DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is in response to amendments filed on 12/24/2025.
Claims 1-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments in response to the previous claim objections for claims 1-14 and 18-20 have been considered and obvious most objection, however claims 4 and 14 remain objected to because of the following informality:
2. Claims 4 and 14 recite “an activation request of the NSSI”. Although these limitations are understood to refer to an activation request to activate the NSSI, Applicant is urged to specify this in the claim language by amending the claims to recite “an activation request to activate the NSSI” in order to avoid ambiguity regarding what is intended by the request being “of” of NSSI.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments in response to the previously raised rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been considered and obviate most previous objection, however claims 6, 10, 16 and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, for the following reasons:
3. Claims 6 and 16 recite instances of “the EMS” and “the MFs”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for both of these limitations in the claims. It is noted that an element management system (EMS) and a managed function (MF) are introduced in claims 5 and 15, however claims 6 and 16 do not depend from claims 5 and 15 and therefore these recitations in claims 5 and 15 do not provide support for the limitations in claims 6 and 16.
For purposes of examination, “the EMS” and “the MFs” in claims 6 and 16 are interpreted as referring to an element management system (EMS) and a managed function (MF), respectively.
4. Claims 10 and 20 recite “managing NSSI” in the preamble of the claims and introduce “one NSSI” in the identifying limitation of these claims. It is unclear whether references to “the NSSI” in the subsequent limitations of these claims are intended to refer to the managed NSSI recited in the preamble, the one NSSI recited in the identifying limitation, or whether each of these recitations are intended to refer to the same NSSI.
For purposes of examination, NSSI throughout the claims are interpreted as referring to any NSSI of the system.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previously applied references not teaching or suggesting the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the newly applied Kim reference for teaching the amended feature specifying activation of a constituent while other constituents are maintained deactivated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 8, 9, 11-13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over or Yaliniz et al. (US 2019/0223055) in view of Kim (US 2019/0342809).
Regarding claim 1, Bor Yaliniz teaches a method of operating a management node in a wireless communication system with a network slicing environment, comprising:
deactivating constituents of a lower-level entity (Pre-conditions An NSSI has already been created and it is inactive, [0012]) shared by multiple higher-level entities (Such NSSI may or may not be shared, [0200]), wherein the multiple higher-level entities comprise a first entity and at least one second entity (A shared NSSI refers to an NSSI for which there are other services deployed thereon, [0200]);
based on the first entity, among the multiple higher-level entities, being activated (the 3GPP entity 2103 may send 2252 a request to the NSMF 1201 to activate the NSI. In some examples, the NSI is automatically activated, [0272] the NSMF 1201 activates 2651 the NSI, [0316]), receiving an activation request to activate the shared lower-level entity (the NSSMF 1202 receives 1751 an activation request from the 3GPP entity 1301. In response thereto, the NSSMF 1202 activates 1752 the NSSI (if not already active), [0205]; NSI activation may include any actions that make the NSI active to provide communication services. NSI activation may trigger NSSI activation, [0319]); and
in response to the activation request being received, activating a first constituent related to the first entity among the constituents of the shared lower-level entity (In some examples, such activation may comprise activation of the constituents of the NSSI, including without limitation, VNFs, NFs and/or NSSIs, [0205]; The NSMF 1201 identifies any inactive NSSIs associated with the NSI and sends messages 2721 to the NSSMF 1202 to have the NSSMF 1202 activate the NSSI, [0321]).
However, although Bor Yaliniz teaches management and configuration including activation of NSSI constituents, Bor Yaliniz does not explicitly disclose maintaining deactivation of a second constituent related to the at least one second entity among the constituents of the shared lower-level entity.
