DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 04/22/2026. In virtue of this request:
Claims 10 and 20-23 were previously canceled;
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are canceled;
Claims 1 and 11 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-15 and 18-19 are pending;
35 USC § 112
The previous rejection to claims 1-9, and 11-19are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn/moot in view of the amendment made to the claims 1, 11 and cancellation of claims 6-7, 16-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9, 11-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2013/0313988A1 hereinafter “McRae” in view of US2022/0018504A1 hereinafter “Gamberg”
Regarding claim 1, McRae discloses method for controlling a multicolor light emitting diode (LED) light system comprising:
providing a light system (¶28L1-2: lighting system) having a first plurality of LEDs, a second plurality of LEDs (¶31L3-6: light strings includes a plurality of light elements each of which includes a plurality of lights within each light element; the lights wit5hin each light element may be LED), a control unit (¶28L2-3: lighting system includes a controller), and a wireless hand-held controller (¶57L1-15: remote controller; controller has a wireless receiver for receiving switching signals from a transmitter in the remote controller)
obtaining an input command from the wireless hand-held controller (¶57L1-15: controller has a wireless receiver for receiving switching signals from a transmitter in the remote controller), wherein the input command comprises a light output selection; transmitting the input command to the control unit (¶33L1-14: control signals wirelessly transmitted by controller);
determining at least one color to display on the LED light system based on the input command (¶47L1-2: actual color output of the circuit for switch position), wherein
the LED light system comprises the first and second pluralities of LEDs connected in series (¶50L1: a rope light string);
determining a brightness level to display on the first and second plurality of LEDs based on the input command (¶30L1-12: the switching function includes an off position) (Note: since there is an ON/OFF option, the brightness is controlled with 0% brightness when off, and 100% brightness when on);
determining a light pattern to display on the first and second pluralities of LEDs based on the input command (¶47L1-33: the holiday sequences re fully realized; pattern of Red, Blue, Green, Yellow, Red, Blue, Green Yellow occurs in sequence across light element) ;
outputting a power level from the control unit to power the first and second pluralities of LEDs (¶30L1-12: illumination is provided by power from power source through controller over the wires); and
outputting control data from the control unit to the first and second plurality of LEDs to display the at least one color and the light pattern on the first and second pluralities of LEDs. (¶30L1-12: controller provides a switching function to control the illumination of light strings)
McRae does not expclitly disclose:
the wireless hand-held controller having a plurality of first buttons, a plurality of second buttons, a plurality of third buttons, and a plurality of fourth buttons
the brightness level varying between and including a full-on brightness level and a full-off state, wherein the brightness level varying between the full-on brightness level and the full-off state is a brightness less than the full-on brightness level and greater than the full-off state and wherein
outputting the power level and the control data produces one or more of a move pattern or effect, a fading pattern or effect, a shimmering pattern or effect, a meteor pattern or effect, a twinkle pattern or effect, a flashing pattern or effect, a fireworks pattern or effect, and a waves pattern or effect on one or both of the first and second pluralities of LEDs.
Gamberg discloses a controllable light emitting diode system comprising
a wireless hand-held controller (¶43L1-2: a remote control) having a plurality of first buttons, a plurality of second buttons, a plurality of third buttons, and a plurality of fourth buttons (¶43L1-15: a color button [4010 to 4018]; ¶44L3-4: button [4040], button [4050]; ¶45L2: button [4060]), wherein the LED system is configured to
vary the brightness level varying between and including a full-on brightness level and a full-off state, wherein the brightness level varying between the full-on brightness level and the full-off state is a brightness less than the full-on brightness level and greater than the full-off state (¶45L1-5: in the fading mode, the LEDs fade before changing color, for example at a predetermined period of time) (Note: since the color fades before chaining, the brightness is controlled to slowly dimmed from max to min) and wherein
outputting the power level and the control data produces one or more of a move pattern or effect, a fading pattern or effect (¶45L1-5: in the fading mode, the LEDs fade before changing color, for example at a predetermined period of time), a shimmering pattern or effect, a meteor pattern or effect, a twinkle pattern or effect, a flashing pattern or effect (¶441-7: the LED may also be selected to flash at various speed), a fireworks pattern or effect, and a waves pattern or effect on one or both of the first and second pluralities of LEDs.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the wireless remote controller disclosed by McRae to include the plurality of buttons as disclosed by Gamberg and to incorporate the various fading/flashing mode disclosed by Gamberg.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because having buttons on a remote controller is routine in the art, and the button provides an easy way for the user to access specific function and provide tactile feedback for a more reliable selection process and improves ambiance lighting with the additional operating mode.
