2, Thurow discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 1, including the upper sleeve (12a) and the lower sleeve (12b).
Thurow does not expressly disclose wherein each of the upper sleeve and the lower sleeve is manufactured with a thermoplastic plastic material by an injection molding.
Leonard teaches wall portions of a gas spring formed from thermoplastic elastomer material (see ¶¶ 0024, 0028, 0076, and 0230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper sleeve (12a) and lower sleeve (12b) of Thurow with the thermoplastic elastomer material of Leonard to provide gas-spring sleeve wall portions having a known suitable elastomeric material for an air spring. The limitation “manufactured by injection molding” is treated as a product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of claim 2 is based on the sleeve itself. See MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claim 3, Thurow discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 1, wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower/interface end of 12a) and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper/interface end of 12b) are coupled to each other (at overlap/interface region 18; see Figs. 1 and 3).
Thurow does not expressly disclose that the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve are bonded to each other by a welding.
Leonard teaches the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve are bonded to each other by a welding (first wall portion 218C and second wall portion 220C secured together by joint JNT formed using a plastic welding process) such that the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve is attached to the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (218C and 220C joined together to form the gas spring wall; see Fig. 9 and ¶ 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface region 18 of Thurow with the plastic welding process of Leonard because Leonard teaches welding adjacent gas-spring wall portions to form a fixed and substantially fluid-tight connection, thereby predictably securing Thurow’s sleeve portions 12a, 12b at their interface (see Fig. 9 and ¶ 0061 and 0082).
Regarding claim 4, Thurow as modified discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 3, wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower/interface end of 12a) and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper/interface end of 12b) are arranged to overlap each other (overlap/interface region 18 where 12b overlaps and encloses the end of 12a), and wherein a stepped portion is formed along a circumferential direction on one of the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve such that the upper sleeve is seated on the lower sleeve or the lower sleeve is seated on the upper sleeve (the overlapped splice/interface profile at region 18 forms a circumferential seating/step relationship between 12a and 12b under BRI; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Thurow as modified discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 3, wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower/interface end of 12a) and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper/interface end of 12b) are coupled to each other (at interface region 18).
Thurow does not expressly disclose the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve have outwardly-extending flanges, respectively, and wherein the outwardly-extending flanges are bonded to each other by the welding.
Leonard teaches the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve have outwardly-extending flanges, respectively, and wherein the outwardly-extending flanges are bonded to each other by the welding (first and second spring portions 306, 308 include radially outwardly extending flanges 322 secured together by welded joint JNT to form a substantially fluid-tight connection or seal; see Fig. 11 and ¶ 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface region 18 of Thurow with the outwardly extending welded flanges of Leonard because Leonard teaches that welding outwardly extending flanges forms a substantially fluid-tight connection or seal between gas spring wall portions, thereby predictably securing Thurow’s sleeve portions 12a, 12b at their interface.
Regarding claim 7, Thurow as modified discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 1, including an upper sleeve (12a) and a lower sleeve (12b).
Thurow does not expressly disclose an intermediate sleeve interposed between the upper sleeve and the lower sleeve, wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve is coupled to an upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve, and a lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve is coupled to an upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve.
Leonard teaches an intermediate sleeve interposed between the upper sleeve and the lower sleeve (third wall portion 222D extending between first wall portion 218D and second wall portion 220D; see Fig. 10 and ¶ 0063), wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve is coupled to an upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve, and a lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve is coupled to an upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (wall portions 218D, 222D, and 220D secured to one another by joints JNT; see Fig. 10 and ¶ 0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve portions 12a, 12b of Thurow with the intermediate wall portion 222D and joints JNT of Leonard because Leonard teaches using first, intermediate, and second wall portions secured by joints to achieve a desired stiffness profile along the spring wall, thereby predictably providing Thurow’s composite flexible member 4 with an additional sleeve section between the upper and lower sleeve portions (see Fig. 10 and ¶ 0063).
Regarding claim 8, Thurow as modified discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 7, wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower end of first wall portion 218D, Leonard) and the upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (upper end of third wall portion 222D, Leonard) are bonded to each other, such that the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve is attached to the upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (wall portions 218D and 222D secured together by joint JNT; see Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 0061-63), and
wherein the lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (lower end of third/intermediate wall portion 222D) and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper end of second wall portion 220D) are bonded to each other, such that the lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve is attached to the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve.
Thurow does not expressly disclose that the two interfaces between the upper sleeve, intermediate sleeve, and lower sleeve are bonded by welding.
