DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Claim 21 recites that the bokeh image is generated in the next step after the image segmentation is performed. The examiner cannot agree. This limitation is nowhere to be found in claim 21. Specifically, at best, the step of generating a bokeh image is required to be performed after the image segmentation occurs since the generation of the bokeh image is “based on a result of the image segmentation”. However, this is not the same as requiring that the generation of the bokeh image occurs immediately subsequent to the image segmentation with no intermediate steps (next step).
Nakagawa clearly discloses that the step of generating the bokeh image S16 is based on the image segmentation occurring at S11 and S13. Specifically, the background and foreground are blurred according to specific magnitudes (as disclosed in paragraph [0055] cited by Applicant). This is not possible without the background and foreground being first identified.
Applicant has amended the claims to recite “in response to performing the image segmentation, generate a bokeh image…”. However, this is still taught by Nakagawa. Step S16 of Nakagawa can only be carried out after steps S11 and S13 as shown in fig. 3. The generation of the bokeh image at S16 uses the segmented background and foreground areas of steps S11 and S13 to generate the bokeh image. Therefore, step S16 is carried out “in response to S11 and S13” regardless if there are steps between S13 and S16.
In addition, even if the claims were recited in the way Applicant suggests, steps S14-S16 of Nakagawa could also be interpreted as the claimed step of “generat[ing] a bokeh image…”. In this case, as S14 occurs immediately subsequent to S13 (image segmentation), the step of generating a bokeh image occurs immediately subsequent to image segmentation.
Applicant additionally argues that the added limitation “determine, based on the command received via the input module, a blur degree for the part of the acquired image” is not taught by Nakagawa. Specifically, Applicant argues that in Nakagawa, the blur degree is controlled based on distance and not a command received via the input module. The examiner cannot agree. The distance is obtained based on the main subject selected by the user via the input unit ([0050]-[0051], [0066]). Applicant admits that in Nakagawa, the blur degree is controlled based on the distance. Therefore, the blur degree is ultimately based on a user input via the input unit as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-24, 26-27, 31-34, 36-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,022,189 in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 2018/0249090 A1) hereinafter referenced as Nakagawa.
Regarding claims 21 and 31, claim 1 of ‘189 teaches all the limitations of instant claims 21 and 31 except that a blur degree for the part of the acquired image is determined based on a command received via the input module. The second bokeh image is generated based on a result of the image segmentation which is the same as generating a bokeh image in response to the image segmentation. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide determining the blur degree based on a command received via the input module, as taught by Nakagawa.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nakagawa discloses determine, based on the command received via the input module, a blur degree for the part of the acquired image (S14; fig.3; Blur degree is obtained according to the distance information supplied from the relative distance calculating unit 32. The distance information is calculated according to the main subject specifying unit which is a user input; [0051], [0053], [0066]).
Claim 1 of ‘189 teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image. Nakagawa teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image wherein a blur degree is determined for blurring based on an input unit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Claim 1 of ‘189 by applying the technique of Nakagawa to achieve the predictable result of enhancing the bokeh effect and allowing a user to control how the bokeh effect is distributed.
Regarding claims 22 and 32, claim 1 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 21 and 31), however, claim 1 of ‘189 fails to disclose a subject area and a background area are determined from the obtained image. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Nakagawa.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nakagawa discloses wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to: determine a subject image area (S11; fig. 3) and a background area (S13; fig. 3) from the obtained image.
Claim 1 of ‘189 teaches generating a bokeh image. Nakagawa teaches generating a bokeh image by identifying a subject area and a background area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed image segmentation with subject and background segmentation to achieve the predictable result of a bokeh image.
Regarding claims 23 and 33, claim 1 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 22 and 32), however, claim 1 of ‘189 fails to disclose how the image segmentation is performed. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Nakagawa.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nakawaga discloses wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
perform the image segmentation by identifying a subject (41, 42; fig. 1) belonging to a designated subject (Person; fig. 1) for the obtained image, and
distinguish a subject image (S11; fig. 3) and a background image (S13; fig. 3) from the obtained image.
