DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 07/08/2024.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10, and 16-19 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 4-6, 9, 11-15, and 20 is/are objected to.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US_20210136827_A1_Xiong.
Regarding claim 1, Xiong teaches a communication method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device, a first downlink signal from a plurality of downlink signals (Xiong figure 3, paragraph 12, “…determining the downlink beam…”, paragraph 67, “Specifically, the base station transmits the configuration information for grant free uplink transmission to the user equipment by using the downlink channel (such as the physical downlink control channel PDCCH, the physical downlink shared channel PDSCH, and the physical downlink broadcast channel PBCH)...”); determining, by the terminal device, at least one signature based on the first downlink signal (Xiong figure 3, “UE receives configuration information; determines GF-RNTI for grant free uplink transmission; and/or determines grant free uplink transmission time-freauency resource/preamble/DMRS/MAS; transmit uplink signal”, paragraph 12, “…determining at least one of the time-frequency resource, the preamble, the de-modulation reference signal DMRS, and the multiple access signature MAS for grant free uplink transmission according to the determined downlink beam and the mapping relationship between the downlink beam and at least one of the time-frequency resource…”); and sending, by the terminal device, data by using the at least one signature (Ye figure 3, UE transmit unlink signal to the base station device according to the configuration information which include the MAS. Also read paragraphs 121-141).
Regarding claim 2, Xiong teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, at least one signature based on the first downlink signal includes: determining, by the terminal device based on the first downlink signal, a first resource from a plurality of resources that have a mapping relationship with the plurality of downlink signals (Xiong paragraph 97, “(3) Mapping relationship between the grant free uplink transmission preamble and/or de-modulation reference signal (DMRS) and/or multiple access signature (MAS) resource and the downlink beam”, also read paragraphs 101, 103-111); and determining, by the terminal device based on the first resource, the at least one signature from a plurality of signatures that have a mapping relationship with the plurality of resources (Xiong paragraph 104, “ For example, by using the mapping relationship between the random access preamble and the downlink beam, the available preamble resources for the grant free uplink transmission corresponding to the determined SSB are obtained, and a preamble is selected, so that an available DMRS sequence or sequence set may be obtained through the corresponding mapping relationship between the preamble and the DMRS (e.g., 1 to 1, N to 1, 1 to N, N to M, etc.), and then the UE may determine the used DMRS sequence, if 1 to 1, the UE may determine the available DMRS sequence after the preamble is determined, and if 1 to N, the UE may determine the available DMRS sequence set after the preamble is determined, and the UE randomly selects a DMRS sequence from the set in equal probability; the manner of determining the MAS is similar”).
Regarding claim 3, Xiong teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining, by the terminal device based on the first downlink signal, the first resource from the plurality of resources that have a mapping relationship with the plurality of downlink signals includes determining a plurality of resources include a preamble and a physical random access channel PRACH time-frequency resource for sending the preamble (Xiong paragraph 104, “For example, by using the mapping relationship between the random access preamble and the downlink beam, the available preamble resources for the grant free uplink transmission corresponding to the determined SSB are obtained, and a preamble is selected…”); wherein the mapping relationship between a plurality of resources and a plurality of signatures includes: a mapping relationship between N preambles on the PRACH time-frequency resource and M combinations of a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH time-frequency resource, a pilot resource, and a signature (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57. ); a mapping relationship between N preambles on the PRACH time-frequency resource and M combinations of a PUSCH time-frequency resource and a signature (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57); a mapping relationship between N preambles on the PRACH time-frequency resource and M combinations of a pilot resource and a signature (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57); or a mapping relationship between N preambles on the PRACH time-frequency resource and M signatures (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57), wherein M and N are positive integers (Xiong paragraphs 8, at least 1 preamble and 1 signature).
Regarding claim 7, Xiong teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information from a network device (Xiong figure 3, paragraph 67, “Specifically, the base station transmits the configuration information for grant free uplink transmission to the user equipment by using the downlink channel (such as the physical downlink control channel PDCCH, the physical downlink shared channel PDSCH, and the physical downlink broadcast channel PBCH)...”), wherein the configuration information is used to configure the mapping relationship between a plurality of resources and a plurality of signatures (Xiong paragraph 97, “(3) Mapping relationship between the grant free uplink transmission preamble and/or de-modulation reference signal (DMRS) and/or multiple access signature (MAS) resource and the downlink beam”, also read paragraphs 101, 103-111).