Leonard teaches adjacent gas-spring wall portions secured by welded joints (two or more wall sections welded together using a plastic welding process to form welded joint JNT; see Fig. 9 and ¶ 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the joints JNT at the intermediate-sleeve interfaces of Thurow as modified by Leonard as welded joints because Leonard teaches welding adjacent gas-spring wall portions to form a fixed and substantially fluid-tight connection, thereby predictably securing the sleeve portions at both interfaces.
Regarding claim 9, Thurow as modified discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 8,
wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower end of first wall portion 218D, Leonard) and the upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (upper end of intermediate/third wall portion 222D) are arranged to overlap each other, and
a stepped portion is formed along a circumferential direction in one of the upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve and the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve such that the intermediate sleeve is seated on the upper sleeve or the upper sleeve is seated on the intermediate sleeve (Thurow’s overlap/interface region 18, provides an overlapped circumferential seating/step relationship under BRI; applied to Leonard’s first joint between wall portions 218D and 222D; see Thurow Fig. 3 and Leonard Fig. 10), and
wherein the lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (lower end of intermediate/third wall portion 222D) and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper end of second wall portion 220D) are arranged to overlap each other, and
a stepped portion is formed along a circumferential direction in one of the lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve such that the intermediate sleeve is seated on the lower sleeve or the lower sleeve is seated on the intermediate sleeve (same overlapped circumferential seating/step relationship of Thurow’s overlap/interface region 18 applied to Leonard’s second joint between wall portions 222D and 220D; see Thurow Fig. 3 and Leonard Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11, Thurow as modified discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 8,
wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower end of first wall portion 218D) and the upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (upper end of intermediate/third wall portion 222D) are provided at a first interface,
wherein the lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (lower end of intermediate/third wall portion 222D and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper end of second wall portion 220D) are provided at a second interface.
Thurow does not expressly disclose that the first interface and second interface include outwardly-extending flanges, respectively, wherein the outwardly-extending flanges are welded such that the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve is attached to the upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve, and the lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve is attached to the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve.
Leonard teaches adjacent spring portions having radially outwardly extending flanges welded together (first and second spring portions 306, 308 include radially outwardly-extending flanges 322 secured together by welded joint JNT to form substantially fluid-tight connection or seal; see Figs. 10-11 and ¶¶ 0063 and 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second welded interfaces of Thurow with Leonard’s outwardly-extending welded flanges because Leonard teaches that welded flanges provide substantially fluid-tight connection or seal between adjacent gas-spring wall portions, thereby predictably securing the connected sleeve portions at each interface.
Regarding claim 12, Thurow discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 1, wherein the one sleeve of the upper sleeve or the lower sleeve (12b) configured to encompass an area where the lobe is formed (12b forms the roll-off/cylindrical portion that rolls over roll-off piston 10; see Figs. 2-3).
Thurow does not expressly disclose one sleeve of the upper sleeve or the lower sleeve configured to encompass the area where the lobe is formed is manufactured with a material having a higher rigidity than the remaining sleeve.
Leonard teaches the one sleeve of the upper sleeve or the lower sleeve configured to encompass the area where the lobe is formed is manufactured with a material having a higher rigidity than the remaining sleeve (rolling-lobe gas spring wall 406 includes wall portions 426, 428, 430 along the longitudinal direction; Leonard teaches spring-wall zones having different nominal stiffness values, different material grades/flexural moduli, and higher stiffness providing greater resistance to radially outward expansion; see Figs. 12-15 and ¶¶ 0069-73, 0088, 0110, 0123, and 0135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lobe-containing lower sleeve 12b of Thurow with the higher-rigidity material arrangement of Leonard because Leonard teaches selecting different material stiffness values along a rolling-lobe spring wall to provide a desired stiffness profile and greater resistance to radial expansion, thereby predictably tailoring the rigidity of Thurow’s lobe-containing sleeve portion relative to the remaining sleeve portion (see Figs. 12-15).
Regarding claim 13, Thurow discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 1, wherein the one sleeve of the upper sleeve or the lower sleeve (12b) configured to encompass the area where the lobe is formed (12b forms the roll-off/cylindrical portion that rolls over roll-off piston 10; see Figs. 2-3).
Thurow does not expressly disclose the one sleeve of the upper sleeve or the lower sleeve configured to encompass the area where the lobe is formed has sections having different thicknesses along a longitudinal direction.
