DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species A, corresponding to claims 2-3 and 13-14, in the reply filed on 05/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4-7, 10-11, and 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a compact beam expander.” Similarly, claim 20 recites “assembling a compact beam expander.” The term “compact” in claims 1 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “compact” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what dimensions are required for a beam expander to be considered “compact” and given the complex nature of optical systems, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would not be able to discern the metes and bounds of the claimed term. For the purposes of examination, any beam expander comprising the claimed elements will be interpreted as reading on “a compact beam expander.”
Claim 1 further recites “a pixel element that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens that focuses the light for an eye of the user.” Similarly, claim 12 recites “a pixel element that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens that focuses the light for an eye of a user” and claim 20 recites “a pixel element positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element to direct the light toward a lens that focuses the light.” The term “proximate” in claims 1, 12, and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “proximate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what distance should be considered “proximate” and how the pixel element can be “positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element.”
Furthermore, it is unclear what structure is required to be a “pixel element” as a “pixel element” on its own would not “direct the light” as required by the claim. Specifically, a “pixel element” is merely a discrete unit of an image or display, and a “pixel” does not direct light. It is unclear if the “pixel element” should be some structural element that includes pixels, or if the “pixel element” should have some additional structure to be capable of directing light.
Moreover, it is unclear if the claim positively requires “a lens,” as no lens has been defined as an element of the system. It is unclear if the “lens” is intended to be a portion of the system, or some additional element that amounts to an intended use of the pixel element.
For the purposes of examination, any optical element that directs the light from the second light-spreading element toward an eye of a user will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claims 2-3 and 8-9 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim; and claims 13-14 and 19 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 12 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arend et al. (PCT Pub. No. WO 2024/253637; hereinafter – “Arend”).
Regarding claim 1, Arend teaches a system comprising:
an eyewear device (101, 301) dimensioned to be worn by a user (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs 0041 and 0049); and
a compact beam expander (508, 1000) incorporated in the eyewear device (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108), the compact beam expander comprising:
a first light-spreading element (570, 1040) configured to diffract light received from a light source (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108);
a second light-spreading element (560, 1020) configured to further diffract the light (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108); and
a pixel element (512, 1012) that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens (520, 1030) that focuses the light for an eye of the user (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108).
Regarding claim 2, Arend teaches the system of claim 1, as above.
Arend further teaches that the second light-spreading element comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (PBP) director that includes a PBP layer (1020) and a pair of quarter wave plates (1014, 1050) (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, and 0099-0108).
Regarding claim 3, Arend teaches the system of claim 2, as above.
Arend further teaches that the PBP layer (1020) is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates (1014, 1050); the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (1030) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (1012) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, and 0099-0108 – Examiner notes that the LC cell includes a transparent conductive layer).
Regarding claim 12, Arend teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first light-spreading element (570, 1040) configured to spread light received from a light source in at least one direction (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108);
a second light-spreading element (560, 1020) configured to further spread the light in at least one additional direction (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108); and
a pixel element (512, 1012) that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens (520, 1030) that focuses the light for an eye of a user (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108).
Regarding claim 13, Arend teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Arend further teaches that the second light-spreading element comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (PBP) director that includes a PBP layer (1020) and a pair of quarter wave plates (1014, 1050) (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, and 0099-0108).
Regarding claim 14, Arend teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Arend further teaches that the PBP layer (1020) is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates (1014, 1050); the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (1030) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (1012) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, and 0099-0108 – Examiner notes that the LC cell includes a transparent conductive layer).
Regarding claim 20, Arend teaches a method comprising:
assembling a compact beam expander (508, 1000) (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108) by configuring:
a first light-spreading element (570, 1040) to diffract light received from a light source (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108);
a second light-spreading element (560, 1020) to further diffract the light (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108); and
a pixel element (512, 1012) positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element to direct the light toward a lens (520, 1030) that focuses the light (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108); and
installing the compact beam expander in an eyewear device (101, 301) dimensioned to be worn by a user (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3; Paragraphs 0041 and 0049).
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 12-13, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chriki et al. (PCT Pub. No. WO 2022/229723; hereinafter – “Chriki”).
