DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 17, second line recites “a plurality of switches”, which should be --the plurality of switches -- because these terms were previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0134427), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) a voltage converter (figure 3, part 200) comprising: a plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228); a first conversion circuit (figure 3, part first conversion circuit generated by 211-213, 215, 221-223 and 225) connected to a voltage source (figure 3, part VIN), the first conversion circuit (figure 3, part first conversion circuit generated by 211-213, 215, 221-223 and 225) comprising a first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and a second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) connected to the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222); a second conversion circuit (figure 3, part second conversion circuit generated by 214, 216-219, 224 and 226-229) comprising a third flying capacitor (figure 3, part 229) and a fourth flying capacitor (figure 3, part 219) each being connected to an output node (figure 3, part output node at VOUT), the second conversion circuit (figure 3, part second conversion circuit generated by 214, 216-219, 224 and 226-229) being configured to output a charging current through the output node (figure 3, part output node at VOUT); and a switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) connected to the first conversion circuit (figure 3, part first conversion circuit generated by 211-213, 215, 221-223 and 225) and the second conversion circuit (figure 3, part second conversion circuit generated by 214, 216-219, 224 and 226-229), wherein the switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) is configured to control the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) to alternately (figure 6, parts 1st half cycle and 2nd half cycle) perform: a first operation (figure 6, parts 1st half cycle) that connects the first flying capacitor (figure 4, part 222) to the voltage source (figure 4, part VIN; through 221), connects the third flying capacitor (figure 4, part 229) to the first flying capacitor (figure 4, part 222; through 224) and the second flying capacitor (figure 4, part 212; through 225), and connects the second flying capacitor (figure 4, part 212; through 213) and the fourth flying capacitor to a ground (figure 4, part 219; through 218), and a second operation (figure 6, parts 2nd half cycle) that connects the first flying capacitor (figure 5, part 222; through 223) and the third flying capacitor to the ground (figure 5, part 229; through 228), connects the second flying capacitor (figure 5, part 212; through 211) to the voltage source (figure 5, part VIN), and connects the fourth flying capacitor (figure 5, part 219) to the first flying capacitor (figure 5, part 222; through 215) and the second flying capacitor (figure 5, part 212; through 214) (paragraphs [0060]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) based on the switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) controlling the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) to alternately perform the first operation (figure 6, part 1st half cycle) and the second operation (figure 6, part 2nd half cycle), the voltage source (figure 6, part VIN) is configured to generate a first input voltage having a predetermined first ratio (figure 6, part VIN = 4VOUT) with respect to a charging voltage according to the charging current (figure 3, part output node at VOUT) (paragraph [0060]; FIG. 3 illustrates a schematic diagram of a 4:1 dual-phase switched capacitor converter).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) the first conversion circuit (figure 3, part first conversion circuit generated by 211-213, 215, 221-223 and 225) further comprises: a first switch (figure 3, part 221) connected between the voltage source (figure 3, part VIN) and the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222); a second switch (figure 3, part 223) connected between the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the ground (figure 3, part ground); a third switch (figure 3, part 211) connected between the voltage source (figure 3, part VIN) and the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212); a fourth switch (figure 3, part 213) connected between the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and the ground (figure 3, part ground); a fifth switch (figure 3, part 215) connected between a point between the first switch (figure 3, part 212) and the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and a point between the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and the fourth switch (figure 3, part 213; through 214); and a sixth switch (figure 3, part 225) connected between a point between the third switch (figure 3, part 211) and the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and a point between the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the second switch (figure 3, part 223; through 224), and wherein the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) comprise the first switch (figure 3, part 221), the second switch (figure 3, part 223), the third switch (figure 3, part 211), the fourth switch (figure 3, part 213), the fifth switch (figure 3, part 215), and the sixth switch (figure 3, part 225).