Claim 1 of ‘189 teaches generating a bokeh image. Nakagawa teaches generating a bokeh image by identifying a subject area and a background area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed image segmentation with subject and background segmentation to achieve the predictable result of a bokeh image.
Regarding claims 24 and 34, claim 1 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 23, 33), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, generate the bokeh image by blurring the part of the acquired image corresponding to the background image, based on the blur degree determined by control of the processor (S16; fig. 3).
Claim 1 of ‘189 teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image. Nakagawa teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image wherein a blur degree is determined for blurring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Claim 1 of ‘189 by applying the technique of Nakagawa to achieve the predictable result of enhancing the bokeh effect.
Regarding claims 26 and 36, claim 1 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 23, 33), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
apply an identical blur degree to the background area when generating the bokeh image such that the background area is blurred based on the blur degree (S16; fig. 3).
Claim 1 of ‘189 teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image. Nakagawa teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image wherein a blur degree is determined for blurring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Claim 1 of ‘189 by applying the technique of Nakagawa to achieve the predictable result of enhancing the bokeh effect.
Regarding claims 27 and 37, claim 1 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 23 and 33), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
determine the blur degree for each area of the acquired image by estimating distance values within the acquired image under the control of the processor (S12; [0032]-[0033], [0053]) and applying a blur degree corresponding to the estimated distance values (S16; fig. 3).
Claim 1 of ‘189 teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image. Nakagawa teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image wherein a blur degree is determined for blurring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Claim 1 of ‘189 by applying the technique of Nakagawa to achieve the predictable result of enhancing the bokeh effect.
Claims 25, 35 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,022,189 in view of Nakagawa further in view of Jung et al. (US 2006/0221197 A1) hereinafter referenced as Jung.
Regarding claims 25 and 35, claim 1 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 23 and 33), in addition, Nakagawa discloses wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
determine a degree of blur…of the background image by control of the processor (S14; fig.13).
However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose determining a processing speed of the background image. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Jung.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jung discloses determining a processing speed of [a task] (Fig. 13a-13b; 1248; The device determines if it has the processing speed to perform a certain task or not).
The combination teaches performing an image transformation from an obtained image to an image with a bokeh effect. Jung teaches determining the processing speed of an image transformation and determining whether or not the device is capable of carrying out that transformation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the combination by applying the technique of Jung to achieve the predictable result of saving resources.
Claims 28-29, 38-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,022,189 in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 2018/0249090 A1) hereinafter referenced as Nakagawa.
Regarding claims 28 and 38, claim 1 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 23, 33), in addition, claim 2 of ‘189 teaches all the limitations of instant claims 28 and 38.
Regarding claims 29 and 39, claims 1 and 2 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 28 and 38), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the designated subject comprises at least one of a face, a person, an animal, a car, or food ([0031], [0066]).
Claim 1 of ‘189 teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image based on image segmentation. Nakagawa teaches generating a bokeh image by blurring a part of an image based on image segmentation wherein segmentation is done by designating a face or person as the main subject. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Claim 1 of ‘189 by applying the technique of Nakagawa to achieve the predictable result of improving the segmentation of the image.
Claims 30 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,022,189 in view of Nakagawa.
Regarding claims 30 and 40, claim 1 of ‘189 and Nakagawa, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 21 and 31), in addition, claim 9 of ‘189 teaches all the limitations of instant claims 30 and 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 26-27, 31-34, 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa et al. (US 2018/0249090 A1) hereinafter referenced as Nakagawa.
Regarding claim 21, Nakagawa discloses
An electronic device (11; fig. 1) comprising:
a first camera (21; fig. 1);
a second camera (Instead of distance measuring unit 22 a stereo camera may be used to measure distance; [0029]; fig.1);
a processor (13; fig. 1);
an input module (manipulation unit ([0066]) configured to receive a command to be used by the processor, and
memory storing instructions that (program recording medium; [0092]), when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
obtain an image using either the first camera module or the second camera module ([0028]; Pixel array unit 21 supplies an image to the logic substrate),
perform image segmentation on the obtained image (S11, S13; fig. 3), and
in response to performing the image segmentation, generate a first bokeh image by blurring a part of the obtained image, based on a result of the image segmentation (S16; fig. 3; [0055]-[0056]; Step S16 can only be carried out after S13 is carried out as S16 uses the information generated in S13. Therefore, S16 is carried out “in response to” S13.), and
determine, based on the command received via the input module, a blur degree for the part of the acquired image (S14; fig.3; Blur degree is obtained according to the distance information supplied from the relative distance calculating unit 32. The distance information is calculated according to the main subject specifying unit which is a user input; [0051], [0053], [0066]).
