DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UECHI et al (2022/0099021) in view of Lin et al (2024/0167417) in view of an alternative embodiment of UECHI et al and further in view of Bulat et al (2018/0355794). UECHI et al teach [Fig. 9] A gas turbine plant with an ammonia decomposition system, the gas turbine plant comprising: a storage tank T configured to store liquid ammonia; a supply pump 43 configured to supply the liquid ammonia of the storage tank; a preheater 44e configured to preheat the liquid ammonia supplied by the supply pump; a vaporizer 44f-44h configured to vaporize the liquid ammonia preheated by the preheater; a superheater 44i configured to superheat [appears it may be inherently capable] the gaseous ammonia vaporized by the vaporizer; a decomposition reactor 45a configured to thermally decompose the gaseous ammonia superheated by the superheater; a separator 130 configured to separate residual ammonia from the decomposition gas RG decomposed by the decomposition reactor 45a; and a first combustor 45b configured to generate combustion gas in such a way as to supply heat to the decomposition reactor 45a via the heated steam 51b, 51a [45b is taught as having combustion in paragraph 0319 thus the 45b is the first combustor], wherein synthesis gas 12b consisting of hydrogen and nitrogen with the residual ammonia removed by the separator 130 is supplied to a second combustor 11c of a gas turbine, wherein exhaust gas EG that is discharged from the gas turbine is supplied to a heat recovery steam generator 21, steam generated by heat of the exhaust gas in the heat recovery steam generator is supplied to a steam turbine 33 and drives the steam turbine, and then flows into a condenser 34, and the water [from 36] condensed in the condenser is supplied back to the heat recovery steam generator, and wherein the water or steam extracted from the heat recovery steam generator or downstream of the condenser receives heat [via s, 91, which are labeled multiple times, at least in 46d and also connected to line 35 which is downstream condenser 34] from the decomposition gas 41c in a first heat exchanger 46d, and then is recovered 75, t to the heat recovery steam generator 21 or upstream of the steam turbine 33. (6) a booster pump 53 that increases a pressure of the water a1, 51b or 1, 51a extracted from the heat recovery steam generator and supplies the water to the first heat exchanger 46d. (13) wherein water or steam heated by the heat of the exhaust gas in the heat recovery steam generator supplies heat [via, i, q, p, m] to the liquid ammonia or the gaseous ammonia. (14) wherein the separator 130 comprises: an ammonia absorption tower 131 that separates the residual ammonia included in the decomposition gas by dissolving the residual ammonia in water; and an ammonia regeneration tower 132 that evaporates and regenerates ammonia from ammonia water generated by dissolving the residual ammonia in water in the ammonia absorption tower, wherein a portion of the water discharged [left of 139] from the ammonia regeneration tower 132 is supplied to the ammonia absorption tower 131, and the rest of the water is vaporized through a reboiler 139 and is supplied back to the ammonia regeneration tower, and wherein water or steam c, d, 71, 85b heated by the heat of the exhaust gas in the heat recovery steam generator supplies heat to the water passing through the reboiler 139.
For claim 1, UECHI et al appears to teach 44i may be a superheater configured to superheat the gaseous ammonia vaporized by the vaporizer. Alternately, Lin et al teach the vaporized ammonia is superheated [end of paragraph 0157] is typically done for decomposition reactors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a superheater to superheat the gaseous ammonia, as taught by Lin et al, as the standard practice in the art and typical conditions experienced by gasified ammonia.
The previously applied embodiments (Fig. 9) of UECHI et al do not teach (9) a third heat exchanger in which heat exchange occurs between the combustion gas and an oxidant supplied to the first combustor. (10) a fourth heat exchanger in which heat exchange occurs between the oxidant and water or steam heated by the heat of the exhaust gas in the heat recovery steam generator. (11) wherein the oxidant passes through the fourth heat exchanger and the third heat exchanger in turn, and then is supplied to the first combustor. (12) wherein water or steam extracted from the heat recovery steam generator to the fourth heat exchanger is recovered back to the heat recovery steam generator or downstream of the condenser. UECHI et al [Fig. 14] teach (9) a third heat exchanger 46i in which heat exchange occurs between the combustion gas 47a and an oxidant 61, 65a, 65, 65c supplied to the first combustor 45b [taught as having combustion in paragraph 0319]. (10) a fourth heat exchanger 62 in which heat exchange occurs between the oxidant 61 and water or steam 79, z1 heated by the heat of the exhaust gas in the heat recovery steam generator 21. (11) wherein the oxidant passes through the fourth heat exchanger 62 and the third heat exchanger 64 in turn, and then is supplied to the first combustor 45b [taught as having combustion in paragraph 0319]. (12) wherein water or steam 79, z1 extracted from the heat recovery steam generator to the fourth heat exchanger 62 is recovered back 80, z2 to the heat recovery steam generator or downstream of the condenser.