Regarding claim 1, Chriki teaches a system comprising:
an eyewear device (100-500) dimensioned to be worn by a user (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-7; Paragraphs 0026-0028); and
a compact beam expander (100-500) incorporated in the eyewear device (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0028-0032 and 0043-0061), the compact beam expander comprising:
a first light-spreading element (5) configured to diffract light received from a light source (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0028-0032 and 0043-0061);
a second light-spreading element (3) configured to further diffract the light (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0028-0032 and 0043-0061); and
a pixel element (56, 60, 62, 63) that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens (50) that focuses the light for an eye of the user (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-7; Paragraphs 0026-0028, 0033, and 0061).
Regarding claim 2, Chriki teaches the system of claim 1, as above.
Chriki further teaches that the second light-spreading element comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (PBP) director that includes a PBP layer (3) and a pair of quarter wave plates (7, 62, 63, 64, 65, 9) (See e.g. Figs. 3-7; Paragraphs 0043-0061).
Regarding claim 8, Chriki teaches the system of claim 1, as above.
Chriki further teaches that the pixel element (56, 60, 62, 63) is incorporated in a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) display comprising an array of pixels arranged at a specific pitch along one direction; and further comprising a linear polarizer (61, 9, 62, 63, 64, 66) positioned between the compact beam expander and the eye of the user, wherein the linear polarizer is configured to selectively filter the light prior to reaching the eye of the user (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-7; Paragraphs 0026-0028, 0033, 0035, and 0061).
Regarding claim 9, Chriki teaches the system of claim 8, as above.
Chriki further teaches that the LCoS display comprises a backplane (50) configured to reflect the light back toward the lens at one or more specific angles (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-7; Paragraphs 0026-0028, 0033, 0035, and 0061).
Regarding claim 12, Chriki teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first light-spreading element (5) configured to spread light received from a light source in at least one direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0028-0032 and 0043-0061);
a second light-spreading element (3) configured to further spread the light in at least one additional direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0028-0032 and 0043-0061); and
a pixel element (56, 60, 62, 63) that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens (50) that focuses the light for an eye of a user (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-7; Paragraphs 0026-0028, 0033, and 0061).
Regarding claim 13, Chriki teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Chriki further teaches that the second light-spreading element comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (PBP) director that includes a PBP layer (3) and a pair of quarter wave plates (7, 62, 63, 64, 65, 9) (See e.g. Figs. 3-7; Paragraphs 0043-0061).
Regarding claim 19, Chriki teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Chriki further teaches that the pixel element (56, 60, 62, 63) is incorporated in a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) display comprising an array of pixels arranged at a specific pitch along one direction; and further comprising a linear polarizer (61, 9, 62, 63, 64, 66) positioned between the compact beam expander and the eye of the user, wherein the linear polarizer is configured to selectively filter the light prior to reaching the eye of the user (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-7; Paragraphs 0026-0028, 0033, 0035, and 0061).
Regarding claim 20, Chriki teaches a method comprising:
assembling a compact beam expander (100-500) (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0028-0032 and 0043-0061) by configuring:
a first light-spreading element (5) to diffract light received from a light source (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0028-0032 and 0043-0061);
a second light-spreading element (3) to further diffract the light (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0028-0032 and 0043-0061); and
a pixel element (56, 60, 62, 63) positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element to direct the light toward a lens (50) that focuses the light (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-7; Paragraphs 0026-0028, 0033, and 0061); and
installing the compact beam expander in an eyewear device (100, 500) dimensioned to be worn by a user (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-7; Paragraphs 0026-0028).
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-14, and 20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0197043; hereinafter – “Jang”).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a system comprising:
an eyewear device (900) dimensioned to be worn by a user (See e.g. Fig. 9; Paragraph 0160); and
a compact beam expander (100, 130, 160, 190, 200, 400, 800) incorporated in the eyewear device (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108), the compact beam expander comprising:
a first light-spreading element (115, 140, 145, 220, 420, 840) configured to diffract light received from a light source (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159);
a second light-spreading element (110, 140, 220, 845) configured to further diffract the light (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159); and
a pixel element (105, 805, 817) that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens that focuses the light for an eye of the user (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159).
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches the system of claim 1, as above.
Jang further teaches that the second light-spreading element comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (PBP) director that includes a PBP layer (140, 220, 410) and a pair of quarter wave plates (142, 144, 210) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159).
Regarding claim 3, Jang teaches the system of claim 2, as above.
Jang further teaches that the PBP layer (140, 220, 410) is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates (142, 144, 210); the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (612, 710) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (646, 648, 708, 718) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Figs. 1-8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, 0122-0145, and 0148-0159).
