DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not give a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent. A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022153832 (herein WO832) in view of JP 106952676 A (herein JP676).
In reference to claim 1, WO832 teaches an electrical cable (70; fig. 3), in particular for data transmission, comprising: a pair of wires (71) twisted together, each wire having a conductor covered with an insulator (73), and a cable end section (i.e. the end section of 71), along which the pair of wires is untwisted (see fig. 3), wherein over a part of the cable end section the insulators are removed from ends of the wires (see fig. 3).
However WO832 does not teach the insulators of the pair of wires of the cable end section are each covered with a layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material.
JP676 teaches covering a desired portion of the cable with a layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material (12; fig. 1). With a reasonable expectation of success, covering the insulators of the pairs of wires of the cable end section of WO832 with a layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material is seen as an obvious modification yielding predictable results
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of JP676, as taught by JP676 page 4, line 41 through page 5, lines 1-2, in order to utilize graphene’s good electromagnetic shielding function on the electrical cable.
In reference to claim 2, WO832 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However WO832 does not teach the layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material is one of a compound, a fabric, a laminate, a sheet, a foil and a film with non-magnetic and electrically conductive components.
JP676 teaches the layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material (12) is one of a compound, a fabric, a laminate, a sheet, a foil and a film with non-magnetic and electrically conductive components.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of JP676, as taught by JP676 page 4, line 41 through page 5, lines 1-2, in order to utilize graphene’s good electromagnetic shielding function on the electrical cable.
In reference to claim 3, WO832 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However WO832 does not teach wherein the layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material is made of graphene.
JP676 teaches the layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material (12) is made of graphene.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of JP676, as taught by JP676 page 4, line 41 through page 5, lines 1-2, in order to utilize graphene’s good electromagnetic shielding function on the electrical cable.
In reference to claim 4, WO832 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However WO832 does not teach wherein the length of the part of the pair of wires that is covered by a layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material is less than 15 mm, in particular less than 10 mm or less than 5 mm.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the coverage of the layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of JP676, as taught by JP676 page 4, line 41 through page 5, lines 1-2, in order to utilize graphene’s good electromagnetic shielding function on the electrical cable.
In reference to claim 5, WO832 teaches the electrical cable according to claim 1, wherein each of the wires is connected to an electrical terminal (see fig. 3).
In reference to claim 6, WO832 teaches the electrical cable according to claim 5 wherein the terminals are arranged in a connector housing (see fig. 3).
In reference to claim 7, WO832 teaches the electrical cable according to claim 1 wherein the wires of the cable end section are arranged in parallel to each other see fig. 3).
In reference to claim 8, WO832 teaches the electrical cable according to claim 1 wherein the twisted pair of wires is covered with an insulating sheath (75), and wherein the insulating sheath is removed from the cable end section (see fig. 3).
In reference to claim 9, WO832 teaches the electrical cable according to claim 1wherein the electrical cable is unshielded.
In reference to claim 10, WO832 teaches a method of manufacturing an electrical cable (70; fig.1), in particular for data transmission, comprising the steps of: providing a pair of wires (71) each having a conductor (74) covered with an insulator (72), twisting the pair of wires together, leaving the pair of wires untwisted along a cable end section (see fug, 3), removing the insulators from the conductors of ends of the wires over a portion of the cable end section (see fig. 3).
However WO832 does not teach applying a layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material onto the insulators of the pair of wires of the cable end section.
JP676 teaches covering a desired portion of the cable with a layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material (12; fig. 1). With a reasonable expectation of success, applying a layer of non-magnetic and electrically conductive material onto the insulators of the pair of wires of the cable end section of WO832 is seen as an obvious modification yielding predictable results.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of JP676, as taught by JP676 page 4, line 41 through page 5, lines 1-2, in order to utilize graphene’s good electromagnetic shielding function on the electrical cable.
In reference to claim 11, WO832 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However WO832 does not teach wherein the non-magnetic and electrically conductive material is applied to the insulators by brushing, spraying, coating, laminating or wrapping or by arranging the non-magnetic and electrically conductive material in form of a tubular element onto the insulators.
JP676 teaches the non-magnetic and electrically conductive material is applied by coating. Using the teachings of JP676 to modify WO832 to arrive at the results of claim 11 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of JP676, as taught by JP676 page 4, line 41 through page 5, lines 1-2, in order to utilize graphene’s good electromagnetic shielding function on the electrical cable.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 09/02/2026