Regarding claim 22, Nakagawa discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
determine a subject image area (S11; fig. 3) and a background area (S13; fig. 3) from the obtained image.
Regarding claim 23, Nakagawa discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 22), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
perform the image segmentation by identifying a subject (41, 42; fig. 1) belonging to a designated subject (Person; fig. 1) for the obtained image, and
distinguish a subject image (S11; fig. 3) and a background image (S13; fig. 3) from the obtained image.
Regarding claim 24, Nakagawa discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
generate the bokeh image by blurring the part of the acquired image corresponding to the background image based on the blur degree determined by control of the processor (S16; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, Nakagawa discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
apply an identical blur degree to the background area when generating the bokeh image, such that the background area is blurred based on the blur degree (S16; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 27, Nakagawa discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
determine the blur degree for each area of the acquired image by estimating distance values within the acquired image under the control of the processor (S12; [0032]-[0033], [0053]) and applying a blur degree corresponding to the estimated distance values (S16; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 31, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 21. Thus, claim 31 is an inherent variation of claim 21 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 21).
Regarding claim 32, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 22. Thus, claim 32 is an inherent variation of claim 22 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 22).
Regarding claim 33, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 23. Thus, claim 33 is an inherent variation of claim 23 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 23).
Regarding claim 34, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 24. Thus, claim 34 is an inherent variation of claim 24 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 24).
Regarding claim 36, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 26. Thus, claim 36 is an inherent variation of claim 26 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 26).
Regarding claim 37, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 27. Thus, claim 37 is an inherent variation of claim 27 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa in view of Jung et al. (US 2006/0221197 A1) hereinafter referenced as Jung.
Regarding claim 25, Nakagawa discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23), in addition, Nakagawa discloses wherein the instructions further cause the electronic device to:
determine a degree of blur…of the background image by control of the processor (S14; fig.13).
However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose determining a processing speed of the background image. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Jung.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jung discloses determining a processing speed of [a task] (Fig. 13a-13b; 1248; The device determines if it has the processing speed to perform a certain task or not).
The combination teaches performing an image transformation from an obtained image to an image with a bokeh effect. Jung teaches determining the processing speed of an image transformation and determining whether or not the device is capable of carrying out that transformation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the combination by applying the technique of Jung to achieve the predictable result of saving resources.
Regarding claim 35, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 25. Thus, claim 35 is an inherent variation of claim 25 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 25).
Claim(s) 28-29, 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 28, Nakagawa discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23), however, Nakagawa fails to explicitly disclose that the designated subject has been learned or designated in advance based on artificial intelligence. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Nakagawa teaches recognizing a face and a skeleton. Recognition techniques using learning AI are well-known as evidenced by the fact that Nakagawa uses this type of technology to determine the background. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute Nakagawa’s main subject recognition with an AI based recognition which uses learning to achieve the predictable result of a more accurate subject recognition result.
Regarding claim 29, Nakagawa and Official Notice, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), in addition, Nakagawa discloses, wherein the designated subject comprises at least one of a face, a person, an animal, a car, or food ([0031], [0066]).
Regarding claim 38, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 28. Thus, claim 38 is an inherent variation of claim 28 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 28).
Regarding claim 39, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 29. Thus, claim 39 is an inherent variation of claim 29 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 29).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30 and 40 would be allowable if the obviousness double patenting rejections are overcome and they are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 30 and 40, the prior art of record fails to disclose activating the distance detection sensor in response to identifying that the designated subject is not included in the image and generate a second bokeh image by blurring a part of the obtained image by using the distance values determined based on the distance sensor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 7/10/2026