DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Non-Final Office action is in reply to the amendments/remarks filed on 02 October 2025
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2-3, 7, 10-24 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tai et al (US 2023/0334492 A1) in view of Aman (US 20190043281 A1) in view of Arnson (US 2020/0319757 A1) in view of Phillips (US 2015/0009233 A1).
Claim 1: Tai discloses a computerized method for electronic generation of a commemorative item, the method comprising (see [0182]):
electronically communicating with a ticketing service (see [0189] Sales service 1510 can be used to interface with a buyer 1514 purchasing a ticket. Sales service 1510 can interface with sales campaign service 1508 to execute ticket sales in accordance with the configuration of the sales campaign.) and receiving ticketing information including at least one user identity that associates a user with an event and the user with a purchase of a ticket for the user to attend said event (see [0211]: recording a purchase of an event ticket based at least in part on context data associated with at least one of the user or the seller at block 1705. For example, the sales service 1510 or payment service 1502 illustrated in FIG. 15 may determine a blockchain of the plurality of blockchains (e.g., blockchain A 1530 or blockchain B 1540) for recording the purchase of the event ticket based at least in part based on the context data associated with at least one of the buyer or the seller. As described above, context data can include, but is not limited to, user data, preference data determined from the user data (e.g., seller preference data, buyer preference data, etc.), transaction trend data determined from user data and/or transaction data, asset data (e.g., associated with the NFT), blockchain data, which can be used to determine one or more suitable blockchains for holding NFTs, social connection data, expiration time, or the like. In some cases, the context data may provide information about the event, such as a type of event, a headline artist, a team, an event title, a time and/or place where the event takes place. [0214]: the smart contract can define that an NFT will be transferred to the buyer 1514 upon satisfaction of some event, such as redeeming the ticket at the venue. For example, an NFT can be issued for a virtual or physical item when the buyer 1514 redeems the ticket at the venue.);
electronically communicating with the ticketing service to verify the user has the ticket for the event and that the user attended said event using said ticket as recognized via the ticketing service (see [0214]: for example, the sales service 1510 can verify that the ticket was redeemed by a particular user account holding the ticket. [0215]: In another example, the memorabilia might not be available to purchase until after the ticket has been redeemed to enter the event. In this way, the ticket provider can ensure that memorabilia is only available to the ticket holders that actually attended the event. Memorabilia can be a commemorative physical ticket [0049]);
via at least one graphics processing engine, generating an electronic representation of the commemorative item associated with the event based on the verifying the user as having a ticket for event and the user having attended said event using said ticket (see [0214]: In another example of a condition, the smart contract can define that an NFT will be transferred to the buyer 1514 upon satisfaction of some event, such as redeeming the ticket at the venue. For example, an NFT can be issued for a virtual or physical item when the buyer 1514 redeems the ticket at the venue. [0218]: Examples of memorabilia that may be purchased after an event has occurred may be any item of memorabilia, but especially memorabilia that can be associated with an NFT, e.g., a commemorative ticket (digital or physical), a tour t-shirt, a recording of the event, and so forth)
communicating with a shipping device for providing the physical version of the commemorative item to the user (see [0225]: In some examples, a proof of the transfer could be a link to a shipping tracking resource that shows that the memorabilia has shipped or has been delivered to the buyer. The proof of the transfer associated with the NFT establishes that the buyer 1514 is in possession of the memorabilia and the NFT establishes the buyer's 1514 ownership of the memorabilia.).
Tai discloses at [0060]: In some examples, the payment service can provide a payment service application 104 to one or more computing devices 105, 106. That is, the computing devices 105, 106 can have an instance of the payment service application 104 executing thereon. The payment service application 104 can enable users, such as the buyer 114 and the seller 116, to access services of the payment service. Tai does not expressly disclose the sales service as an application but Aman which also discloses a system and method of verification of venue/event tickets, teaches electronically communicating with an application to verify the purchaser of a ticket and attendance at venue with the ticket (see [0146] Still referring to FIG. 10, assuming that the ticket is authentic, the next step is to determine if the “ticket verifies?” and therefore that the ticket number is valid for the guest 1/app ID. There are at least two ways of performing this check including: 1) having the venue app 2a make an online connection with the venue database 40a to verify that the received tickets coincide with the purchaser/guest 1 and/or the app ID, and 2) having the venue app 2a decrypt the ticket number using the hidden app ID as a key, where the decrypted ticket number must then for example match a particular format or include an embedded code, where for example the embedded code is, or is relatable to, the authentication code. Regardless of the method, once the ticket number is validated, it is added to an “internal ticket list” maintained by the venue app 2a. [0148]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of verifying purchase and attendance of the user of Tai, an application for verifying the purchaser and attendance at the venue as taught by Aman because it would provide instant ticket verification (Aman, [0033]).
