DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9-10, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Showman et al (US Pub. 2021/0094716; hereinafter Showman in view of Brandsetter et al (US Pub. 2023/0067806; hereinafter Brandsetter).
As per claim 1, Showman discloses an assembly monitoring system, the system comprising:
at least one assembly [para 0004; a carton supply station];
a gateway [para 0069-0073; a cartoning network system 300; one or more communication components 312];
at least one control unit [para 0069-0073l a controller 50];
at least one sensor module [para 0069-0073; one or more sensors 315];
at least one connection hub [para 0069-0073; a cartoning network system 300; a network 302; one or more communication components 312];
at least one sensor [para 0069-0073; one or more sensors];
an online server and database [para 0077; one or more data stores 329];
a local monitoring device [para 0058; one or more sensors 315]; and
a remote monitoring device [para 0059-0060; for remote monitoring];
wherein the at least one control unit is configured to receive usage data from the at least one sensor module [para 0072; the controller 50 components operatively coupled to the one or more sensors 315], and wherein the at least one sensor module is configured to receive usage data from the at least one sensor [para 0058; one or more sensors 315 may be utilized for various purposes], wherein the online server and database is configured to receive usage data from the gateway, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the display data and usage data to the gateway [para 0069-0073; the cartoning systems 310 communicate with other systems; “The controller 50 components, such as the one or more communication components 312, may be operatively coupled to the one or more sensors 315 (e.g., safety sensor, supply sensors, location sensors, or the like as previously discussed herein) located within the cartoning machine 10.”].
Showman does not specifically disclose regarding wherein the at least one control unit is configured to convert the usage data into display data; and wherein the at least one sensor module is configured to convert the usage data into display data; and wherein the online server and database is configured to convert the usage data into display data and wherein the online sever and database is configured to convert the usage data into display data; wherein the at least one sensor module is configured to transmit the display data and usage data to the control unit; wherein the gateway is configured to transmit the display data and usage data to the online server and database; wherein the online server and database is configured to retain the display data and usage data; wherein the remote monitoring device is configured to access the display data and usage data remotely; and wherein the local monitoring device is configured to access the display data and usage data locally. However, Brandsetter (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., void fill system) discloses wherein the at least one control unit is configured to convert the usage data into display data [para 0054, 0073; graphical user interface; “The notification may occur in real-time to a graphical interface of a system (e.g., a cartoning computer system 210, a user computer system 220, a void fil computer system 230, void dispenser system, or like) so that a user 204 packaging a product may receive recommendations for the void fill material to include in the carton 4 (e.g., void fill material types, amounts, or the like).”]; and wherein the at least one sensor module is configured to convert the usage data into display data [abstract; para 0073; the notification occurs in real-time to a graphical interface of the system]; wherein the online server and database configured to receive the display data and usage data from the gateway, and wherein the online server and database is configured to convert the usage data into display data [para 0047, 0052, 0073, 0076, 0057, 0059; “The communications between the system 210, 220, 230, 240 may occur over a network 202.”; other systems, server]; wherein the at least one sensor module is configured to transmit the display data and usage data to the control unit [para 0054; graphical user interface]; wherein the gateway is configured to transmit the display data and usage data to the online server and database [para 0073-0075; “… after the determination of the recipe, the void fill system 100 may communicate with one or more systems of the cartoning machine 1 (e.g., the cartoning computer systems 210, a void dispenser system, or the like) in order to instruct a void fill dispenser to automatically dispense a void fill material, which may be manually placed in the carton 4 by a user 204, or may be automatically dispensed into the carton 4.”; “The output may include a display 400 on a graphical user interface (GUI). The display 400 may include an image section 410 that provides 2D and/or 3D representations of the carton 4, the one or more products 6 in the carton 4, and/or the fill material in the carton 4. In some embodiments the 3D representation may be manipulated by a user 4 (e.g., rotated to view the representations form different angles). The display 400 may also include a carton information section 430 that provides data regarding the carton 4 and/or carton information, such as carton volume, current carton volume, carton void information, product information, void fill material information, recipe information, or the like. The output in the display 400 may be provided in real-time (e.g., immediately, near real-time, or the like) to an interface of any of the systems described herein. As such, the output in the display 400 may be utilized by a user 204 to provide recommend recipes for the current and/or future packing process for a carton 4, for recommended changes to the packaging process, for automatic dispensing of fill material, or the like as previously described herein.”; Fig. 2, 7-12]; wherein the online server and database is configured to retain the display data and usage data [Fig. 2, 7-12; para 0073-0075]; wherein the remote monitoring device is configured to access the display data and usage data remotely [Fig. 2, 7-12; para 0073-0075]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references as both are directed to void fill system. Moreover, Showman discloser will benefit with modification as disclosed by Brandsetter because it allows 2D and/or 3D representations and manipulations of the carton [para 0073-0075 of Brandsetter].