Preheating the air / oxidant supplied to the first combustor, facilitates combustion by heating the air/oxidant prior to combustion and recovers heat that would otherwise be lost and thus increases system efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (9) a third heat exchanger in which heat exchange occurs between the combustion gas and an oxidant supplied to the first combustor, (10) a fourth heat exchanger in which heat exchange occurs between the oxidant and water or steam heated by the heat of the exhaust gas in the heat recovery steam generator, (11) wherein the oxidant passes through the fourth heat exchanger and the third heat exchanger in turn, and then is supplied to the first combustor, (12) wherein water or steam extracted from the heat recovery steam generator to the fourth heat exchanger is recovered back to the heat recovery steam generator or downstream of the condenser, as taught by the alternate embodiment of Fig. 14, as preheating the air / oxidant supplied to the first combustor, facilitates combustion by preheating the air/oxidant prior to combustion and recovers heat that would otherwise be lost and thus increases system efficiency.
As set forth above, UECHI et al teach a first interpretation [Fig. 9] with a first combustor 45b configured to generate combustion gas in such a way as to supply heat to the decomposition reactor 45a [45b is taught as having combustion in paragraph 0319 thus the 45b is the first combustor] UECHI et al do not teach first combustor configured to generate combustion gas in such a way as to supply heat to the decomposition reactor in conjunction with wherein the combustion gas generated by the first combustor passes through the decomposition reactor. However, Bulat et al teach a first combustor 7 configured to generate combustion gas 36, 32 in such a way as to supply heat to the decomposition reactor 9 and wherein the combustion gas 36, 32 generated by the first combustor 7 passes through the decomposition reactor 9. Furthermore, the combustor 7 exhaust gas heat is circulated to generate the ammonia decomposition products 9 that are then used in the combustor 7 and this facilitates decomposition of the ammonia in 9 the combustion gas and facilitates control over the elevated temperature for the decomposition reactor and/or reduces NOx emissions [see ¶ 0018-0019]. It would have been obvious to supply the heat to the decomposition reactor from a first combustor configured to generate combustion gas and wherein the combustion gas generated by the first combustor passes through the decomposition reactor, as taught by Bulat et al, in order to facilitate control of an elevated temperature for the decomposition reactor or as equivalent heat source to other heat producing turbine systems used in UECHI et al [e.g. hot water / steam] and/or reduce NOx emissions. This combination entails combustion gas flow RG from 45b being recirculated at some point back to the decomposition reactor 45a, e.g. in replacement of the hot steam 52b, 51b or in addition to the hot steam 52b, 51b for additional heat recovery by the decomposition reactor.
Prior Art
It has come the Examiner’s attention that applicant appears to have a highly analogous application 18/665376, which has been allowed. Note that claim 1 of that application claims the third [first] heat exchanger in which heat exchange occurs between the combustion gas and an oxidant supplied to the first combustor and has analogous heat recovery steam generator limitations in claims 5-10 to that of the instant application’s cliam 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that
“Uechi "has now been construed as 45b being the first combustor and 45a being the decomposition reactor." Office Action at p. 9. In both FIG. 9 and FIG. 14 of Uechi, the reaction gas RG (identified by the Office as the "combustion gas") flows from 45a to 45 b. Thus, Uechi teaches that the RG/combustion gas flows in the opposite direction recited in amended claim 1, and there is no motivation to modify Uechi as doing so would improperly change its principle of operation. See MPEP 2143.01(VI).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive as in applicant’s own disclosure the flow of gas from the decomposition reactor 500 also branches from 800 and enters the combustor 700 – see e.g. Fig. 5. This flow is analogous to the flow of gas RG from the decomposition reactor 45a to the first combustor 45b of Uechi. Accordingly, as this part of the system is analogous, applicant’s argument does not persuade since the mere flow of RG in the manner argued does not differentiate from applicant’s own disclosed invention. Applicant argues that the modification of Uechi would change is principle of operation. This is not the case. Uechi uses the hot combustion gas from the 1st combustor 45b for heat exchange purposes, e.g. 46c, 46d in Fig. 9, and 46g 46h 46i 44d 46j in Fig. 14. The modification of Uechi merely uses the combustion gas from the first combustor for the heat exchange purposes by passing through the decomposition reactor, i.e. to circulate the combustion gas from the first combustor 45b and use it so as it passes through the decomposition reactor 45a. This modification is compatible with Bulat, who teaches a first combustor 7 configured to generate combustion gas 36, 32 in such a way as to supply heat to the decomposition reactor 9 and wherein the combustion gas 36, 32 generated by the first combustor 7 passes through the decomposition reactor 9. Furthermore, the combustor 7 exhaust gas heat is circulated to generate the ammonia decomposition products 9 that are then used in the combustor 7 and this facilitates decomposition of the ammonia in 9 the combustion gas and facilitates control over the elevated temperature for the decomposition reactor and/or reduces NOx emissions [see ¶ 0018-0019].
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
August 27, 2026