Tai and Aman do not expressly disclose electronically communicating with an event tracking computing system and acquiring event data relating to the event; wherein the commemorative item includes at least part of the event data printed thereon and communicating with a manufacturing device for generating a physical version of the commemorative item but Arson in the same field of endeavor teaches, electronically communicating with an event tracking computing system and acquiring event data relating to the event; wherein the commemorative item includes at least part of the event data printed thereon and communicating with a manufacturing device for generating a physical version of the commemorative item (see [0048]: If the system is able to identify the event, the system may next communicate with one or more databases to retrieve information relating to the event (220 in FIG. 3). [0050]: Another optional step shown in FIG. 2 may be to allow the user to select information to display on the commemorative ticket (235 in FIG. 3). This may allow a user to customize their commemorative ticket with information such as statistics relating to their favorite player for the game).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the commemorative ticket of Tai as modified by Aman, electronically communicating with an event tracking computing system and acquiring event data relating to the event; wherein the commemorative item includes at least part of the event data printed thereon and communicating with a manufacturing device for generating a physical version of the commemorative item as taught by Arnson in order to provide a “customized commemorative ticket for a user” (Arnson, [0004]).
Tai, Aman and Arson do not expressly disclose via a mobile computing device, presenting at least one augmented reality display based on a video capture of the physical version of the commemorative item, wherein the augmented reality display includes content associated with the event and is visible within the video capture of the physical version of the commemorative item but Phillips teaches, via a mobile computing device, presenting at least one augmented reality display based on a video capture of the physical version of the commemorative item, wherein the augmented reality display includes content associated with the event and is visible within the video capture of the physical version of the commemorative item (see [0021-0022]: For example, a consumer may have a personal connection with a greeting card, "I Love Grandma" cup, a concert ticket, an event souvenir, or the like. [0062-63]: In another aspect, producer 102 may be a company hosting a motocross event at a stadium or other sports event facility. Such producer 102 may wish to share content related to a motocross event with spectators present at the event. Content sharing may occur during the event in real-time, on a predetermined schedule, sporadically, or after the fact. Such content may include a highlight reel, interviews, advertisements for upcoming events, and the like. [0070] In an aspect, producer 102 is a business, such as a sports event facility management company. Physical asset 304 may be a t-shirt wherein the marker portion 306 is an image of motocross bikes. Consumer 104 may access content related to t-shirt physical asset 304 via scanning the t-shirt with an on-board camera associated with a consumer computing device 106). [0095] Consumer may download the augmented reality experience application 804 onto mobile device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tai, Aman, and Arson with the method and system of presenting at least one augmented reality display based on a video capture of the physical version of the commemorative item, wherein the augmented reality display includes content associated with the event and is visible within the video capture of the physical version of the commemorative item via a mobile computing device as taught by Phillips because it would encourage utilization of augmented reality experience and facilitate content sharing (Phillips, [0023], [0044]).
Claim 4: The combination of Tai, Aman, Arnson and Phillips discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Arnson further teaches, determining a group hosting or otherwise associated with the event, the group having at least one logo; and inserting the at least one logo on the commemorative item (see Fig. 8).
Claim 5: The combination of Tai, Aman, Arnson and Phillips discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Arnson further teaches, wherein the event is a sporting event and the event data includes a plurality of statistics of event gameplay (see [0055]: one or more pieces of statistical data related to a player who played at the event). Phillips further teaches, the augmented reality display includes highlights from the sporting event (see [0063]: highlight reel).
Claim 6: The combination of Tai, Aman, Arnson and Phillips discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 5 above. Arnson further teaches wherein the physical version of the commemorative item mirrors a physical ticket to the sporting event having at least of portion of the event data printed thereon (see [0049] According to one configuration, the system 100 may retrieve information relating to the unique event, and then automatically generate and print a commemorative ticket 225. ).
Claim 8: The combination of Tai Aman, Arnson and Phillips discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Phillips further teaches providing to the user an augmented reality application for execution on the mobile computing device by the user; and transmitting the content associated with the event to the mobile computing device for the augmented reality display thereon (see [0095]).
Claim 9: The combination of Tai, Aman, Arnson and Phillips discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Tai further teaches, wherein the physical version of the commemorative item is not available without verified attendance at said event (See [0215]: In another example, the memorabilia might not be available to purchase until after the ticket has been redeemed to enter the event. In this way, the ticket provider can ensure that memorabilia is only available to the ticket holders that actually attended the event. Memorabilia can be a commemorative physical ticket [0049]). Arson further teaches presenting to the user, via a consumer interface, a plurality of versions of the commemorative items; and receiving a user selection of at least one of the plurality of versions of the commemorative items such that the physical version of the commemorative item is generated based thereon (see [0050]: Another optional step shown in FIG. 2 may be to allow the user to select information to display on the commemorative ticket (235 in FIG. 3). This may allow a user to customize their commemorative ticket with information such as statistics relating to their favorite player for the game, their favorite photographs taken during the game (including photographs of the gameplay and/or photographs taken of themselves), etc. After the optional customizing steps 227, 230, 235 are completed, the system may then generate and print the commemorative ticket as described above (225 in FIG. 3). As part of the optional steps, the system in some configurations may selectively display to the user, on the user interface 102, photographs having data associated with the customer's specific location in the stadium for the event, such as a specific section of the stadium displayed in the photograph, specific seats of the stadium displayed in the photograph, and/or a specific section of the stadium from which the photograph was taken.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejections of claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
MAAME BALLOU
Examiner
Art Unit 3629
/MAAME BALLOU/Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/ANDREW B WHITAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629