DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 11, 12 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uluag et al. (US PG Pub. 20220053175).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Uluag discloses an electronic apparatus (illustrated in fig. 1) comprising:
an image projection unit (image projectors 20, 25 of fig. 1);
a memory configured to store at least one instruction (para. 0059; computer software stored in (non-transitory) memory and executable by the processor, or by hardware, or by a combination of tangibly stored software and hardware (and tangibly stored firmware)); and
one or more processors (para. 0059) configured to, by executing the at least one instruction:
based on an image capturing (sensor 40 of fig. 1) a projection surface (surface 5 of fig. 1),
identify feature information of the projection surface (para. 0033; camera 40 may be analyzed to determine the location of any pans 10, 15 or other objects upon the surface 5),
identify a plurality of areas divided on the projection surface, based on the feature information of the projection surface (para. 0033; location of an available regions 30, 35 may be determined for displaying projected images),
identify a plurality of first format information corresponding to a plurality of images (para. 0033; available region may be a region 30, 35 that avoids the pans 10, 15 or other objects), respectively, (para. 0035; image projectors 20, 25 may be configured to project images of a variable size onto different regions 30, 35 of the surface 5 or of one or more objects placed upon the surface 5. The image projectors 20, 25 may also be configured to project images of a variable shape onto different regions 30, 35 of the surface 5 or of one or more objects placed upon the surface 5),
obtain a plurality of layout information corresponding to a plurality of screens that correspond to the plurality of images, based on the feature information of the projection surface and the plurality of first format information (para. 0033; With this information, the size and location of an available region 30, 35 may be determined for displaying projected images. The available region may be a region 30, 35 that avoids the pans 10, 15 or other objects), respectively, and
control (para. 0033; Image data output by the camera 40 may be communicated to a controller (not shown) for analysis) the image projection unit so that the plurality of images are projected based on the plurality of layout information to the plurality of areas divided on the projection surface, respectively, in a multi-view (para. 0035; image projectors 20, 25 may be configured to project images of a variable size onto different regions 30, 35 of the surface 5 or of one or more objects placed upon the surface 5. The image projectors 20, 25 may also be configured to project images of a variable shape onto different regions 30, 35 of the surface 5 or of one or more objects placed upon the surface 5).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Uluag discloses wherein the feature information (what’s on the projection surface) of the projection surface includes at least one of shape information (para. 0033; The size and configuration of each region 30, 35 is determined, at least in part, according to the location of pans 10, 15 or other objects upon the surface 5. At least one sensor 40 is provided for sensing the surface 5), structure information, size information, color information, reflectivity information, or obstacle information,
each respective first format information of the plurality of first format information includes at least one of resolution information or aspect ratio information of the corresponding image (para. 0035; he image projectors 20, 25 may also be configured to project images of a variable shape onto different regions 30, 35 of the surface 5 or of one or more objects placed upon the surface 5. The size and/or shape of an image to be projected may be adjusted to correspond with the size and/or shape of an available region 30, 35 determined by an analysis of image data output by the camera 40), and
each the respective layout information of the plurality of layout screens information includes at least one of resolution information, aspect ratio information, location information (para. 0035; image data output by the camera 40 may be analyzed regularly, with a predetermined frequency, to monitor movement of objects placed upon the surface 5 or to identify the location of objects newly placed upon the surface 5), or direction information of the corresponding screen.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Uluag discloses wherein the one or more processors (para. 0040) are configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: control the image projection unit to project user interface (UI) information indicating a placement state of the plurality of screens based on the plurality of layout information (para. 0033; With this information, the size and location of an available region 30, 35 may be determined for displaying projected images. The available region may be a region 30, 35 that avoids the pans 10, 15 or other objects), respectively, and based on the projected UI information being selected in response to a user command, provide the multi-view mode based on the plurality of layout information (para. 0040; control unit may also comprise an interface, such as a wireless communications module and various physical connectors, for receiving images to be projected by the projectors 20, 25 and any associated audio to be played through the loudspeakers).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Uluag discloses wherein the UI information includes a guide UI for adjusting at least one of size, direction, or angle of the plurality of screens (para. 0041-0044; an interface to supply the image data output by the camera 40 for analysis by an external controller. The external controller may be, for example, a controller application executing on a mobile or “smart” phone or general purpose computer operated by the user. The control unit may provide an interface to receive and to process configuration commands or configuration signals in a predetermined set of commands or signals arranged to define or change the configuration of an image projector 20, 25. A controller may thereby generate and transmit to the control unit an appropriate command or signal to select or configure one of the image projectors 20, 25, as described above. [0042] For example, the predetermined set of command may include commands to: [0043] select an image projector 20, 25 to display a defined image or video images; [0044] define the size of an image to be projected by a selected image projector 20, 25).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Uluag discloses wherein the one or more processors (para. 0040) are configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: based on a location of one of the plurality of images being selected in response to a user command (para. 0052; features as may be controlled by the sending of commands to the control unit via the provided interface), identify first format information (what’s on the projection surface) of the plurality of first format information corresponding to remaining images from among the plurality of images (para. 0033; The size and configuration of each region 30, 35 is determined, at least in part, according to the location of pans 10, 15 or other objects upon the surface 5), respectively, obtain layout information of the plurality of layout information of a screen a plurality of screens corresponding to the remaining images based on the feature information of the projection surface and the plurality of first format information (para. 0033; this information, the size and location of an available region 30, 35 may be determined for displaying projected images. The available region may be a region 30, 35 that avoids the pans 10, 15 or other objects), and control the image projection unit to provide the remaining images based on the obtained layout information (para. 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uluag et al. (US PG Pub. 20220053175) in view of Yoo et al. (US PG Pub. 20220132081).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Uluag discloses wherein the one or more processors (para. 0040) are configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: identify a plurality of loss information (shape and location) based on the plurality of first format information (para. 0033; size and configuration of each region 30 and 35 is determined at least in part according to the location of pans 10 and 15 or other objects upon the surface 5) and the plurality of second format information (aspect ratio or location of images) (para. 0035; The size and/or shape of an image to be projected may be adjusted to correspond with the size and/or shape of an available region 30, 35 determined by an analysis of image data output by the camera 40), respectively, and obtain the plurality of layout information of the plurality of screens based on the plurality of loss information, respectively (para. 0035; the image data output by the camera 40 may be analyzed regularly, with a predetermined frequency, to monitor movement of objects placed upon the surface 5 or to identify the location of objects newly placed upon the surface 5. The image projectors 20, 25 may be reconfigured to adjust the size and/or the shape of the projected images according to the determined size and/or shape of the available regions 30, 35, should any object be moved on the surface 5. That is, an available region 30, 35 may increase or decrease in size or may change in shape according to the changing positions of objects on the surface 5, or according to the addition, replacement or removal of objects such as pans 10, 15).