Kim teaches maintaining deactivation of a second constituent related to at least one second entity among constituents of a shared lower-level entity (a network function management entity that manages the activation operation of network functions or network sub-functions, [0088]; one network function may include a plurality of network sub-functions (NSFs). Also, dynamic control of the NSF unit may be performed. For example, control such as activation and deactivation of packet header compression NSF existing in the PDCP network function or packet combining/segmentation/reordering/retransmission NSF existing in the RLC network function may be possible according to used scenario, service requirements, and data types, [0089]; the CU may perform an activation or deactivation control operation in a sub-functional unit of each network function. For example, a packet combining and segmentation portion of the RLC network function may be set as the sub-function, and whether the corresponding sub-function is activated may be determined and controlled, [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable activation of specific sub-functions in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz as suggested by Kim in order to further refine configuration and management of network sub slice components. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because selectively activating only particular network functions would provide for more efficient use of network resources.
Regarding claim 2, Bor Yaliniz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the activation request comprises:
based on the multiple higher-level entities being managed by different second management nodes (the NSMF 1201 may establish openness with other network management entities, such as subscribing to updates on remaining capacity and/or obtaining interfaces for access to information. The NSMF 1021 may receive the NSI or related request(s) from the CSMF or another NSMF 1201, [0234]; NSMF 1201 may determine NSI and non-3GPP requirements by querying 2332a and 2332b its constituent management entities 2105 (and to other NSMFs (not shown) about their capabilities, [0288]), receiving the activation request from a management node which manages one or more activated higher-level entities among the second management nodes (the NSSMF 1202 may itself receive a request 1244 to reserve resources for use by the NSMF 1201, [0152]).
Regarding claim 3, Bor Yaliniz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the activation request comprises:
based on multi-level entities comprising the multiple higher-level entities and the lower-level entity being managed by the management node (association information with the corresponding NSI for the NSSI(s) that the NSSMF 1202 may use to differentiate traffic, [0156]), detecting occurrence of the activation request inside the management node (Such triggers 1810 may include, without limitation, an internal and/or external timer alarm 1811 indicating that the NSSI is to be activated, which may in some examples, be an activateNssiTime( ) function and/or a TimerDone( ) function, [0210]).
Regarding claim 8, Bor Yaliniz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein activating comprises,
activating the shared lower-level entity (In response thereto, the NSSMF 1202 activates 1752 the NSSI, [0205]; the NSMF 1201 receives responses 2722 that indicate that the NSSI(s) ha(ve) been activate, [0322]) for an activated entity set among the multiple higher-level entities (once the NSI has been activated, the NSMF 1201 sends 2253 a network slice activation notice to the 3GPP entity 2101, [0272]; NSI activation may include any actions that make the NSI active to provide communication services. NSI activation may trigger NSSI activation, [0319]); and
deactivating the shared lower-level entity (De-activation 1145 is initiated by a trigger 1910 that is generated or received. Such triggers 1910 may include, without limitation, an internal and/or external timer alarm 1911 indicating that the NSSI is to be de-activated, [0217]) for another deactivated entity set among the multiple higher-level entities (NSI de-activation includes any actions that make the NSI inactive and not providing any communication services. NSI de-activation may trigger NSSI de-activation to de-activate constituent NSSI(s) that are not used by other NSI(s), [0343]).
Regarding claim 9, Bor Yaliniz teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
as one or more of the multiple higher-level entities are deactivated (NSI de-activation includes any actions that make the NSI inactive and not providing any communication services, [0343]), receiving a deactivation request to deactivate the shared lower-level entity (a request 1912 from the 3GPP entity 1301 to de-activate the NSSI, [0217]; If a de-activation request 2912 was received, the NSMF 1201 sends 2961 a response, [0357]); and
in response to the deactivation request, deactivating the shared lower-level entity for the one or more deactivated higher-level entities (NSI de-activation may trigger NSSI de-activation to de-activate constituent NSSI(s) that are not used by other NSI(s), [0343]).
