DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 06/26/2026.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, and 17 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected.
This action has been made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/26/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7, 10, 13-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US_20240397422_A1_Martin.
Regarding claim 1, Martin teaches a method for communication based on a power saving signal for discontinuous reception (DRX) control (Martin figure 6, paragraphs 3-4, 106), comprising: receiving, by a wake-up receiver of a terminal device, the power saving signal that indicates DRX information (Martin paragraph 108, “…When the WTRU receives the WUS (e.g. WUS=wake-up)…”), wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of a physical channel (Martin paragraph 105, “…It is expected that any measurements that may be performed on the wake-up signal using the low-power receiver may be significantly less accurate, and may be performed using a different modulation and coding scheme and potentially on a different carrier frequency and using different reference symbols than the main signal…”, paragraph 191, “…a waveform of the WUS RS may be different than a waveform of the RS used by the regular or main receiver…”, and paragraph 3, “…The WUS signal may be a low power WUS. The method may comprise monitoring for the WUS using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR). The WUS may have a first waveform type. The first waveform type may be non-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (non-OFDM). The paging indication may be received via a second waveform type. The second waveform type may be orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM). The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using a main transceiver. The paging indication may be received in a downlink control information (DCI) over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)”), and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of: a waveform (Martin paragraph 191, waveform), a modulation mode (Martin paragraph 105, modulation and coding scheme), a coding mode (Martin paragraph 105, modulation and coding scheme) or a multiple access mode, and wherein the physical channel is for reception by a primary receiver of the terminal device (Martin paragraph 3, “…The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using a main transceiver. The paging indication may be received in a downlink control information (DCI) over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)”), and power consumption of the wake-up receiver is lower than that of the primary receiver of the terminal device (Martin paragraph 4, “A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may comprise a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) and a main transceiver…”, paragraph 106, “…while a WTRU is saving power by monitoring a low power wake-up signal using a low power receiver…”); and determining, by the terminal device, a reception state based on the DRX information (Martin figure 6, paragraph 108, “…When the WTRU receives the WUS (e.g. WUS=wake-up) the WTRU may power up the main receiver and monitor for a PDCCH starting at a beginning of an ON duration time specified according to the DRX in normal operation conditions.…”).
Regarding claim 4, Martin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the DRX information instructs the terminal device to enter into a DRX state (Martin figure 6, paragraph 108, “…When the WTRU receives the WUS (e.g. WUS=wake-up) the WTRU may power up the main receiver and monitor for a PDCCH starting at a beginning of an ON duration time specified according to the DRX in normal operation conditions.…”, paragraph 139, the WTRU enters into the ready to receive state when the main receiver is on), and wherein determining, by the terminal device, the reception state based on the DRX information comprises: entering, by the terminal device, into the DRX state based on the DRX information (Martin figure 6, paragraph 108, “…When the WTRU receives the WUS (e.g. WUS=wake-up) the WTRU may power up the main receiver and monitor for a PDCCH starting at a beginning of an ON duration time specified according to the DRX in normal operation conditions.…”, paragraph 139, the WTRU enters into the ready to receive state when the main receiver is on).
Regarding claim 5, Martin teaches the method of claim 4, wherein entering, by the terminal device, into the DRX state based on the DRX information comprises one of the following: entering, by the terminal device, into a first cycle state based on the DRX information (Martin figure 6, paragraphs 107-111, DRX cycle B); or if the terminal device is configured with a second cycle, entering, by the terminal device, into a second cycle state based on the DRX information, wherein the second cycle is less than a first cycle.
Regarding claim 7, Martin teaches the limitations set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Martin teaches the limitations set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Martin teaches the limitations set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, Martin teaches the limitations set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, Martin teaches the limitations set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 8-9, 11-12, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240397422_A1_Martin in view of US_20220095228_A1_Sahin.
Regarding claim 2, Martin teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the modulation mode of the power saving signal comprises one of: amplitude shift keying (ASK) modulation; frequency shift keying (FSK) modulation; or phase shift keying (PSK) modulation.
Sahin from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the modulation mode of the power saving signal comprises one of: amplitude shift keying (ASK) modulation; frequency shift keying (FSK) modulation; or phase shift keying (PSK) modulation (Sahin paragraph 122, (quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK)).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Sahin into Martin, since Martin suggests a technique for transmitting and receiving wake-up signal, and Sahin suggests the beneficial way of generating a wake-up signal with QPSK modulation and Manchester Encoding is a design choice optimized for low-power consumption and high reliability in the analogous art of communication.
Regarding claim 3, Martin teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the coding mode of the power saving signal comprises one of: non-return-to-zero inverted (NRZI) coding; Manchester coding; uni-polar RZ coding; differential bi-phase (DBP) coding; Miller coding; or differential coding.
