DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 06 July 2026, in which claims 1 and 3-6 were amended, claim 2 was canceled, and claim 7 was added.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner suggests changing “main plate portion” to --a main plate portion-- (line 3);
Examiner suggests removing the underscore in the phrase “the_window” (line 6);
Examiner suggests changing “said compacted configuration” (lines 8-9) to --said compact configuration--, so as to provide consistent terminology throughout the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirejczyk (US 6862846 B1).
In regards to claims 1, 3, 5, and 6, Kirejczyk discloses a window regulator module installed on a door panel (inner panel #22, 122) of a vehicle door (#20, 120; figures 1, 10), the window regulator module comprising:
(claim 1) a window regulator (including window regulator component #29, 129) to raise and lower a window glass (#34, 134) of the vehicle door (#20, 120; figures 1, 10; column 3, lines 45-56; column 4, lines 56-67);
a module panel (including carrier plate assembly #26, 126) to which the window regulator (#29, 129) is fixed (figures 1, 4, 10-13; column 3, lines 45-56; column 4, lines 8-18, 56-67);
wherein the window regulator (#29, 129) comprises a guide rail (including rails #72, edges #148, 150 form rails for window regulator lift plates #166) provided along an ascending and descending direction of the window glass (#34, 134; figures 1, 10-13; column 3, lines 45-62; column 5, line 66-column 6, line 13);
wherein the module panel (#26, 126) comprises a main plate portion (main section #46, 146) to which the window regulator (#29, 129) is fixed, a first folding plate portion (one of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) connected to one end in a left-right direction of the main plate portion and a second folding plate portion (other of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) connected to an other end in the left right direction of the main plate portion (figures 1, 2, 10-13; Abstract; column 1, line 63-column 2, line 3; column 3, lines 11-56; column 4, lines 8-18, 30-41; column 5, lines 30-56; column 6, lines 27-39);
wherein the first folding plate portion (one of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) and the second folding plate portion (other of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) are connected to the main plate portion (#46, 146) so as to be foldable toward a side where the guide rail (including rails #72, edges #148, 150 form rails for window regulator lift plates #166) is arranged (foldable at forward edge #48, 148 and rearward edge #50, 150, foldable both toward and away from guide rails; figures 1, 2, 10-13; Abstract; column 1, line 63-column 2, line 3; column 3, lines 11-56; column 4, lines 8-18, 30-41; column 5, lines 30-56; column 6, lines 27-39);
(claim 3) wherein the first folding plate portion (one of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) and the second folding plate portion (other of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156), when folded with respect to the main plate portion (#46, 146), overlap at least a portion of the window regulator (when folded, based on folding locations at forward edge #48, 148 and rearward edge #50, 150, the first flap section #54, 154 and/or second flap section #56, 156 would overlap at least a portion of window regulator component #29, 129, which includes cables #74, motor #30, 130, and electrical harness #132; figures 1, 2, 10-13);
(claim 5) wherein the first folding plate portion (one of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) and the second folding plate portion (other of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) are connected to the main plate portion (#46, 146) so as to be foldable toward the side where the guide rail (including rails #72, edges #148, 150 form rails for window regulator lift plates #166) is arranged, and movable toward an opposite side to the side where the guide rail is arranged (movable toward opposite side of inner panel #22, 122 so as to provide access to space within door without removing the entire carrier plate assembly #26, 126; Abstract; column 1, lines 10-15; column 1, line 63-colmn 2, line 14; column 4, lines 30-41; column 5, lines 30-42; column 6, lines 27-39);
(claim 6) wherein the main plate portion (at least including second embodiment of main section #146) and first and second folding plate portions (at least including second embodiment of flap sections #154, 156) are molded as separate parts (separate parts that are connected by rivets #158, adhesive, or the like; column 5, lines 43-56; figure 12).