Regarding claim 11, Bor Yaliniz teaches a management node in a wireless communication system with a network slicing environment, comprising:
a transceiver; and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, connected to the transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
deactivate constituents of a lower-level entity (Pre-conditions An NSSI has already been created and it is inactive, [0012]) shared by multiple higher-level entities (Such NSSI may or may not be shared, [0200]), wherein the multiple higher-level entities comprise a first entity and at least one second entity (A shared NSSI refers to an NSSI for which there are other services deployed thereon, [0200]);
based on the first entity, among the multiple higher-level entities, being activated (the 3GPP entity 2103 may send 2252 a request to the NSMF 1201 to activate the NSI. In some examples, the NSI is automatically activated, [0272]; the NSMF 1201 activates 2651 the NSI, [0316]), receive an activation request to activate the shared lower-level entity (the NSSMF 1202 receives 1751 an activation request from the 3GPP entity 1301. In response thereto, the NSSMF 1202 activates 1752 the NSSI (if not already active), [0205]; NSI activation may include any actions that make the NSI active to provide communication services. NSI activation may trigger NSSI activation, [0319]); and
in response to the activation request being received, activate a first constituent related to the first entity among the constituents of the shared lower-level entity (In some examples, such activation may comprise activation of the constituents of the NSSI, including without limitation, VNFs, NFs and/or NSSIs, [0205]; The NSMF 1201 identifies any inactive NSSIs associated with the NSI and sends messages 2721 to the NSSMF 1202 to have the NSSMF 1202 activate the NSSI, [0321]).
However, although Bor Yaliniz teaches management and configuration including activation of NSSI constituents, Bor Yaliniz does not explicitly disclose maintaining deactivation of a second constituent related to the at least one second entity among the constituents of the shared lower-level entity.
Kim teaches maintaining deactivation of a second constituent related to at least one second entity among constituents of a shared lower-level entity (a network function management entity that manages the activation operation of network functions or network sub-functions, [0088]; one network function may include a plurality of network sub-functions (NSFs). Also, dynamic control of the NSF unit may be performed. For example, control such as activation and deactivation of packet header compression NSF existing in the PDCP network function or packet combining/segmentation/reordering/retransmission NSF existing in the RLC network function may be possible according to used scenario, service requirements, and data types, [0089]; the CU may perform an activation or deactivation control operation in a sub-functional unit of each network function. For example, a packet combining and segmentation portion of the RLC network function may be set as the sub-function, and whether the corresponding sub-function is activated may be determined and controlled, [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable activation of specific sub-functions in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz as suggested by Kim in order to further refine configuration and management of network sub slice components. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because selectively activating only particular network functions would provide for more efficient use of network resources.
Regarding claim 12, Bor Yaliniz teaches the management node of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
based on the multiple higher-level entities being managed by different second management nodes (the NSMF 1201 may establish openness with other network management entities, such as subscribing to updates on remaining capacity and/or obtaining interfaces for access to information. The NSMF 1021 may receive the NSI or related request(s) from the CSMF or another NSMF 1201, [0234]; NSMF 1201 may determine NSI and non-3GPP requirements by querying 2332a and 2332b its constituent management entities 2105 (and to other NSMFs (not shown) about their capabilities, [0288]), receive the activation request from a management node configured to manage one or more activated higher-level entities among the second management nodes (the NSSMF 1202 may itself receive a request 1244 to reserve resources for use by the NSMF 1201, [0152]).
Regarding claim 13, Bor Yaliniz teaches the management node of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
based on multi-level entities comprising the multiple higher-level entities and the lower-level entity being managed by the management node (association information with the corresponding NSI for the NSSI(s) that the NSSMF 1202 may use to differentiate traffic, [0156]), detect occurrence of the activation request inside the management node (Such triggers 1810 may include, without limitation, an internal and/or external timer alarm 1811 indicating that the NSSI is to be activated, which may in some examples, be an activateNssiTime( ) function and/or a TimerDone( ) function, [0210]).
Regarding claim 18, Bor Yaliniz teaches the management node of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
activate the shared lower-level entity (In response thereto, the NSSMF 1202 activates 1752 the NSSI, [0205]; the NSMF 1201 receives responses 2722 that indicate that the NSSI(s) ha(ve) been activate, [0322]) only for an activated entity set among the multiple higher-level entities (once the NSI has been activated, the NSMF 1201 sends 2253 a network slice activation notice to the 3GPP entity 2101, [0272]; NSI activation may include any actions that make the NSI active to provide communication services. NSI activation may trigger NSSI activation, [0319]), and
deactivate the shared lower-level entity (De-activation 1145 is initiated by a trigger 1910 that is generated or received. Such triggers 1910 may include, without limitation, an internal and/or external timer alarm 1911 indicating that the NSSI is to be de-activated, [0217]) for other deactivated entity set among the multiple higher-level entities (NSI de-activation includes any actions that make the NSI inactive and not providing any communication services. NSI de-activation may trigger NSSI de-activation to de-activate constituent NSSI(s) that are not used by other NSI(s), [0343]).