As per claim 17, Showman discloses a method of monitoring an assembly monitoring system, the assembly monitoring system comprising at least one assembly [para 0004], a gateway [para 0069-0073], a sensor module [para 0069-0073], a control unit [para 0069-0073], an online server and database [para 9977], a local monitoring device [para 0058], and a remote monitoring device [para 0069], the method comprising:
receiving usage data from the at least one assembly [para 0072];
converting the usage data into display data in one of the control unit or the sensor module [para 0069-0073];
transmitting the display data and the usage data from the control unit or sensor module to the gateway [para 0069-0073];
receiving the display data and usage data in the gateway [para 0069-0073].
Showman does not specifically disclose regarding transmitting the display data and the usage data from the gateway to the online server and database; retaining a copy of the display data and usage data in the online server and database; accessing the display data and usage data on the online server and database through the remote monitoring device; and accessing the display data and usage data on the online server and database through the local monitoring device. However, Brandsetter (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., void fill system) discloses transmitting the display data and the usage data from the gateway to the online server and database [Fig. 2, 7-12; para 0047, 0052, 0054, 0059, 0073-0075]; retaining a copy of the display data and usage data in the online server and database [Fig. 2, 7-12; para 0073-0075]; accessing the display data and usage data on the online server and database through the remote monitoring device [Fig. 2, 7-12; para 0073-0075]; and accessing the display data and usage data on the online server and database through the local monitoring device [Fig. 2, 7-12; para 0073-0075]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references as both are directed to void fill system. Moreover, Showman discloser will benefit with modification as disclosed by Brandsetter because it allows 2D and/or 3D representations and manipulations of the carton [para 0073-0075 of Brandsetter].
As per claims 7 and 19, Brandsetter discloses wherein the at least one assembly is one of void fill assemblies, pillow film assemblies, case packer assemblies, cartoners, water activated tape dispenser assemblies, and shrink equipment assemblies [para 0058; “The user application 227 may use the applications of the one or more cartoning computer systems 210, the one or more void fill computer systems 230, and/or one or more other computer systems 240 in order to communicate with other systems on the network 202 and take various actions described herein (e.g., operation, use, monitoring, or the like the cartoning machine 1).”].
As per claim 9, Brandsetter discloses wherein the local monitoring device is one of a computer screen, display screen, monitor, or touch screen [para 0054; “Moreover, the one or more communication components 212 may include a keypad, keyboard, touch-screen, touchpad, microphone, mouse, joystick, other pointer component, button, soft key, and/or other input/output component(s) for communicating with the users 204. In some embodiments, as described herein the one or more communication components 212 may comprise a user interface, such as a graphical user interface that allows a user to control and/or monitor the operation of the cartoning machine 1.”].
As per claim 10, Brandsetter discloses wherein the remote monitoring device is one of a mobile phone, a tablet, a laptop computer, or a handheld device with internet connection [para 0056; “The one or more user computer systems 220 may be a desktop, laptop, tablet, mobile device (e.g., smartphone device, or other mobile device), or any other type of computer that generally comprises one or more communication components 222, one or more processing components 224, and one or more memory components 226.”].
