DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s remarks received on 08/12/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been acknowledged and are moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment. Currently claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-7, 10-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momiyama (US Pub: 2021/0181653) and in further view of Shibata (US Pub: 2014/0092413) and Urasawa (US Pub: 2016/0147426).
Regarding claim 1 (currently amended), Momiyama teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for setting up an image processing apparatus that can communicate with an information processing apparatus, wherein, when installed in and executed by the information processing apparatus, the program configured to cause a processor of the information processing apparatus to [p0038]: perform network setting to connect a first image processing apparatus to the information processing apparatus via a network [p0038]; obtain, based on an import request for setting values which have been set in a second image processing apparatus, the setting values which have been set in the second image processing apparatus [p0104, p0105]; display the setting screen on which input of setting items corresponding to the obtained setting values has been made unnecessary, when accessing a connection destination indicated by the connection destination information and displaying the setting screen of the first image processing apparatus [p0107]; and set up the first image processing apparatus by setting, to the first image processing apparatus, the setting values which have been set via the setting screen [p0106, p0130, p0132].
Momiyama is lack of description on network setting for new device. In the same field of endeavor, Shibata teaches: receive, from the first image processing apparatus, connection destination information for displaying a setting screen that allows for performing predetermined setting of the first image processing apparatus connected via the network; when accessing a connection destination indicated by the connection destination information and displaying the setting screen of the first image processing apparatus [p0054-p0058, p0073, p0074, fig. 4].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to provide connection destination of a new device to a terminal to establish network connection and transmit and display necessary setting for setting up the new device.
Momiyama in view of Shibata does not hide setting items. In the same field of endeavor, Urasawa teaches: wherein the setting screen is included in a sequence of a plurality of setting screens to be displayed during setup of the first image processing apparatus, the plurality of setting screens including a plurality of input screens each configured to accept input of setting values for a plurality of setting items, and wherein, in the displaying of the setting screen for setting up the first image processing apparatus, in a case where all of a plurality of setting items of a first screen of the plurality of input screens correspond to the obtained setting values set in the second image processing apparatus, the program causes the processor to skip display of the first screen and to display a next input screen of the plurality of input screens or a confirmation screen for confirming the obtained setting values; and set up the first image processing apparatus by setting, to the first image processing apparatus, the setting values which have been set via the setting screen [p0083, p0084]. Therefore, given Momiyama’s teaching on old apparatus information is carried over to a new one and Urasawa’s disclosure on skipping already set items from a setup screen, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to apply setting item skipping to carryover setup between two printers to reduce unnecessary user input.
Regarding 2 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein, in the displaying of the setting screen, the program is configured to cause the processor to cause a Web browser installed in the information processing apparatus to access the connection destination indicated by the connection destination information, and wherein the Web browser displays the setting screen based on data obtained from the connection destination [p0054-p0058, p0121-p0123].
Regarding claim 3 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined setting is a setting related to a predetermined function of the first image processing apparatus [fig. 4].
Regarding claim 4 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the connection destination information is a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) corresponding to the setting screen generated by the first image processing apparatus [p0110, p0111, p0114].
Regarding claim 5 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the setting values include setting values of a network and setting values related to software installation [p0027, p0113, p0124].
Regarding claim 6 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 4 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein, in the connecting the first image processing apparatus to the information processing apparatus, setting of an IP address of the first image processing apparatus is accepted as a network setting, and the URL includes the IP address which has been set [p0113, p0114, p0122-p0124].
Regarding claim 7 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Momiyama and Urasawa further teach: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the setting screen is included in a sequence of a plurality of setting screens to be displayed during setup of the first image processing apparatus, wherein the plurality of setting screens includes a plurality of input screens each configured to accept input of setting values for a plurality of setting items, and wherein, in the displaying of the setting screen, in a case where all of the plurality of setting items of one of the plurality of input screens correspond to the obtained setting values, the program causes the processor to skip display of the one of the plurality of input screens and to display a subsequent setting screen in the sequence or a confirmation screen for confirming the obtained setting values. [Momiyama: p0107, p0131; Urasawa: p0083, p0084].