Regarding claim 19, Bor Yaliniz teaches the management node of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
as one or more of the multiple higher-level entities are deactivated (NSI de-activation includes any actions that make the NSI inactive and not providing any communication services, [0343]), receive a deactivation request to deactivate the shared lower-level entity (a request 1912 from the 3GPP entity 1301 to de-activate the NSSI, [0217]; If a de-activation request 2912 was received, the NSMF 1201 sends 2961 a response, [0357]); and
in response to the deactivation request, deactivate the shared lower-level entity for one or more deactivated higher-level entities (NSI de-activation may trigger NSSI de-activation to de-activate constituent NSSI(s) that are not used by other NSI(s), [0343]).
7. Claims 4-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bor Yaliniz-Kim in view of Fang (US 2020/0228405).
Regarding claim 4, Bor Yaliniz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the management node comprises a network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) configured to manage a network slice subnet instance (NSSI) including the lower-level entity, and wherein:
receiving the activation request comprises receiving, at the NSSMF, from a network slice management function (NSMF) which manages network slice instances (NSIs) including the multiple higher-level entities, an activation request of the NSSI for a specific NSI of the NSIs (the NSSMF 1202 receives 1751 an activation request from the 3GPP entity 1301, [0205]; such activation may comprise commissioning of the NSSIs, [0316]; NSI activation may trigger NSSI activation, [0319]; the NSSMF 1202 may itself receive a request 1244 to reserve resources for use by the NSMF 1201, [0152]), and
activating comprises activating, at the NSSMF, the NSSI shared by the NSIs for the specific NSI (In response thereto, the NSSMF 1202 activates 1752 the NSSI, [0205]; the NSMF 1201 receives responses 2722 that indicate that the NSSI(s) ha(ve) been activate, [0322]).
However, Bor Yaliniz-Kim do not explicitly disclose partially activating the NSSI.
Fang teaches partially activating a NSSI shared by NSIs for a specific NSI (the network slice subnet instantiation request further includes a deployment area of the network slice subnet instance, and the network service instantiation request further includes the deployment area of the network slice subnet instance, [0060]; The network slice subnet instance may not need to provide a complete end-to-end network service. The network slice subnet instance may be a set of network functions of a same equipment vendor in the network slice instance, or may be a set of network functions classified based on domains, for example, a network slice subnet instance of a core network and a network slice subnet instance of an access network. A network slice subnet instance may be shared by a plurality of network slice instances, [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to instantiate sets of network functions of a network slice subnet instance in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz-Kim as suggested by Fang to optimize resource usage by only activating network functions necessary to meet specific requirements of activated NSIs. One would be motivated to combine these teachings and to utilize an element management system for orchestrating the management of individual network functions within an NSSI to facilitate automated provisioning and dynamic scalability.
Regarding claim 5, Bor Yaliniz-Kim do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 4, wherein partially activating, at the NSSMF, the NSSI shared by the NSIs for the specific NSI comprises transmitting, by the NSSMF, a managed function (MF) activation request for the specific NSI to an element management system (EMS) which manages MFs, to allow the EMS to configure some of the MFs as an MF to activate for the specific NSI in response to the MF activation request.