As per claim 20, Brandsetter discloses wherein the usage data is one of low tape, tape changes per day, tape not applied to carton, tape not cut, box jams, downstream stoppage, carton sealer excess runtime with no processed packages, approximate box length, process time, time stamp for every box, system start-up and shut-down times, cartons processed per minute/day, and carton sealer running time and off time [para 0011; “… identifying the carton length and the carton width comprises identifying two or more edges of an opening of the carton using the one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors are one or more overhead sensors, and identifying the carton length and the carton width based on a measurement of the two or more edges of the opening of the carton.”].
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Showman et al (US Pub. 2021/0094716; hereinafter Showman in view of Rodriguez et al (US Pub. 2020/0380226; hereinafter Rodriguez).
As per claim 11, Showman discloses a case sealer assembly, the assembly comprising:
a sealer [para 0066];
at least one sensor [para 0061];
a connector [para 0069-0073];
sensor module [para 0058]; and
a connection hub [para 0069-0073];
wherein the at least one sensor is configured to collect usage data [para 0069-0073], wherein the at least one sensor is configured to transmit the usage data to the sensor module via the connector, and wherein the sensor module is configured to transmit usage data to the control unit via the connection hub [para 0069-0073].
Showman does not specifically disclose a control unit that controls a stack light. However, Rodriguez (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., product packaging) discloses a control unit that controls a stack light [para 0028; “… different items at a checkout station are illuminated with light of different colors, e.g., to indicate items that have been successfully identified (or not), to indicate which items should be placed in which bags, etc.”; para 0346; “… the projector can illuminate products in green (or some other distinctive fashion) after they have been successfully identified. Red can indicate products (or areas in the pile) about which the system is uncertain. A checkout clerk can thus examine the pile and remove anything illuminated in red for additional imaging (or other sensing), or simply scatter the pile to expose additional product faces for imaging, until the system has recognized all the items and the pile is uniformly illuminated in green.”]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references as both are related to product packaging. Moreover, Showman discloser will benefit with Rodriguez discloser because it allows to illuminate with light of different colors, e.g., to indicate items that have been successfully identified (see para 0028 of Rodriguez).
As per claim 12, Showman discloses wherein the at least one sensor is one of a low tape sensor, a tape application sensor, a box present sensor, a top tape head sensor, a bottom tape head sensor, an entrance sensor, an exit sensor, a pressure sensor, or a photo sensor [para 0058; “The one or more sensors 315 may be any type of sensor, such as a light curtain, camera, radar, infrared, laser, accelerometer, force, radio frequency identification (RFID), pressure sensor, or the like.”].
As per claim 13, Rodriguez discloses wherein the control unit is configured to command the stack light to display a given light color combination and lighting frequency based on the usage data [para 0343-0346; green light; red light].
As per claim 14, Showman discloses wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the usage data to a gateway [para 0069-0073].
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Showman et al (US Pub. 2021/0094716; hereinafter Showman in view of Brandsetter et al (US Pub. 2023/0067806; hereinafter Brandsetter) and further in view of Rodriguez et al (US Pub. 2020/0380226; hereinafter Rodriguez).
As per claim 2, Showman and Brandsetter disclose the invention substantially. Showman and Brandsetter do not disclose regarding a stack light. However, Rodriguez (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., product packaging) discloses a control unit that controls a stack light [para 0028; “… different items at a checkout station are illuminated with light of different colors, e.g., to indicate items that have been successfully identified (or not), to indicate which items should be placed in which bags, etc.”; para 0346; “… the projector can illuminate products in green (or some other distinctive fashion) after they have been successfully identified. Red can indicate products (or areas in the pile) about which the system is uncertain. A checkout clerk can thus examine the pile and remove anything illuminated in red for additional imaging (or other sensing), or simply scatter the pile to expose additional product faces for imaging, until the system has recognized all the items and the pile is uniformly illuminated in green.”]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references as these are related to product packaging. Moreover, Showman and Brandsetter discloser will benefit with Rodriguez discloser because it allows to illuminate with light of different colors, e.g., to indicate items that have been successfully identified (see para 0028 of Rodriguez).