Sahin from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the coding mode of the power saving signal comprises one of: non-return-to-zero inverted (NRZI) coding; Manchester coding (Sahin paragraph 98, Manchester encoding); uni-polar RZ coding; differential bi-phase (DBP) coding; Miller coding; or differential coding.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Sahin into Martin, since Martin suggests a technique for transmitting and receiving wake-up signal, and Sahin suggests the beneficial way of generating a wake-up signal with QPSK modulation and Manchester Encoding is a design choice optimized for low-power consumption and high reliability in the analogous art of communication.
Regarding claim 8, Martin and Sahin teach the limitations set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, Martin and Sahin teach the limitations set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, Martin and Sahin teach the limitations set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, Martin and Sahin teach the limitations set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, Martin and Sahin teach the limitations set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, Martin and Sahin teach the limitations set forth in claim 3.
Claim(s) 6, 15, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240397422_A1_Martin in view of US_20220132417_A1_Maleki.
Regarding claim 6, Martin teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein one of the following applies: the DRX information instructs the terminal device to switch a DRX cycle, and determining, by the terminal device, the reception state based on the DRX information comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the DRX cycle based on the DRX information; the DRX information instructs the terminal device to enter into a continuous reception state, and determining, by the terminal device, the reception state based on the DRX information comprises: entering, by the terminal device, into the continuous reception state based on the DRX information; or the DRX information indicates whether the terminal device monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during a target on duration, and determining, by the terminal device, the reception state based on the DRX information comprises: if the DRX information indicates that the terminal device monitors the PDCCH during the target on duration, entering, by the terminal device, into a continuous reception state during the target on duration; or if the DRX information indicates that the terminal device does not monitor the PDCCH during the target on duration, maintaining, by the terminal device, a DRX state during the target on duration.
Maleki discloses wherein one of the following applies: the DRX information instructs the terminal device to switch a DRX cycle (Maleki paragraphs 81-83, “…control message comprises a go-to-sleep signal…the control message comprises a command to switch early from a short DRX cycle to a long DRX cycle…”), and determining, by the terminal device, the reception state based on the DRX information comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the DRX cycle based on the DRX information (Maleki paragraphs 81-83, “…the control message comprises a configuration message to change a DRX configuration of the UE responsive to the assistance information. For example, the configuration information could be used to change the length of a DRX cycle…”); the DRX information instructs the terminal device to enter into a continuous reception state, and determining, by the terminal device, the reception state based on the DRX information comprises: entering, by the terminal device, into the continuous reception state based on the DRX information; or the DRX information indicates whether the terminal device monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during a target on duration, and determining, by the terminal device, the reception state based on the DRX information comprises: if the DRX information indicates that the terminal device monitors the PDCCH during the target on duration, entering, by the terminal device, into a continuous reception state during the target on duration; or if the DRX information indicates that the terminal device does not monitor the PDCCH during the target on duration, maintaining, by the terminal device, a DRX state during the target on duration.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Maleki’s the control message comprises a command to switch early from a short DRX cycle to a long DRX cycle in Martin’s system to maximize battery life when no further data is expected immediately. This method for improving the system of Martin was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Maleki. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Martin and Maleki to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, Martin teaches the terminal device of claim 13, but does not teach wherein the DRX information indicates a DRX command.
Maleki teaches wherein the DRX information indicates a DRX command (Maleki paragraphs 81-83, “…control message comprises a go-to-sleep signal…the control message comprises a command to switch early from a short DRX cycle to a long DRX cycle…”),
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Maleki’s the control message comprises a command to switch early from a short DRX cycle to a long DRX cycle in Martin’s system to maximize battery life when no further data is expected immediately. This method for improving the system of Martin was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Maleki. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Martin and Maleki to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Martin and Maleki teach the limitations set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, Martin teaches the network device of claim 17, but does not teach wherein one of the following applies: the DRX information instructs a terminal device to enter into a DRX state, and the DRX information indicates a DRX command; the DRX information instructs the terminal device to switch a DRX cycle; the DRX information instructs a terminal device to enter into a continuous reception state; or the DRX information indicates whether a terminal device monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during a target on duration.
Maleki teaches wherein one of the following applies: the DRX information instructs a terminal device to enter into a DRX state, and the DRX information indicates a DRX command; the DRX information instructs the terminal device to switch a DRX cycle (Maleki paragraphs 81-83, “…control message comprises a go-to-sleep signal…the control message comprises a command to switch early from a short DRX cycle to a long DRX cycle…”); the DRX information instructs a terminal device to enter into a continuous reception state; or the DRX information indicates whether a terminal device monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during a target on duration.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Maleki’s the control message comprises a command to switch early from a short DRX cycle to a long DRX cycle in Martin’s system to maximize battery life when no further data is expected immediately. This method for improving the system of Martin was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Maleki. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Martin and Maleki to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471