Fang teaches wherein partially activating, at a NSSMF, the NSSI shared by the NSIs for the specific NSI comprises:
transmitting, by the NSSMF, a managed function (MF) activation request for the specific NSI to an element management system (EMS) which manages MFs (sending, by the network slice subnet management function entity, a service configuration request to an element management system corresponding to the network slice subnet management function entity, where the service configuration request includes the service configuration requirement information, [0041]; a network function is customized and tailored, and a corresponding network function is orchestrated and managed, [0085]; sends the service configuration requirement information 1 to an EMS 1 corresponding to the NSSMF, [0149]), to allow the EMS to configure some of the MFs as an MF to activate for the specific NSI in response to the MF activation request (An element management system (EMS) is an element management system of a network function, and is configured to deliver service configuration of the network function to the network function, [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to instantiate sets of network functions of a network slice subnet instance in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz-Kim as suggested by Fang to optimize resource usage by only activating network functions necessary to meet specific requirements of activated NSIs. One would be motivated to combine these teachings and to utilize an element management system for orchestrating the management of individual network functions within an NSSI to facilitate automated provisioning and dynamic scalability.
Regarding 6, Bor Yaliniz-Kim do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 4, wherein partially activating, at the NSSMF, the NSSI shared by the NSIs for the specific NSI comprises transmitting, by the NSSMF, an MF configuration request for the specific NSI to the EMS which manages the MFs, to allow the EMS to configure an MF for the specific NSI by missing some of the MFs in response to the MF configuration request.
Fang teaches wherein partially activating, at the NSSMF, the NSSI shared by the NSIs for the specific NSI comprises:
transmitting, by the NSSMF, an MF configuration request for the specific NSI to the EMS which manages the MFs (sending, by the network slice subnet management function entity, a service configuration request to an element management system corresponding to the network slice subnet management function entity, where the service configuration request includes the service configuration requirement information, [0041]; a network function is customized and tailored, and a corresponding network function is orchestrated and managed, [0085]; sends the service configuration requirement information 1 to an EMS 1 corresponding to the NSSMF, [0149]), to allow the EMS to configure an MF for the specific NSI by missing some of the MFs in response to the MF configuration request (An element management system (EMS) is an element management system of a network function, and is configured to deliver service configuration of the network function to the network function, [0098]; the network slice template further includes a service configuration file, and the service configuration file is used for service configuration of the network function, to implement a service function or some service functions, [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to instantiate sets of network functions of a network slice subnet instance in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz-Kim as suggested by Fang to optimize resource usage by only activating network functions necessary to meet specific requirements of activated NSIs. One would be motivated to combine these teachings and to utilize an element management system for orchestrating the management of individual network functions within an NSSI to facilitate automated provisioning and dynamic scalability.
Regarding claim 7, Bor Yaliniz teaches the method of claim 4, wherein partially activating, at the NSSMF, the NSSI shared by the NSIs for the specific NSI comprises:
transmitting, by the NSSMF, a network reconfiguration request for enabling network communication related to the specific NSI to a network controller (NSI modification in the operation phase may include several work flows, including, without limitation, changes in NSI capacity, changes in NSI topology and/or NSI reconfiguration. NSI modification can be triggered, without limitation, by receiving new NSI-related requirements, by receiving new communication service requirements and/or automatically as a result of NSI supervision. NSI modification may trigger NSSI modification, [0327]), to allow the network controller to reconfigure a network in response to the network reconfiguration request (The NSSMF 1202 completes 1742 the preparation of the network environment by finalizing the reservations, updating policy, on-boarding any additional functions and/or any other configurations. In some examples, this may include preparations by the constituent management entities 1205 that are triggered by signal flows 1743, 1744, 1745 from the NSSMF 1202, [0202]).
Regarding claim 14, Bor Yaliniz teaches the management node of claim 11, wherein the management node comprises a network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) configured to manage a network slice subnet instance (NSSI) including the lower-level entity, and
wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
receive from a network slice management function (NSMF) configured to manage network slice instances (NSIs) including the multiple higher-level entities, an activation request of the NSSI for a specific NSI of the NSIs (the NSSMF 1202 receives 1751 an activation request from the 3GPP entity 1301, [0205]; such activation may comprise commissioning of the NSSIs, [0316]; NSI activation may trigger NSSI activation, [0319]; the NSSMF 1202 may itself receive a request 1244 to reserve resources for use by the NSMF 1201, [0152]), and
activate the NSSI shared by the NSIs for the specific NSI (In response thereto, the NSSMF 1202 activates 1752 the NSSI, [0205]; the NSMF 1201 receives responses 2722 that indicate that the NSSI(s) ha(ve) been activate, [0322]).