Regarding claim 4, claim 18 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) are maintained at a first intermediate voltage (figure 3, part intermediate voltage at 222 and 212) having a level between the charging voltage (figure 3, part VOUT) and the first input voltage (figure 6, part VIN = 4VOUT), and wherein, based on the switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) controlling the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) to alternately perform the first operation (figure 6, part 1st half cycle) and the second operation (figure 6, part 2nd half cycle), a first intermediate current (figure 3, part intermediate current applied to 222 and 212) smaller than the charging current (figure 3, part charging current at output node at VOUT) is applied to the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) the second conversion circuit (figure 3, part second conversion circuit generated by 214, 216-219, 224 and 226-229) comprises: a seventh switch (figure 3, part 224), an eighth switch (figure 3, part 226), a ninth switch (figure 3, part 227), and a tenth switch (figure 3, part 228) connected in series between the ground (figure 3, part ground) and a first connection node (figure 3, part first connection node between 222 and 223), the first connection node (figure 3, part first connection node between 222 and 225) being between the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the sixth switch (figure 3, part 225); an eleventh switch (figure 3, part 214), a twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216), a thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217), and a fourteenth switch (figure 3, part 218) connected in series between the ground (figure 3, part ground) and a second connection node (figure 3, part second connection node between 212 and 215), the second connection node (figure 3, part second connection node between 212 and 215) being between the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and the fifth switch (figure 3, part 215); wherein the second conversion circuit (figure 3, part second conversion circuit generated by 214, 216-219, 224 and 226-229) is further configured to output the charging current (figure 3, part charging current at output node at VOUT) through the output node (figure 3, part output node at VOUT) that is commonly connected to the eighth switch (figure 3, part 226), the ninth switch (figure 3, part 227), the twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216), and the thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217), and wherein the output node (figure 3, part output node at VOUT) is between the eighth switch (figure 3, part 226) and the ninth switch (figure 3, part 227), and the output node (figure 3, part output node at VOUT) is between the twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216) and the thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217), and wherein the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) comprise the seventh switch (figure 3, part 224), the eighth switch (figure 3, part 226), the ninth switch (figure 3, part 227), the tenth switch (figure 3, part 228), the eleventh switch (figure 3, part 214), the twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216), the thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217), and the fourteenth switch (figure 3, part 218) (paragraphs [0060]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) the third flying capacitor (figure 3, part 229) is connected between a first node (figure 3, part first node between 224 and 226), the first node (figure 3, part first node between 224 and 226) being between the seventh switch (figure 3, part 224) and the eighth switch (figure 3, part 226), and a second node (figure 3, part second node between 227 and 228), the second node (figure 3, part second node between 227 and 228) being between the ninth switch (figure 3, part 227) and the tenth switch (figure 3, part 228), and wherein the fourth flying capacitor (figure 3, part 219) is connected between a third node (figure 3, part third node between 214 and 216), the third node (figure 3, part third node between 214 and 216) being between the eleventh switch (figure 3, part 214) and the twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216), and a fourth node (figure 3, part fourth node between 217 and 218), the fourth node (figure 3, part fourth node between 217 and 218) being between the thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217) and the fourteenth switch (figure 3, part 218).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) the third flying capacitor (figure 3, part 229) and the fourth flying capacitor (figure 3, part 219) are maintained at a second intermediate voltage having a level (figure 3, part second intermediate voltage at 229 and 219), which is smaller than the first intermediate voltage current (figure 3, part intermediate current applied to 222 and 212), between the charging voltage (figure 3, part VOUT) and the first input voltage (figure 6, part VIN = 4VOUT), and wherein, based on the switch controller controlling (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) to alternately perform the first operation (figure 6, part 1st half cycle) and the second operation (figure 6, part 2nd half cycle), a second intermediate current (figure 3, part second intermediate current applied to 229 and 219), which is greater than the first intermediate current (figure 3, part intermediate current applied to 222 and 212) and smaller than the charging current (figure 3, part charging current at output node at VOUT), is applied to the third flying capacitor (figure 3, part 229) and the fourth flying capacitor (figure 3, part 219).
