Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant made the election of Group II, directed to the embodiment in figures 8-14, without traverse, in the response dated 06/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority date of 06/07/2019 to 62/858651is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The original disclosure does not teach a) the first rib extending from the body below and offset from the bottom surface, b) each of the male coupling components comprising a second rib extending from the body below and offset from the bottom surface, the first rib and second rib extending away from the body in opposite directions, c) each of the female coupling components comprising a recessed surface and a first tongue extending above the recessed surface, and d) each of the female coupling components comprising a second tongue extending above the recessed surface, wherein the first tongue and the second tongue are distinct from each other. This is s new matter rejection.
It is noted that portion 74 is described as coupling components incorporated from a priority application, applicant to insert such supported contents, without adding new matter, into this instant application.
Claims 1-7, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE29900982 (‘DE982) in view of Hope (4476994) or Um (6115883).
A rotatable U-shaped plastic handle 20 which can be rotated 360° around the container housing 12 is attached to two swivel joints 18 provided on the side of the container housing 12.
As shown in Figure 4, the securing element can also be designed in the form of vertical housing ribs 44, which project downwards beyond the housing 12 and can engage in corresponding recesses 46 of the housing edge 48 and thus secure the stacked containers 60, 60' against slipping in the longitudinal direction.
‘DE982 teaches a storage unit comprising a housing (46) defining an internal compartment, a bottom surface defined by the housing, a lid (22) pivotally coupled to the housing such that the lid is pivotable between an open position and a closed position covering the internal compartment; a handle (20) rotatably coupled to the housing, the handle rotating with respect to the housing; a bottom surface (72) defined by the housing, a lid (64) pivotally coupled to the housing such that the lid is pivotable between an open position and a closed position covering the internal compartment; a handle (16) rotatably coupled to the housing via the pin, the handle rotating with respect to the housing, and the bottom surface comprising coupling components configured to couple the bottom surface of the storage unit to a top surface of a second storage unit.
Regarding the new limitation that the “male coupling components configured to couple the bottom surface of the storage unit to a top surface of a second storage unit, each of the male coupling components comprising a body extending from the bottom surface and a first rib extending from the body below and offset from the bottom surface” note the male (protrusions 44) extending beyond the bottom in fig. 4
‘DE982 meets all claimed limitations except for the handle comprises a slot through which the pin extends; wherein, when the pin is located at a first position in the slot, a distal end of the handle, opposite the slot interfaces against an upper surface of the lid when the lid is in the closed position such that the handle interferes with the lid pivoting from the closed position to the open position (fig. 2); and wherein, when the pin is located at a second position of the slot distinct from the first position, the distal end of the handle extends past a rear of the lid such that the handle does not interface against the upper surface of the lid when the lid is in the closed position such that the handle does not interfere with the lid pivoting from the closed position.
Hope teaches that it is known in the art to provide a handle comprises a slot (76) through which a pin (18) extends; wherein, when the pin is located at a first position in the slot, a distal end of the handle, opposite the slot interfaces against an upper surface of the lid when the lid is in the closed position such that the handle interferes with the lid pivoting from the closed position to the open position (fig. 2 at); and wherein, when the pin is located at a second position of the slot distinct from the first position, the distal end of the handle extends past a rear of the lid such that the handle does not interface against the upper surface of the lid when the lid is in the closed position such that the handle does not interfere with the lid pivoting from the closed position (fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide handle arrangement of Hope in ‘DE982 to enable one to lock the lid on the container securely.
Then the handle slides along shaft 52 bringing circumferential member 42 into contact with the cover and fastener 50 secures the lid in a closed position.
Similarly, Um teaches that it is known in the art to provide similar handle 40 with pin and slot (56/46) for secure the lid in the closed position in figs. 5 and 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide handle arrangement of Um in ‘DE982 to enable one to lock the lid on the container securely and/or to provide support for the container in the lysing position (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, a plurality of second coupling components defined by the upper surface of the lid, the plurality of second coupling components configured to couple the upper surface of the storage unit to a bottom surface of a third storage unit (at 42).
Regarding claim 3. note the housing comprising a front wall, a back wall, and a side wall extending between the front wall and the back wall. regarding the pin extends outward from an upper portion of the side wall. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pin extends outward from an upper portion of the side wall to provide the desired placement of the handle and/or for balancing.
Regarding claim 4, note the pin is located at a position on the side wall between a lower edge of the lid and a lower edge of the sidewall when the lid is in the closed position.