Regarding claim 12, Jang teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first light-spreading element (115, 140, 145, 220, 420, 840) configured to spread light received from a light source in at least one direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159);
a second light-spreading element (110, 140, 220, 845) configured to further spread the light in at least one additional direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159); and
a pixel element (105, 805, 817) that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens that focuses the light for an eye of a user (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159).
Regarding claim 13, Jang teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Jang further teaches that the second light-spreading element comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (PBP) director that includes a PBP layer (140, 220, 410) and a pair of quarter wave plates (142, 144, 210) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159).
Regarding claim 14, Jang teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Jang further teaches that the PBP layer (140, 220, 410) is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates (142, 144, 210); the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (612, 710) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (646, 648, 708, 718) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Figs. 1-8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, 0122-0145, and 0148-0159).
Regarding claim 20, Jang teaches a method comprising:
assembling a compact beam expander (100, 130, 160, 190, 200, 400, 800) (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0065 and 0099-0108) by configuring:
a first light-spreading element (115, 140, 145, 220, 420, 840) to diffract light received from a light source (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159);
a second light-spreading element (110, 140, 220, 845) to further diffract the light (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159); and
a pixel element (105, 805, 817) positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element to direct the light toward a lens that focuses the light (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 4, and 8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, and 0148-0159); and
installing the compact beam expander in an eyewear device (900) dimensioned to be worn by a user (See e.g. Fig. 9; Paragraph 0160).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chriki in view of Jamali et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2020/0081252; hereinafter – “Jamali”).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Chriki teaches the system of claim 2 and system of claim 13, respectively, as above.
Arend further teaches that the PBP layer (1020) is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates (1014, 1050); the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (1030) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (1012) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, and 0099-0108 – Examiner notes that the LC cell includes a transparent conductive layer).
Additionally, Jang further teaches that the PBP layer (140, 220, 410) is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates (142, 144, 210); the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (612, 710) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (646, 648, 708, 718) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Figs. 1-8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, 0122-0145, and 0148-0159).
Chriki fails to explicitly disclose that the PBP layer is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates; the PBP director further comprises a cover glass positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element.
However, Jamali teaches polarization-sensitive components in optical systems for large pupil acceptance angles comprising first and second light-spreading elements wherein the second light-spreading element comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (PBP) director that includes a PBP layer (1613) and a pair of quarter wave plates (1642A, 1642B) and the PBP layer is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates; the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (1612) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (1614) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Fig. 16; Paragraphs 0111-0120).
Jamali teaches this construction of quarter waveplates and conductive layers as it “allows transmission of the real-world light regardless of the polarization, and thus, the real-world light 1652 transmitted through the optical system 1624 has a higher brightness than the real-world light transmitted through an optical system that transmits light having only a particular polarization)” (Paragraph 0120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system or apparatus of Chriki with the arrangement of quarter waveplates and conductive layers of Jamali as it “allows transmission of the real-world light regardless of the polarization, and thus, the real-world light 1652 transmitted through the optical system 1624 has a higher brightness than the real-world light transmitted through an optical system that transmits light having only a particular polarization),” as taught by Jamali (Paragraph 0120).
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arend or Jang in view of Jamali.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Arend and Jang each teaches the system of claim 2 and the apparatus of claim 13, respectively, as above.
Arend further teaches that the PBP layer (1020) is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates (1014, 1050); the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (1030) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (1012) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Figs. 5D and 10-11; Paragraphs 0059-0060, 0065, and 0099-0108 – Examiner notes that the LC cell includes a transparent conductive layer).
Additionally, Jang further teaches that the PBP layer (140, 220, 410) is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates (142, 144, 210); the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (612, 710) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (646, 648, 708, 718) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Figs. 1-8; Paragraphs 0049-0053, 0057-0062, 0066-0075, 0083-0087, 0097, 0102, 0122-0145, and 0148-0159).
Nevertheless, Jamali teaches polarization-sensitive components in optical systems for large pupil acceptance angles comprising first and second light-spreading elements wherein the second light-spreading element comprises a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (PBP) director that includes a PBP layer (1613) and a pair of quarter wave plates (1642A, 1642B) and the PBP layer is positioned between the pair of quarter wave plates; the PBP director further comprises a cover glass (1612) positioned between one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the PBP layer; and the compact beam expander further comprises a transparent conductive layer (1614) positioned between another one of the pair of quarter wave plates and the pixel element (See e.g. Fig. 16; Paragraphs 0111-0120).
