DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-12, & 14-20 are pending.
Claims 5 & 13 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, & 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection. See Office Action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-11, 14, & 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gochkov et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0347352 A1) in view of MAO et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0125449 A1).
In respect to Claim 1 Gochkov teaches:
a method comprising: receiving, by a data platform executed by a computing system and from a primary system comprising a plurality of computing devices receiving data protection from the data platform, updated database state information that identifies a change in a configuration state of the primary system, (Gochkov teaches [0029, 0060] receiving and deriving role-change information when the example remote node monitor detects a replica node failure when the agent of the example replica node does not provide a configuration response.)
wherein the change in the configuration state indicates a first computing device of the plurality of computing devices transitioned to an active database role; (Gochkov teaches [0065, 0069, 0077] instructing promotion of a node to become the new active/maser node: the example vote processor communicates with the agent of the replica node...to instruct the agent of the synchronous replica node to promote the replica database…to become the master database, and separately updates configuration to identify the new selected replica node – i.e., a device transitioning into the active role is captured as an updated configuration state.)
updating, by the data platform, primary system configuration information based on the received updated database state information to reflect the change in the configuration state of the primary system; (Gochkov teaches [0069, 0077] the example vote processor updates the configuration stored in the configuration data store to identify the new selected replica node which is then distributed to the other nodes operating in the database system.)
Gochkov does not explicitly disclose:
and providing, by the data platform and to a backup agent executed by a different, second computing device of the plurality of computing devices associated with a standby database role, a set of one or more backup commands based on the updated primary system configuration information to perform a backup snapshot on the second computing device instead of the first computing device
However, Mao teaches:
and providing, by the data platform and to a backup agent executed by a different, second computing device of the plurality of computing devices associated with a standby database role, a set of one or more backup commands based on the updated primary system configuration information to perform a backup snapshot on the second computing device instead of the first computing device (Mao teaches [0024] a backup is generated from backup activities performed on the standby database server instead of the primary database server so as to free up the primary database system to continue performing transactional work without interruption.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Mao into the system of Gochkov. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system for performing backup to make sure adequate data retention is performed for a set of data within the system. (Mao [0001])
As per Claim 2, Mao teaches:
wherein providing the set of the one or more backup commands causes the second computing device to perform the backup snapshot (Mao [0024])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Mao into the system of Gochkov. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system for performing backup to make sure adequate data retention is performed for a set of data within the system. (Mao [0001])
As per Claim 3, Mao teaches:
causing, by the data platform, the backup agent to be installed on the second computing device (Mao [0024])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Mao into the system of Gochkov. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system for performing backup to make sure adequate data retention is performed for a set of data within the system. (Mao [0001])
As per Claim 6, Gochkov teaches:
wherein the updated primary system configuration information includes an indication of the second computing device (Gochkov [0065, 0069, 0077])
As per Claim 8, Gochkov teaches:
wherein the plurality of computing devices are each a database node of the primary system (Gochkov [FIG. 1])
Claims 9-11, 14, & 16 are the system claims corresponding to method claims 1-3, 6, & 8 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Claims 17-19 are the media claims corresponding to method claims 1-3 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 12, 15, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gochkov and Mao above, and further in view of Thiel et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0332770 A1).
As per Claim 4, Gochkov and Mao do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the updated database state information identifies the change in the configuration state from one of an active database role, a standby database role, or a passive database role for the second computing device to a different one of the active database role, the standby database role, or the passive database role for the second computing device
However, Thiel teaches:
wherein the updated database state information identifies the change in the configuration state from one of an active database role, a standby database role, or a passive database role for the second computing device to a different one of the active database role, the standby database role, or the passive database role for the second computing device (Thiel teaches [Abstract, 0043] a role change that provides for an active copy and one or more passive copies of the database at a given time, designating the first copy as the active copy and designating the second copy as a passive copy of the database, and on failure the second copy can be automatically designated as the active copy – a copy transitioning from passive to active.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Thiel into the system of Gochkov and Mao. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide replication of databases in computer clusters that provide a basis for data protection and service availability when the replicated copies remain in service and are available to become active when a failure should occur to another copy. (Thiel [0001])
As per Claim 7, Gochkov and Mao do not explicitly disclose:
wherein a database role for one or more other computing devices from the plurality of computing devices is the active database role
However, Thiel teaches:
wherein a database role for one or more other computing devices from the plurality of computing devices is the active database role (Thiel teaches [Abstract] that the cluster of copies model, in which a primary active manager can manage a first copy of a database in a first computer system cluster…that provide for an active copy and one or more passive copies, generalizes across multiple clusters and copies such that devices other than the one whose role just changed can independently carry the active designation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Thiel into the system of Gochkov and Mao. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide replication of databases in computer clusters that provide a basis for data protection and service availability when the replicated copies remain in service and are available to become active when a failure should occur to another copy. (Thiel [0001])
Claims 12 & 15 are the system claims corresponding to method claims 4 & 7 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Claim 20 is the media claim corresponding to method claim 4, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 August 22, 2026