Regarding claim 8, Xiong teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising determining a mapping relationship between the plurality of downlink signals and a plurality of signatures, wherein the at least one signature is a signature that is in the plurality of signatures and that is mapped to the first downlink signal (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57); wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the plurality of downlink signals and the plurality of signatures includes: determining a mapping relationship between R downlink signals in the plurality of downlink signals and S combinations of a PUSCH time-frequency resource, a pilot resource, and a signature (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57); determining a mapping relationship between R downlink signals in the plurality of downlink signals and S combinations of a PUSCH time-frequency resource and a signature (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57); determining a mapping relationship between R downlink signals in the plurality of downlink signals and S combinations of a pilot resource and a signature (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57); or determining a mapping relationship between R downlink signals in the plurality of downlink signals and S signatures (Xiong paragraphs 8, … a mapping relationship between at least one of a grant free preamble, a DMRS or a multiple access signature resource and a downlink beam…”, and paragraph 57), wherein R and S are positive integers (Xiong paragraphs 8, at least 1 downlink beam and 1 signature).
Regarding claim 10, Xiong teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, at least one signature based on the first downlink signal comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the at least one signature in a signature set associated with the first downlink signal, wherein each of the plurality of downlink signals has an associated signature set (Xiong figure 3, paragraph 12, “…determining at least one of the time-frequency resource, the preamble, the de-modulation reference signal DMRS, and the multiple access signature MAS for grant free uplink transmission according to the determined downlink beam and the mapping relationship between the downlink beam and at least one of the time-frequency resource…”).
Regarding claim 16, Xiong teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the at least one signature in the signature set associated with the first downlink signal includes: determining the at least one signature is at least one of a code-domain resource, a pilot resource, a power resource, a space-domain resource, and a resource hopping pattern (Xiong figure 5, paragraph 99, “he multiple access signature may be a combination of one or more of: a bit-level spreading spectrum sequence, a bit-level interleaving sequence, a bit-level scrambling sequence, a bit-level to symbol-level codeword or codebook, a symbol-level spreading spectrum sequence, a symbol-level scrambling sequence, a symbol-level interleaving sequence, a symbol to resource element (RE) mapping codebook or pattern; power factor, phase factor, etc…”).
Regarding claim 17, Xiong teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the first downlink signal from the plurality of downlink signals includes determining the downlink signal is a synchronization signal block SSB (Xiong figure 5, paragraph 90, “The downlink beam may be an index of a synchronization signal/PBCH block (SSB) or an index of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)…”, also read paragraph 96).
Regarding claim 18, Xiong teaches a communication method, comprising: determining, by a network device, configuration information (Xiong figure 3, paragraph 67, “Specifically, the base station transmits the configuration information for grant free uplink transmission to the user equipment by using the downlink channel (such as the physical downlink control channel PDCCH, the physical downlink shared channel PDSCH, and the physical downlink broadcast channel PBCH)...”), wherein the configuration information is used to configure a mapping relationship between a plurality of resources and a plurality of signatures (Xiong paragraph 97, “(3) Mapping relationship between the grant free uplink transmission preamble and/or de-modulation reference signal (DMRS) and/or multiple access signature (MAS) resource and the downlink beam”, also read paragraphs 101, 103-111); and sending, by the network device, the configuration information to a terminal device (Xiong figure 3, the base station device transmits the configuration information to the UE).
Regarding claim 19, Xiong teaches the limitations as set forth in claim 3.
Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US_20220124843_A1_Ye.
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches a communication method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device, a first downlink signal from a plurality of downlink signals (Ye figure 2, paragraphs 66, “… the base station may firstly use RRC signaling to configure the UE with, for example, one or more parameters of configuration information of… and a MA signature.…”, also read figures 3 and 7, and paragraph 67); determining, by the terminal device, at least one signature based on the first downlink signal (Ye figure 5, step S501); and sending, by the terminal device, data by using the at least one signature (Ye figure 5, step S502).
Regarding claim 18, Ye teaches a communication method, comprising: determining, by a network device, configuration information (Ye figure 2, paragraphs 66, “… the base station may firstly use RRC signaling to configure the UE with, for example, one or more parameters of configuration information of grant-free data transmission resources, grant-free data transmission period, demodulation reference signals (DMRSs), a transport block size (TBS), a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS), transmission power, and a MA signature..…”, also read figures 3 and 7, and paragraph 67), wherein the configuration information is used to configure a mapping relationship between a plurality of resources and a plurality of signatures (Ye figure , paragraph 12, “Further, the multiple access signature includes at least one of a bit-to-symbol mapping and a spreading sequence”, paragraph 73, “…The multiple access signatures constructed by using the deep learning algorithm may include at least one of bit-to-symbol mappings and spreading sequences”); and sending, by the network device, the configuration information to a terminal device (Ye figures 2, 3, 7, and paragraphs 66-67, the base station sending RRC singling which includes configuration information to the UE).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 9, 11-15, and 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471