DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 12-13, 15, & 17-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection. See Office Action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, & 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traversat et al. (US Patent No. 6,115,715) in view of Bagchi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0026615 A1).
In respect to Claim 1, Traversat teaches:
a method comprising: receiving, by a data platform executed by a computing system and from a primary system comprising a plurality of computing devices receiving data protection from the data platform (Traversat illustrates [FIG. 2] a computer system that is connected with a plurality of computing devices.), updated database state information that identifies a change in a configuration state of the primary system; (Traversat teaches [column 10, lines 6-30] identification of a change in the configuration state .)
updating, by the data platform, primary system configuration information based on the received updated database state information to reflect the change in the configuration state of the primary system; (Traversat teaches [column 10, lines 6-30] updating database state information.)
Traversat does not explicitly disclose:
and providing, by the data platform and to a backup agent executed by a computing device from the plurality of computing devices, a set of one or more backup commands based on the updated primary system configuration information
However, Bagchi teaches:
and providing, by the data platform and to a backup agent executed by a computing device from the plurality of computing devices, a set of one or more backup commands based on the updated primary system configuration information (Bagchi teaches [0053, 0075] providing backup commands.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bagchi into the system of Traversat. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system that is aware of others’ actions, gaps in the backup chain of databases, and prevention of data loss upon restoration of associated databases. (Bagchi [0001])
As per Claim 2, Bagchi teaches:
wherein providing the set of the one or more backup commands causes the computing device to perform one or more backup snapshots (Bagchi teaches [0035] performing backup snapshots.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bagchi into the system of Traversat. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system that is aware of others’ actions, gaps in the backup chain of databases, and prevention of data loss upon restoration of associated databases. (Bagchi [0001])
As per Claim 3, Bagchi teaches:
causing, by the data platform, the backup agent to be installed on the computing device (Bagchi [0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bagchi into the system of Traversat. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system that is aware of others’ actions, gaps in the backup chain of databases, and prevention of data loss upon restoration of associated databases. (Bagchi [0001])
As per Claim 8, Bagchi teaches:
wherein the plurality of computing devices are each a database node of the primary system (Bagchi [FIG. 3A, 0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bagchi into the system of Traversat. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system that is aware of others’ actions, gaps in the backup chain of databases, and prevention of data loss upon restoration of associated databases. (Bagchi [0001])
Claims 9-11 & 16 are the system claims corresponding to method claims 1-3 & 8 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted above.
Claims 17-19 are the media claims corresponding to method claims 1-3 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted above.
Claim(s) 4-7, 12-15, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traversat & Bagchi, and further in view of Ma et al. (US Patent No. 6,856,591 B1).
As per Claim 4, Traversat & Bagchi do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the updated database state information identifies the change in the configuration state from one of an active database role, a standby database role, or a passive database role for at least the computing device to a different one of the active database role, the standby database role, or the passive database role for the at least the computing device
However, Ma teaches:
wherein the updated database state information identifies the change in the configuration state from one of an active database role, a standby database role, or a passive database role for at least the computing device to a different one of the active database role, the standby database role, or the passive database role for the at least the computing device (Ma teaches [column 4, lines 35-64] updated database state information indicating movement between active, standby, and passive states.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ma into the systems of Traversat & Bagchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide commander switch redundancy to a cluster and a self-recovery mechanism for cluster information in the case where the active commander and the standby commander fail at the same time. (Ma [column 3, lines 45-55])
As per Claim 5, Bagchi teaches:
wherein a database role for the computing device is the standby database role (Bagchi [0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bagchi into the system of Traversat. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system that is aware of others’ actions, gaps in the backup chain of databases, and prevention of data loss upon restoration of associated databases. (Bagchi [0001])
As per Claim 6, Bagchi teaches:
wherein the updated primary system configuration information includes an indication of the computing device (Bagchi teaches [0076] receiving changes or updated state information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bagchi into the system of Traversat. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system that is aware of others’ actions, gaps in the backup chain of databases, and prevention of data loss upon restoration of associated databases. (Bagchi [0001])
As per Claim 7, Bagchi teaches:
wherein a database role for one or more other computing devices from the plurality of computing devices is the active database role (Bagchi [0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bagchi into the system of Traversat. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system that is aware of others’ actions, gaps in the backup chain of databases, and prevention of data loss upon restoration of associated databases. (Bagchi [0001])
Claims 12-15 are the system claims corresponding to method claims 4-7 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted above.
Claim 20 is the media claim corresponding to method claim 4, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted above.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 May 13, 2026