As per claim 3, Showman discloses wherein the at least one sensor is one of a low tape sensor, a tape application sensor, a box present sensor, a top tape head sensor, a bottom tape head sensor, an entrance sensor, an exit sensor, a pressure sensor, or a photo sensor [para 0058; one or more sensors 315].
As per claim 4, Showman discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to collect usage data and wherein the at least one sensor is configured to transmit the usage data to the at least one sensor module via the connector, and wherein the at least one sensor module is configured to transmit the usage data to the at least one connection hub [para 0058; one or more sensors 315; para 0069-0073].
As per claim 5, Showman discloses wherein the at least one connection hub transmits the usage data to the at least one control unit, and wherein the at least one control unit transmits the usage data to the gateway [para 0069-0073].
As per claim 6, Rodriguez discloses wherein the at least one control unit is configured to command the stack light to display a given light color combination and lighting frequency based on the usage data [para 0343-0346].
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Showman et al (US Pub. 2021/0094716; hereinafter Showman in view of Brandsetter et al (US Pub. 2023/0067806; hereinafter Brandsetter) and further in view of Palme et al (US Pub. 2023/0011901; hereinafter Palme).
As per claims 8 and 18, Showman and Brandsetter disclose the invention substantially. Showman Brandsetter do not specifically disclose regarding wherein the gateway is configured to apply an algorithm to the usage data, wherein the algorithm identifies patterns in the usage data, and wherein the algorithm prepares a preventative maintenance alert in the form of display data. However, Palme (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., industrial quality control) discloses wherein the gateway is configured to apply an algorithm to the usage data, wherein the algorithm identifies patterns in the usage data, and wherein the algorithm prepares a preventative maintenance alert in the form of display data [para 0068-0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine cited references as they all are directed to industrial quality control. Moreover, Showman and Brandsetter discloser will benefit with Palme discloser because it allows to recognize image of just about any sort of object or to recognize patterns in other type of data (see para 0068-0069 of Palme).
As per claim 15, Showman and Brandsetter disclose the invention substantially. Showman and Brandsetter do not specifically disclose wherein the gateway is configured to receive usage data from the control unit, and wherein the gateway is configured to convert the usage data into display data. However, Palme (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., industrial quality control) discloses wherein the gateway is configured to receive usage data from the control unit, and wherein the gateway is configured to convert the usage data into display data [para 0068-069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine cited references as they all are directed to industrial quality control. Moreover, Showman and Brandsetter discloser will benefit with Palme discloser because it allows to recognize image of just about any sort of object or to recognize patterns in other type of data (see para 0068-0069 of Palme).
As per claim 16, Showman and Brandsetter disclose the invention substantially. Showman and Brandsetter do not specifically disclose wherein the gateway is configured to apply an algorithm to the usage data, wherein the algorithm identifies patterns in the usage data, and wherein the algorithm prepares a preventative maintenance alert in the form of display data. However, Palme (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., industrial quality control) discloses wherein the gateway is configured to apply an algorithm to the usage data, wherein the algorithm identifies patterns in the usage data, and wherein the algorithm prepares a preventative maintenance alert in the form of display data [para 0068-0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine cited references as they all are directed to industrial quality control. Moreover, Showman and Brandsetter discloser will benefit with Palme discloser because it allows to recognize image of just about any sort of object or to recognize patterns in other type of data (see para 0068-0069 of Palme).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20150198317 discloses an industrial control unit may be relayed to the stack light through the I/O module for display to human operators.
US-20140094354 discloses to provide a tape monitoring system and a tape applicator to ensure proper taping in a carton sealing operation by providing warning and/or control signals to better ensure the necessary action is taken to correct the problem.
US-20070107825 discloses
IT-102019000005942 discloses a tape monitoring system.
EP-3431401 discloses a tape monitoring system for tape applicators which aims at ensuring a proper taping on a carton box by proving warning/or control signals to better ensure that the necessary action is taken to correct an operational problem.
DE-102013015594 discloses a monitoring system for use with a tape applicator forming part of a carton sealing machine, to detect and identify malfunction conditions of adhesive tape during taping operation in food and drug packaging industry.
Conclusion
/SURESH SURYAWANSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116