DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10-12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolukbasi (US 2009/0206202), Prebil et al. (US 2015/0053333 A1), hereinafter Prebil, and Hovey Jr. (US 2005/0252161 A1), hereinafter Hovey.
(claim 1 amended; the office maintained the rejection and mapped it to the amendment)
Regarding claim 1, Bolukbasi discloses a stanchion for an aircraft (40, Fig. 5), comprising:
a first composite body defining a first channel having a first web extending between a first pair of spaced apart flanges (Examiner notes the body of a first instance of stanchion 40 in Fig. 5 defining the channel clearly depicted in Fig. 6 having web 40a extending between a pair of spaced apart flanges 40b),
wherein the first composite body includes a first plurality of longitudinal segments each having a ply count that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the first plurality of longitudinal segments (Examiner notes a first instance of the plurality of longitudinal segments making up the first body, i.e., groups 48 and 50, Fig. 8, §§ [0038]-[0039], each segment having a ply count, i.e., multiple plies 46, that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the plurality, e.g., ply drop-offs), but does not appear to disclose wherein the stanchion specifically comprises:
a second composite body defining a second channel having a second web extending between a second pair of flanges, wherein the second composite body includes a second plurality of longitudinal segments each having a ply that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the second plurality of longitudinal segments, and wherein the first composite body is fixed relative to the second composite body; and a plurality of fasteners extend through the first web and the second web directly securing the first web to the second web in a back-to-back configuration, wherein the first web directly engages and connects to the second web.
However, Prebil teaches a method for fabricating composite parts including an I-shaped composite stiffened member configured to support framework in an aircraft fuselage, (Fig. 23, §[0114]), comprising:
a first composite body (2303, Fig. 23) and
a second composite body (2304, Fig. 23),
each composite body defining respective first and second channels having a respective first web and second web extending between a respective first pair of flanges and second pair of flanges (§[0114], composite material 2303 [and 2304] may be formed into a U-shape, i.e., the U-shape defining a channel having a web extending between a pair of flanges),
wherein the first composite body and the second composite body each include a plurality of longitudinal segments each having a ply that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the second plurality of longitudinal segments (Examiner notes the respective composite bodies may have ply additions, ply drops, ramp ups, ramp downs as is evidenced by at least §[0160], and further notes each composite body comprises the longitudinal segments as claimed as is evidenced by at least Fig. 23 and §§ [0121]-[0122], the addition of ply 2308 and ply 2312 to the I-shaped composite part),
wherein the first composite body is fixed relative to the second composite body in a back-to-back configuration, wherein the first web directly engages and connects to the second web and is directly secured to the second web (as is evidenced by at least §[0119]: [0119] As inclined sleeve 2301 and composite material 2303 move in direction 2318, composite material 2303 may be formed to contact side 2328 and side 2330 of second face 2316. And, as the office previously noted, the first composite body 2303 is fixed relative to the second composite body 2304, as is evidenced by at least Fig. 23 and §[0114], Composite filler 2306, composite ply 2308, composite filler 2310, and composite ply 2312 may be positioned relative to composite material 2303 and composite material 2304 to form an I-shaped composite part; the office additionally notes Fig. 24, §[0123]: two u shape tooling channels or inclined sleeves 2301 and 2400 are used with a first die and a second die in a continuous compression molding machine to compress 2303 and 2304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion for an aircraft disclosed by Bolukbasi with the method for fabricating composite parts including an I-shaped composite stiffened member configured to support framework in an aircraft fuselage as taught by Prebil, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the stanchion comprises a second composite body (e.g., a duplicate of the first composite body, i.e., defining a second channel having a second web extending between a second pair of flanges, wherein the second composite body includes a second plurality of longitudinal segments each having a ply that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the second plurality of longitudinal segments), and wherein the first composite body is fixed relative to the second composite body, specifically as taught by Prebil and detailed above (i.e., with a first web and a second web directly secured in a back to back configuration, so that the first web directly engages and connects to the second web). The benefit being creating a stanchion for a particular aircraft that is long lasting and light weight, effectively designed for the particular needs of the intended aircraft and mission the stanchion is intended to be used for, specifically by combining two or more functional components, (i.e., two u-shaped channels) directly in a back-to-back configuration and engages and connected (e.g., secured) together, via a low cost continuous method that may reduce product inconsistencies (§§[0008]-[0009], [0174]; Prebil).