Uluag fails to teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: perform a keystone correction for the projection surface based on the feature information of the projection surface.
Yoo discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: perform a keystone correction for the projection surface based on the feature information of the projection surface (para. 0111; Depending on the characteristic of the area 910 onto which the screen is to be output, there may be a problem in that a user 930 viewing the screen views a distorted screen. For example, depending on the different relative distance between the area 910 to output the screen and the user 930 (in FIG. 9, as the screen is closer to a center part of the area 910 to output the screen, the distance between the user 930 and the area 910 to output the screen may be increased).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection device of Uluag with the keystone correction system of Yoo in order to project images that are easy for the user to see.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Uluag discloses wherein the one or more processors (para. 0040) are configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: identify a plurality of loss information (shape and location) based on the plurality of first format information (para. 0033; size and configuration of each region 30 and 35 is determined at least in part according to the location of pans 10 and 15 or other objects upon the surface 5) and the plurality of second format information (aspect ratio or location of images) (para. 0035; The size and/or shape of an image to be projected may be adjusted to correspond with the size and/or shape of an available region 30, 35 determined by an analysis of image data output by the camera 40), respectively, and obtain the plurality of layout information of the plurality of screens based on the plurality of loss information, respectively (para. 0035; the image data output by the camera 40 may be analyzed regularly, with a predetermined frequency, to monitor movement of objects placed upon the surface 5 or to identify the location of objects newly placed upon the surface 5. The image projectors 20, 25 may be reconfigured to adjust the size and/or the shape of the projected images according to the determined size and/or shape of the available regions 30, 35, should any object be moved on the surface 5. That is, an available region 30, 35 may increase or decrease in size or may change in shape according to the changing positions of objects on the surface 5, or according to the addition, replacement or removal of objects such as pans 10, 15).
Uluag fails to teach identifying a number of planes included in the image capturing the projection surface, identify area, direction and proportion of a projection image valid for each of the identified planes, provide a guide UI based on the identified area, direction and proportion of the valid projection image for each of the identified planes, and obtain the plurality of layout information based on a projection surface layout selected through the guide UI.
Yoo discloses identifying a number of planes included in the image capturing the projection surface (illustrated in fig. 6B), identify area, direction and proportion of a projection image valid for each of the identified planes (para. 0095; processor 430 may identify the flatness of a specific area based on the spatial information, and may determine the areas 610, 620, and 630 having the flatness that is equal to or larger than a predetermined value as the areas to display the screen to be output by the projector module 420), provide a guide UI (para. 0101; projector module 420 through selection of the areas 610, 620, and 630) based on the identified area, direction and proportion of the valid projection image for each of the identified planes, and obtain the plurality of layout information based on a projection surface layout selected through the guide UI (illustrated in fig. 7B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Uluag with the system of Yoo that identifies a number of planes in order to project an image to an area that is free from obstruction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The subject matter of claim 4 that was found to be allowable is wherein the plurality of second format information based on a similarity between the plurality of first format information and the plurality of second format information, respectively, and obtain the plurality of layout information based on second format information having a smallest loss information from among the plurality of second format information.
The subject matter of claim 5 that was found to be allowable is identify the plurality of loss information corresponding to each of resolution information and aspect ratio information included in the plurality of second format information, respectively, based on a similarity between the plurality of first format information and the plurality of second format information, respectively, identify integrated loss information based on the plurality of loss information, and identify second format information having a smallest integrated loss information from among the plurality of second format information.
The subject matter of claim 6 that was found to be allowable is wherein identify a plurality of integrated loss information corresponding to the plurality of second format information based on the plurality of first loss information and the plurality of second loss information, respectively, and identify second format information of the plurality of second format information having a smallest integrated loss information.
The subject matter of claim 14 that was found to be allowable is wherein the plurality of second format information based on a similarity between the plurality of first format information and the plurality of second format information, respectively, and obtain the plurality of layout information based on second format information having a smallest loss information from among the plurality of second format information.
The subject matter of claim 15 that was found to be allowable is identify the plurality of loss information corresponding to each of resolution information and aspect ratio information included in the plurality of second format information, respectively, based on a similarity between the plurality of first format information and the plurality of second format information, respectively, identify integrated loss information based on the plurality of loss information, and identify second format information having a smallest integrated loss information from among the plurality of second format information.
The subject matter of claim 16 that was found to be allowable is wherein identify a plurality of integrated loss information corresponding to the plurality of second format information based on the plurality of first loss information and the plurality of second loss information, respectively, and identify second format information of the plurality of second format information having a smallest integrated loss information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 31 August 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882