Regarding claim 13, claim 19 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) based on the switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) controlling the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) to alternately perform the first operation (figure 6, part 1st half cycle) and the second operation (figure 6, part 2nd half cycle), a first voltage stress corresponding to the charging voltage (figure 3, part VOUT) is applied to switches that are turned off among a plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) in the second conversion circuit (figure 3, part second conversion circuit generated by 214, 216-219, 224 and 226-229).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) the first conversion circuit (figure 3, part first conversion circuit generated by 211-213, 215, 221-223 and 225) further comprises: a first switch (figure 3, part 221) connected between the voltage source (figure 3, part VIN) and the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222); a second switch (figure 3, part 223) connected between the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the third flying capacitor (figure 3, part 229; through 228); a third switch (figure 3, part 211) connected between the voltage source (figure 3, part VIN) and the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212); a fourth switch (figure 3, part 213) connected between the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and the fourth flying capacitor (figure 3, part 219; through 218); a fifth switch (figure 3, part 215) connected between a point between the first switch (figure 3, part 221) and the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and a point between the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and the fourth switch (figure 3, part 213; through 214); and a sixth switch (figure 3, part 225) connected between a point between the third switch (figure 3, part 211) and the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and a point between the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the second switch (figure 3, part 223; through 224).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) a voltage conversion circuit (figure 3, part 200) comprising: a first switch (figure 3, part 221) and a second switch (figure 3, part 223) that connected in series between a voltage source (figure 3, part VIN) and a ground (figure 3, part ground); a first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) connected between the first switch (figure 3, part 221) and the second switch (figure 3, part 223); a third switch (figure 3, part 211) and a fourth switch (figure 3, part 213) that connected in parallel with the first switch (figure 3, part 221) and the second switch (figure 3, part 223), the third switch (figure 3, part 211) and the fourth switch (figure 3, part 213) being between the voltage source (figure 3, part VIN) and the ground (figure 3, part ground); a second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) connected between the third switch (figure 3, part 211) and the fourth switch (figure 3, part 213); a fifth switch (figure 3, part 215) connected between a point between the first switch (figure 3, part 221) and the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and a point between the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and the fourth switch (figure 3, part 213; through 214); a sixth switch (figure 3, part 225) connected between a point between the third switch (figure 3, part 211) and the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and a point between the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the second switch (figure 3, part 223; through 224); a seventh switch (figure 3, part 224), an eighth switch (figure 3, part 226), a ninth switch (figure 3, part 227), and a tenth switch (figure 3, part 228) connected in series between the ground (figure 3, part ground) and a first connection node (figure 3, part first connection node between 222 and 223), the first connection node (figure 3, part first connection node between 222 and 225) being between the first flying capacitor (figure 3, part 222) and the sixth switch (figure 3, part 225); an eleventh switch (figure 3, part 214), a twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216), a thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217), and a fourteenth switch (figure 3, part 218) connected in series between the ground (figure 3, part ground) and a second connection node (figure 3, part second connection node between 212 and 215), the second connection node (figure 3, part second connection node between 212 and 215) being between the second flying capacitor (figure 3, part 212) and the fifth switch (figure 3, part 215); a third flying capacitor (figure 3, part 229) connected between a first node between the seventh switch (figure 3, part 224) and the eighth switch (figure 3, part 226) and a second node between the ninth switch (figure 3, part 227) and the tenth switch (figure 3, part 228); and a fourth flying capacitor (figure 3, part 219) connected between a third node between the eleventh switch (figure 3, part 214) and the twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216) and a fourth node between the thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217) and the fourteenth switch (figure 3, part 218), wherein a charging current is output through an output node (figure 3, part output node at VOUT) that is commonly connected to the eighth switch (figure 3, part 226), the ninth switch (figure 3, part 227), the twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216), and the thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217), and wherein the output node (figure 3, part output node at VOUT) is between the eighth switch (figure 3, part 226) and the ninth switch (figure 3, part 227), and the output node (figure 3, part output node at VOUT) is between the twelfth switch (figure 3, part 216) and the thirteenth switch (figure 3, part 217) (paragraphs [0060]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) a switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) connected to a plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228), wherein the switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) is configured to control the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) to alternately (figure 6, parts 1st half cycle and 2nd half cycle) perform: a first operation (figure 6, parts 1st half cycle) that connects the first flying capacitor (figure 4, part 222) to the voltage source (figure 4, part VIN; through 221), connects the third flying capacitor (figure 4, part 229) to the first flying capacitor (figure 4, part 222; through 224) and the second flying capacitor (figure 4, part 212; through 225), and connects the second flying capacitor (figure 4, part 212; through 213) and the fourth flying capacitor to a ground (figure 4, part 219; through 218), and a second operation (figure 6, parts 2nd half cycle) that connects the first flying capacitor (figure 5, part 222; through 223) and the third flying capacitor to the ground (figure 5, part 229; through 228), connects the second flying capacitor (figure 5, part 212; through 211) to the voltage source (figure 5, part VIN), and connects the fourth flying capacitor (figure 5, part 219) to the first flying capacitor (figure 5, part 222; through 215) and the second flying capacitor (figure 5, part 212; through 214) (paragraphs [0060]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) the switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) is further configured to: in the first operation (figure 6, parts 1st half cycle), turn on the first switch (figure 4, part 221; turn-on), the fourth switch (figure 4, part 213; turn-on), the sixth switch (figure 4, part 225; turn-on), the seventh switch (figure 4, part 224; turn-on), the ninth switch (figure 4, part 227; turn-on), the twelfth switch (figure 4, part 216; turn-on), and the fourteenth switch (figure 4, part 218; turn-on), in the first operation (figure 6, parts 1st half cycle), turn off the second switch (figure 4, part 223; turn-off), the third switch (figure 4, part 211; turn-off), the fifth switch (figure 4, part 215; turn-off), the eighth switch (figure 4, part 226; turn-off), the tenth switch (figure 4, part 228; turn-off), the eleventh switch (figure 4, part 214; turn-off), and the thirteenth switch (figure 4, part 217; turn-off), in the second operation (figure 6, parts 2nd half cycle), turn on the second switch (figure 5, part 223; turn-on), the third switch (figure 5, part 211; turn-on), the fifth switch (figure 5, part 215; turn-on), the eighth switch (figure 5, part 226; turn-on), the tenth switch (figure 5, part 228; turn-on), the eleventh switch (figure 5, part 214; turn-on), and the thirteenth switch (figure 5, part 217; turn-on), and in the second operation (figure 6, parts 2nd half cycle), turn off the first switch (figure 5, part 221; turn-off), the fourth switch (figure 5, part 213; turn-off), the sixth switch (figure 5, part 225; turn-off), the seventh switch (figure 5, part 224; turn-off), the ninth switch (figure 5, part 227; turn-off), the twelfth switch (figure 5, part 216; turn-off), and the fourteenth switch (figure 5, part 218; turn-off).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-35) the switch controller (figure 3, part switch controller [not shown] that control 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) is further configured to control the plurality of switches (figure 3, parts 211, 213-218, 221 and 223-228) to perform: the first operation (figure 6, part 1st half cycle) based on a first signal having a predetermined duty ratio (figure 6, part first signal having a predetermined duty ratio at 1st half cycle), and the second operation (figure 6, part 2nd half cycle) based on a second signal having the predetermined duty ratio and a phase opposite (figure 6, part second signal having the predetermined duty ratio at 2nd half cycle) to the first signal (figure 6, part first signal having a predetermined duty ratio at 1st half cycle).
Regarding claim 20, claim 1 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination):
Regarding claim 9, each of the plurality of switches is implemented with a transistor, wherein a source electrode of the fifth switch is connected to a source electrode of the eleventh switch, and wherein a source electrode of the sixth switch is connected to a source electrode of the seventh switch;
Regarding claim 10, the claim 10 is dependent claim of claim 9, therefore, it is objected by the same reason presented above;
Regarding claim 11, a first auxiliary switch connected between the voltage source and the third flying capacitor, the first auxiliary switch being connected between the voltage source and the eighth switch; and a second auxiliary switch connected between the voltage source and the fourth flying capacitor, the second auxiliary switch being connected between the voltage source and the twelfth switch, wherein the switch controller is configured to: turn off the first switch, the second switch, the third switch, the fourth switch, the fifth switch, the sixth switch, the seventh switch, and the eleventh switch, and control the first auxiliary switch, the second auxiliary switch, and at least some of the plurality of switches in the second conversion circuit to allow the voltage source to generate the charging voltage and a second input voltage smaller than the first input voltage;
Regarding claim 12, the first conversion circuit further comprises: a first additional switch connected between the first switch and the voltage source; a second additional switch connected between the third switch and the voltage source; a fifth flying capacitor connected between a point between the first additional switch and the first switch and a point between the fifth switch and the second connection node; and a sixth flying capacitor connected between a point between the second additional switch and the third switch and a point between the sixth switch and the first connection node, and wherein the switch controller is further configured to control the plurality of switches in the first conversion circuit and second conversion circuit to allow the voltage source to generate a third input voltage greater than the first input voltage;
In combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838