While modified Prebil does not specifically disclose a plurality of fasteners extending through the first web and the second web, Hovey teaches a structural beam in a similar field of endeavor (10, Fig. 3), specifically comprising a first c-beam 12 and second c-beam 14 fastened back to back to create an I-beam configuration (§[0046]) with a plurality of fasteners extending through the first web and the second web (series of fasteners 36, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion disclosed by modified Bolukbasi with the plurality of fasteners extending through a first web and a second web as taught by Hovey, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the stanchion comprises the plurality of fasteners extending through the first web and the second web, strengthening the direct securement. The benefit being the predictable outcome of uniformly transferring loads throughout the structure in which the stanchion is configured to support (Hovey, §[00489]).
(claim 4 canceled)
(claim 6 was not amended; original rejection maintained)
Regarding claim 6, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 1, wherein the first composite body is longitudinally offset from the second composite body (Examiner notes the first composite body is positioned relative the second composite body, positioning that naturally comprises a longitudinal offset by definition, as is evidenced by Prebil, Fig. 23 and §[0114], Composite filler 2306, composite ply 2308, composite filler 2310, and composite ply 2312 may be positioned relative to composite material 2303 and composite material 2304 to form an I-shaped composite part).
(claim 7 was not amended; original rejection maintained)
Regarding claim 7, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 6, wherein the first web includes a first attachment surface facing away from the first channel (Examiner notes the surface of the channel formed by 2303, Prebil, Fig. 23).
(claim 8 was not amended; original rejection maintained)
Regarding claim 8, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 6, wherein the second web includes a second attachment surface facing away from the second channel (Examiner notes the surface of the channel formed by 2304, Prebil, Fig. 23).
(claim 9 withdrawn)
(claim 10 was amended; new grounds of rejection)
Regarding claim 10, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 1, wherein the first web and the first pair of flanges are a unitary structure having a C-shaped cross section (the office notes the c-channel formed from composite material 2303, Bolukbasi, Fig. 23) and the first web includes a first surface facing into the first channel (the office notes the surface of the first web formed from molding the composite material 2303 against inclined sleeve 2301 having face 2314, specifically the web face formed by and facing into the channel of 2303 is a first surface – additionally the web face formed by and facing out of the channel of 2303 is a second surface; see §[0115]) and a second surface (the office notes this second surface is directly engaging and in contact with the second web formed from composite material 2304; see at least §[0115] in claim 1 rejection above and Fig. 23)
(claim 11 was amended; new grounds of rejection)
Regarding claim 11, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 10, wherein the second web and the second pair of flanges are a unitary structure having a C-shaped cross section (the office notes the c-channel formed from composite material 2304, Bolukbasi, Fig. 23) and the second web includes a first surface facing into the second channel (the office notes the surface of the second web formed from molding the composite material 2304 against an inclined sleeve having a face, specifically the web face formed by and facing into the channel of 2304 is a first surface of the second web– additionally the web face formed by and facing out of the channel of 2304 is a second surface of the second web; see §[0115]) and a second surface directly engaging and in contact with the first web (the office notes this second surface of the second web is directly engaging and in contact with the first web formed from composite material 2303; see at least §[0115] in claim 1 rejection above and Fig. 23)
(claim 12 was not amended; original rejection maintained)
Regarding claim 12, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 1, wherein the first composite body is bonded to the second composite body (Examiner notes bonding is evidenced by the co-curing of the polymeric component of the matrix resin in the disclosed method of fabricating composite parts, §[0070]).
(claim 22 amended, new grounds of rejection)
Regarding claim 22, Bolukbasi discloses a stanchion for an aircraft comprising:
a composite body defining a channel having a web extending between a pair of spaced apart flanges (Examiner notes the body of stanchion 40 in Fig. 5 defining the channel clearly depicted in Fig. 6 having web 40a extending between a pair of spaced apart flanges 40b, using composites as detailed in the Abstract),
wherein the composite body includes a plurality of longitudinal segments each having a ply count that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the plurality of longitudinal segments (Examiner notes the plurality of longitudinal segments making up the body, i.e., groups 48 and 50, Fig. 8, §§ [0038]-[0039], each segment having a ply count, i.e., multiple plies 46, that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the plurality, e.g., ply drop-offs), but does not appear to disclose wherein the stanchion specifically comprises:
two of the disclosed composite bodies, wherein the first composite body is fixed relative to the second composite body, wherein the first web directly engages and connects to the second web; and a stiffening plate attached to one of the first pair of flanges with a first fastener and attached to a corresponding one of the second pair of flanges with a second fastener.
