DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spacer element of claims 3, 7, and 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Umlauft et al. (US 2013/0105638 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Umlauft discloses an individual air supply duct (Umlauft 12) for connecting a main air supply duct (Umlauft [0054]) to a passenger service unit (Umlauft 14) of an aircraft (Umlauft [0001]), wherein the individual air supply duct has a quadrangular cross section (Umlauft [0044]) that is capable of being formed via extrusion with a longitudinal extension direction (see Umlauft figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Umlauft as applied to claim 1 further discloses the individual air supply duct (Umlauft 12) comprises an outer rail structure (Umlauft 24, and 26) extending along the longitudinal direction (see Umlauft figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Umlauft as applied to claim 1 further discloses the individual air supply duct (Umlauft 12) comprises an edge (Umlauft 22) for attachment of a passenger service unit (Umlauft [0048]). Examiner notes that the passenger service unit and spacer element are recited in the alternative and only one is needed for prior art to read upon the claim.
Regarding claim 4, Umlauft as applied to claim 1 further discloses the individual air supply duct (Umlauft 12) comprises individual connection ports (Umlauft 16), being located on an outer surface of the individual air supply duct (see Umlauft figure 1) and at equal intervals along the individual air supply duct.
Regarding claim 5, Umlauft discloses an individual air supply assembly (Umlauft 10) comprising:
The individual air supply duct (Umlauft 12) of claim 1, and
A passenger service unit (Umlauft 14) configured to be mounted thereto (see Umlauft figure 33),
Wherein the individual air supply duct comprises individual connection ports (Umlauft 16), being located on an outer surface of the individual air supply duct (see Umlauft figure 1) and at equal intervals along the individual air supply duct (see Umlauft figure 1),
Wherein the passenger service unit comprises a port (Umlauft 14c), being located on an outer surface of the passenger supply unit (see figures 2a and 2b), and
Wherein, when the passenger service unit is mounted to the individual air supply duct, the port is brought into alignment with a corresponding connection port (Umlauft [0047]).
Regarding claim 6, Umlauft as applied to claim 5 further discloses the individual connection port (Umlauft 16) and the edge (Umlauft 22) form a socket and the port (Umlauft 14c) and the connecting lip (Umlauft 28) form a plug to function as a plug and socket connection. Examiner notes this is consistent with applicant’s specification where the plug and socket connection as shown in applicant’s figure 8.
Regarding claim 9, Umlauft as applied to claim 5 further discloses the individual air supply duct encloses an electrical cable (Umlauft 160, [0059]). Examiner notes the claim only requires at least one of the recited ducts/cables and therefore Umlauft’s teaching of an electrical cable is sufficient to read upon the claim.
Regarding claim 10, Umlauft as applied to claim 5 discloses the passenger service unit is pivotably attached to the individual air supply duct by a connecting lip (Umlauft 28) and the passenger service is pivotable between an unmounted state (see Umlauft figure 1), in which the passenger service unit is configured to freely pivot relative to the individual air supply duct, and a mounted state (see Umlauft figure 4) in which the passenger service unit is in a fixed position relative to the individual air supply duct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umlauft et al. (US 2013/0105638 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Grosse-Plankerman et al. (US 2012/0129438 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Umlauft as applied to claim 5 is silent regarding pivotably mounted spacer elements.
However, Grosse-Plankerman teaches an individual air supply system (Grosse-Plankerman 10) comprising an individual air supply duct (Grosse-Plankerman 12) having spacer elements (Grosse-Plankerman 46) configured to seal unused connection ports (Grosse-Plankerman 14). The spacer elements are screw plugs (Grosses-Plankerman [0040]) that are pivotable about their own central axis to secure to threads on the air supply duct.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Umlauft’s individual air supply assembly to utilize Grosse-Plankerman’s teaching of screw plugs utilized as spacer element to seal unused connection ports to produce a predictable result of allowing the use of the same individual air supply system for different aircraft cabin arrangements without a need for modifying the placement of the connection ports.
Regarding claim 8, Umlauft and Grosse-Plankerman as applied to claim 7 teach the spacer element is a screw plug (Grosse-Plankerman 46) and therefore it is pivotable about its own axis between the unmounted state, in which the plug is freely pivotable relative to the individual air supply duct, and a mounted state where it has been screwed into threads on the individual air supply duct and is in a fixed position relative to the individual air supply duct.
Conclusion
/CHARLES R BRAWNER/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762