However, Bor Yaliniz-Kim do not explicitly disclose partially activating the NSSI.
Fang teaches at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
partially activate a NSSI shared by NSIs for a specific NSI (the network slice subnet instantiation request further includes a deployment area of the network slice subnet instance, and the network service instantiation request further includes the deployment area of the network slice subnet instance, [0060]; The network slice subnet instance may not need to provide a complete end-to-end network service. The network slice subnet instance may be a set of network functions of a same equipment vendor in the network slice instance, or may be a set of network functions classified based on domains, for example, a network slice subnet instance of a core network and a network slice subnet instance of an access network. A network slice subnet instance may be shared by a plurality of network slice instances, [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to instantiate sets of network functions of a network slice subnet instance in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz-Kim as suggested by Fang to optimize resource usage by only activating network functions necessary to meet specific requirements of activated NSIs. One would be motivated to combine these teachings and to utilize an element management system for orchestrating the management of individual network functions within an NSSI to facilitate automated provisioning and dynamic scalability.
Regarding claim 15, Bor Yaliniz-Kim do not explicitly disclose the management node of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to control the management node to transmit a managed function (MF) activation request for the specific NSI to an element management system (EMS) configured to manage MFs, to allow the EMS to configure some of the MFs as an MF to activate the specific NSI in response to the MF activation request.
Fang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
control a management node to transmit a managed function (MF) activation request for the specific NSI to an element management system (EMS) configured to manage MFs (sending, by the network slice subnet management function entity, a service configuration request to an element management system corresponding to the network slice subnet management function entity, where the service configuration request includes the service configuration requirement information, [0041]; a network function is customized and tailored, and a corresponding network function is orchestrated and managed, [0085]; sends the service configuration requirement information 1 to an EMS 1 corresponding to the NSSMF, [0149]), to allow the EMS to configure some of the MFs as an MF to activate for the specific NSI in response to the MF activation request (An element management system (EMS) is an element management system of a network function, and is configured to deliver service configuration of the network function to the network function, [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to instantiate sets of network functions of a network slice subnet instance in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz-Kim as suggested by Fang to optimize resource usage by only activating network functions necessary to meet specific requirements of activated NSIs. One would be motivated to combine these teachings and to utilize an element management system for orchestrating the management of individual network functions within an NSSI to facilitate automated provisioning and dynamic scalability.
Regarding claim 16, Bor Yaliniz-Kim do not explicitly disclose the management node of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to control the management node to transmit an MF configuration request for the specific NSI to the EMS which manages the MFs, to allow the EMS to configure an MF for the specific NSI by missing some of the MFs in response to the MF configuration request.
Fang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
control the management node to transmit an MF configuration request for the specific NSI to the EMS which manages the MFs (sending, by the network slice subnet management function entity, a service configuration request to an element management system corresponding to the network slice subnet management function entity, where the service configuration request includes the service configuration requirement information, [0041]; a network function is customized and tailored, and a corresponding network function is orchestrated and managed, [0085]; sends the service configuration requirement information 1 to an EMS 1 corresponding to the NSSMF, [0149]), to allow the EMS to configure an MF for the specific NSI by missing some of the MFs in response to the MF configuration request (An element management system (EMS) is an element management system of a network function, and is configured to deliver service configuration of the network function to the network function, [0098]; the network slice template further includes a service configuration file, and the service configuration file is used for service configuration of the network function, to implement a service function or some service functions, [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to instantiate sets of network functions of a network slice subnet instance in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz-Kim as suggested by Fang to optimize resource usage by only activating network functions necessary to meet specific requirements of activated NSIs. One would be motivated to combine these teachings and to utilize an element management system for orchestrating the management of individual network functions within an NSSI to facilitate automated provisioning and dynamic scalability.
