DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11, recites the limitation "the two half shell” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 11 is depends on claim 10, which is depends on claim 1. And there are no ‘two half shelves. are defined in any one these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brake (US 2004/0209526).
Regarding claim 1, Brake discloses an electrical contact element 10 which is formed from a stamped and bent part and/or from a deep-drawn metal component, comprising: a contact area 20 having an end-face contact surface 12 designed for electrical and mechanical contacting with an electrical mating contact element; and a support area 22, 22’, 22’’, 22’’’ 26, 26’, 28, 28’ which is arranged on a side of the contact area 20 facing away from the end-face contact surface 12 and is designed so as to mechanically support the contact area, wherein the contact area 20 is integrally connected to the support area via a primarily connecting section 30, and connected to the support area via at least one secondary connecting section 30’ which is at a distance from the primary connecting section along the circumference of the end-face contact surface 12.
Regarding claim 2, Brake discloses the end-face contact surface 12 is designed as a single, continuous surface.
Regarding claim 3, Brake discloses the end-face contact surface is 12 a primarily flat surface.
Regarding claim 4, Brake discloses a hole H are formed in the end-face contact surface 12 (see annotated fig., it is also to be noted “or more holes” is an optional claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Brake discloses the hole include a central centering hole H.
Regarding claim 6, Brake discloses the support area is primarily sleeve-shaped, and an annular or in part annular end of the sleeve- shaped support area facing the contact area mechanically supports the contact area on the side facing away from the end-face contact surface.
Regarding claim 8, Brake discloses, the primary connecting section 30 is designed as a bending point so as to form a transition angle (a) between the support area and the contact area (see figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 9, Brake discloses, the transition angle 30is at least approximately 90 degree (se figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 10, Brake discloses, the secondary connecting section 30’ is formed integrally with a connecting tab 32 which is connected to the contact area and is bent in the direction of the support area and is connected in a positive-locking manner to the support area along a longitudinal axis of the contact element (see figs. 1-4 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Brake discloses, the secondary connecting section has at least one welding point or bonding point in order to connect the contact area to the support area as being an integral unit, any point of bent area can be considered as bonding (or welding) point.
Regarding claim 13, Brake discloses, the support area provides an elastic cushioning support of the contact area along a longitudinal axis of the contact element as it is being metallic and hollow inside and lots of cantilever components.
Regarding claim 17, Brake discloses, an electrical contact element which is formed from a stamped and bent part and/or from a deep-drawn metal component, comprising: a contact area 20 having an end-face contact surface 12 designed for electrical and mechanical contacting with an electrical mating contact element; and a support area 22, 22’, 22’’, 22’’’ 26, 26’, 28, which is arranged on a side of the contact area facing away from the end-face contact surface 12 and is designed so as to mechanically support the contact area 20, wherein the contact area 20 is integrally connected to the support area 22, 22’, 22’’, 22’’’ 26, 26’, 28, via a primarily connecting section 30, and wherein the support area 22, 22’, 22’’, 22’’’ 26, 26’, 28, is primarily sleeve-shaped, and an annular or in part annular end of the sleeve-shaped support area facing the contact area mechanically supports the contact area on a side facing away from the end- face contact surface 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brake.
Regarding claim 7, Brake discloses all the claimed limitations except for the sleeve-shaped support area is formed from two half shells which are bent towards each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the sleeve-shaped support area is formed from two half shells which are bent towards each other, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 16, Brake discloses all structural limitations as discussed in above, except for a manufacturing method steps such as providing, stamping, bending, arranging
It would have been obvious to provide, stamping bending and arranging the parts as required by the steps of claim 16 in order to manufacture the contact element.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brake in view of Miyamura (US 11,799,228).
Regarding claim 14, Brake discloses all the claimed limitations except for a connection area for electrical and mechanical connection to an electrical conductor, in particular an inner conductor of an electrical cable which is integrally connected to the support area and/or the contact area.
Miyamura discloses a connection area 37 (figs. 3 and 4) for electrical and mechanical connection to an electrical conductor, in particular an inner conductor of an electrical cable which is integrally connected to the support area and/or the contact area.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made to have a connection area for electrical and mechanical connection to an electrical conductor, in particular an inner conductor of an electrical cable which is integrally connected to the support area and/or the contact area as taught by Miyamura in order to connect the electrical conductor of a cable for extending electrical connectivity.
Regarding claim 15, Brake discloses an electrical contact element as claimed in Claim 1.
Brake does not disclose, a pre-assembled electrical cable, comprising a pre-assembled electrical cable, comprising an electrical contact element electrically and mechanically connected to an electrical conductor.
Miyamura discloses a pre-assembled electrical cable, comprising an electrical conductor and an electrical contact element electrically and mechanically connected to the electrical conductor (see figs. 3 and 4) (upon assembling).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made to have a pre-assembled electrical cable, comprising an electrical conductor and an electrical contact element electrically and mechanically connected to the electrical conductor as taught by Miyamura for to made ready use electrical cable and ease of electrical connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831