Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 17, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. The applicant’s amendments to the Specifications, Drawings, and Claims have overcome all objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 15, 2026.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9-10, and 14-15 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the argument regarding the “relationship between the elongate openings, the circumferential edge flanges, the concave curved contour, and the connector engagement is not taught or suggested by the cited combination” is not persuasive. The combination of references meet all limitations as outlined in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 15, 2026, as well as the present Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 10, the original disclosure lacks support for where “a first rotational orientation and rotated relative to the elongate slot openings into a second rotational orientation” (lines 8-9). Specifically, the applicant does not recite “a first rotational orientation” nor “a second rotational orientation” anywhere in the original disclosure. Therefore, this limitation is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valembois FR 3097837 A1, in view of Benthien et al. US 20190329907 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Valembois discloses a mounting rail interface (Valembois 20) for a vehicle (Valembois 1), the mounting rail interface comprising:
an elongate body (Valembois 16), the elongate body comprising:
two elongate lateral portions (Valembois 38); and
an elongate central portion arranged between the two elongate lateral portions (Valembois 32);
wherein the elongate lateral portions are defined for providing a transition portion (Valembois 42) to an adjacent surface (Valembois paragraph 0053);
wherein the elongate central portion comprises a plurality of openings (Valembois 34) with a respective circumferential edge flange (see annotated Valembois Fig. 4; Valembois paragraph 0050);
wherein the openings from the plurality of openings are defined as elongate openings (Valembois paragraph 0056) configured to allow insertion of a connector (Valembois 14) and rotation of an inserted portion (Valembois 54; Valembois Fig. 6) of the connector such that the connector engages with the respective circumferential edge flange (Valembois paragraph 0056);
wherein the respective circumferential edge flange is defined with a concave curved contour on a bottom side (Valembois 56; Valembois paragraph 0056);
wherein the concave curved contour provides an abutting surface for a connector configured to engage with the respective circumferential edge flange of the one of the plurality of openings (Valembois Fig. 3; Valembois paragraph 0056); and
wherein the curved contour provides an abutting surface over at least an angular range (Valembois paragraph 0056).
Valembois does not disclose openings configured to allow a range of different orientations of the connector.
However, Benthien et al. disclose an opening (Benthien et al. 16) that is configured to allow a range of different pivotable orientations of a connector (Benthien et al. 22/44) (Benthien et al. Fig. 1a; Benthien et al. paragraph 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the mounting rail interface of Valembois with the opening and connector configuration as taught by Benthien et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of providing a desired alignment for the connector as well as ease of configurability between the opening and connector elements (Benthien et al. paragraphs 0015-0016).
Regarding claim 2, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the mounting rail interface according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the concave curved contour comprises a cylindric or spherical contour (Valembois Fig. 4; Valembois paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 3, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the mounting rail interface according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the concave curved contour is:
i) one-dimensionally curved providing an abutting surface over an angular range along a curve; or
ii) bi-dimensionally curved providing a range for an abutting surface over a section of a curved shell (Valembois Fig. 4; Valembois paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 4, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the mounting rail interface according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the respective circumferential edge flange is defined with a convex contour on a front side (see annotated Valembois Fig. 4) matching with the concave curved contour on the bottom side (Valembois 56) (Valembois paragraphs 0056-0057).
Regarding claim 5, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the mounting rail interface according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the central portion comprises a plurality of spherical segments or ellipsoid segments with elongate openings as the openings from the plurality of openings with the respective circumferential edge flanges (Valembois 35; see annotated Valembois Fig. 4 above; Valembois paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 6, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the mounting rail interface according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the elongate openings are arranged parallel to each other (Valembois paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 7, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the mounting rail interface according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the mounting rail interface is configured as a seat rail for an aircraft cabin (Valembois 4) (Valembois Fig. 2; Valembois paragraph 0003);
wherein the elongate body is defined as a cover configured for mounting to a structural member (Valembois 6) (Valembois Fig. 2; Valembois paragraph 0046); and
wherein the cover is made from a stainless sheet material (Valembois paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 8, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the mounting rail interface according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein an elongate base (Valembois 22) is provided that is configured to be mounted on a structural member (Valembois 6) (Valembois Fig. 2; Valembois paragraphs 0046-0047);
wherein the elongate base comprises a trough-shaped cross-section (Valembois Fig. 3; Valembois paragraph 0048); and
wherein the elongate body is mounted on an upper side of the elongate base (Valembois Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Valembois discloses a connector (Valembois 14) for a mounting rail interface (Valembois 16) for a vehicle (Valembois 1), the connector comprising:
a body (Valembois 10) with:
an inner engaging section (Valembois 54);
an intermediate section (Valembois 52); and
an outer engaging section (Valembois 62/70);
wherein the inner engaging section has an elongate form (Valembois Fig. 8a) configured to be inserted into elongate slot openings of a mounting rail interface (Valembois paragraphs 0056-0057) to engage a circumferential edge flange of one of the elongate slot openings (Valembois Fig. 3; Valembois paragraph 0056); and
wherein, facing the intermediate section, the inner engaging section has a convex curved abutting surface (Valembois Figs. 6-7) configured for resting against a concave curved contour of the circumferential edge flange (see annotated Valembois Fig. 4; Valembois paragraphs 0056-0057);
wherein the intermediate section has a diameter smaller than a width of the slot openings of the mounting rail interface (see annotated Valembois Fig. 9; Valembois paragraph 0056); and
wherein, facing the intermediate section, the outer engaging section has a concave curved abutting surface (see annotated Valembois Fig. 10) configured for resting against a convex curved contour (Valembois paragraph 0059).
Valembois does not disclose a configuration in which a first rotational orientation of an inserted section is rotated relative to the elongate slot openings into a second rotational orientation.