Jamali teaches this construction of quarter waveplates and conductive layers as it “allows transmission of the real-world light regardless of the polarization, and thus, the real-world light 1652 transmitted through the optical system 1624 has a higher brightness than the real-world light transmitted through an optical system that transmits light having only a particular polarization)” (Paragraph 0120).
Therefore, even if Arend and Jang did not disclose the claimed configuration it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and apparatus of Arend or Jang with the arrangement of quarter waveplates and conductive layers of Jamali as it “allows transmission of the real-world light regardless of the polarization, and thus, the real-world light 1652 transmitted through the optical system 1624 has a higher brightness than the real-world light transmitted through an optical system that transmits light having only a particular polarization),” as taught by Jamali (Paragraph 0120).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 19 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arend or Jang in view of Maimone et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2021/0223549; hereinafter – “Maimone”).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Arend and Jang each teaches the system of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 12, respectively, as above.
Arend and Jang fail to explicitly disclose that the pixel element is incorporated in a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) display comprising an array of pixels arranged at a specific pitch along one direction; and further comprising a linear polarizer positioned between the compact beam expander and the eye of the user, wherein the linear polarizer is configured to selectively filter the light prior to reaching the eye of the user.
However, Maimone teaches an optical assembly with holographic optics for a folded optical path comprising a first light-spreading element (330, 412, 418), a second light-spreading element (330, 410, 422), and a pixel element (310, 406) that is positioned proximate to the second light-spreading element and configured to direct the light toward a lens that focuses the light for an eye of a user, wherein the pixel element (310, 406) is incorporated in a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) display comprising an array of pixels arranged at a specific pitch along one direction; and further comprising a linear polarizer (426) positioned between the compact beam expander and the eye of the user, wherein the linear polarizer is configured to selectively filter the light prior to reaching the eye of the user (See e.g. Figs. 3-4; Paragraphs 0040, 0060, 0063-0075, 0080-0100, and 0130).
Maimone teaches this LCoS display and linear polarizer as it “offers a high resolution and a high fill factor (e.g., a ratio between an area of a mirror (of a pixel) and a sum of the area of the mirror and a spacing between two adjacent mirrors)” (Paragraph 0130) to provide “head-mounted display devices that are thin and lightweight” (Paragraph 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and apparatus of Arend or Jang with the LCoS display and linear polarizer of Maimone as it “offers a high resolution and a high fill factor (e.g., a ratio between an area of a mirror (of a pixel) and a sum of the area of the mirror and a spacing between two adjacent mirrors)” to provide “head-mounted display devices that are thin and lightweight,” as taught by Maimone (Paragraphs 0005 and 0130).
Regarding claim 9, Arend in view of Maimone and Jang in view of Maimone each teaches the system of claim 8, as above.
Maimone further teaches that the LCoS display comprises a backplane configured to reflect the light back toward the lens at one or more specific angles (See e.g. Figs. 3-4; Paragraphs 0040, 0060, 0063-0075, 0080-0100, and 0130).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Arend et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2026/0086373) teaches a method and system for augmented reality display with geometric-phase lenses.
Wang et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2021/0088700) teaches a varifocal polarization sensitive diffusive display having a similar construction.
Gollier et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2021/0072551) teaches an active zonal display illumination using a chopped lightguide with a similar LCoS display and linear polarizer.
Martinez et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2020/0249480) teaches a multi-focal catadioptric head mounted display with an LC switch and geometric phase lenses.
Jamali et al (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2020/0081315) teaches a display device with a varifocal optical assembly having similar light spreading elements.
Oh (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0239177) teaches a variable-focus virtual image device based on polarization conversion with a geometric phase lens.
Lam (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0217377) teaches geometric phase lens alignment in an augmented reality head mounted display.
Escuti et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,195,092) teaches polarization-independent liquid crystal display devices including multiple polarizing grating arrangements.
Wang et al. (NPL titled: “Large depth of range Maxwellian-viewing SMV near-eye display based on a Pancharatnam-Berry optical element”) teaches a similar arrangement of light spreading elements.
Zhan et al. (NPL titled: “Pancharatnam-Berry optical elements for head-up and near-eye displays”) teaches a similar configuration of a compact beam expander.
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896