In regards to claim 7, Kirejczyk discloses a window regulator module for installation on a door panel (inner panel #22, 122) of a vehicle door (#20, 120; figures 1, 10), the window regulator module in a transportation configuration (transport and shipping discussed throughout specification), comprising:
main plate portion (main section #46, 146 of carrier plate assembly #26, 126) to which a window regulator (including window regulator component #29, 129) is fixed (figures 1, 2, 10-13; Abstract; column 1, line 63-column 2, line 3; column 3, lines 11-56; column 4, lines 8-67; column 5, lines 30-56; column 6, lines 27-39);
a first folding plate portion (one of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) and a second folding plate portion (other of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) connected to the main plate portion (#46, 146) so as to be foldable toward each other into a compact configuration in which the folding plate portions are positioned at least partially overlapping the window regulator on the main plate portion (when folded, based on folding locations at forward edge #48, 148 and rearward edge #50, 150, the first flap section #54, 154 and/or second flap section #56, 156 would overlap at least a portion of window regulator component #29, 129, which includes cables #74, motor #30, 130, and electrical harness #132; figures 1, 2, 10-13);
wherein the window regulator module is able to stand vertically in the compacted configuration in a manner acting to prevent the window regulator module from falling over onto other window regulator modules during transportation (has the ability to so perform, based at least on folding of the first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156 at forward edge #48, 148 and rearward edge #50, 150; figures 1, 10-13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
the allowable subject matter of claim 4 is a drive unit provided at a lower end portion of the guide rail to drive the ascending-side wire and the descending-side wire, in combination with other features of claim 4 and preceding claims 1 and 3.
Kirejczyk (US 6862846 B1) discloses wherein the window regulator (#29, 129) further comprises:
a carrier plate (including window regulator lift plates #166 and/or other connections between window glass and rails) that supports the window glass (#34, 134) and is slidably attached to the guide rail (including rails #72, edges #148, 150 form rails for window regulator lift plates #166; figures 1, 10-13; column 3, lines 45-62; column 5, line 66-column 6, line 13);
an ascending-side wire and a descending-side wire (including cables #74 in figure 1, window regulator cables received by cable guides #177 in figures 10-13) that pull the carrier plate (including window regulator lift plates #166 and/or other connections between window glass and rails; column 3, line 45-column 4, line 41; column 5, line 66-column 6, line 13);
a drive unit (including motor #30, 130) to drive the ascending-side wire and the descending-side wire (including cables #74 in figure 1, window regulator cables received by cable guides #177 in figures 10-13; column 3, line 45-column 4, line 41; column 5, line 66-column 6, line 13);
wherein the first folding plate portion (one of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156), when folded with respect to the main plate portion (#46, 146), overlaps the carrier plate (including window regulator lift plates #166 and/or other connections between window glass and rails) located at a lower limit position (when folded, based on folding locations at forward edge #48, 148 and rearward edge #50, 150, the first flap section #54, 154 and/or second flap section #56, 156 would overlap at least a portion of a lower limit position of window regulator lift plates #166 and/or other connections between window glass and rails; figures 1, 2, 10-13);
wherein the second folding plate portion (other of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156), when folded with respect to the main plate portion (#46, 146), overlaps a drive unit (including motor #30, 130; when folded, based on folding locations at forward edge #48, 148 and rearward edge #50, 150, the first flap section #54, 154 and/or second flap section #56, 156 would overlap at least a portion of motor #30, 130; figures 1, 2, 10-13).
Kirejczyk (US 6862846 B1) does not disclose the drive unit (including motor #30, 130) provided at a lower end portion of the guide rail (including rails #72, edges #148, 150 form rails for window regulator lift plates #166; figures 1, 10-13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to page 4 and claim 1, Applicant argues that Kirejczyk (US 6862846 B1) does not disclose wherein the first folding plate portion and the second folding plate portion are connected to the main plate portion so as to be foldable toward a side where the guide rail is arranged. As set forth above, Kirejczyk (US 6862846 B1) discloses wherein the first folding plate portion (one of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) and the second folding plate portion (other of first flap section #54, 154 and second flap section #56, 156) are connected to the main plate portion (#46, 146) so as to be foldable toward a side where the guide rail (including rails #72, edges #148, 150 form rails for window regulator lift plates #166) is arranged (foldable at forward edge #48, 148 and rearward edge #50, 150, foldable both toward and away from guide rails; figures 1, 2, 10-13; Abstract; column 1, line 63-column 2, line 3; column 3, lines 11-56; column 4, lines 8-18, 30-41; column 5, lines 30-56; column 6, lines 27-39).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sakaguchi (JPH0711219B2; translation from EPO website attached) teaches a window regulator module installed on a door panel (#20) of a vehicle door, the window regulator module comprising a window regulator to raise and lower a window glass (#21) of the vehicle door, the window regulator comprises a carrier plate (#2a, 2b) that supports the window glass and is slidably attached to a guide rail (#1a, 1b), an ascending-side wire and a descending-side wire (#7) that pull the carrier plate, and a drive unit (#23) to drive the ascending-side wire and the descending-side wire (figure 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614