However, Benthien et al. disclose a configuration in which a first rotational orientation of an inserted section is rotated relative to an opening into a second rotational orientation (Benthien et al. paragraph 0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the mounting rail interface of Valembois with the rotational orientation configurations as taught by Benthien et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of providing a desired alignment for a connector as well as ease of configurability between the opening and connector elements (Benthien et al. paragraphs 0015-0016).
Regarding claim 11, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the connector according to claim 10, as discussed above, wherein an intermediate washer (Valembois 84) is arranged between the intermediate section (Valembois 52) and the outer engaging section (Valembois 70) (Valembois paragraph 0064), wherein the intermediate washer comprises a convex curved contour facing the outer engaging section (Valembois Fig. 9; Valembois paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 12, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the connector according to claim 10, as discussed above, wherein the outer engaging section is configured as a mounting part defined as a seat fitting (Valembois paragraph 0065);
wherein the inner engaging section and the intermediate section are movably held by the outer engaging section (Valembois paragraph 0065); and
wherein the mounting part extends over at least two openings (Valembois Fig. 9; Valembois paragraphs 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 13, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose a mounting system (Valembois 20) for an aircraft (Valembois 1), the mounting system comprising:
a mounting rail interface (Valembois 16); and
the connector according to claim 10, as discussed above, wherein the connector is inserted into an opening of the mounting rail interface (Valembois Fig. 9; Valembois paragraph 0056).
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valembois FR 3097837 A1, in view of Benthien et al. US 20190329907 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ciprian US 8220222 B2.
Regarding claim 9, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose the mounting rail interface according to claim 1, as discussed above.
Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., do not disclose wherein a lower rail is defined as a structural member, to which the mounting rail interface is mounted, wherein the lower rail comprises an upper flange member configured as a support structure for adjacent floor panels, and wherein the two lateral portions of the mounting rail interface are configured to cover an edge section of the adjacent floor panels.
However, Ciprian discloses these limitations, wherein:
a lower rail (Ciprian 17) is defined as a structural member (Ciprian col. 3, lines 38-40), to which the mounting rail interface (Ciprian 15) is mounted;
wherein the lower rail comprises an upper flange member (see annotated Ciprian Fig. 2) configured as a support structure for adjacent floor panels (Ciprian 10) (Ciprian col. 3, lines 38-40); and
wherein the two lateral portions of the mounting rail interface (Ciprian 21/22) are configured to cover an edge section of the adjacent floor panels (Ciprian Fig. 2; Ciprian col. 2, lines 19-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the mounting rail interface of Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., with the structural member and floor panel configurations as taught by Ciprian et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of fixing a mounting rail to both a structural member and floor panels to provide additional assembly support to the floor panels and seat rails in a vehicle, as would be known by one of ordinary skill in the art (Ciprian col. 2, lines 51-56).
Regarding claim 14, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose a cabin floor assembly (Valembois paragraph 0003), the assembly comprising:
the mounting rail interface (Valembois 20) according to claim 1, as discussed above; and
a plurality of cabin floor panels (Valembois 50; Valembois paragraph 0054).
Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., do not disclose wherein at least a part of the floor panels of the plurality of floor panels is arranged adjacent to the mounting rail interfaces with panel edges clamped by the mounting rail interface.
However, Ciprian discloses floor panels (Ciprian 10) adjacent to a mounting rail interface (Ciprian 15) with panel edges clamped by the mounting rail interface by bolt fixing members (Ciprian 16) (Ciprian Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the cabin floor assembly of Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., with the floor panel configuration and securements as taught by Ciprian with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of providing additional reinforcements between floor panels to prevent undesired movement between structural components, as known by one of ordinary skill in the art (Ciprian col. 1, lines 39-43).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valembois FR 3097837 A1, in view of Benthien et al. US 20190329907 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allain et al. US 20100108808 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., disclose a method (Valembois paragraph 0044) for mounting a connector (Valembois 14) to a mounting rail interface (Valembois 20) for a vehicle (Valembois 1), the method comprising the following steps:
providing the mounting rail interface (Valembois paragraph 0006) according to claim 1, as discussed above;
providing a connector having an inner engaging section (Valembois 54) and an intermediate section (Valembois 52), the inner engaging section having a convex curved abutting surface (Valembois Figs. 6-7);
inserting the inner engaging section of the connector into one of the openings of the mounting rail interface (Valembois Figs. 3 and 9; Valembois paragraphs 0056-0057); and
rotating the inner engaging section and the intermediate section such that the convex curved abutting surface of the inner engaging section engages the concave curved contour on the bottom side of the respective circumferential edge flange of the one of the elongate openings (Valembois Figs. 9 and 11; Valembois paragraph 0065).
Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., do not disclose rotating the inner engaging section and the intermediate section by 90°.
However, Allain et al. disclose rotating a connector (Allain et al. 22) with an inner engaging section (Allain et al. 24) and an intermediate section (Allain et al. 18) by 90° (Allain et al. 32) (Allain et al. Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the method of Valembois, in view of Benthien et al., as discussed above, with the rotatable connector features as taught by Allain et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of preventing undesired separation or movement between the mounting rail structural components (Allain et al. paragraph 0053).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burgunder et al. FR 2951329 A1 disclose a rail for fixing seats or monuments e.g. toilets in electrical cabin of aircraft, has first wall comprised of opening to access housing, and electrical conductor placed at interior of raceway and formed between two vertical walls.
Giessman et al. DE 102014212801 B4 disclose a mounting rail.
Frantz et al. US 20060249616 A1 disclose a payload to support track interface and fitting apparatus and method.
Jankowski et al. US 20220219762 A1 disclose an overlay floor for motor vehicles.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anayansi Santiago/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612