Regarding claim 2, McRae in view of Gamberg hereinafter “McRae/Gamberg” discloses in McRae the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a predefined theme based on the input command, wherein the predefined theme comprises a predefined color, predefined brightness level, and predefined light pattern to display on the first and second plurality of LEDs; and outputting the control data to display the predefined theme. (¶47L1-33: holiday/switch positions; as shown in Fig.5A and Fig.5B)
Regarding claim 9, McRae/Gamberg discloses in Gamberg the method of claim 2, wherein
the input command comprises a pattern increase speed command that increases a speed of transition of the light pattern output. (¶45L1-5: varying fading speeds may also be provided)
Regarding claims 11-12 and 19, the claims recites similar limitations as claims 1-2 and 9 respectively, and thus rejected in the same manner.
Claims 3-5, 8 and 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McRae/Gamberg in view of US2010/0110668A1 hereinafter “Marlonia”
Regarding claim 3, McRae/Gamberg discloses in McRae the method of claim 2,
a Christmas holiday theme, wherein the Christmas holiday theme comprises a red, green, orange, purple, blue, white, warm white, and red-green-orange-purple-blue-white warm-white combination color, and light pattern output. (McRae ¶47L1-33: holiday/switch positions; as shown in Fig.5A and Fig.5B, switch position 1 is Christmas with Red, Blue, Green and Yellow color scheme)
McRae/Gamberg does not expclitly disclose:
actuating a first of the first plurality of button displays the Christmas holiday theme.
Marlonia discloses a holiday/part light wherein a button on a remote set a pattern for the lights. (¶45L1-16: control buttons select and set the pattern; ¶46L1-16: lighting holiday message such as merry Christmas)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the remote disclosed by McRae to incorporate different setting for the different holidays as separate control buttons on the remote as disclosed by Marlonia.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the user to select the desired holiday quickly via the remote controller.
Regarding claim 4, McRae/Gamberg discloses in McRae the method of claim 2,
the predefined theme comprises a Halloween holiday theme, wherein the Halloween holiday theme comprises an orange, purple, green, and orange-purple-green combination color, and light pattern output. (McRae ¶47L1-33: holiday/switch positions; as shown in Fig.5A and Fig.5B, switch position 5 is Halloween with Orange, light purple Turquois color scheme)
McRae/Gamberg does not expclitly disclose:
actuating a first of the first plurality of button displays the Halloween holiday theme.
Marlonia discloses a holiday/part light wherein a button on a remote set a pattern for the lights. (¶45L1-16: control buttons select and set the pattern)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the remote disclosed by McRae to incorporate different setting for the different holidays as separate control buttons on the remote as disclosed by Marlonia.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the user to select the desired holiday quickly via the remote controller.
Regarding claim 5, McRae/Gamberg discloses in McRae the method of claim 2,
the predefined theme comprises a National Day holiday theme, wherein the National Day holiday theme comprises a blue, red, white, and blue-red-white combination color and light pattern output. (McRae ¶47L1-33: holiday/switch positions; as shown in Fig.5A and Fig.5B, switch position 2 is Patriotic with red, white, blue color scheme)
McRae discloses a LED string like wherein predetermined display pattern corresponding to various different holidays are used to control the lighting color. (¶187: a combination of (red, white, blue, white) corresponding to National events)
McRae/Gamberg does not expclitly disclose:
actuating a first of the first plurality of button displays the National Day holiday theme.
Marlonia discloses a holiday/part light wherein a button on a remote set a pattern for the lights. (¶45L1-16: control buttons select and set the pattern)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the remote disclosed by McRae to incorporate different setting for the different holidays as separate control buttons on the remote as disclosed by Marlonia.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the user to select the desired holiday quickly via the remote controller.
Regarding claim 8, McRae/Gamberg discloses in the method of claim 2,
McRae/Gamberg does not expclitly disclose:
the light pattern output comprises a twinkle and waves pattern output
Marlonia discloses a holiday/part light wherein the light pattern output comprises a twinkle and waves pattern output. (¶45L1-16: she stringed lights have light sequencing selected from group of wave effect)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the lighting system disclosed by McRae to incorporate the sequencing effect disclosed by Marlonia.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the system to display additional sequences for a more pleasing or festive environment.
Regarding claims 3-5, and 8, the claims recites similar limitations as claims 13-15 and 18 respectively, and thus rejected in the same manner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845