CTNF 18/677,112 CTNF 84557 DETAILED ACTION Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 2. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 3. Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momiyama (US Pub: 2021/0181653) and in further view of Manabe (JP Pub: 2018174367) and Shibata (US Pub: 2014/0092413) . Regarding claim 1 , Momiyama teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for setting up an image processing apparatus that can communicate with an information processing apparatus, wherein, when installed in and executed by the information processing apparatus, the program configured to cause a processor of the information processing apparatus to [p0038]: perform network setting to connect a first image processing apparatus to the information processing apparatus via a network [p0038]; obtain, based on an import request for setting values which have been set in a second image processing apparatus, the setting values which have been set in the second image processing apparatus [p0104, p0105]; display the setting screen on which input of setting items corresponding to the obtained setting values has been made unnecessary, when accessing a connection destination indicated by the connection destination information and displaying the setting screen of the first image processing apparatus [p0107]; and set up the first image processing apparatus by setting, to the first image processing apparatus, the setting values which have been set via the setting screen [p0106, p0130, p0132]. Momiyama is lack of description on network setting for new device. In the same field of endeavor, Manabe and Shibata teaches: receive, from the first image processing apparatus, connection destination information for displaying a setting screen that allows for performing predetermined setting of the first image processing apparatus connected via the network [Manabe: abstract]; when accessing a connection destination indicated by the connection destination information and displaying the setting screen of the first image processing apparatus [Shibata: p0062, p0063, fig. 4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to provide connection destination of a new device to a terminal to establish network connection and transmit and display necessary setting for setting up the new device. Regarding 2 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein, in the displaying of the setting screen, the program is configured to cause the processor to cause a Web browser installed in the information processing apparatus to access the connection destination indicated by the connection destination information, and wherein the Web browser displays the setting screen based on data obtained from the connection destination [p0054-p0058, p0121-p0123]. Regarding claim 3 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined setting is a setting related to a predetermined function of the first image processing apparatus [fig. 4]. Regarding claim 4 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the connection destination information is a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) corresponding to the setting screen generated by the first image processing apparatus [p0110, p0111, p0114]. Regarding claim 5 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the setting values include setting values of a network and setting values related to software installation [p0027, p0113, p0124]. Regarding claim 6 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 4 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein, in the connecting the first image processing apparatus to the information processing apparatus, setting of an IP address of the first image processing apparatus is accepted as a network setting, and the URL includes the IP address which has been set [p0113, p0114, p0122-p0124]. Regarding claim 7 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Momiyama and Shibata further teach: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein, in the displaying of the setting screen, a setting value input field of a setting item that does not correspond to the obtained setting value is displayed as a blank [Momiyama: p0107, p0131; Shibata: fig. 4 (Folder Name is blank.)]. Regarding claim 8 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Momiyama further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein in the displaying of the setting screen, the setting screen of the predetermined setting is not displayed in a case where all the setting items of the predetermined setting include a setting item corresponding to the obtained setting value [p0107, p0131, p0132]. Regarding claim 9 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Momiyama teaches user selecting a setting screen to trigger import: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the import request is issued by selecting an import button included in the setting screen [p0104, p0129, p0130]. Although a specific button was not explicitly described, it would have been an obvious design choice for performing the carryover operation. Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Momiyama’s further teaching on: An information processing apparatus that can set up a first image processing apparatus in a system including the first image processing apparatus and a second image processing apparatus that can communicate with the information processing apparatus [fig. 11]. Regarding claims 11-18 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claims 10 has been incorporated herein. Claims 11-18 have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1-9 respectively. Claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 10 and in further view of Momiyama and Shibata’s further teaching on: the first image processing apparatus includes one or more second controllers including one or more second processors and one or more second memories, the one or more second controllers configured to: generate a Web page for displaying the setting screen [Shibata: p0053], and transmits a URL of the Web page to the information processing apparatus as the connection destination information [Shibata: p0054], and the second image processing apparatus includes one or more third controllers including one or more third processors and one or more third memories, the one or more third controllers configured to: transmit information of the setting value which has been set in the second image processing apparatus in response to the import request [Shibata: p0043, p0044; Momiyama: p0122-p0124]. Regarding claim 20 , the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 19 has been incorporated herein. Shibata further teaches: The system according to claim 19, wherein the first image processing apparatus includes a display unit configured to display a setting screen including settings which have been set by the information processing apparatus, and the one or more second controllers is configured to: include an object for instructing editing of the settings on the setting screen, and instruct the information processing apparatus to edit the settings in accordance with a designation of the object [p0075-p0078 (OK button)]. Contact 4. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FAN ZHANG whose telephone number is (571)270-3751. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benny Tieu can be reached on 571-272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Fan Zhang/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,112 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,112 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,112 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,112 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,112 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,112 Page 7 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,112 Page 8 Art Unit: 2682