Regarding claim 17, Bor Yaliniz teaches the management node of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to:
control the management node to transmit a network reconfiguration request for enabling network communication related to the specific NSI to a network controller (NSI modification in the operation phase may include several work flows, including, without limitation, changes in NSI capacity, changes in NSI topology and/or NSI reconfiguration. NSI modification can be triggered, without limitation, by receiving new NSI-related requirements, by receiving new communication service requirements and/or automatically as a result of NSI supervision. NSI modification may trigger NSSI modification, [0327]), to allow the network controller to reconfigure a network in response to the network reconfiguration request (The NSSMF 1202 completes 1742 the preparation of the network environment by finalizing the reservations, updating policy, on-boarding any additional functions and/or any other configurations. In some examples, this may include preparations by the constituent management entities 1205 that are triggered by signal flows 1743, 1744, 1745 from the NSSMF 1202, [0202]).
8. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bor Yaliniz-Kim in view of Katsalis et al. (US 2021/0044482).
Regarding claim 10, Bor Yaliniz teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the management node comprises NSSMF for managing NSSI including the shared lower-level entity, and
deactivating comprises:
deactivating the NSSI based on the NSIs all being deactivated (the NSMF 1201 may receive a message 2932 confirming that the NSSI(s) ha(ve) been de-activated, [0346]); and
maintaining the NSSI in an active state based on the NSIs not all being deactivated (NSSMF receives response indicating that NSSI constituents and TN part are deactivated or not deactivated for some reasons, e.g. share constituents cannot be deactivated, [0013]).
However, Bor Yaliniz-Kim do not explicitly disclose identifying at the NSSMF whether NSIs sharing one NSSI are all deactivated.
Katsalis teaches identifying at a NSSMF whether NSIs sharing one NSSI are all deactivated (The associated TN-NSSIs are deactivated (if they are not shared with another active NSI). [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure a NSSI shared with another active NSI is not deactivated in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz-Kim as suggested by Katsalis given the teachings of Bor Yaliniz that shared constituents cannot be deactivated. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because one would recognize that in order to not deactivate a shared NSSI with an active NSI and disrupt operations, there would have to be a determination of the presence of another active NSI.
Regarding claim 20, Bor Yaliniz teaches the management node of claim 19, wherein the management node comprises NSSMF for managing NSSI which is the shared lower-level entity, and
wherein the at least one processor is configured, individually and/or collectively, to,
deactivate the NSSI based on the NSIs all being deactivated (the NSMF 1201 may receive a message 2932 confirming that the NSSI(s) ha(ve) been de-activated, [0346]), and
maintain the NSSI in an active state based on the NSIs not all being deactivated (NSSMF receives response indicating that NSSI constituents and TN part are deactivated or not deactivated for some reasons, e.g. share constituents cannot be deactivated, [0013]).
However, Bor Yaliniz-Kim do not explicitly disclose identifying whether NSIs which are the multiple higher-level entities sharing one NSSI are all deactivated.
Katsalis teaches identify whether NSIs which are multiple higher-level entities sharing one NSSI are all deactivated (The associated TN-NSSIs are deactivated (if they are not shared with another active NSI). [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure a NSSI shared with another active NSI is not deactivated in the system/method of Bor Yaliniz-Kim as suggested by Katsalis given the teachings of Bor Yaliniz that shared constituents cannot be deactivated. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because one would recognize that in order to not deactivate a shared NSSI with an active NSI and disrupt operations, there would have to be a determination of the presence of another active NSI.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shi et al. US 2018/0027575 – activate and deactivate temporary shared resources.
Wei et al. US 2019/0141589 – partial resource activation commands for shared resources.
Fendt et al. US 2022/0200874 – selective feasibility checks for a subset at an NSSI level.
Luo et al. US 2022/0286196 – resource configurations activated or deactivated for a subset of resources.
Zhou et al. US 2022/0394718 – deactivation of shared resources in a mobile network.
Chou US 2023/0129575 – resource allocation and activation/deactivation configurations for slice subnets.
Liu et al. US 2023/0209507 – activate or deactivate a subset of a plurality of shared resources.
Ibrahim et al. US 2024/0056148 – activating a set of shared resources at a subnet level.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MADHU WOOLCOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/MADHU WOOLCOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451