DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 May 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Sound Absorbing Material disposed in the opening or the notch must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komaya (JP 2022099446 A).
In regards to claim 1, Komaya discloses a rail vehicle comprising:
a seat base (200) (Fig. 6) disposed on a floor (51) of a vehicle cabin (55) and having an opening (as seen in Fig. 6, the open space below the seat) or a notch;
a seat (210) disposed facing the opening (as seen in Fig. 5) or the notch (201) (Fig. 4) of the seat base;
an exhaust air flow path (300) (Fig. 5) disposed under the floor (as seen in Fig. 5);
an exhaust port (1) (Fig. 6) formed in the floor (as seen in Fig. 6) in a manner of facing the opening (as seen in Fig. 5, the exhaust port 1 extends upwards into the opening, with open air above it) or the notch of the seat base, and configured to allow the exhaust air flow path and the inside of the vehicle cabin to communicate with each other (as seen by the arrows indicating the flow of air in Fig. 5);
a lower tube portion (110) provided on the floor and including the exhaust port (as seen in Fig. 6); and
an upper tube portion (20) disposed below the seat base and including a part of the lower tube portion (as seen in Fig. 6), wherein
a return flow path structure (as seen in Fig. 5) is formed by the lower tube portion (110), the upper tube portion (20), the seat (210), and the opening (as seen in Fig. 6, the open space below the seat 210) or the notch (201) (Fig. 4) of the seat base, and
when air flows from the inside of the vehicle cabin to the exhaust port via the return flow path structure (as seen in Fig. 5, the arrows indicate the air flowing from inside the vehicle cabin into the exhaust port), a direction of a flow passing between an outer periphery of the lower tube portion and an inner periphery of the upper tube portion is opposite to a direction of a flow passing through an inner side of the lower tube portion (see annotated Fig. 4 below. Examiner illustrates an air flow path of air that is lower than the ports 23a depicted in Fig. 4, the air lower than the ports 23a must travel upwards to gain access to the ports 23a, on the outer periphery of the lower tube 110, and then follows the arrows Fx downwards once the air enters the exhaust port as depicted in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaya (JP 2022099446 A) in view of Axakov (US 20150329027 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Komaya teaches the rail vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the seat
Komaya does not teach a seat sound absorbing member on a surface facing the opening or the notch.
Axakov teaches a seat sound absorbing member (154) (Fig. 1A) on a surface (126) facing the opening (136) or the notch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom surface of the seat of Komaya to include a seat sound absorbing member as taught by Axakov with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing noise from air moving and or vibrations (see Axakov, para. [0043], lines 11-14).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaya (JP 2022099446 A) in view of Friderich (US 20200070696 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Komaya teaches the rail vehicle according to claim 1, wherein
Komaya does not teach a sound absorbing material disposed in the opening or the notch.
Friderich teaches a sound absorbing material (22) disposed in the opening or the notch (para. [0007], the radial fans are located in a notch where the sound absorbing material 22 is located)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the seats 210 (which are disposed in both the opening below the seats and the notch 201 as seen in Fig. 1) of Komaya to include the sound absorbing material as taught by Friderich with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing noise in a cost-effective manner (para. [0007], lines 6-8).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaya (JP 2022099446 A) in view of Liu (CN 113928358 A).
In regards to claim 4, Komaya teaches the rail vehicle according to claim 1, wherein
Komaya does not teach wherein a sound absorbing material is disposed on at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of one of the lower tube portions and the upper tube portion.
Liu teaches wherein a sound absorbing material (7) is disposed on at least a part of an inner peripheral surface of one of the lower tube portions and the upper tube portion (as seen in Figs. 2, 3, sound absorbing material 7 is installed at a port 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner peripheral surfaces of one of the lower tube portion and the upper tube portion of Komaya to include the sound absorbing material as taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing noise in a simple manner (see machine translation, Liu, para. [n0008], lines 7-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach the combination of limitations as recited in claim 5, While Komaya teaches the rail vehicle according to claim 1, wherein
the seat base has a first leg portion (221) (Fig. 6), a second leg portion (223), and a top wall (225) supported by the first leg portion and the second leg portion (as seen in Fig. 6), and the opening or the notch (201) is formed in the top wall (as seen in Fig. 5),
the lower tube portion has a peripheral wall formed by a plurality of upper walls (the structural walls of the lower tube portion 110)
the upper tube portion has a peripheral wall formed by a plurality of lower walls (the structural walls of 20)
Komaya does not teach wherein the lower tube portion’s peripheral wall includes being formed with the second leg portion connected to the upper walls, and the upper tube portion’s peripheral wall is formed by the second leg portion connected to the lower walls.
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the peripheral walls of the lower and upper tube portions of Komaya to include forming the peripheral walls of each portion including the second leg portion connected to the upper and lower walls as the modifications necessary would require an improper amount of hindsight, i.e., the modifications needed would required a complete redesign of the lower and upper tube portions of Komaya. Furthermore, the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify the lower and upper tube portions of Komaya to meet the claimed limitations.
Thus, claim 5 is non-obvious in view of the prior art of record, but is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Claims 6-7 are also non-obvious in view of the prior art of record due to dependence upon claim 5, but are also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Misaki (GB 2590001 B) discloses a railcar with an air-conditioning ventilation system.
Homma (US 20220065467 A1) discloses an air conditioning system for a room with a seat, and method for air conditioning a room with a seat.
Luan (CN 111661086 A) discloses a combined system of a high-speed rail air conditioner and high-speed rail seat.
Gao (CN 111301113 A) discloses an intelligent ventilation system of carriage.
Bhatia (US 20190298072 A1) disclose a seat back and cushion ventilation assembly.
A, Jing-lei (CN 109398188 A) discloses a vehicle seat with ventilating and damping effect.
Yu (CN 108189853 A) discloses a carriage ventilation damping device for reducing noise.
Daisuke (GB 2549296 A) discloses a train comprising an air conditioning device.
Zhang (CN 103568908 A) discloses a vehicle seat ventilating filtering device and car seat.
Nakamura (WO 2008062295 A1) discloses a vehicle seat structure with a ventilation system.
Yoshida (JP 2006282061 A) discloses a railway rolling stock with an underseat ventilation system.
/JAMES WILLIAM JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615