DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (JP7374874 B2).
With regards to claim 1, D1 discloses an X-ray assembly comprising:
an x-ray tube 1 including an electric motor, the electric motor including a rotatable anode assembly 5 [0020];
an anode rotation sensor 49 operable to generate a signal corresponding to a rate of rotation of the rotatable anode assembly [0027];
an anode driver operable to drive the electric motor [0027];
a power monitoring sensor 55 operable to determine a power property provided to the electric motor from the anode driver [0027]; and
a processor 48 and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 48 having encoded electronic instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine, via the power monitoring sensor, the power property provided to the electric motor from the anode driver [0027];
determine, via the anode rotation sensor, the rate of rotation of the rotatable anode assembly [0027]; and
determine an operating characteristic (stress value) of the rotatable anode assembly based on the power property and the rate of rotation [0027].
With regards to claim 3, D1 discloses wherein the operating characteristic includes a discrepancy between an expected rate of rotation of the rotatable anode assembly and the rate of rotation of the rotatable anode assembly [0027] (comparing stored data with actual data to determine the amount of pressure to be applied inherently evaluates a discrepancy as claimed).
With regards to claim 10, D1 discloses a method of controlling an X-ray assembly, the method comprising:
determining, via an anode rotation sensor, a rate of rotation of a rotatable anode assembly within an x-ray tube [0027];
determining, via at least one power sensor, power provided to drive rotation of the rotatable anode assembly from a generator [0027];
determining an operating characteristic of the rotatable anode assembly based on the rate of rotation and the power provided [0027]; and
adjusting operation of the rotatable anode assembly based on the operating characteristic [0027].
With regards to claim 11, D1 discloses wherein the operating characteristic includes a discrepancy between an expected rate of rotation of the rotatable anode assembly and the rate of rotation of the rotatable anode assembly [0027] (comparing stored data with actual data to determine the amount of pressure to be applied inherently evaluates a discrepancy as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-9, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regards to claim 2, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the anode rotation sensor includes a magnetic sensor as claimed. However, those skilled in the art recognize that contactless sensors, such as magnetic sensors, were generally known and therefore considered an obvious design choice. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed magnetic sensor in order to avoid wear and contamination.
With regards to claims 4-6, D1 discloses a bearing 19 and a temperature sensor 57 for measuring a temperature within the x-ray tube [0033] and further determining a stress value on the bearing [0027]. Although D1 is silent with respect to estimating a life span characteristic of the bearing determined at least partially based on the temperature or acceleration, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed operating characteristic since bearing life prediction from stress and based on operating temperatures and acceleration is well known mechanical engineering practice in view of performing predictive maintenance.
With regards to claims 7 and 12, D1 discloses wherein the electronic instructions are further configured to cause the processor to adjust a property based on the operating characteristic of the rotatable anode assembly [0027]. D1 does not explicitly teach adjusting a property of power provided to the electric motor. However, such a modification was already known and considered obvious in order to prevent damage and/or extend component life. Therefore, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed processor in view of the recited benefits.
With regards to claims 8 and 13, D1 discloses wherein the electronic instructions are further configured to cause the processor to monitor the stress occurring on a bearing based on the operating characteristic of the rotatable anode assembly in order to prevent damage [0027], but does not specify wherein the electronic instructions are further configured to cause the processor to allow or prevent exposure of an electron beam of the x-ray tube to the rotatable anode assembly based on the operating characteristic of the rotatable anode assembly. However, such a modification wherein allowing or inhibiting electron beam exposure based on detected rotational conditions to prevent overheating and/or avoid anode damage would have been known. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed processor in order to prevent overheating and/or avoid anode damage.
With regards to claim 9, D1 discloses monitoring operating characteristics of the rotatable anode assembly [0027], but does not specify a power chain controller configured to receive a feedback signal from the processor indicating the operating characteristic of the rotatable anode assembly and to provide a control signal to the anode driver based on the feedback signal. However, such a modification would have been known and considered obvious since the modification merely routes the already determined operating characteristic to the motor power control path rather than a separate mechanical system, thereby preserving the protective function of the system while improving control integration.
With regards to claim 14, D1 discloses a maximum stress occurrence data section 51, storing data based on experimental relationships [0027]; and comparing measured values to stored data over time [0027]. Although D1 does not specify recording the rate of rotation and the power provided over time, such a modification would have been obvious for comparison and control.
With regards to claim 15, D1 does not specify the claimed method step. However, since the motor taught by D1 is driven by a stator coil and inherently requires multiphase power, wherein three phase stator driven motors are generally considered to be standard in rotating anode x-ray tubes, further modification to include comparing rotation frequency to drive frequency is a classic motor diagnostic technique which would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
With regards to claim 16, D1 discloses an X-ray assembly comprising:
an insert 3;
an electric motor [0020];
a cathode 6;
an anode 5 positioned in the insert;
a sensor 49 operable to detect movement of the anode within the insert;
an anode driver configured to provide a power level to the electric motor [0027];
a processor 48;
a non-transitory computer readable medium 49 containing electronic instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to adjust operating parameters in response to a signal generated by the sensor [0027].
D1 does not specify adjusting the power level of the electric motor in response to a signal generated by the sensor. However, such a modification was already known and considered obvious in order to prevent damage and/or extend component life. Therefore, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed processor in view of the recited benefits.
With regards to claim 17, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the anode rotation sensor includes a magnetic sensor as claimed. However, those skilled in the art recognize that contactless sensors, such as magnetic sensors, were generally known and therefore considered an obvious design choice. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed magnetic sensor in order to avoid wear and contamination.
With regards to claim 18, D1 discloses wherein the electronic instructions are further configured to cause the processor to monitor the stress occurring on a bearing based on the operating characteristic of the rotatable anode assembly in order to prevent damage [0027], but does not specify wherein the electronic instructions are further configured to cause the processor to allow or prevent exposure of an electron beam of the x-ray tube to the rotatable anode assembly based on the operating characteristic of the rotatable anode assembly. However, such a modification wherein allowing or inhibiting electron beam exposure based on detected rotational conditions to prevent overheating and/or avoid anode damage would have been known. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed processor in order to prevent overheating and/or avoid anode damage.
With regards to claim 19, D1 discloses wherein the signal indicates a rate of rotation of the anode [0027].
With regards to claim 20, D1 discloses a bearing 19 and determining a stress value on the bearing [0027]. Although D1 is silent with respect to estimating a life span characteristic of the bearing, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed operating characteristic since bearing life prediction based on stress levels is well known mechanical engineering practice in view of performing predictive maintenance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11051388 B2 teaches an x-ray tube diagnostic system comprising adjusting motor drive parameters based on detected operating conditions and diagnostic determinations of component condition.
US 6341155 B1 teaches an x-ray tube apparatus and method comprising monitoring anode rotational speed and controlling beam exposure based on detected conditions.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884