Claim 10 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Momiyama’s further teaching on: An information processing apparatus that can set up a first image processing apparatus in a system including the first image processing apparatus and a second image processing apparatus that can communicate with the information processing apparatus [fig. 11].
Regarding claims 11-15 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claims 10 has been incorporated herein. Claims 11-15 have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 2-6 respectively.
Regarding claim 16 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 10 has been incorporated herein. Claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 7.
Claim 19 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 10 and in further view of Momiyama and Shibata’s further teaching on: the first image processing apparatus includes one or more second controllers including one or more second processors and one or more second memories, the one or more second controllers configured to: generate a Web page for displaying the setting screen [Shibata: p0053], and transmits a URL of the Web page to the information processing apparatus as the connection destination information [Shibata: p0054], and the second image processing apparatus includes one or more third controllers including one or more third processors and one or more third memories, the one or more third controllers configured to: transmit information of the setting value which has been set in the second image processing apparatus in response to the import request [Shibata: p0043, p0044; Momiyama: p0122-p0124].
Regarding claim 20 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 19 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The system according to claim 19, wherein the first image processing apparatus includes a display unit configured to display a setting screen including settings which have been set by the information processing apparatus, and the one or more second controllers is configured to: include an object for instructing editing of the settings on the setting screen, and instruct the information processing apparatus to edit the settings in accordance with a designation of the object [p0075-p0078 (OK button)].
5. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momiyama (US Pub: 2021/0181653), Shibata (US Pub: 2014/0092413), and Urasawa (US Pub: 2016/0147426); and in further view of Takahashi et al (US Pub: 2021/0392236).
Regarding claim 8 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Momiyama in view of Shibata, and Urasawa does not specify all the input settings. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi et al teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of input screens is an input screen for accepting input of default scan settings of the first image processing apparatus, wherein the plurality of setting items of the input screen includes at least a reading size, a file format, a density, an original orientation, an original type, and a sharpness [claim 7].
Urasawa and Shibata further teach: wherein, in a case where the obtained setting values include setting values corresponding to all of the reading size, the file format, the density, the original orientation, the original type, and the sharpness, the program causes the processor to skip display of the input screen for accepting input of the default scan settings and to display the confirmation screen including the obtained setting values corresponding to the reading size, the file format, the density, the original orientation, the original type, and the sharpness [Urasawa: p0083, p0084; Shibata: p0073, p0074, p0095]. Therefore, given Momiyama’s teaching on carrying over established setting to a new printer, Takahashi et al’s scan setting options, and Urasawa’s concealing already set items from user interface, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to incorporate scan setting items from Takahashi et al in default setting as an implementation choice.
Regarding claim 17 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 10 has been incorporated herein. Claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 8.
6. Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momiyama (US Pub: 2021/0181653), Shibata (US Pub: 2014/0092413), and Urasawa (US Pub: 2016/0147426); and in further view of JP194’ (JP Pub: 6456194) and Nogawa (US Pub: 2021/0224004).
Regarding claim 9 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Momiyama in view of Shibata, and Urasawa does not specify mail setting. In the same field of endeavor, JP194’ and Nogawa teach: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to wherein the predetermined setting includes a mail setting for a scan-to-email function of the first image processing apparatus [JP194’: page 3: p01; page 11: p05, p06], wherein the obtained setting values include a sending mail server setting, a first identification information for the sending mail server, a receiving mail server setting, and a second identification information for the receiving mail server [JP194’: page 3: p06, page 11: p06; Nogawa: p0049, p0060], and do not include password values for the sending mail server and the receiving mail server [Nogawa: p0054, p0056], wherein, in the displaying of the setting screen, the program causes the processor to display the sending mail server setting, the first identification information, the receiving mail server setting, and the second identification information in anon-editable state [Momiyama: p0107], and to display input fields for the password values for the sending mail server and the receiving mail server as blank editable input fields [Nogawa: p0054; Momiyama: p0131]. Therefore, as JP194’ teaches SMTP and POP configuration includes server information user ID, and passwords, and Nogawa teaches that password information may be omitted from imported configuration and authentication may be bypassed for simplification, it would have been obvious to combine the teaching of all to import non-password configuration while requiring password to be supplied separately for flexibility.
Regarding claim 18 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 10 has been incorporated herein. Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 9.
Conclusion
7. There is a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682