However, Prebil teaches a method for fabricating composite parts including stanchion for an aircraft, (Fig. 23, §[0114]; Abstract), comprising:
a first composite body comprising a first web (2303, Fig. 23; the office notes the first web as detailed in the rejection of claim 10), and
a second composite body comprising a web (2304, Fig. 23; the office notes the second web as detailed in the rejection of claim 10),
each composite body defining respective first and second channels having the respective first web and second web extending between a respective first pair of flanges and second pair of flanges (§[0114], composite material 2303 [and 2304] may be formed into a U-shape, i.e., the U-shape defining a channel having a web extending between a pair of flanges),
wherein the first web directly engages and connects to the second web (as is evidenced by at least §[0119], §[0114], Fig. 24, §[0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion for an aircraft disclosed by Bolukbasi with the method for fabricating composite parts including a stanchion as taught by Prebil, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the stanchion comprises two of the disclosed composite bodies, and the first composite body is fixed relative to the second composite body, so the first web directly engage and connects to the second web; specifically as taught by Prebil and detailed above. The benefit being creating a stanchion for a particular aircraft that is long lasting and light weight, effectively designed for the particular needs of the intended aircraft and mission the stanchion is intended to be used for, specifically by combining two or more functional components, (i.e., two u-shaped channels) so that the first web directly engages and connects to the second web via a low cost continuous method that may reduce product inconsistencies (§§[0008]-[0009], [0174]; Prebil).
While modified Prebil does not specifically disclose a plurality of fasteners extending through the first web and the second web;
Hovey teaches a structural beam in a similar field of endeavor (10, Fig. 3), specifically comprising a first c-beam 12 and second c-beam 14 fastened back to back to create an I-beam configuration (§[0046]) with a plurality of fasteners extending through the first web and the second web (series of fasteners 36, Fig. 3);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion disclosed by modified Bolukbasi with the plurality of fasteners extending through a first web and a second web as taught by Hovey, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the stanchion comprises the plurality of fasteners extending through the first web and the second web, strengthening the direct securement. The benefit being the predictable outcome of uniformly transferring loads throughout the structure in which the stanchion is configured to support (Hovey, §[00489]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolukbasi modified by Prebil and Hovey, as applied to claim 1, and further, in view of Reese et al. (US 5,993,934), hereinafter Reese.
(claims 2-3 were not amended; original rejections maintained)
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 1, including a ply lay-up arrangement (Fig. 8 for example), but does not appear to specifically disclose the specific arrangement wherein the ply count for each of the first plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about a central longitudinal segment of the first plurality of longitudinal segments, and/or wherein the ply count for each of the second plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about a central longitudinal segment of the second plurality of longitudinal segments.
However, Reese teaches a near zero coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) laminate in the same field of endeavor including a quasi-isotropic and balanced ply lay-up arrangement, i.e., wherein the ply count for each of a first plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about a central longitudinal segment of the first plurality of longitudinal segments (see Figs. 3 and 8), and/or wherein the ply count for each of the second plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about a central longitudinal segment of the second plurality of longitudinal segments (see Figs. 3 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion disclosed by modified Bolukbasi with the quasi-isotropic and balanced ply lay-up arrangement as taught by Reese, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the ply count for each of the first plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about the central longitudinal segment of the first plurality of longitudinal segments, and/or wherein the ply count for each of the second plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about the central longitudinal segment of the second plurality of longitudinal segments. The benefit being a near zero CTE stanchion that is capable of maintaining dimensional stability within severe thermal environments (col. 2, ln. 23).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolukbasi as modified by Prebil and Hovey, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Cochrane (US 2,664,740); Independent claim 13 is likewise rejected in light of Bolukbasi, Prebil, Hovey and Cochrane, as are claims 17 and 21 which depend from 13.
(claim 5 was not amended; new grounds of rejection as it depends from amended claim 1)
Regarding claim 5, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose a stiffening plate attached to one of the first pair of flanges with a first fastener and attached to a corresponding one of the second pair of flanges with a second fastener.
However, Cochrane teaches a method for supporting a structure in a similar field of endeavor (Fig. 4) including a stiffening plate attached to one of a first pair of flanges belonging to a first c-shaped body (tie plate 12) with a first fastener (cross bolts 13) and attached to a corresponding one of a second pair of flanges belonging to a second c-shaped body with a second fastener (cross bolts 13); (the office notes the tie plate 12 attached to adjacent end flanges 11 of channel posts 7 with cross bolts 13; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion disclosed by modified Bolukbasi with the stiffening plate attached to one of a first pair of flanges with the first fastener and attached to a corresponding one of a second pair of flanges with the second fastener, as taught by Cochrane, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the stanchion comprises the stiffening plate attached to one of the first pair of flanges with the first fastener and attached to a corresponding one of the second pair of flanges with the second fastener. The benefit being an effective securement between the first body and the second body that is easy to assemble (Cochrane, para (28)).
