DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 2, Fig. 6 (with claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-20 readable thereon) in the reply filed on 18 November 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species overlap in scope and are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because, as can be readily evidenced by Figs. 5 and 6, each of the Species require features and configurations that are not required by the other, i.e., they are mutually exclusive. Thus, the search for features and configurations not required for the other species presents a serious search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the aforementioned reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0298713 to Arankalle et al. (“Arankalle”).
Regarding claim 1, Arankalle (in Figs. 1-5 and associated text) discloses a washing machine appliance (100) comprising:
a cabinet comprising a front panel (104) defining a chamber opening (see Fig. 2);
a wash tub (109) positioned within the cabinet and defining a wash chamber;
a door (106) rotatably mounted to the front panel and moveable between an open position for providing access to the wash chamber and a closed position for prohibiting access to the wash chamber (see opening and closing operations in ¶ [0019]); and
an automatic door opening assembly for selectively rotating the door from the closed position to the open position, the automatic door opening assembly comprising:
a linear actuator (piston 130) comprising a rod (142) moveable between a retracted position and an extended position in which the rod moves the door from the closed position (see Fig. 3 and associated text);
a sensor (206) for detecting a contactless user input to move the door from the closed position to the open position (see Fig. 5); and
a controller (202) operatively coupled to the sensor and the linear actuator, the controller configured to control an operation of the linear actuator to move the rod from the retracted position to the extended position upon detection of the contactless user input by the sensor (see controller opening door based on gesture sensor 206 detection of hand movement in ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Arankalle further discloses the automatic door opening assembly further comprising: a door hinge (112a/112b) coupled to the door and the front panel for facilitating rotation of the door between the open position and the closed position; and a hinge actuator coupled to the door hinge for moving the door to the open position after the linear actuator moves the door from the closed position (see ¶ [0019] - “[t]he hinge assembly may be capable of disengaging the door from the latch in order to open the door”; see also ¶ [0023] where the controller controls the hinge to open and closed the door based on a command).
Regarding claim 4, Arankalle further discloses wherein the hinge actuator is configured as a motor operable to move the door to the open position after the linear actuator moves the door from the closed position (hydraulic pump 122 reads on a hydraulic “motor” that converts hydraulic pressure into movement).
Regarding claim 5, Arankalle further discloses wherein the controller is operatively coupled to the motor, the controller further configured to: after controlling the operation of the linear actuator to move the rod from the retracted position to the extended position, control an operation of the motor to move the door to the open position (note the hydraulic pump (motor) in Arankalle moves the rod from retracted position to an extended position, and subsequently to an open position).
Regarding claims 6-7, Arankalle further discloses wherein the sensor is configured as a proximity sensor for detecting the contactless user input (note gesture sensor 206 reads on a proximity sensor); wherein: the proximity sensor is configured to detect motion corresponding to the contactless user input; and the controller is further configured to control the operation of the linear actuator to move the rod from the retracted position to the extended position when the motion is detected by the proximity sensor (see Fig. 5 and associated text).
Regarding claims 11-12, Arankalle further discloses wherein: the sensor is configured as a microphone for receiving a voice command; and the controller is further configured to: determine when the voice command is a command to open the door; and control the operation of the linear actuator to move the rod from the retracted position to the extended position when determined that the voice command is a command to open the door (see ¶ [0022] and [0029]-[0030] wherein a microphone is used to give audible commands for the door to open or close); wherein the controller is further configured to: determine when the voice command is a command to open the door from a specific user; and control the operation of the linear actuator move the rod from the retracted position to the extended position when determined that the voice command is a command to open the door from the specific user (see ¶ [0031] wherein the received user commands may include user authentication).
Regarding claim 13, see claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 16, see claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 20, Arankalle further discloses a switch for activating by the user, wherein, the controller is operatively coupled to the switch, the controller further configured to: control the operation of the linear actuator to move the rod from the retracted position to the extended position when the switch is activated by the user (see ¶ [0022] wherein the user interface may include touch displays, which read on a “switch”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arankalle.
Arankalle, supra, discloses the claimed invention including a proximity sensor positioned on the front panel of the washing machine. Arankalle discloses the sensor positioned above the door rather than below the door as recited in claim 8. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to rearrange the sensor location as desired to achieve the same and predictable results of proximity sensing a user to control automatic door opening, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arankalle in view of US 2020/0087846 to Park et al. (“Park”).
Regarding claims 9-10 Arankalle, supra, discloses the claimed invention including a sensor configured to detect a user. Arankalle does not expressly disclose a temperature sensor for such operation. However, Park teaches that it is known in the laundry treating art to provide either a motion detection sensor or temperature sensor in order to identify a human (see Park at ¶ [0018]).
Because both Arankalle and Park teach laundry treating appliances using sensors for detecting humans, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one sensor (i.e. a motion detecting sensor) for the other (i.e. a temperature sensor) to achieve the same and predictable result of identifying the presence of a human.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 9 above.
Conclusion
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711