Regarding claim 5, note the slot comprises a first end and a second end, and wherein the pin is located at the first end when the pin is in the first position.
Regarding claim 6, note a plurality of second coupling components defined by the upper surface of the lid, the plurality of second coupling components configured to couple the upper surface of the storage unit to a bottom surface of a third storage unit.
Regarding claim 7, note the slot comprises a first end and a second end, and wherein the pin is located at the second end when the pin is in the second position.
Regarding claim 21, note there are ribs on the other side of the container extending on opposite direction.
Regarding claim 22, note the female coupling components comprises a recessed surface and a first tongue extending above the recessed surface.
SET II:
Claims 1-7, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petruzzi (5699925) in view of Drabek (DE19749399).
Petruzzi teaches a storage unit comprising a housing defining an internal compartment; a bottom surface defined by the housing, the bottom surface comprising male coupling components (92) configured to couple the bottom surface of the storage unit to a top surface of a second storage unit, each of the male coupling components comprising a body extending from the bottom surface and a first rib (annular projection at 92 fig. 16) extending from the body below and offset from the bottom surface; a lid (14) pivotally coupled to the housing (at 42, fig. 9) such that the lid is pivotable between an open position and a closed position covering the internal compartment. Petruzzi meets all claimed limitations except for the handle.
The device can be opened via the at least one hanging eye can be easily mounted on walls. The mobile Carrying handle has the advantage that the handle when opening the Lid can be brought out of its swivel range. With the lid closed and the handle not used this can lie tight against the lid, which means that next to a space saving also an additional seal of the Lid reached by the pressure exerted by the handle can be.
A movable carrying handle 60 is also provided. The carrying handle 60 is connected to the side walls 12 , 13 via two side legs 61 . In order to keep the carrying handle 60 displaceable, the side legs 61 each have a guide slot 62 in which a guide pin connected to the side walls 12 , 13 is guided. In order to prevent the guide pins 63 from slipping out of the guide slots 62 , the guide pins 63 have a pin head which is in each case wider than the corresponding guide slot 62 .
Regarding claim 1, Drabek teaches that it is known in the art to provide a handle with a pin (63) extending from the housing, the pin defining a rotational axis, a handle (60) rotatably coupled to the housing via the pin, the handle rotating with respect to the housing about the rotational axis defined by the pin; wherein the handle comprises a slot (62) through which the pin extends; wherein, when the pin is located at a first position in the slot, a distal end of the handle, opposite the slot, interfaces against an upper surface of the lid when the lid is in the closed position such that the handle interferes with the lid pivoting from the closed position to the open position (cited above); and wherein, when the pin is located at a second position of the slot distinct from the first position, the distal end of the handle extends past a rear of the lid such that the handle does not interface against the upper surface of the lid when the lid is in the closed position such that the handle does not interfere with the lid pivoting from the closed position (note the citation that the handle can be brought out of the lid’s swivel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the handle of Drabek in Petruzzi to enable one to carry the device of Petruzzi without the interference when using with the lid.
Regarding claim 2, a plurality of second coupling components defined by the upper surface of the lid, the plurality of second coupling components configured to couple the upper surface of the storage unit to a bottom surface of a third storage unit (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3. note the housing comprising a front wall, a back wall, and a side wall extending between the front wall and the back wall. Regarding the pin extends outward from an upper portion of the side wall. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pin extends outward from an upper portion of the side wall to provide the desired placement of the handle and/or for balancing.
Regarding claim 4, note the pin is located at a position on the side wall between a lower edge of the lid and a lower edge of the sidewall when the lid is in the closed position.
Regarding claim 5, note the slot comprises a first end and a second end, and wherein the pin is located at the first end when the pin is in the first position.
Regarding claim 6, note a plurality of second coupling components defined by the upper surface of the lid, the plurality of second coupling components configured to couple the upper surface of the storage unit to a bottom surface of a third storage unit.
Regarding claim 7, note the slot comprises a first end and a second end, and wherein the pin is located at the second end when the pin is in the second position.
Regarding claim 21, note there are ribs on the male couplings extending in all directions including opposite directions.
Regarding claim 22, note there is a tongue extending annularly on the recess.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the applied DE982 reference does not teach first rib extending from the body below and offset from the bottom surface. Note the DE982 explicitly recites the ribs 44 and the ribs extends below the bottom surface, as cited above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733