(claim 13 was amended, new grounds of rejection)
Regarding claim 13, Bolukbasi discloses a fuselage segment (Fig. 5), comprising:
a plurality of ribs extending in a circumferential direction (fuselage frames 36, Fig. 5);
a plurality of stringers extending in a longitudinal direction and in engagement with the plurality of ribs (Examiner notes a plurality of stringers 38 best depicted in Fig. 4 extending in a longitudinal direction and in engagement with the plurality of ribs 36);
a plurality of floor beams extending laterally between corresponding segments of the plurality of ribs (32, Fig. 4); and
a plurality of stanchions extending between one of the plurality of floor beams and a corresponding one of the plurality of ribs (40, Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of stanchions include:
a first composite body defining a first channel having a first web extending between a first pair of flanges (Examiner notes the body of a first instance of stanchion 40 in Fig. 5 defining the channel clearly depicted in Fig. 6 having web 40a, Fig. 6 extending between a pair of spaced apart flanges 40b, Fig. 6),
wherein the first composite body includes a first plurality of longitudinal segments each having a ply count that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the first plurality of longitudinal segments (Examiner notes a first instance of the plurality of longitudinal segments making up the first body, i.e., groups 48 and 50, Fig. 8, §§ [0038]-[0039], each segment having a ply count, i.e., multiple plies 46, that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the plurality, e.g., ply drop-offs); and
a second composite body defining a second channel having a second web extending between a second pair of flanges (Examiner notes the body of a second instance of stanchion 40 in Fig. 5 defining the channel clearly depicted in Fig. 6 having web 40a, Fig. 6 extending between a pair of spaced apart flanges 40b, Fig. 6),
wherein the second composite body includes a second plurality of longitudinal segments each having a ply that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the second plurality of longitudinal segments (Examiner notes a first instance of the plurality of longitudinal segments making up the first body, i.e., groups 48 and 50, Fig. 8, §§ [0038]-[0039], each segment having a ply count, i.e., multiple plies 46, that varies between adjacent longitudinal segments of the plurality, e.g., ply drop-offs) and
the first composite body is fixed relative to the second composite body (Examiner notes the first body is fixed relative to the second, see Fig. 5).
(Regarding claim 13 continued…) Bolukbasi does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each stanchion of the plurality of stanchions include the first composite body and the second composite body, the first composite body fixed relative to the second composite body, wherein the first web directly engages and connects to the second web; and a stiffening plate attached to one of the first pair of flanges with a first fastener and attached to a corresponding one of the second pair of flanges with a second fastener.
However, Prebil teaches a method for fabricating composite parts including an I-shaped composite stiffened member configured to support framework in an aircraft fuselage, which (Fig. 23, §[0114]), comprises
a first composite body (2303, Fig. 23) and
a second composite body (2304, Fig. 23),
each composite body defining respective first and second channels having a respective first web and second web extending between a respective first pair of flanges and second pair of flanges (§[0114], composite material 2303 [and 2304] may be formed into a U-shape, i.e., the U-shape defining a channel having a web extending between a pair of flanges),
wherein the first composite body is fixed relative to the second composite body in a back-to-back configuration, wherein the first web directly engages and connects to the second web and is directly secured to the second web (as is evidenced by at least §[0119]: [0119] As inclined sleeve 2301 and composite material 2303 move in direction 2318, composite material 2303 may be formed to contact side 2328 and side 2330 of second face 2316. And, as the office previously noted, the first composite body 2303 is fixed relative to the second composite body 2304, as is evidenced by at least Fig. 23 and §[0114], Composite filler 2306, composite ply 2308, composite filler 2310, and composite ply 2312 may be positioned relative to composite material 2303 and composite material 2304 to form an I-shaped composite part; the office additionally notes Fig. 24, §[0123]: two u shape tooling channels or inclined sleeves 2301 and 2400 are used with a first die and a second die in a continuous compression molding machine to compress 2303 and 2304 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion for an aircraft disclosed by Bolukbasi with the method for fabricating composite parts including an I-shaped composite stiffened member configured to support framework in an aircraft fuselage segment as taught by Prebil, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that each stanchion of the plurality of stanchions include the first composite body and the second composite body, the first composite body fixed relative to the second composite body, wherein the first web directly engages and connects to the second web, specifically as taught by Prebil and detailed above. The benefit being creating a stanchion for a particular aircraft that is long lasting and light weight, effectively designed for the particular needs of the intended aircraft and mission the stanchion is intended to be used for, specifically by combining two or more functional components, (i.e., two u-shaped channels) directly in a back-to-back configuration and engaged and connected (e.g., secured) together, via a low cost continuous method that may reduce product inconsistencies (§§[0008]-[0009], [0174]; Prebil).