Leonard teaches the one sleeve of the upper sleeve or the lower sleeve configured to encompass the area where the lobe is formed has sections having different thicknesses along a longitudinal direction (rolling-lobe gas spring wall 406 includes first wall portion 426, second wall portion 428, and third wall portion 430 having different thicknesses TH1, TH2, and TH3 along the longitudinal direction; see Figs. 12-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lobe-containing lower sleeve 12b of Thurow with the different thickness sections of Leonard because Leonard teaches varying wall thickness along the longitudinal direction to provide a desired stiffness profile along a rolling-lobe spring wall, thereby predictably tailoring the flexing and stiffness characteristics of Thurow’s lobe-containing sleeve portion (see Fig. 15 and ¶¶ 0072-73).
Claims 6, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurow et al. (US 5,975,506 A) (Applicant cited) in view of Leonard et al. (EP 2,351,946 A2) (Applicant cited), and further in view of Acherjee et al. (“Effect of carbon black on temperature field and weld profile during laser transmission welding of polymers: A FEM study,” Optics & Laser Technology 44 (2012) 514–521) (“Acherjee”).
Regarding claim 6, Thurow as modified by Leonard discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 3, wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower/interface end of 12a) and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper/interface end of 12b) are arranged to overlap each other (overlap/interface region 18; see Thurow Figs. 1 and 3).
Thurow does not expressly disclose that, in the overlap region, the sleeve arranged inwardly is made of a laser-energy absorbable material, the sleeve arranged outwardly is made of a laser-energy transmissible material, and the welding is laser welding.
Acherjee teaches a laser transmission welding arrangement for polymer parts in which laser energy passes through a laser-energy transmissive/transparent plastic part and is absorbed by a laser energy absorbing plastic part at the joint interface to form a weld seam (transparent plastic part, absorbing plastic part, and weld seam shown in Fig. 1; laser energy penetrates/passes through a transparent plastic part and is absorbed by an absorbing plastic part at the interface to form a weld seam, see Acherjee, p. 514, Introduction; Fig. 1 on p. 515).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the overlap/interface region 18 of Thurow with the laser transmission welding arrangement of Acherjee, such that the outwardly arranged sleeve portion is laser-energy transmissible and the inwardly arranged sleeve portion is laser-energy absorbable, to permit laser energy to pass through the outward sleeve portion and be absorbed at the inward sleeve portion at the joint interface, thereby predictably forming a laser-welded joint between the overlapping polymer sleeve portions (see Acherjee, p. 514, Introduction; Fig. 1 on p. 515).
For purposes of the prior-art rejection, claim 10 is interpreted as requiring the inwardly arranged sleeve portion in each of the first and second overlap regions to be made of a laser-energy absorbable material, the outwardly arranged sleeve portion in each of the first and second overlap regions to be made of a laser-energy transmissible material, and the welding to be laser welding.
Regarding claim 10, Thurow as modified discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 8, wherein the lower circumferential portion of the upper sleeve (lower end of first wall portion 218D) and the upper circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (upper end of intermediate/third wall portion 222D) are arranged to overlap each other, and
wherein the lower circumferential portion of the intermediate sleeve (lower end of intermediate/third wall portion 222D) and the upper circumferential portion of the lower sleeve (upper end of second wall portion 220D) are arranged to overlap each other.
Thurow as modified does not expressly disclose that the inwardly arranged sleeve portion in each of the first and second overlap regions is made of a laser-energy absorbable material, the outwardly arranged sleeve portion in each of the first and second overlap regions is made of a laser-energy transmissible material, and the welding is laser welding.
Acherjee teaches a laser transmission welding arrangement for polymer parts in which laser energy passes through a laser-energy transmissive/transparent plastic part and is absorbed by a laser-energy absorbing part at the joint interface to form a weld seam (transparent plastic part, absorbing plastic part, and weld seam shown in Fig. 1; laser energy penetrates the transparent part and is absorbed by the absorbing part at the interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second overlap regions of Thurow with the laser transmission welding material arrangement of Acherjee by applying the same laser-welding material relationship at each overlap region, such that the outwardly arranged sleeve portions are laser-energy transmissible and the inwardly arranged sleeve portions are laser-energy absorbable, because Acherjee teaches that laser transmission welding of polymers is a non-contact and non-contaminant process that is easy to control and automate, flexible, has a shorter processing time, provides consistent quality, and is repeatable, thereby predictably forming a controlled laser-welded joints at both overlapped polymer sleeve interfaces (see Acherjee, p. 514, Introduction; Fig. 1 on p. 515).
Regarding claim 14, Thurow as modified discloses the sleeve (4) for the air spring (2) for a vehicle of claim 6, wherein the sleeve arranged inwardly includes a carbon black (Acherjee’s laser-energy absorbing plastic part/absorbing polymer includes carbon black; see Acherjee, p. 516 and Figs. 8-11 on pp. 518-520).
Conclusion
/K.A.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616