DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5-29-2024, 3-19-2025 and 3-24-2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 1-14, many of the claims use the phrase “irradiating an electromagnetic wave”. The common meaning of irradiating would then mean exposing an electromagnetic wave to radiation, which makes the claim unclear as to what is actually occurring. Examiner suggests the phrase “irradiating” be replace with “transmitting” or “radiating” or something similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
An invention is patent-eligible if it claims a “new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.” 35 U.S.C. § 101. However, the Supreme Court has long interpreted 35 U.S.C. § 101 to include implicit exceptions: “[l]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas” are not patentable. E.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Banklnt’l, 573 U.S. 208, 216(2014).
In determining whether a claim falls within an excluded category, we are guided by the Supreme Court’s two-step framework, described in Mayo and Alice. Id. at 217—18 (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 75—77 (2012)).
Step 1 – Statutory Category
Claim 1 is directed towards a series of mathematical steps and is therefore a process.
Step 2A, Prong One — Recitation of Judicial Exception
Step 2A of the 2019 Guidance is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One, we evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception. For abstract ideas, Prong One represents a change as compared to prior guidance because we here determine whether the claim recites mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes.
Claim 1 is directed to a method of, and computer system for, signal analysis that is accomplished through a series of mathematical operations performed by a computer. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because all claim elements, both individually and in combination, are directed to the mathematical manipulation of data by a general purpose computer.
Step 2A, Prong Two — Practical Application
If a claim recites a judicial exception, in Prong Two we next determine whether the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception by: (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application.
Claims 2-7 disclose further processing steps and signal characteristics. These additional steps are all extraneous pre-solution activity. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Step 2B — Inventive Concept
For Step 2B of the analysis, we determine whether the claim adds a specific limitation beyond the judicial exception that is not “well-understood, routine, conventional” in the field. See Memorandum.
The method recited in claims 1-7 merely uses a computer system including generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. The application of the abstract idea using generic computer components does not transform the claim into a patent-eligible application of the abstract idea and does not result in an improvement in the functioning of the computer or another technology.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayram, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0362439, published December 17, 2015 in view of Romano, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0036674, published January 31, 2019.
As per claims 1 and 8, Bayram discloses a method for measuring a state of a substance, the method comprising:
irradiating an electromagnetic wave with respect to the substance inside a closed space; receiving the electromagnetic wave (Bayram, Fig. 1 and Fig. 10, steps 1030, 1040); and performing a data processing on the electromagnetic wave received by the receiving (Bayram, Fig. 10, step 1060), wherein the irradiating wave is an electromagnetic wave (Bayram, Fig. 10, 1010).
Bayram fails to expressly disclose use of a chirp signal.
Romano teaches a chirp signal (¶113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the waveform limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claims 2 and 9, Bayram as modified by Romano discloses the method for measuring the state of the substance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the irradiating uses a circularly polarized wave as the electromagnetic wave (Romano, ¶55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use circular polarization in order to gain the benefit of providing the desired reflection signals within the container. It is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine what polarization to use.
As per claims 3, 4, 10 and 11, Bayram as modified by Romano further discloses the method for measuring the state of the substance as claimed in claim 1, wherein: chirp compression is used and the irradiating uses a chirped pulse wave generated by a multi-level chirp modulation as the electromagnetic wave, and the data processing performs a multi-level chirp compression (Romano, Fig. 8 showing multiple chirp compression levels from chirp modulated signals).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the chirps and compression limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claims 5 and 12, Bayram as modified by Romano further discloses the method for measuring the state of the substance as claimed in claim 1, wherein a radio wave absorber is provided inside the closed space (Bayram, ¶89).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have absorber within the closed space, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Bayram. Examiner notes that applicant’s specification, paragraph 97 also calls for the absorber to be outside the enclosed space.
As per claims 6 and 13, Bayram as modified by Romano further discloses the method for measuring the state of the substance as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: performing a delay process on the received electromagnetic wave between the receiving and the data processing (Bayram, ¶36 using delay for processing).
As per claims 7 and 14, Bayram as modified by Romano further discloses the method for measuring the state of the substance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the closed space is an inside of a heating furnace or an internal combustion engine (Bayram, ¶39).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646