While modified Prebil does not specifically disclose a stiffening plate attached to one of the first pair of flanges with a first fastener and attached to a corresponding one of the second pair of flanges with a second fastener;
Cochrane teaches a method for supporting a structure in a similar field of endeavor (Fig. 4) including a stiffening plate attached to one of a first pair of flanges belonging to a first c-shaped body (tie plate 12) with a first fastener (cross bolts 13) and attached to a corresponding one of a second pair of flanges belonging to a second c-shaped body with a second fastener (cross bolts 13); (the office notes the tie plate 12 attached to adjacent end flanges 11 of channel posts 7 with cross bolts 13; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion disclosed by modified Bolukbasi with the stiffening plate attached to one of a first pair of flanges with the first fastener and attached to a corresponding one of a second pair of flanges with the second fastener, as taught by Cochrane, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the stanchion comprises the stiffening plate attached to one of the first pair of flanges with the first fastener and attached to a corresponding one of the second pair of flanges with the second fastener. The benefit being an effective securement between the first body and the second body that is easy to assemble (Cochrane, para (28)).
(claim 15 canceled)
(claim 16 withdrawn)
(claim 17 amended; new grounds of rejection)
Regarding claim 17, modified Bolukbasi discloses the fuselage segment of claim 13, wherein the first web and the first pair of spaced apart flanges are a unitary structure having a C-shaped cross section (Prebil, 2303, Fig. 23) and the first web includes a first surface facing into the first channel (Fig. 23; as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above) and a second surface directly engaging and in contact with the second web (Fig. 23; as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above)
wherein the second web and the second pair of spaced apart flanges are a unitary structure having a C-shaped cross section (Prebil, 2304, Fig. 23) and the second web includes a first surface facing into the second channel (Fig. 23; as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above) and a second surface directly engaging and in contact with the first web (Fig. 23; as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above).
(claims 18-20 withdrawn)
(claim 21 not amended; maintained original rejection, as it depends from amended claim 13)
Regarding claim 21, modified Bolukbasi discloses the fuselage segment of claim 13, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of stanchions further includes a plurality of fasteners extending through the first web and the second web.
However, Cochrane teaches a plurality of fasteners extend through the first web of a first body and the second web of a second body (cross bolts 9, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the fuselage segment disclosed by modified Bolukbasi with the plurality of fasteners extending through a first web and a second web (cross bolts 9, Fig. 4) as taught by Cochrane, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the fuselage segment comprises the plurality of fasteners extending through the first web and the second web. The benefit being the predictable outcome reinforcing the connection between the webs of the first and second bodies of the fuselage segment.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolukbasi a modified by Prebil, Hovey, Cochrane as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Reese.
(claim 14 not amended, original rejection maintained as it depends from amended claim 13)
Regarding claim 14, modified Bolukbasi discloses the stanchion of claim 13, including a ply lay-up arrangement (Fig. 8 for example), but does not appear to specifically disclose the specific arrangement wherein the ply count for each of the first plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about a central longitudinal segment of the first plurality of longitudinal segments, and the ply count for each of the second plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about a central longitudinal segment of the second plurality of longitudinal segments.
However, Reese teaches a near zero coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) laminate in the same field of endeavor including a quasi-isotropic and balanced ply lay-up arrangement, i.e., wherein the ply count for each of a plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about a central longitudinal segment of the plurality of longitudinal segments (see Figs. 3 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the stanchion disclosed by modified Bolukbasi with the quasi-isotropic and balanced ply lay-up arrangement as taught by Reese, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that the ply count for each of the first plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about the central longitudinal segment of the first plurality of longitudinal segments, and the ply count for each of the second plurality of longitudinal segments is symmetric about the central longitudinal segment of the second plurality of longitudinal segments. The benefit being a near zero CTE stanchion that is capable of maintaining dimensional stability within severe thermal environments (col. 2, ln. 23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/25/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the arguments with respect to claims 13 and 22, the arguments are moot as a new grounds of rejection is asserted here within. See details in the above rejection of claims 13 and 22.
Regarding the argument with respect to the rejections of claim 1, the arguments are not persuasive. Specifically, on page 2, paragraph 2: the office asserts Prebil teaches first and second webs directly secured in a back-to-back configuration, wherein the first web directly engages and connects to the second web. See details in the above rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.D.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642